• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

He buys condo for a windfall but takes a big fall instead

88max

Elysa Chen
Mon, Oct 27, 2008
The New Paper

AMONG the legion of burnt investors is a buyer of a million-dollar condo apartment who should have known better.

He jumped into a then hot property market without weighing the biggest 'if' of all - what if you lack the cash to complete the purchase?

Now Mr Byron Nifakis, 39, is bankrupt.

He wanted to buy a $1.2 million four-room flat in the Casa Merah condominium, as an investment.

The Singapore permanent resident was working as the IT director of a restaurant here, earning $10,000 a month.

Now he is reminded of his bankruptcy whenever he peers out of his rented home, which faces the Casa Merah on Tanah Merah Kechil Avenue.

He eyed the condo development to cash in on the rising property market last year.

But, by his own admission, his 'naivety and cockiness' resulted in his owing the condo developers $18,000 for his botched purchase.

Mr Nifakis, who came to Singapore from Canada in 2001, thought he was 'safe' as he had not signed any documents committing himself to the deal.

But he had handed over a $60,000 cheque as deposit, and what he did not know was that this was sufficient proof of his option to buy the property.

His cheque bounced, but lawyers and property agents told The New Paper he was still obliged to buy the unit.

Mr Nifakis, who had only about $6,000 in his account then, could not proceed with the purchase because money he was counting on from overseas partners did not come in.

He said: 'It was only because my property agent promised me that I could get more time to process the $60,000 payment that I even decided to go to the showroom that day to try my luck.'

But by 4pm, he was unable to raise the money from his partners. So he returned to the showroom to back out of the deal and get his cheque back.

When the agents refused to return the cheque, Mr Nifakis left the showroom.

'I thought they could keep my cheque, because they would not be able to use it against me,' he said.

But he was wrong.

A purchasers' particulars form he had signed stated that he had to pay 25 per cent of the $60,000, or $15,000, if he backed out of the deal.

And, to his horror, he learnt later from his lawyer that the cheque could be used as evidence that the option had already been granted to him.

He said: 'I should have refused to leave the showroom until it was closing time so that I could speak to someone who could return me my cheque.

'My agents kept telling me 'I'm sure you will find a way to get the money'.'

Trying to make the best out of a bad situation, he 'scrambled' to get the money by applying for a bank loan, but failed to get approval.

Desperate

Desperate for more time, Mr Nifakis wrote to the developers, but failed to get an extension.

They insisted that he had to pay the $15,000.

Mr Ling Tien Wah, the lawyer acting for the developer, explained that since Mr Nifakis did not exercise his option to buy the apartment, the developer was entitled to 25 per cent of the $60,000 booking fee.

In February this year, a judge ordered Mr Nifakis to pay the developer $18,000, including legal fees of $3,000.

The developer took out a bankruptcy application against him in July when he failed to pay up.

To make matters worse, his company laid him off the same month because it had run into financial difficulties and had shut down the restaurant.

On 9 Oct, the court issued Mr Nifakis a bankruptcy order as he was unable to come to a compromise with the developers on a repayment scheme.

He asked to pay them $300 a month over five years, but the developer rejected the offer, noting that if he wanted to, he could clear his debt in just 12 months.

A bitter Mr Nifakis said: 'This is the biggest investment I have made; it is also the biggest lesson I have had to learn.

'I try not to think about it too much. There's a bit of resentment. After all, that property could have been mine.'

James Porn

He was looking to make a quick buck trying to flip the property. In life, never bite off more than you can chew.

lifeafter41

Is it so diffcult to get a Singaporean with a background and qualifications in IT to go for that job rather than pay a FT S$10,000. Are they worth that much in the first place.

Meanwhile I am not surprised that the restaurant closed down.

kuntakinte

This is the standard of reporting you get when you have morons and imbeciles employed by the Shitty Press Holding !!

I see zero value or credibility in that report - pure sensationalism !!

**Shitty Press Holding craps snipped **

peasantJUDGE

Most likely he was urged on by his Singapore galfriend to jump on the bandwagon. $10K as IT director in a restaurant sounds way over the top, unless it's a chain of 10 restaurants. Why would a restaurant need an IT director?

lifeafter41

Most likely he was urged on by his Singapore galfriend to jump on the bandwagon. $10K as IT director in a restaurant sounds way over the top, unless it's a chain of 10 restaurants. Why would a restaurant need an IT director?

That is why that restaurant closed shop.

Elysa Chen
Mon, Oct 27, 2008
The New Paper

'I try not to think about it too much. There's a bit of resentment. After all, that property could have been mine.'

Is he a foreigners trying to jerk up the local property prices. If yes, serve him right.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">11:24 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">makapa <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (2 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>1859.2 in reply to 1859.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>He's a talk cock king!

[URL="http://www.linkedin.com/pub/0/b09/897"]http://www.linkedin.com/pub/0/b09/897[/URL]

1501219.jpg

[URL="http://siglaptoastmasters.wordpress....ntest-results/"]http://siglaptoastmasters.wordpress....ntest-results/[/URL]

Congratulations to Byron Nifakis, ATMB,CL our newly crowned Area D6 Prepared Speech and Table Topics speech Champion. He will be representing our Area to compete in District 80 Division D - Toastmasters International Speech and Table Topics Contest
<!-- / message --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>1859.3 in reply to 1859.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>If this is not trash, what is? And to imagine that millions of them are here to "try their luck" here just cos of the fetish of the Familee for trash and their suspicion of real talents in Sg harbouring intentions to overthrow them and therefore must be replaced!</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

he is one mad canadian

cannot even afford to pay 18k

want to buy 1.2 million apartment

make no sense,

these are the people who inflated the property bubble.

imperialarms

si ang moh, msut be he go to the agent then YAYA PAPAYA think he ang moh can renege on the contract that he signed. WAH ANG MOH TUA KI AH, KNN. now no money can still be singapore PR, ah how cum PAP attract all these bankrupts? this is real TALENT! an island of babnkrupt ang mohs!

look at all those sinkies surroudning him like he is god in the photo, it makes me sick

lifeafter41

he is one mad canadian

cannot even afford to pay 18k

want to buy 1.2 million apartment

make no sense,

these are the people who inflated the property bubble.

I think there is more to it than that. They are not stupid, I believe it is more of try to back out of the whole deal. Act blur, if you know what I mean. Salary of 10k, have been in Singapore since year 2001, don't have 18k?. Come on now, who is he kidding. I am pretty sure he knows more about the local property then most local Singaporean.

kuntakinte

That's why I am saying:

This is the standard of reporting you get when you have morons and imbeciles employed by the Shitty Press Holding !!

I see zero value or credibility in that report - pure sensationalism !!

When you have only 1 press company, Shitty Press Holding, in Singapore, complacency sets in and there is no quality in reporting or journalism to speak off. Especially, they are used as PAP propaganda machines. If SPH should fail, PAP will cook up some excuses to rescue them.

Lastly, if you believe in the Shitty Press Holding, you can eat SHIT and DIE !!!

I think there is more to it than that. They are not stupid, I believe it is more of try to back out of the whole deal. Act blur, if you know what I mean. Salary of 10k, have been in Singapore since year 2001, don't have 18k?. Come on now, who is he kidding. I am pretty sure he knows more about the local property then most local Singaporean.

diversifyx2

Bro, dont be fool by this ang moh, look nice outside, empty inside and stupid sg treat them like king, me treat them like dirt. GET IT??