• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Slot games, Casino Rewards & Privileges

Mindless

As mentioned before, slots are memory less. The chance of you hitting the JP is the same regardless if you are playing alone or if there are lots of people playing.

Hi Aurvandil, maybe I should reword my earlier post. The chance of me playing alone and me playing among a hugh crowd and for me to strike the progressive is the same. However, because I am playing alone, the contribution from my play into the JP pool is so insignificant and hence the JP will not move enough to reach the trigger point. Eg in Gold Rush, JP3 is cap at $800. After a JP is won, it will reset to start at $400. Then it slowly accumulates again. Sometimes it drops at $500, sometimes $600, and if by $750, it hasnt drop yet, you will see alot of people trying and most seats would be taken up and some people even play >1 machines. After a JP is won, most regulars who eyes the JP only will walk off and look for elsewhere to try their luck. At that moment, if I am the only player, the chance of striking another JP3 will be almost zero as the pool has been reset to start at $400 again. Besides JP pool quantum, other factors that affect progressive JPs are bet quantum. Some progressives are limited to Max Bet only (Eg AVP and Back to the Future) and some progressives award higher chances to bigger bets.

I agree with you totally on linepays is random.

Thanks for the insightful stuffs. There is a lot of knowledge required when playing slots, and not just blindly playing any games that looks or sounds good. I have seen aunties seating down on 2c games and pressing max bet and complaining how come she is left with $1 only after a few press. Of course I have also seen aunties who strike big win without knowing that she has won......

At the end of the day, we want to enjoy our games, free food/drink and maybe lodging and hopefully, stays even (maybe up)......... hehhe.

aurvandil

The chance of me playing alone and me playing among a hugh crowd and for me to strike the progressive is the same. However, because I am playing alone, the contribution from my play into the JP pool is so insignificant and hence the JP will not move enough to reach the trigger point. Eg in Gold Rush, JP3 is cap at $800. After a JP is won, it will reset to start at $400. Then it slowly accumulates again. Sometimes it drops at $500, sometimes $600, and if by $750, it hasnt drop yet, you will see alot of people trying and most seats would be taken up and some people even play >1 machines. After a JP is won, most regulars who eyes the JP only will walk off and look for elsewhere to try their luck. At that moment, if I am the only player, the chance of striking another JP3 will be almost zero as the pool has been reset to start at $400 again. Besides JP pool quantum, other factors that affect progressive JPs are bet quantum. Some progressives are limited to Max Bet only (Eg AVP and Back to the Future) and some progressives award higher chances to bigger bets.

I know exactly what you mean. Between the regulars who go after the mini jackpots and the syndicates who show up whenever the big jackpots are ripe, there are hardly any good opportunities for a casual player. If you are a casual player and you sit down to play without understanding what is a "ripe" JP, you will most likely just be Robert and contribute 3% for other people to win.

hotrocks

Hmmm...good point. But does that mean that Payback percentage is inclusive of the 3%? Assuming the slot is programmed to payback 90%.. would the 3% eat into the payback and thus net payback of 87%? I dont like progressive slots as well as I have never hit any significant JPs..jackpot party never got more than 1 star..lol or Pink panter never got more than the minor JP. 3% in the long run can amount to a lot if your roll is big. Imagine if you play 1k per hour and 4 hours of play is 4k and 3% of that is 120. If play 10 hours wow...its like 300. Free money to genting...

Also, I wonder how much GP points do we get from playing slots eh...cause everytime we slot in the card..mine goes 0..and starts to accumulate. then next machine repeats again...

Is that how it works for you Aurvandil..? Any nice winnings recently from Genting? My last few trips have been fruitfull...made some decent returns.. :smile:

Let the good times roll... :smile:

Kia0042

Welcome hotrocks, nice to see new face here, glad to hear that you have luck playing slot. :wink:
The payout percentage discussion is back again. Althought I play slot for more than 16years, I acutally did not know the answer until quite recently in fact.
The payout percentage is based on the entire LIFESPAN of the slot machine. It does not count by hour/day/week/month or the amount of money you put in.
Most of the time, we lose 1k in 1hour BUT sometimes we can win 3k in 30mins. The machine which has just payout 3k doesn't mean it has to "eat" 3k in order to breakeven, it may just continue paying. On the other hand, the machine which has just "makan" your 1k will not guarantee you a return.
You do not need skill to play slot, all you need is luck. Slot play experiences do help a little bit, with some experiences, you can prolong your bankroll and sometimes helps you to locate a right timing machine. :wink:

hotrocks

Welcome hotrocks, nice to see new face here, glad to hear that you have luck playing slot. :wink:
The payout percentage discussion is back again. Althought I play slot for more than 16years, I acutally did not know the answer until quite recently in fact.
The payout percentage is based on the entire LIFESPAN of the slot machine. It does not count by hour/day/week/month or the amount of money you put in.
Most of the time, we lose 1k in 1hour BUT sometimes we can win 3k in 30mins. The machine which has just payout 3k doesn't mean it has to "eat" 3k in order to breakeven, it may just continue paying. On the other hand, the machine which has just "makan" your 1k will not guarantee you a return.
You do not need skill to play slot, all you need is luck. Slot play experiences do help a little bit, with some experiences, you can prolong your bankroll and sometimes helps you to locate a right timing machine. :wink:

HI Sifu Kia.. thanks for the reply. Yes I know the RTP is based on the lifespan of the machine, hence each spin mathematically has the same odds of winning the JP ..irregardless the JP has just been won. It all about luck...the irony..thats what counts in gambling.. :P. There are no skilled plays in a casino..except poker tourneys.

The reason that I highlight the RTP ratio is that..well for a machine which is programmed to RTP 90% will have a higher payout ratio compared to lets say 87% machine. But then again...it doesnt mean a 87% wont win you money. I guess you just have to be there at the right time when the RNG hits a big payout for you...I am sure in your 16 years of playing ..you would have experiance slotting in 50 bucks and few spins later you are up by 1500 :P.

Best I think to treat this like a game..you win some you lose some. But while at it just have fun... and hope that the gods are smiling on you when you hit the big paydirt...Mega JP.. :smile:

aurvandil

Hmmm...good point. But does that mean that Payback percentage is inclusive of the 3%? Assuming the slot is programmed to payback 90%.. would the 3% eat into the payback and thus net payback of 87%? I dont like progressive slots as well as I have never hit any significant JPs..jackpot party never got more than 1 star..lol or Pink panter never got more than the minor JP. 3% in the long run can amount to a lot if your roll is big. Imagine if you play 1k per hour and 4 hours of play is 4k and 3% of that is 120. If play 10 hours wow...its like 300. Free money to genting...

That is how it works. If it is not linked, the payback is set to 90% and the casino keeps the 10% that is lost. If it is linked, the payback is set to 87%. The casino keeps 10% and 3% is put into the progressive jackpot.

Also, I wonder how much GP points do we get from playing slots eh...cause everytime we slot in the card..mine goes 0..and starts to accumulate. then next machine repeats again...

That is quite easy to measure. In your GP statement,you can usually see the number of GP you accumulate in 1 day. If you time the time you have been playing, you can calculate the number of GP you are earning on an hourly basis.

A little known fact about GP. You get more GP playing 5x5 as compared to 25x1. The algorithim they use to assign GP take bet size into account rather than the number of credits you are playing. As the increased GP earned can be exchanged for food, rooms etc, this is another reason why 5x5 is a better play than 25x1 in Genting.

Is that how it works for you Aurvandil..? Any nice winnings recently from Genting? My last few trips have been fruitfull...made some decent returns.. :smile:

I usually go up using the PP package. I value the package at RM 500 for a 3 day 2 night stay with all meals included. Hence if I lose more than RM 500, I consider the tip a loss. If I lose more less than RM 500, I consdier it a win. using this yardstick, I have come out ahead for all my trips. On 1 trip, I even won about RM 1300 which equals actually to RM 1800 if you include the room and food consumed.

Mindless

Today, I tell myself that I wanted to try 100 pandas, IGT.

After I steped into RWS, I saw the machine I wanted at "Mega Million". I sat down and my first $100 grew to $300 after a feature that retriggered. Then I decided to change machine and moved to my favourite COE. Wrong choice. I down $1k and top with my initial $300 without getting anything back (in ~30 mins flat). I decided to bite the bullet and moved on as I know I should not be stubborn.

Moved to Gold Rush and sat down on a 5k. It didnt take long before I got a feature on 60 credits. Choose 13 free games and got a FH "A" X 10. It didn't take long before I get another feature on 150 credits. I was so excited as I dont usually play 150 and chose 20 free games. Alamak, my win was only 1500 credits. Continue playing again and I got another feature (5 coins with 2500 credits!). Choose 13 free games and my total win was only 2900 credits (of which 2500 came from the trigger). I was thinking, aiyah, this machine is giving me features, but the spin is so lousy. Sigh, dont know what colour fish to choose anymore.

Of course I cannot complain that the machine is giving features, even though there is no payout. So I continue to play and before long, I triggered another feature on 150 credits! Decided to choose 15 free games and finally, I got a FH "Chye" X 10.....:smile:. Phew, got back my initial loss from IGT and with some spares.......and decided to call it a day..........

Yah, welcome to the forum Hotrocks.

Cheers and good luck for the Weekend.

HellBoy

Dear All,

I'm not aware that there are cap on JP prize. Do the casino set the cap & do they publish this info?
(I must be the robert...:*:smile:

Many thanks & Good luck!!

hotrocks

Dear All,

I'm not aware that there are cap on JP prize. Do the casino set the cap & do they publish this info?
(I must be the robert...:*:smile:

Many thanks & Good luck!!

Hi Hellboy..

As far as I know..there is a max limit payout on each slots for each win...like max XXXXXXXX credits.

As for Jackpot..well..I dont think there is a max..you win what you see on the JP info. But..some slots require you play minimum lines to qualify for the JP.

Also, progresive slots the JP usually paid by the slotmaker and not the casino. The casino retrains a certain % as comm.

Why u so agitated? Hit JP spin but not paid the JP? If like that aiyooo... :(

HellBoy

Hi hotrocks,

No lah - "hit JP spin but not paid the JP".
I'm refering to the comments by Mindless & aurvandil. I'm not aware that there is a upper limit of the JP.

Mindless : "The chance of me playing alone and me playing among a hugh crowd and for me to strike the progressive is the same. However, because I am playing alone, the contribution from my play into the JP pool is so insignificant and hence the JP will not move enough to reach the trigger point. Eg in Gold Rush, JP3 is cap at $800. After a JP is won, it will reset to start at $400. Then it slowly accumulates again. Sometimes it drops at $500, sometimes $600, and if by $750, it hasnt drop yet, you will see alot of people trying and most seats would be taken up and some people even play >1 machines. After a JP is won, most regulars who eyes the JP only will walk off and look for elsewhere to try their luck. At that moment, if I am the only player, the chance of striking another JP3 will be almost zero as the pool has been reset to start at $400 again. Besides JP pool quantum, other factors that affect progressive JPs are bet quantum. Some progressives are limited to Max Bet only (Eg AVP and Back to the Future) and some progressives award higher chances to bigger bets."

aurvandil : "I know exactly what you mean. Between the regulars who go after the mini jackpots and the syndicates who show up whenever the big jackpots are ripe, there are hardly any good opportunities for a casual player. If you are a casual player and you sit down to play without understanding what is a "ripe" JP, you will most likely just be Robert and contribute 3% for other people to win. "

aurvandil

Hi hotrocks,

No lah - "hit JP spin but not paid the JP".
I'm refering to the comments by Mindless & aurvandil. I'm not aware that there is a upper limit of the JP.

As far as I am aware, there isn't a upper limit to a progressive JP. As the progressive JP gets larger, more players are drawn in to play. It therefore tends to get hit very fast after the progressive JP has grown past the size which players consider "ripe".

Kia0042

As far as I am aware, there isn't a upper limit to a progressive JP. As the progressive JP gets larger, more players are drawn in to play. It therefore tends to get hit very fast after the progressive JP has grown past the size which players consider "ripe".

Oh, in fact there are many JP prizes that have a limit, the JP prize MUST release before it reaches the following amount:
MBS - Prosperity JP3 $225 JP2 $2250 JP1 $22500
MBS - Fast Fortune - JP3 $450 JP2 $4500 JP1 $45000
MBS - Mountain ?? (outside Fattchoi) JP1 $300 JP3 $3000 JP3 $30000
MBS - ??? (near 2cts CE) JP1 $200 JP2 $1500 JP3$20000

Correct me if I am wrong, have not been RWS for quite sometimes,
RWS - Island delight - JP3 $300 JP2 $3000 JP1 $50000
RWS - Gold Rush JP3$800 JP2$5000 JP1 $50000
RWS - Hollywood JP3$500 JP2$5000 JP1 $50000
RWS - Indian Dreaming JP3 $500 JP2$3000 JP1$50000
RWS - ??? (Level 1) JP3$500 JP2$5000 JP1 $50000

JP prizes WITHOUT cap are FaFaFa, CashExpress, Bankbuster, Life of Luxury, Jackpot Party, AVP, HotShot, QuickHit, etc....

aurvandil

Oh, in fact there are many JP prizes that have a limit, the JP prize MUST release before it reaches the following amount:
MBS - Prosperity JP3 $225 JP2 $2250 JP1 $22500

What do you mean by must? For example if JP3 reaches =$225, does the JP stop growing or does the first person to play wins the $225 JP?

hotrocks

What do you mean by must? For example if JP3 reaches =$225, does the JP stop growing or does the first person to play wins the $225 JP?

I seriously doubt that there is a cap on the JP. If so, it means that the RNG is rigged... as the JP MUST be won..hence there must be a JP winning spin.

I thought we have discussed and agreed that the RNG is totally random....if it is allowed to spin a winning JP win at a particular point of time after certain criteria is met..then it is no longer RANDOM. i.e programmed!!

If that is so....guess we are all Robert then :smile:

Mindless

QUOTE]

Bro Kia is right. Btw, RWS Gold Rush JP1 is cap at $80,000.

The cap gives player an advantage in term of timing of play. It also provides the IR an advantage as it will guarantee a full occupancy for their machines during the JP "harvesting" time. The disadvantage to us is that it will be pack and difficult to get a chance to play.

Just the other day, I saw these tio - 2 Chinese ladies and 1 old man. They are like perpetually in the IRs. I dont go to RWS everyday, but in the last few occasions that I went, I met them (including the one time that I was in MBS)! Yesterday, at Gold Rush when JP2 was abt $4500, they came. This old man was walking up and down and eventually sat down 2 seats away from me. He sat there and watch people play on his left and right. Then at about $4600, he took out his membership card and inserted. Still he continued to watch. At $4700, he opened his bag and appeared to about to take out his money. Alas, the JP2 dropped just before he inserted his money. I think he was waiting to get closer to $4900. Too bad for him, JP dropped earlier and he walked off....without playing at all.

These trio are very savy players. They max play for the JP. Once I saw them hit a feature on 450 bet on 5K and they chose 10 free games. They were very lucky to hit FH (Chye & A) X 10.....

Anyway, the point is that as casual players, we do not have the advantage of the regulars or Full time players. they are very savy and discipline players. They walk around recce the JP. They look see look see before they take out their money to play. They dont chiong unncessarily and when they do, they only max play. After the JP drops, they will withdaw and disappear. Earlier, we were talking about JP syndicates. I am not sure if these tio are also part of them.......

The best for the casual and occassional players is to play standalone machines. But there isnt that many such options.

Cheers and good luck to all.

Mindless

For example JP3 cap is $300. At $225, it will continue to grow if there are people playing. If there are no one playing, it will remains at $225. Because it is cap at $300, it will drop randomly between now until $300. The randomness is we dont know when and how much it will drop. However we know it must drop before $300 cap is reached. So at about $250 onwards, people will be eyeing the JP and try to play any machines that they can get hold off. Above is just illustration because for $300 JP, we dont need to chiong. However, if the illustration is for a $80000 JP, people will chiong at maybe $75000 onwards.

Mindless

I seriously doubt that there is a cap on the JP. If so, it means that the RNG is rigged... as the JP MUST be won..hence there must be a JP winning spin.

The next time you play, take a look at the Big "Billboard" at each JP theme areas. You should be able to see if you are playing Progressive or standalone machines. Also the Board will state the JP prizes and put Max $80000 (eg) next to it if it has a cap. If it doesnt say, then it is not cap (eg CE, Mega Million, FaFaFa and AVP).

Cheers

hotrocks

The next time you play, take a look at the Big "Billboard" at each JP theme areas. You should be able to see if you are playing Progressive or standalone machines. Also the Board will state the JP prizes and put Max $80000 (eg) next to it if it has a cap. If it doesnt say, then it is not cap (eg CE, Mega Million, FaFaFa and AVP).

Cheers

Well..I dont know about in RWS or MBS..I've not been there :smile:. As far as I know in Genting no signboards saying JP max at XXk. Seriously I think if they do that it would stop punters from playing the game. No one will like to play the machine if they know for a fact they will not strike the JP since ...it is not ripe yet. So why pay the 3% if you dont have any chance of hitting it?

aurvandil

QUOTE]Bro Kia is right. Btw, RWS Gold Rush JP1 is cap at $80,000.

Thanks for the update. I don't play progressives so I was not aware. The way the trio you described play is how an advantage player would do it.

The cap effectively prevents the game from turning into a positive expectations game. Hence I wouldn't expect the syndicates to hang around these games. They would most probably be at those games where there is no cap.

Mindless

The cap effectively prevents the game from turning into a positive expectations game. Hence I wouldn't expect the syndicates to hang around these games. They would most probably be at those games where there is no cap.

I am not so sure. With a cap, the syndicates will know the timing. Without cap, technically the sky the limit. No one will know for sure when the JP drops. With a cap, the syndicates just need to engage FT to horde the machines....