• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is better than Australia and New Zealand.

senatorabudelai

Where on earth did those figures come from??:confused:

I have checked numerous sources of net migration rate figures and all of them show Singapore in very good light.

See for yourself : https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2112rank.html

ha ha exactly. non of their figures are backed by reputable agencies, they just pulled them out of thin air.

Gallup has ranked singapore as the number 1 net migration country for immigrants.

The singapore government and UN surveys show that 42% of residents in singapore are foreigners (yes, almost 1 out of every 2 person in singapore is a foreigner!) and tons of people are trying to get singapore pr/citizenship every year, from billionaire jim rogers to gong li to jet li etc.

you must be mentally ill or carrying a personal vendetta to think there is a brain drain.

senatorabudelai

In Sg, you don't actually 'own' a flat, you basically 'lease' from the gov. Prove to me where can you still get a 100k+ flat? Perhaps in some ulu destrict infested with rats , roaches and dodgy neighbours?

The lease part is true. But 99 years is enough for most human beings. :biggrin: 3 room 100k plus flats are still available on resale market. Mostly ~180k plus.

No natural resources mean Spore can only do well in the services industry. Apart from being a succesful banking hub, you and I know most other projects have failed (eg. Sports hub, Medical hub, Education hub etc.)Spore is very vulnerable from every angle if Europe or US is going down.

Nah, Singapore has done well in manufacturing, banking (world's 4th largest financial centre), trade (amongst the world's busiest port, best airport in the world), life sciences and research. The economy is far from being purely service based.
Europe and US did go down big time in the past few year, but Singapore's economy only contracted by 2% during the BIGGEST FINANCIAL DISASTER SINCE THE GREAT DEPRESSION! The US and Europe can go down, and did go down, but Singapore stayed up. :biggrin:

Haha, if 50% Mainland Chinese only speak dialects, then why do we need Spore - to teach them how to speak Mandarin? Singaporean got better accent - yea I reckon Sporean has the funniest accent and sure this is very entertaining to the listeners

Ha ha no need to refute this. Singapore Mandarin is probably more standard than many Hong Kongers (and their first language is Chinese there). And 40% of Mainlanders cannot even speak Mandarin.

Source: People's daily, China's govt official mouthpeice http://english.people.com.cn/200609/05/eng20060905_299608.html

Please stop deny Spore has yet to win any Nobel prize. Australia had 10. Shame shame Spore call itself technology advance but fact remains it has no groundbreaking technology breakthrough or innovation.

LOL stop going on and on about Nobel prize. It is an European based prize so obviously the Europeans win it more often (not now but in the past). Look at the list of Australian nobel prize winners and you will realise most if not all of them won it before 1965, when the Republic of Singapore was formed. So it is definitely not fair to compare winners of both countries since Singapore wasn't even formed when these people won their nobel prizes!

Singapore techonology inventions?? too many to list out. Sound card (creative)? thumbdrive? Bionix? SAR 21? New Water? Fever scanning device at airport? :biggrin:

I smell another failure project in Spore. NewWater will be NoWater in no time soon

Ha ha. Yeah Singapore is now self reliant due to New Water. No need to renew water treaties with Malaysia, they are letting it lapse. Singapore now has an underwater pipeline to Indonesia and the Indonesians will start delivering water to Singapore in 2011 as well. Australia wished it has New Water techonology. South Australia would;nt be rationing water if that was the case. They are really really short of water there.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA WATER RATIONING:

Dripper systems and hand-held hoses fitted with a trigger nozzle can be used for a maximum of 7 hours a week between the hours of 7-10am or 4-7pm on any day.

A fountain, pond or water feature that doesn’t recycle water must not be operated and must not be topped up unless it supports fish

New pools or spas may be filled only under the authority of a permit from SA Water. A permit will not be granted unless there is proof a cover has been purchased to prevent water loss through evaporation

http://www.sawater.com.au/SAWater/E...rvationMeasures/FAQs_L3_Around_HomeGarden.htm

Poor Sporeans, got to compete with 3rd world educated people.

Nah, the Singapore government has set ratios for hiring of foreigners. I think it is 10 Singaporean workers to 1 foreign worker. Competition is unavoidable but Singaporeans are English educated many foreigners are not. Without fluent English, you will not find a decent job in SIngapore.

At least Singapore does not allow hairdressers and cooks to take up PR without even landing in the country like Australia does.

the fact remains Australian armed forces are sent to help Americans in war, whereas Sporean solders are sent to supply ration only.

They HAVE to help so that America will reciprocate and send troops in the event Australia is attacked. Australia depends largely on America for her defense. with only 50k men in their Armed Forces, if America does not help in the defense of Australia, she is very vulnerable given that Indonesia has 500k men and Malaysia has another 200k men. :biggrin:

IWC2006

ha ha exactly. non of their figures are backed by reputable agencies, they just pulled them out of thin air.

Gallup has ranked singapore as the number 1 net migration country for immigrants.

The singapore government and UN surveys show that 42% of residents in singapore are foreigners (yes, almost 1 out of every 2 person in singapore is a foreigner!) and tons of people are trying to get singapore pr/citizenship every year, from billionaire jim rogers to gong li to jet li etc.

you must be mentally ill or carrying a personal vendetta to think there is a brain drain.

I guess you are living in dreamland. Foreigners whom keen to take up citizenship especially are using SIngapore passports to migrate to the west be it America, Canada, Australian or NZ.

More and more Singaporeans are moving out of Singapore is a fact, if not, u won't be starting this thread anyway if Singapore is the dreamland as you put it.haha

Aussie Prick

Mate, its probably the same person.

No, that's not me. Besides I no longer bash Australia, and I dont agree with "Singapore being better than Australia"

Absolutely Australia is an upgrade over Singapore, but, well, I have issues with Australia as we all know. I just wont talk about it anymore.

fishbuff

No, that's not me. Besides I no longer bash Australia, and I dont agree with "Singapore being better than Australia"

Absolutely Australia is an upgrade over Singapore, but, well, I have issues with Australia as we all know. I just wont talk about it anymore.

but u are still a prick, as what your nick has suggests. that is one fact u will never escape, including sponging off your wife when your current house is a "gift" from your dad-in-law. i mean, who in the f**king world will have someone give u a frigging house for dowry!

which ethnic group do the men demand dowry from women?

Ash007

but u are still a prick, as what your nick has suggests. that is one fact u will never escape, including sponging off your wife when your current house is a "gift" from your dad-in-law. i mean, who in the f**king world will have someone give u a frigging house for dowry!

Actually, the Ah Neh does that. Dowries are given by the bride side and this can include gold/house/cash/job etc.

Satan

Actually, the Ah Neh does that. Dowries are given by the bride side and this can include gold/house/cash/job etc.

That's the thing about kelings that I don't understand. I mean marriage is something where 2 people go through because they want to live together. What the kelings are carrying out is more of a business transaction than a marriage.

Aussie Prick

I am Eurasian, you have a problem with that?

Ah yes the question as to my wife's parents wedding present paying our downpayment for our condo in the 1990s and my parents paying for the wedding in return. I'll go ask my father in law to pay me back for his heart bypass surgery, which I paid for two years ago, which cost alot more than the the deposit over 20 years ago. Oh no, I am doing quite well so its a pleasure to take care of those I hold dear and true, cause that's what family is all about, something you dont seem to understand, poor you.

You are obviously a very unhappy person, but you only have yourself to blame for your choices. If you are unhappy with your life, that;s your problem. Its a pity to see someone like you so bitter.

But knowning you, and your intellecutual level, I expect some sort of anti-Euarsian rebuttal, which will REALLY make me laugh.

God I love this forum - the entertainment never ceases and I never even mentioned Australia!

Peiweh

Australia no good lor, too backward too high cost no good place

Better go to this Canada or Nz much better than Oz

IWC2006

The lease part is true. But 99 years is enough for most human beings. 3 room 100k plus flats are still available on resale market. Mostly ~180k plus.

How many generations can you pass down your flat? Don't forget you can't expand a flat like a house, u need to get license from HDB and there's so much you can reconstract a flat because eventually government still own it. You'll blowing your trumpet too much here, HDB flat clearly is a 3rd world housing provider. A lot of foreignes are surprised most Sporeans live in a high rise, overpriced, cramped and so-called subsidised prison-cell like flats. A country with high standards of living would not live in such conditions. Even most of my friends in Malaysia live in spaciouse private house.

Nah, Singapore has done well in manufacturing, banking (world's 4th largest financial centre), trade (amongst the world's busiest port, best airport in the world), life sciences and research. The economy is far from being purely service based.
Europe and US did go down big time in the past few year, but Singapore's economy only contracted by 2% during the BIGGEST FINANCIAL DISASTER SINCE THE GREAT DEPRESSION! The US and Europe can go down, and did go down, but Singapore stayed up.

If spore is doing well in manufacturing, a lot of plants wouldn't had shutdown and moved to cheaper countries. A lof of people in manufacturign end up jobless, change career becoming insurance agents or even cab driver.
Banking is the only haven save Singapore but not anyone can get into banking. Majority of banking jobs go to Foreigners. I don't even want to talk about life science, is a disgrace..haha

Ha ha no need to refute this. Singapore Mandarin is probably more standard than many Hong Kongers (and their first language is Chinese there). And 40% of Mainlanders cannot even speak Mandarin.

So what? even 40% of mainland chinese speak Mandarin is already 500 mil people, Singapore how many can speak Mandarin - 1 million? U got brain or not?

Source: People's daily, China's govt official mouthpeice http://english.people.com.cn/200609/...05_299608.html

LOL stop going on and on about Nobel prize. It is an European based prize so obviously the Europeans win it more often (not now but in the past). Look at the list of Australian nobel prize winners and you will realise most if not all of them won it before 1965, when the Republic of Singapore was formed. So it is definitely not fair to compare winners of both countries since Singapore wasn't even formed when these people won their nobel prizes!

Rubbish, even China and India have won a few, HK had won 1, Taiwan 1, how do you explain? Well the most recent nobel prize winners were in the 20th century, so thats the difference. Don't keep giving excuse for Spore, even it only becomes independent in the 60s, it should have won at least one by now, if not why keep selling to the world uni its the best in The East (remember the quote NUS is the harvard of the East and NTU = MIT?

Singapore techonology inventions?? too many to list out. Sound card (creative)? thumbdrive? Bionix? SAR 21? New Water? Fever scanning device at airport?

Haha Soundcard from Creative - you talking abot 20 yrs ago, Creative doing now? Good luck to your New Water technology..haha[/B]

Poor Sporeans, got to compete with 3rd world educated people.

Nah, the Singapore government has set ratios for hiring of foreigners. I think it is 10 Singaporean workers to 1 foreign worker. Competition is unavoidable but Singaporeans are English educated many foreigners are not. Without fluent English, you will not find a decent job in SIngapore.

Who's controlling and auditing if the private firms are practising this hiring policy, u? U really believe them. Just go to any foreign banks in Spore and u can see 50% or more are foreigners.

At least Singapore does not allow hairdressers and cooks to take up PR without even landing in the country like Australia does.

Hairdressers and cooks are earning more than a university graduate in Spore, thats the sad truth. Hairdressers and cooks can turn into celebrity, see how well the celebrity chefs are doing well here..haha

the fact remains Australian armed forces are sent to help Americans in war, whereas Sporean solders are sent to supply ration only.

They HAVE to help so that America will reciprocate and send troops in the event Australia is attacked. Australia depends largely on America for her defense. with only 50k men in their Armed Forces, if America does not help in the defense of Australia, she is very vulnerable given that Indonesia has 500k men and Malaysia has another 200k men

Australia solders are highly trained and have real life exposure, even if they need help from America is understandable, American has 330 mil people, Australia only 22 mil. Why do you bring in Indonesia and Malaysia in the equation, do you think they will defend Spore? they are muslim countries after all

Ash007

That's the thing about kelings that I don't understand. I mean marriage is something where 2 people go through because they want to live together. What the kelings are carrying out is more of a business transaction than a marriage.

The concept of marriage is a business transaction from its earliest inception. If two person wants to live together why would they need to sign a piece of paper? Why do they need the law/government/society/church to witness etc? Its a business transaction to ensure the child that is born from this woman is "yours" and assets, property/cash/title etc, is passed on to them in return. Through this act of "passing" you are living through them, hence in a way immortality. At least from a philosophical point of view.

senatorabudelai

More and more Singaporeans are moving out of Singapore is a fact, if not, u won't be starting this thread anyway if Singapore is the dreamland as you put it.haha

Australians are migrating overseas by the masses as well. The British are moving into Australia by the hundreds of thousands as well. The world is now globalised, there is no going back from this.

You started this thread claiming that you intend to migrate to Oz

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=59263

I was talking about taking a career break to work in EITHER HK,AUS or South America for a year or two. I do not want to migrate. Aus was part of my consideration because I studied in Aus many many years back.

And as for ICW's tirade of BS, I won't even bother to reply because his latest post just so rediculous. He just went bonkers.

Aussie Prick

Australians are migrating overseas by the masses as well. The British are moving into Australia by the hundreds of thousands as well. The world is now globalised, there is no going back from this.

I was talking about taking a career break to work in EITHER HK,AUS or South America for a year or two. I do not want to migrate. Aus was part of my consideration because I studied in Aus many many years back.

And as for ICW's tirade of BS, I won't even bother to reply because his latest post just so rediculous. He just went bonkers.

I spoke to a migration agent that confirmed Singaporeans are not so interested to emigrate to Australia anymore, now the most popular choice is Canada as its a stepping stone to the US.

As a Singaporean the world is wide open so if you want to take a work break, why not follow those roads not so frequented by other Singaporeans - who have a herd mentality. South America sounds interesting, especially Brazil.

senatorabudelai

I am not looking at Brazil but at Argentina/Chile area. I don't think I will fit into Brazil well..safety, food hygeiene etc are concerns as well.

I am quite sure there are more Singaporeans moving to China/HK than to Australia now. I know a lot of people working in China and they enjoy quite a good lifestyle there as expatriates.

chewed

I spoke to a migration agent that confirmed Singaporeans are not so interested to emigrate to Australia anymore, now the most popular choice is Canada as its a stepping stone to the US.

As a Singaporean the world is wide open so if you want to take a work break, why not follow those roads not so frequented by other Singaporeans - who have a herd mentality. South America sounds interesting, especially Brazil.

I think you conveniently left out the part about quite many sinkies don't qualify to migrate to AUstralia....

senatorabudelai

Ha ha, conversely speaking, how many Australians are qualified to migrate to Singapore? or UK or anywhere else?

Every country these days are raising their standards for immigrants. 20 years ago, O levels is more than enough to migrate. Just hop on a plane with some money and you are in. Now you need a degree and a degree is not enough for most countries, you need masters or a specialised skill they need.

Satan

Ha ha, conversely speaking, how many Australians are qualified to migrate to Singapore? or UK or anywhere else?

Every country these days are raising their standards for immigrants. 20 years ago, O levels is more than enough to migrate. Just hop on a plane with some money and you are in. Now you need a degree and a degree is not enough for most countries, you need masters or a specialised skill they need.

There are many Australians moving to UK and Britons going to Oz because of the working holiday visa that these 2 countries have. I suggest that you pull your head out of your arse and start looking at the real world. :rolleyes: