• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is better than Australia and New Zealand.

senatorabudelai

Well there is no debate that Singapore is better than New Zealand, so I won't bother to talk much about that.

In New Zealand, the average wage is 4k SGD/mth. You pay 20-33% tax on that amount, meaning you take home around 3k SGD.

In Singapore average wage is 4k sgd as well. But very low tax and very cheap cost of living. Singapore's GDP per capita (PPP) is 4th in the world. So you can save a lot more money in SG, one of easiest place to save money in the world.

NZ houses and cost of living are rediculously expensive. The cheapest shittiest ones near a major city cost 200k SGD and above. Most cost 350k SGD. And you can't possible get houses (which also cost around 200k SGD) in the countryside because you need jobs, and jobs are only available in major cities. Cost of living is extremely high compared to Singapore.

Australia might be more attractive than New Zealand but every country has its bane and boon, pros and cons.

So this is the thread dedicated to highlighting how Australia is worse than Singapore.

senatorabudelai

15 SOLID REASONS WHY SINGAPORE IS BETTER THAN AUSTRALAR.

1. Australia cost of living is very high. Daily products and houses are expensive.

2. China's booming. Singapore's economy is sky rocketing. Singapore is well placed to ride the China and India boom. Singapore's GDP per capita (nominal) is expected to overtake Japan this year. Becoming the highest per capita GDP in Asia amongst all non oil countries! (Note UAE and Qatar will always have higher GDP than Singapore because they depend on their oil. They don't have a free market system like Singapore)

3. Singapore has an exciting future. ASEAN might become another CARICOM or MERCUSR, your Singapore passport can allow u to work and live freely in other ASEAN countries. Growth in Singapore is so tremendrous. Asia is booming. Singapore will ride China's and India's wave because SG speak their languages.

3. Singapore is much safer, less corrupted and has more convenient amentities (library, food court, everything just 15mins away) than Australia. You can walk down any streets in Singapore and feel safe anytime everytime. Can you do that in Australia?

4. Singapore offers a better place to bring up kids. Billingual education. Chinese is the language of the future. In Singapore, your kids will learn Chinese. Jim Rogers once said "if you were smart in 1800, you lived in London; if you were smart in 1900, you lived in New York.; Now if u were smart in 2010, you live in Asia". The billionaire moved to Singapore. And he is not alone, Gong Li, Jet Li, Jackie Chan, Co Co Lee etc all want to move to Singapore.

Singapore has no drug problem. Australia has a serious drug problem. 40% used drugs before. ( http://www.aihw.gov.au/publications/...a04/sdua04.pdf ) That is just disgusting.

5. Alot of people talk about the less stressful lifestyle in Australia. But in Singapore, if you just be a bit creative, you can easily get a nice house in JB, Malaysia or Indonesia and enjoy the less stressful lifestyle there as well every weekend or day. Plus the cost of things are so cheap.

6. In Australia, technology is so backwards. 80 SGD can get you a 100mbps internet line. In Australia, it gets you a CAPPED 120GB 5mbps internet line. And how much is the activation fee? 400 sgd!

Same goes for public transport, infrastructure, business etc. Singapore is much better.

7. Australia has water problems. South Australia is rationing water. Small towns only have rain water tanks. Yucks, do you dare to drink rainwater? :eek:

8. Australia has lots of dangerous animals. Jellyfish that kill , most dangerous snakes, most dangerous spiders, all found in Australia.

"Funnel-webs are probably one of the three most dangerous spiders in the world and are regarded by some to be the most dangerous."

Here's what someone living in Australia thinks about the funnel web spiders around her house (most dangerous spider in the world, one bite and your child can die of posioning)

"Because......we get them in the house constantly, and since they are NOT afraid of people, you can step on one and get bit quite easily.
I'd say here in the house, because of my living situation, I see prolly a funnel web once a month now in winter and last summer I saw them once a week, crawling near my bed quite often, and yes they hide in shoes...so when u have to get up to pee in the middle of the night...given they really can kill you...and talk about having a baby here in a few months...it's the only scary thing here, really."

:rolleyes:

9. In Singapore, you can hire an expatriate maid to help you do your family chores. You can't do that in Australia.

10. Running a business in Australia is exhorbitantly expensive. You pay 20AUD/hr just for a waiter. Plumbers cost hundreds of dollars.

In Singapore, unskilled labour is cheap. Very good place to run a business.

11. In Singapore, there are much much more jobs and career options than Australia. If you live in a small Australian town, there are no jobs for you. Even their biggest cities like Sydney etc cannot compare to 1/4 of Singapore's career choices. Singapore has more than 100 banks! Lots of career choices from Banking, healtcare, etc.

12. Food. Food is Singapore is much cheaper and better than Australia. 1.50 AUD for 12 eggs! 1.5AUD for big packet of soya bean milk! 2.50-3 AUD can get you a decent meal of Wantan noodles, Char Kway Teow, Mixed vege rice etc. In Aus, it cannot even get you a drink!

Chinese, British, American, Indian, Turkish, all kinds of cusine cuisine can be found in Singapore!! In Aus, it is 90% the usual Australian food.

13. Military defence. Australia has a very run down armed forces. only 50k soldiers. Their strategy is basically to wait for America's help. Indonesia has 500k. Singapore has 400k.

14. Singapore's property prices will skyrocket in a few decades. 20 years ago, 3 room HDB flats cost 60k SGD. Now they cost 200k SGD.

15. Singapore's CPF! you will have money for old age, housing! The employer puts in 12% as well dont forget!

Ok that is all. Bye bye.

senatorabudelai

For those that have given up their SG passports. Sorry too bad. When you read the news next year that Singapore overtakes Japan as the wealthiest nation in Asia, just scowl.

In the new few decades, as you see Singapore become the Switzerland of Asia and Australians, Americans, Asians, Europeans immigrating to Singapore (they already are), just scowl.

Maybe Singapore will buy another Island in Europe or Asia and make it Singapore 2, commonwealth of Singapore.

Oh yeah, that oily char kway teow and hokkien prawn noodle is still darn good! :biggrin: Sorry no Char Kway Teow in Australia. And it is a 1 hour drive just to get to the nearest macdonalds, library, dentist, hospital etc. oh yes, enjoy the lack of jobs, career options, water rationing, poisonous spiders, drinking from rain water tanks, 512kbps internet, drug addicts and pyschopaths roaming the streets as well!

senatorabudelai

GDP per capita nominal:
Australia:45k
Singapore:37k
New Zealand:27k

GDP per capita <PPP>, which takes into account cost of living and is more a accurate reflection of wealth and standard of living:

Singapore:50k
Australia:38k
New Zealand:26k

New zealand is a countrified agricultural country. more sheeps than humans. few good jobs. expensive houses, little wages, expensive cost of living. only good thing is free healthcare.

axe168

For those that have given up their SG passports. Sorry too bad. When you read the news next year that Singapore overtakes Japan as the wealthiest nation in Asia, just scowl.

In the new few decades, as you see Singapore become the Switzerland of Asia and Australians, Americans, Asians, Europeans immigrating to Singapore (they already are), just scowl.

Maybe Singapore will buy another Island in Europe or Asia and make it Singapore 2, commonwealth of Singapore.
!

Wow ! SG seems too good to be true !.. Based on your assumption (maybe.. in few decades... etc), I can assume sinkies can be on top of the world and they can accept billion salaries for ministers ? trilliions of sovereign funds burn away ? This is great !

What makes you so sure we will not be accepted again ? In SG, money talks..
Dude, you will be surprised

IWC2006

15 SOLID REASONS WHY SINGAPORE IS BETTER THAN AUSTRALAR.

1. Australia cost of living is very high. Daily products and houses are expensive.

No la, Singapore is much more expensive ,cramped and overpriced. Pigeon Holes HDB 3 room flat cost $300k+, you can get a decent freehold 2 bedroom unit or even house in suburbs (not city of course)

2. China's booming. Singapore's economy is sky rocketing. Singapore is well placed to ride the China and India boom. Singapore's GDP per capita (nominal) is expected to overtake Japan this year. Becoming the highest per capita GDP in Asia amongst all non oil countries! (Note UAE and Qatar will always have higher GDP than Singapore because they depend on their oil. They don't have a free market system like Singapore)

The Sad Truth is Singapore has no natural resources thus nothing to offer to China. Australia has unlimited rich resources thus the economy boom has been going on since early 2000. Singapore is greatly affected by external factors, during the GFC the economy situation was really bad (job losses, housing crashes) only gradually recover this year.

3. Singapore has an exciting future[/B]. ASEAN might become another CARICOM or MERCUSR, your Singapore passport can allow u to work and live freely in other ASEAN countries. Growth in Singapore is so tremendrous. Asia is booming. Singapore will ride China's and India's wave because SG speak their languages.

Exciting future where your CPF minimum CAP withdram amount will keep going up and government force u to buy annunity. This is the price you have to pay to ride with China and India

3. Singapore is much safer, less corrupted and has more convenient amentities (library, food court, everything just 15mins away) than Australia. You can walk down any streets in Singapore and feel safe anytime everytime. Can you do that in Australia?

Aiya, small country of course easier to move around la, Australia is at least 1000 times bigger than Spore. Well I went jogging last nite after 10pm and I felt really safe, there's ranger patronise my area so its fine.

4. Singapore offers a better place to bring up kids. Billingual education. Chinese is the language of the future. In Singapore, your kids will learn Chinese. Jim Rogers once said "if you were smart in 1800, you lived in London; if you were smart in 1900, you lived in New York.; Now if u were smart in 2010, you live in Asia". The billionaire moved to Singapore. And he is not alone, Gong Li, Jet Li, Jackie Chan, Co Co Lee etc all want to move to Singapore.

Singapore's biligual education unfortunately churn out mediocre language skills (Singlish = English) and laugable mandarin skills that will put a PRC to shame. China is the place to be, not Singapore. Australia is a key trading partner of China , it offers lifestyle and opportunities, and you could run a business in Asia and live in Australia/NZ

Singapore has no drug problem. Australia has a serious drug problem.[/B] 40% used drugs before. ( http://www.aihw.gov.au/publications/...a04/sdua04.pdf ) That is just disgusting.

Singapore has Geylang, the prostitution gateway in the East.

5. Alot of people talk about the less stressful lifestyle in Australia. But in Singapore, if you just be a bit creative, you can easily get a nice house in JB, Malaysia or Indonesia and enjoy the less stressful lifestyle there as well every weekend or day Plus the cost of things are so cheap.

Yea, and u get robbed frequently in JB, Indonesia and not forgetting Earthquake and Tsunami.

6. In Australia, technology is so backwards.[/B] 80 SGD can get you a 100mbps internet line. In Australia, it gets you a CAPPED 120GB 5mbps internet line. And how much is the activation fee? 400 sgd!

I agree with this one, but I still get a lot of bandwidth and fast speed with the same price I paid in SG, so I'm fine with it. Big country with small population thus there's no economy of scale to provide unlimited bandwidth here.

Same goes for public transport, infrastructure, business etc. Singapore is much better

Who needs public transport where I can drive, cars are much cheaper here, no 10 years COE and almost everyone can afford to pay in cash thus there is no debt, unlike Singaporean got to take up a 7 years car-loan and paying ERP everywhere he goes

7. [Australia has water problems. South Australia is rationing water. Small towns only have rain water tanks. Yucks, do you dare to drink rainwater? :eek:

We have resources to supply our own water. Singapore is relying on JB. Singapore is in the mercy of another country, poor thing

8. Australia has lots of dangerous animalsJellyfish that kill , most dangerous snakes, most dangerous spiders, all found in Australia.
So long you don't live in a forrest, jungle or live like a mermaid, you'll fine. Singapore has digusting bugs all over due to humity, cramped and hygiene issues.

"Funnel-webs are probably one of the three most dangerous spiders in the world and are regarded by some to be the most dangerous."

Here's what someone living in Australia thinks about the funnel web spiders around her house (most dangerous spider in the world, one bite and your child can die of posioning)

"Because......we get them in the house constantly, and since they are NOT afraid of people, you can step on one and get bit quite easily.
I'd say here in the house, because of my living situation, I see prolly a funnel web once a month now in winter and last summer I saw them once a week, crawling near my bed quite often, and yes they hide in shoes...so when u have to get up to pee in the middle of the night...given they really can kill you...and talk about having a baby here in a few months...it's the only scary thing here, really."

:rolleyes:

9. In Singapore, you can hire an expatriate maid to help you do your family chores. You can't do that in Australia.

I reckon you mean Phillipino or Indo maid who often caught torturing owners child. Thats the price to pay for cheap labour

10. Running a business in Australia is exhorbitantly expensive. You pay 20AUD/hr just for a waiter. Plumbers cost hundreds of dollars.
Thats because we have minimum wage, Spore has none. There's more enteprenuers in Australia than Singapore can dream of. The entereprenuer culture here is awesome.

In Singapore, unskilled labour is cheap. Very good place to run a business

Would you trust unskilled labour to run your business? Think.

11. In Singapore, there are much much more jobs and career options than Australia. If you live in a small Australian town, there are no jobs for you. Even their biggest cities like Sydney etc cannot compare to 1/4 of Singapore's career choices. Singapore has more than 100 banks! Lots of career choices from Banking, healtcare, etc.

Yea yea yea, a city of 4+ million sure got plenty of career choice. Unfortunately half of the jobs go to Foreigners, and poor Sporeans got to compete with 3rd world nationals but classified as Foreign talents in Spore.

12. Food.Food is Singapore is much cheaper and better than Australia. 1.50 AUD for 12 eggs! 1.5AUD for big packet of soya bean milk! 2.50-3 AUD can get you a decent meal of Wantan noodles, Char Kway Teow, Mixed vege rice etc. In Aus, it cannot even get you a drink!

Wage is higher here so people can afford. Char Kway Teow and Wantan noodles are not mainstream dishes here. U could get $3 toast + egg roll for breadfast

Chinese, British, American, Indian, Turkish, all kinds of cusine cuisine can be found in Singapore!! In Aus, it is 90% the usual Australian food.
Wrong la, Australia is much more multi-cultural and choice of int'l cruisine are so much more, thats because of the diversity of Australian immigrants and they bring their food culture here. The best Peking duck is in Melbourne not Beijing! The international crusine in Singapore is substandard, overpriced and usually run by mediocre chef!

13. Military defence. Australia has a very run down armed forces. only 50k soldiers. Their strategy is basically to wait for America's help. Indonesia has 500k. Singapore has 400k.

Militiary is a life-long career here and is volunteerily Troops are sent to Iraq war to help the Americans. Singapore forced males to go national service but none of them is equipped to go to war because again with mediocre training usually run by low-educated arm forces.

14. Singapore's property prices will skyrocket in a few decades. 20 years ago, 3 room HDB flats cost 60k SGD. Now they cost 200k SGD.

Yea, shoe-box size unit will be your only hope in the future.

15. Singapore's CPF! you will have money for old age, housing! The employer puts in 12% as well dont forget!

Ok that is all. Bye bye.

Employer put in 12% but with cap at $4500, so the max contribution is $540 a month from employer, thats cheap! In Australia there's no cap and will increase employer contribution from 12% from current 9%! haha.

Haha, this thread is very entertaining, keep it coming. AussiePrick aka Shockshit old tricks is coming back again!

chewed

Employer put in 12% but with cap at $4500, so the max contribution is $540 a month from employer, thats cheap! In Australia there's no cap and will increase employer contribution from 12% from current 9%! haha.

Haha, this thread is very entertaining, keep it coming. AussiePrick aka Shockshit old tricks is coming back again!

i would like so smoke some of the shit that this chap is smoking man.....

AhSo1

Unfortunately for Australia it has lost its comparitive advantage for migration. Other nations offer today what Australia once did for Singaporeans.

senatorabudelai

trilliions of sovereign funds burn away ? This is great !

Glad you brought that up. Singapore has the ninth biggest foreign reserves in the world. and trillion dollars of sovereign funds that have been seeing good returns for decades.

if everything in singapore stops today, singapore can afford to pay every citizen 5k a month for decades. that is how much money singapore has!

while european nations are going bankrupt, america is 15 trillion in debt, aren't you glad that there is a nation so strong fiscally?

senatorabudelai

No la, Singapore is much more expensive ,cramped and overpriced. Pigeon Holes HDB 3 room flat cost $300k+, you can get a decent freehold 2 bedroom unit or even house in suburbs (not city of course)

Ok this i admit. But Australia's prices is still a lot higher than Singapore. 3 room hdb you can get for 100+k, not 300+k.

The Sad Truth is Singapore has no natural resources thus nothing to offer to China. Australia has unlimited rich resources thus the economy boom has been going on since early 2000. Singapore is greatly affected by external factors, during the GFC the economy situation was really bad (job losses, housing crashes) only gradually recover this year.

Oh please, the african nations have rich natural resources but look what happened? Singapore has the world most open, one of the most inventive and competitive economy, that is all that matters. every modern country runs on economy not by drilling copper these days, though that helps slightly.

the growth rate for singapore economy this year is expected to be around 8-10%. you call that gradually recover? lol. highest growth rate in asia possibly!

the finiancial crisis hit singapore hard because singapore is a global country with the most globalised economy, hence it will obviously be affected. (but only 2-3% contraction overall, so much better than most european nations)

Aiya, small country of course easier to move around la, Australia is at least 1000 times bigger than Spore. Well I went jogging last nite after 10pm and I felt really safe, there's ranger patronise my area so its fine.

In Singapore, you don't need an armed ranger watching your back to feel safe :rolleyes:

Singapore's biligual education unfortunately churn out mediocre language skills (Singlish = English) and laugable mandarin skills that will put a PRC to shame. China is the place to be, not Singapore. Australia is a key trading partner of China , it offers lifestyle and opportunities, and you could run a business in Asia and live in Australia/NZ

50% of Mainland chinese cannot even speak Mandarin. If you can speak fluent mandarin, which many Singaporeans can, they are better off than these people already. 1/7 americans cannot even read a few lines of simple english. The educated Singaporeans do speak good English, better accent than the Broad/ General Australian for sure.

But I concede that the New Zealand accent sounds more posh.

Singapore has Geylang, the prostitution gateway in the East.

Australia has many geylangs as well in states where prostituition are legalised. Dozen times more than singapore

I agree with this one, but I still get a lot of bandwidth and fast speed with the same price I paid in SG, so I'm fine with it. Big country with small population thus there's no economy of scale to provide unlimited bandwidth here.

Please stop living in denial.

Who needs public transport where I can drive, cars are much cheaper here, no 10 years COE and almost everyone can afford to pay in cash thus there is no debt, unlike Singaporean got to take up a 7 years car-loan and paying ERP everywhere he goes

You don't even need to drive in SIngapore. public transport is that good.

We have resources to supply our own water. Singapore is relying on JB. Singapore is in the mercy of another country, poor thing

No Australia lacks water stop living in denial. Australia is the driest continent. South Australia is already rationing water. Singapore has NEWwater and now is almost capable of supplying all her water needs. She is not renewing the water contract with Johor when it expires next year :smile:

Australia does not have Singapore's water techonlogy.

So long you don't live in a forrest, jungle or live like a mermaid, you'll fine. Singapore has digusting bugs all over due to humity, cramped and hygiene issues.

Yeah right. There are many poisionous spiders that roam into your homes in the suburb or even city area. you don't even get bugs in singapore houses because they are so clean.

Would you trust unskilled labour to run your business? Think.

How skilled do you have to be to work as a waiter etc? You pay 20aud/hr for a waiter in australia, while you pay 6 aud/hr for a waiter in singapore.

Yea yea yea, a city of 4+ million sure got plenty of career choice. Unfortunately half of the jobs go to Foreigners, and poor Sporeans got to compete with 3rd world nationals but classified as Foreign talents in Spore.

Not really. If you have a good education/skill, you can easily find a good job in Singapore. can't say that for australia.

Last week, my company was hiring an engineer. We had 3 applicants. 1 from USA, 1 from Germany, 1 from Singapore, all almost similiary qualified.

In the end we went for the SIngapore one because he had better knowledge of his field.

Wrong la, Australia is much more multi-cultural and choice of int'l cruisine are so much more, thats because of the diversity of Australian immigrants and they bring their food culture here. The best Peking duck is in Melbourne not Beijing! The international crusine in Singapore is substandard, overpriced and usually run by mediocre chef!

ha ha denial

Militiary is a life-long career here and is volunteerily Troops are sent to Iraq war to help the Americans. Singapore forced males to go national service but none of them is equipped to go to war because again with mediocre training usually run by low-educated arm forces.

ha ha. australia has what? 100 f-18s? singapore has 100+ f15s and f16s and soon f35s. they would win the f-18s in a dogfight easily.

face the facts. australia's armed forces is severely understaffed and underfunded.

........................................................................................xx

senatorabudelai

GDP per capita nominal:
Australia:45k
Singapore:37k
New Zealand:27k

GDP per capita (PPP), which takes into account cost of living and is more a accurate reflection of wealth and standard of living:

Singapore:50k
Australia:38k
New Zealand:26k

New zealand is a countrified agricultural country. more sheeps than humans. few good jobs. expensive houses, little wages, expensive cost of living. only good thing is free healthcare.

...........................nn

axe168

Glad you brought that up. Singapore has the ninth biggest foreign reserves in the world. and trillion dollars of sovereign funds that have been seeing good returns for decades.

if everything in singapore stops today, singapore can afford to pay every citizen 5k a month for decades. that is how much money singapore has!

IF... MAYBE... Next Decades...hmmm... nice words

Fact : Singapore has only given few hundreds to its ppl.. but force them to surrender hundred of thousands CPF money..

Fact : You and your sons & sons will have no bloody idea when will the $5k/mth be realised.. or it will never happen.

Fact : Your money which form part of the sovereign fund is not subjected to audit.. this means anything Ah So.. Ah Jinx can burn the money away with ease.

You are not in good hands.. Be afraid... be very afraid...

senatorabudelai

Haha now you are not even making the slightest sense anymore. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Jealous perhaps?:biggrin:

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/life...ith-largest-foreign-exchange-reserves-509751/

Here is a list of Top 10 Forex Reserves in the World :

Rank Country Reserves
1 China 2.132 Tr.$
2 Japan 1.019 Tr, $
3 Russia 401 Billion $
4 Taiwan 305 Billion $
5 India 262 Billion $
6 South Korea 232 Billion $
7 Brazil 210 Billion $
8 Hong kong 186 Billion $
9 Singapore 166 Billion $

That does not include trillion dollars of equities in Temasek GIC etc.! Australia ranks 40th compared to Singapore's 9th place.

Australia Has Highest Household Debt to Disposable Income Ratio in World

http://www.dailyreckoning.com.au/au...-disposable-income-ratio-in-world/2010/02/03/

neddy

So this is the thread dedicated to highlighting how Australia is worse than Singapore.

Too bad Goh Keng Swee is not around to see the modern dinosaurs he created when he reformed Singapore Education System.

Of course Singapore is Lumber ONE. Everything is good there. No one will dare to say bad things. I really enjoy the Singapore air quality, the super efficient transport service.

c_class_official.jpg

Mercedes-Benz is Lumber One in Price in Singapore

123773223_33e75a3f88.jpg

HDB Flats also Lumber One in Price in Singapore

There are more to come ....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

But I decided to do some hobby farming today. It is more worthwhile to watch the plants grow than writing to jurassic-era trolls.

Satan

Oei I thought he got banned? Who let the trolls out again ?

Guess the PAP must really be desperate of the mass emigration eh? First, they try to let the loser cockroaches condemn Oz and speak highly of US, people got tired of that and it no longer works. Now proabably highlight the bullshit benefits of the dot. Well, lets see how far they go with this. :rolleyes: