• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How hard to get rid of Singaporean Accent & Singlish?

AndromedaAsc

For those bros living overseas be it PR or already a citizen in another country, what are your experiences of getting rid of the Singaporean Accent & Singlish?

Normally how long does it take before you can pass off sounding like a native speaker in that country? Any tips or suggestions on how to adopt the country's accent?

I guess it varies from individual to individual. Personally, I consider English as my first and only language, but I do speak with a Singaporean Accent since I was young :(

Education in this country is a sad case... Neither English nor Chinese is up to standard... all we learn is some substandard bastardized versions of both language. Sigh...

wrcboi

its all to do with the pronunciation...pronounce the words according to the standards of the country you are in.....and of coz dont add lah leh or any etc....in between sentence or after.......

neddy

For those bros living overseas be it PR or already a citizen in another country, what are your experiences of getting rid of the Singaporean Accent & Singlish?

Education in this country is a sad case... Neither English nor Chinese is up to standard... all we learn is some substandard bastardized versions of both language. Sigh...

Some homourous advice.

Try eating salad and speak at the same time. You will sound like a metrosexxual Aussie.

Try keeping your teeth closed together while talking. You will sound like a outback Aussie.

But the fact is, after you start primary school, your accent is set.

Ash007

More humorous advice,

If you are OZ, start speaking strine,

G'day mate: Ged Day Mike
Put a shrimp on the bbq: Put a shrimp on the BarBie.

Joking aside, try watching more local tv channel. ABC,SBS etc, they have pretty good news presenters. Watch also how the local politician speaks as well. Q&A is a good program that shows how average Aussie speaks. Most of the time your accent is pretty much sets. Occasionally if I meet someone from Singapore I'll slang a bit more to show that I'm from the same village. Other then that there is nothing much you can do about it.

wrcboi

Some homourous advice.

Try eating salad and speak at the same time. You will sound like a metrosexxual Aussie.

Try keeping your teeth closed together while talking. You will sound like a outback Aussie.

But the fact is, after you start primary school, your accent is set.

i concur....it be easier if you erase all the different ways of pronunciation...and start from scratch....

sporns just have too many in their heads.....american, british, hanyu pinyin way of pronunciation and etc...

Ash007

i concur....it be easier if you erase all the different ways of pronunciation...and start from scratch....

sporns just have too many in their heads.....american, british, hanyu pinyin way of pronunciation and etc...

I think you can minimised it if you are aware of your own pronunciation. Its just a matter of practicing.

QXD

Will always remember Overseas Student orientation in my Uni days where they told us about "Emma Chisit" and "wear your gun"

I think you can minimised it if you are aware of your own pronunciation. Its just a matter of practicing.

If you migrate to a new country by the age of 12 or 13, chances are you will speak like a native/local. You will alsoi have the ability to switch between Singlish and the new accent with ease.

If you migrate any later, you will be to pronounce the words like the locals but you never be able to converse in a sentence without the singapore accent. Its there for good.

Then you have the local SPG who married an angmo and migrated. Die die also the fake accent will be there until it becomes hilarious.

Normally how long does it take before you can pass off sounding like a native speaker in that country? Any tips or suggestions on how to adopt the country's accent?

I guess it varies from individual to individual. Personally, I consider English as my first and only language, but I do speak with a Singaporean Accent since I was young :(

senatorabudelai

Why would anyone outside Australia want to learn an Australian accent? Australian accents are horribly grinding and unclear, especially the broad Australian accent. Unless you are going for received pronounciation, which 10% of Aussies, mostly ladies, speak. The educated Singaporean accent is much better than the Australian,Scottish, Welsh, Southern American, Gerodie...blah blah accents.

Listen to the accents of Lee Kuan Yew or Tharman Shamugaratnam or most Singaporean MPs vis a vis Kevin Rudd and his MPs.

I suggest you stop bitching you retard. Seriously, a lot of people don't realise how good they have it. Singapore's education is one of the best in the world. Educated Singaporeans speak better Mandarin than most mainlanders, and better English than many Americans/Australians/Brits..Scots..Welsh..Geordie etc.

FYI, 50% of people in China cannot even speak Putonghua. 1/7 in America cannot read more than a few lines of English. 70% of Australians are not even of English ancestry.

http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200609/05/eng20060905_299608.html
http://theundernews.com/2009/01/11/17-americans-cant-read-this/

If you want to learn an accent, the New Zealand one is not bad. Else stick to Received Pronounciation or General American.

If you migrate to a new country by the age of 12 or 13, chances are you will speak like a native/local. You will alsoi have the ability to switch between Singlish and the new accent with ease.

If you migrate any later, you will be to pronounce the words like the locals but you never be able to converse in a sentence without the singapore accent. Its there for good.

Then you have the local SPG who married an angmo and migrated. Die die also the fake accent will be there until it becomes hilarious.

This is not true. You can adopt a new accent if you have some basic knowledge of lingustics (at least know the basics, rhotics, non rhotics,etc) and put your mind to practice it. Professional actors can put on a totally new accent within a few months of practice. If you are a native speaker of English, and you are living in that "new accent" place, it is very possible to learn a new accent once you observe all the nuances of their speech.

You'll NEVER sound like a native speaker no matter how hard you try.

However, if you can learn to to say "cake" instead of "kek". "need" instead of "nid", "flour"[rhymes with "our'] instead of "flah" and so on, you're well on your way to being understood by most English speaking communities.

PS: Remember that "advice" is a non count noun and "advise" is a verb. It'll stop you from being the laughing stock of the office.

IWC2006

I'm not sure which destinated country you are moving.

I don't think I ever want to pick up or master Aussie accent even I'm living here.

Firstly, there's 3 type of broad speaking Aussie accents here so its hard to follow a unified accent. Also, some of them sound horrible, I guess I'm more flavourable with the American or British accent (though it vary as well). If u watch Master of Chef, you can tell how annoying the Greek Aussie guy accent sound whereas the other 2 british born hosts accent and choice of words are so much better. Also, I never watched any Aussie dramas(they are hideous!) other than selected shows and I mostly watch American dramas. Recently they are trying to market this 15 year old contestant in 'Australia Got Talent' to be the next Susan Boyle but I find he is very ordinary and the hosts (including 1 Irish judge) are grostique to watch!

Sorry no Aussie accent for me, but I also want to sound less-Singaporean :-) Maybe you can pick up American accent? haha.

Just speak clear and concise, sometimes you may pick up 1 or 2

IWC2006

Why would anyone outside Australia want to learn an Australian accent? Australian accents are horribly grinding and unclear, especially the broad Australian accent. Unless you are going for received pronounciation, which 10% of Aussies, mostly ladies, speak. The educated Singaporean accent is much better than the Australian,Scottish, Welsh, Southern American, Gerodie...blah blah accents.

Listen to the accents of Lee Kuan Yew or Tharman Shamugaratnam or most Singaporean MPs vis a vis Kevin Rudd and his MPs.

I suggest you stop bitching you retard. Seriously, a lot of people don't realise how good they have it. Singapore's education is one of the best in the world. Educated Singaporeans speak better Mandarin than most mainlanders, and better English than many Americans/Australians/Brits..Scots..Welsh..Geordie etc.

FYI, 50% of people in China cannot even speak Putonghua. 1/7 in America cannot read more than a few lines of English. 70% of Australians are not even of English ancestry.

http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200609/05/eng20060905_299608.html
http://theundernews.com/2009/01/11/17-americans-cant-read-this/

If you want to learn an accent, the New Zealand one is not bad. Else stick to Received Pronounciation or General American.

This is not true. You can adopt a new accent if you have some basic knowledge of lingustics (at least know the basics, rhotics, non rhotics,etc) and put your mind to practice it. Professional actors can put on a totally new accent within a few months of practice. If you are a native speaker of English, and you are living in that "new accent" place, it is very possible to learn a new accent once you observe all the nuances of their speech.

PLS la, S'pore Education is the best in the world because LKY say so? Its good but definitely not the best, not even in top.10, thats why so many Sporeans pick up hideous English skills that no one understand other than themselves. Everyone is laughing at us, even the mainland Chinese. (at least they learn and pick up American accent in school!) Singapore's education system does not prepare one to speak and express confidently, and often not free flowing when they conduct a speech. Once my ex-CEO(Singaporean) was giving a company wide speech with his half-baked English in which my Aussie workmate next to me was commenting 'his English is not very good'...I was embarrassed. Copying LKY speech is a no-no, I'll be bored to death.

Aussie accent may not sound familiar but its still a 1st world English speak country. Singapore is still not regard as a 'English speaking country' if you check the immigration or educational language requirements in western countries. NUS may be highly regarded in South East Asia (hey I'm a NUS graduate myself) but is not widely received in the western countries. Until Singapore win some nobel prizes I suggest they should stop telling the world they have the best in the world..haha.

Charlie9

Based on my experience, the "magic age" is between 12 to 14, because once puberty sets in, a child will have more challenges acquiring the accent of the new country. However, I have seen several individuals who arrived in Toronto, after the age of 16, and they sound very Canadian.

I have heard that there are individuals who train immigtants to acquire the Canadian accent. I believe the key is pronounce clearly like the natives. Having said that, I speculate that the difference is that our children attending schools in Canada, are taught phonics, in JK and SK, whereas when I went to Primary school in SG, I did not learn phonics.

It is very difficult to get rid of the Singaporean accent, but much easier to faster to get rid of Singlish.

Ash007

Once my ex-CEO(Singaporean) was giving a company wide speech with his half-baked English in which my Aussie workmate next to me was commenting 'his English is not very good'...I was embarrassed. Copying LKY speech is a no-no, I'll be bored to death.

LKY speech is overrated. It is boring and doesn't provide much substance from what I've seen. Perhaps when he was younger he was a good speaker, but unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to see that. The aussie politician have a much more entertaining speech, from the wall of sound of Kevin Rudd, to the the jovial responds of Joe Hockey. Q&A last night has an excellent debate between Joe and Lindsey. If only half of the MPs/Oppositions could speak so eloquently in Singapore it would have improved the standard of English in Singapore.

IWC2006

LKY speech is overrated. It is boring and doesn't provide much substance from what I've seen. Perhaps when he was younger he was a good speaker, but unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to see that. The aussie politician have a much more entertaining speech, from the wall of sound of Kevin Rudd, to the the jovial responds of Joe Hockey. Q&A last night has an excellent debate between Joe and Lindsey. If only half of the MPs/Oppositions could speak so eloquently in Singapore it would have improved the standard of English in Singapore.

Difficult to implement la. Gov has to decide what they want - they should fire all the English teachers , replace them with the native speaking teachers, either adopt the American English or the Queen's English so the next breed of Sporeans can speak proper English confidently. No point telling the world we have world class language education which clearly they don't. So many Sporeans are efficient with their work but they can't communicate and articulate well,and lose out in the workplace. If more ABCs crossover to sg, Sporeans have no place to stand , Already overshadow by ANg Mos and the ah nehs.

Ash007

Difficult to implement la. Gov has to decide what they want - they should fire all the English teachers , replace them with the native speaking teachers, either adopt the American English or the Queen's English so the next breed of Sporeans can speak proper English confidently. No point telling the world we have world class language education which clearly they don't. So many Sporeans are efficient with their work but they can't communicate and articulate well,and lose out in the workplace. If more ABCs crossover to sg, Sporeans have no place to stand , Already overshadow by ANg Mos and the ah nehs.

Most of these Singapore MPs are overseas educated. I wonder why their Ang moh is so bad ah .

AndromedaAsc

The consensus seems to be Singlish is easy to get rid off with practice and constant awareness of words not to use and correcting pronunciation. Accent on the other hand is more challenging.

I don't really agree with the idea that adults can't change accent. I have no doubts it would be difficult and perhaps it is true that most people can't do it, but then again actors frequently do it... although I do admit they probably have gone through some professional training to master accents.

For the record, I'm not going to Australia but to USA. But in any case even the Aussie's accent are more understandable than the Singapore one.

Ash007

The consensus seems to be Singlish is easy to get rid off with practice and constant awareness of words not to use and correcting pronunciation. Accent on the other hand is more challenging.

I don't really agree with the idea that adults can't change accent. I have no doubts it would be difficult and perhaps it is true that most people can't do it, but then again actors frequently do it... although I do admit they probably have gone through some professional training to master accents.

For the record, I'm not going to Australia but to USA. But in any case even the Aussie's accent are more understandable than the Singapore one.

There are many Aussie actors in Hollywood now with an american accent. Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman, Simon Baker, Anna Torv, etc etc, perhaps having a dialect coach helps and being brought up in a country that teaches "proper" English helps as well.

Ash007

Firstly, there's 3 type of broad speaking Aussie accents here so its hard to follow a unified accent. Also, some of them sound horrible, I guess I'm more flavourable with the American or British accent (though it vary as well). If u watch Master of Chef, you can tell how annoying the Greek Aussie guy accent sound whereas the other 2 british born hosts accent and choice of words are so much better. Also, I never watched any Aussie dramas(they are hideous!) other than selected shows and I mostly watch American dramas. Recently they are trying to market this 15 year old contestant in 'Australia Got Talent' to be the next Susan Boyle but I find he is very ordinary and the hosts (including 1 Irish judge) are grostique to watch!

mate you did not watch Underbelly and the habibs aussie accent?

AndromedaAsc

In any case, majority of the people here seem to agree that Singapore accent for us adults (past age 16) is difficult to get rid of completely.

For those who have migrated, perhaps you can share on how having a Singaporean accent is problematic in your integration with the overseas community?

For e.g. Can people still tell that you came from Singapore based on your speech? Or perhaps they just know you are foreigner but cannot pinpoint the country? Will you always be sticking out because you lack the accent in the country you have moved to?