• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rony Tan vs the 3 boys arrested for racism - Double standards

pallkia

I am very worried the govt might pay a heavy price in the next election if this issue is not solved FAIRLY as the silent majority is very frustrated by this double standard!

Watchman

BetHorg1_500x279.jpg

Watchman

Fredrick Douglass - What The Black Man Wants
At the Annual Meeting of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society in Boston, April, 1865, Douglass delivered the following speech on the subject: The Equality of all men before the law; Note that this was given within days of the close of the Civil War and the assassination of President Lincoln.

slave-back.jpg

dunbluffme

Yo bro I cannot agree more than you man... U r right man coz I agree Rony could have done more damage. Up to now, I have not seen nor read about what the 3 boys wrote.. It was afterall wriiten in their own personal Facebook stuff....

Both are unacceptable behaviour but Rony Tan did more damage to many Singaporeans and the way that it was done is worse. I am sure the 3 boys would have preferred a chat with ISD rather than being arrested. Is this inconsistent behaviour or that the 3 boys are nobody in this country. As far as I am concerned Rony should have been arrested like the 3 boys and given both barrels.

Maybe because the 3 boys are from Kampong HDB while Rony is staying in bungalow and therefore a chat is sufficient.

The authorities need to explain. The laws must apply to all Singaporeans fairly.

saratogas

The authorities need to explain. The laws must apply to all Singaporeans fairly.

Wow scroobal, DPM Wong explain to you leh...:wink:

From CNA: Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng has said he is glad to note that Pastor Rony Tan has realised his mistake and has met the Buddhist and Taoist leaders to personally apologise for his actions.

Mr Wong said he is also heartened to learn that the leaders have accepted Pastor Tan's apology and have urged restraint on the part of their religious communities.

Mr Wong, who is also the Deputy Prime Minister, was responding to media queries to comment on the insensitive remarks made by Pastor Tan.

He said that the government cannot allow anyone to exploit and escalate any issue to whip up emotions and tensions on the ground between Singapore's ethnic and religious communities.

Mr Wong said mutual respect, tolerance and restraint are critical to maintaining communal peace and harmony in the country's multi-ethnic, multi-religious society.

He added that religious leaders must lead and set the right example in this regard.

Mr Wong said that while Singaporeans are free to propagate their religious beliefs, it must never be by way of insulting the religious beliefs of others. He added that this is a fundamental OB marker that everyone must all steer by in Singapore.

Mr Wong also addressed concerns on why the three youths on Facebook were treated differently from Pastor Tan. The youths were arrested last month after posting racist remarks on Facebook.

Mr Wong said that it is a very serious matter if anyone is investigated by the Internal Security Department. He added that it is not less serious than getting investigated by the police.

The minister said the bottomline in such cases is to ensure that the OB markers are clear and that transgressions are dealt with in a balanced and professional manner.

In the case of the Facebook incident, a complaint was made to the police. The police are investigating and will refer it to the Attorney General's Chambers.

Mr Wong added that the police investigation should take place without interference or prejudging or speculating what that outcome will be or should be.

He is talking thru his arse. Arrest by the Police is certainly more serious. When these boys apply for a job or a visa to travel, they have disclose such events. That is not the case with ISD.

This fucking short arse still can't get anything right.

He knows for a fact that that an offence has taken place but does no want to pursue it. Why did ISD not call up the 2 boys.

Mr Wong said that it is a very serious matter if anyone is investigated by the Internal Security Department. He added that it is not less serious than getting investigated by the police.

The minister said the bottomline in such cases is to ensure that the OB markers are clear and that transgressions are dealt with in a balanced and professional manner.

In the case of the Facebook incident, a complaint was made to the police. The police are investigating and will refer it to the Attorney General's Chambers.

Mr Wong added that the police investigation should take place without interference or prejudging or speculating what that outcome will be or should be.

Stage 5

NO NO NO... you misunderstand

Yes its double standards. Police no standard (arrest small boy) and ISD got standard (make such a bigot apologize like a virgin caught by her father sleeping with the bangla gardener).

I believe it's not so much double standard, but different standard. Because race and religion are two different things, so the standards obviously will be different right?

Categorically speaking, I'd say race issues are more serious than religious issues. Making fun about race gets you arrested, no if's or but's. Ridicule other religions, it depends.

kensington

Selective prosecutions are what they are. Those boys with the police records will fare worse than that conniving pastor. The netizens ought to keep this issue alive and keep the questions coming in.

Why were those boys arrrested?
Why Pastor Rony only lim kopi with the ISD?
Why were those boys persecuted?
Why a religious bigot got off with just a slap on his wrist?
Why this and why that and keep questioning and kicking up a bigger stink than what already was.

If that video posting was sanctioned by the church, then the whole church should be held accountable.

Aiyo!

-The boys not yet charged leh.
-Are you sure only lim kopi? you were there?
-Not charged yet lah.
-Dun alway see things just from the surface.
- any more why and what?

You want to charge the whole church? then I'm glad you're not in WKS position then.

Selective prosecutions are what they are. Those boys with the police records will fare worse than that conniving pastor. The netizens ought to keep this issue alive and keep the questions coming in.

Why were those boys arrrested?
Why Pastor Rony only lim kopi with the ISD?
Why were those boys persecuted?
Why a religious bigot got off with just a slap on his wrist?
Why this and why that and keep questioning and kicking up a bigger stink than what already was.

If that video posting was sanctioned by the church, then the whole church should be held accountable.

annexa

scroobal,

To make comparison now would be inconclusive as the 3 boys' case as it has not been concluded yet. If you look at it, the 3 boys and the couple were toying with racial and religious issues in an open domain. Whereas, Rony had intended his silly drama show to a close group of his followers. If Rony had made his comments in an open domain like the others. I'm sure the police would be the one handling his case.

Rony posted it on HIS Church website for all to see, and attempt to use it to discredit Buddhism and Taoism to the general public with the selfish and malicious intent to hurt other religions for his own gain.

2 other BOYS were charged in court for posting in their own private blogs. Which one more public?

Aiyo!

-The boys not yet charged leh.
-Are you sure only lim kopi? you were there?
-Not charged yet lah.
-Dun alway see things just from the surface.
- any more why and what?

You want to charge the whole church? then I'm glad you're not in WKS position then.

Not the whole church, but if Rony Tan is charged, surely the new convert in the video has to be charged too. Then some Christians may escalate it with an outcry of grievance of Christian persecution. It's not in good taste to compare with other religious faiths but after all, it was just a testimony session in a church. The mistake was to put in on website.

Not only on website. It was the church that put it on Youtube.
Not the whole church, but if Rony Tan is charged, surely the new convert in the video has to be charged too. Then some Christians may escalate it with an outcry of grievance of Christian persecution. It's not in good taste to compare with other religious faiths but after all, it was just a testimony session in a church. The mistake was to put in on website.

shOUTloud

Not only on website. It was the church that put it on Youtube.

Well, the first videos were definitely posted on the church website. But I am not so sure that the church posted them on youtube as well. Otherwise, when the shit hit the fan, they would have taken down those on youtube in addition to those on their church website.

littlefish

He is talking thru his arse. Arrest by the Police is certainly more serious. When these boys apply for a job or a visa to travel, they have disclose such events. That is not the case with ISD.

This fucking short arse still can't get anything right.

He knows for a fact that that an offence has taken place but does no want to pursue it. Why did ISD not call up the 2 boys.

Hopefully, some kind soul who has a copy of the video (or screenshot of it on Youtube) will go and make a police report as well. We will then see what he has to say.

elephanto

It is also very telling to read of the Buddhist Federation Gen Sec remark on being asked his reaction to Rony Tan's apology:-

"What to do ? He has offered his apologies, so we must accept them..."

"..... and hope this will not be repeated again."

The first part, like very 'lan lan boh bian'.

The second part - very good warning with double meaning - both to Rony Tan - no more repeat behaviour AND ISD - next time no more stopping at mere warning, you better arrest/detain/charge !

Remember the Hong Kong Bus Uncle on Youtube outburst ?

没解决,我话没解决 !,
你有压力,我都有压力 !
丢你老母 *¥#?!
:cool::biggrin::p

Yes, the youtube posted by the church was taken down at the same time.

Well, the first videos were definitely posted on the church website. But I am not so sure that the church posted them on youtube as well. Otherwise, when the shit hit the fan, they would have taken down those on youtube in addition to those on their church website.