• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Resorts World at Sentosa awarded casino licence

streetcry

SINGAPORE: The Resorts World at Sentosa Integrated Resort has been awarded its casino licence.

In a brief statement posted on its website, the Casino Regulatory Authority of Singapore said the licence was granted on Saturday.

Previously, Resorts World had said it's ready to start operating Singapore's first legal casino as soon as the government issued the gambling licence.

The other integrated resort by Marina Bay Sands is set to open in April after encountering construction delays.

So far, about 3,500 people with serious criminal records have been barred from the two casinos when they open.

In a statement on Friday night, the police said notices called the Commissioner of Police Exclusion Orders will be served on those with a history of crimes related to drugs, illegal moneylending, prostitution and secret societies, among other things.

It's the latest in a series of steps taken by the authorities to keep criminal elements out of the casinos opening soon. - CNA/vm

xiu018623

Swee.
I'm going on Feb 13 after my family reunion dinner.

I bring 30k in, win them 10k out.

i got a ready system, sure to win them...

shOUTloud

All the best to you! xiu018623! Although I have heard same statements before.

My China friends are going to be so excited when I msn them tomoro. The PRCs are going to flood the casino.

All the best to you! xiu018623! Although I have heard same statements before.

My China friends are going to be so excited when I msn them tomoro. The PRCs are going to flood the casino.
Are they going directly from macau to sg? Or will they be going back to the motherland first? :smile:

shOUTloud

More than enough for both places to share the spoils. I am definitely going in as well to take a look at the place. Not much of a gambler myself. Cannot tahan the table games. Prefer jackpot machine. Dun like to interact wiht pple. keke

streetcry

THE DOORS to Singapore's first casino and theme park, Universal Studios, will be flung open by the Chinese New Year, which is widely regarded as an auspicious time.

Tenants and staff at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) told The Straits Times that they have been gearing up for the big opening at the end of this week.

When asked to confirm the dates, RWS spokesman Robin Goh only said: 'We will announce when it's time. We are still on track for the soft opening in the first quarter of 2010.''

The biggest roadblock to the casino's opening was cleared on Saturday when the Casino Regulatory Authority granted RWS its casino license.

The approval means it has fulfilled several conditions: at least half of the resort's gross floor area has been completed, and at least half of the committed investment has been spent.

It also means they have passed the authority's probity investigations, and obtained the green light for their casino layout, gaming equipment, gaming surveillance and licences for casino employees.

Read the full report in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_487702.html

streetcry

The gambler is apparently the last optimist; he is a creature totally unmoved by experience. His belief in ultimate success cannot be shattered by financial loss, however great. He did not win today? So what? Tomorrow will be lucky. He’s lost again? It doesn’t prove a thing; someday he’s bound to win.

kelvin

SINGAPORE: The Resorts World at Sentosa Integrated Resort has been awarded its casino licence.

In a brief statement posted on its website, the Casino Regulatory Authority of Singapore said the licence was granted on Saturday.

Previously, Resorts World had said it's ready to start operating Singapore's first legal casino as soon as the government issued the gambling licence.

The other integrated resort by Marina Bay Sands is set to open in April after encountering construction delays.

So far, about 3,500 people with serious criminal records have been barred from the two casinos when they open.

In a statement on Friday night, the police said notices called the Commissioner of Police Exclusion Orders will be served on those with a history of crimes related to drugs, illegal moneylending, prostitution and secret societies, among other things.

It's the latest in a series of steps taken by the authorities to keep criminal elements out of the casinos opening soon. - CNA/vm

THANK God it is opening Sooner than later.
Hate going by ferry.
Wasting time; and kena cut queue by those aunties.
And boycott LJ bcos of the very arrogant casino mngr. Lim, hope his top Mgt aware of his arrogance and sack him, especially, now their biz is so bad.
Every Kaki know this guy very arrogant and very Rude.

More than enough for both places to share the spoils. I am definitely going in as well to take a look at the place. Not much of a gambler myself. Cannot tahan the table games. Prefer jackpot machine. Dun like to interact wiht pple. keke
Same here, can't stand interacting with people at the tables.
Especially when they are crowded and people standing up place their bets with me and then later kpkb when things didn't turn out our way.

alvin36

$100 to enter casino is "deposit" or entrance fee ?
I think Genting collect 200 for deposit, right ? the malaysian can take back the 200 when leave casino.

Another question, what is the easiest way to go sentosa by public transport ?

xiu018623

If i'm not wrong, i hear first week of CNY is free entrance to all,
including s'porean.

It's a way to let s'pore have a inside look of the first casino in
the world.

shOUTloud

dun be silly. the govt is so kan cheong about singaporeans going in that they are getting all the regulations out. no way RWS is going to sabo themselves by subsidising the $100 for each visitor.

the $100 is a must pay.

kelvin

$100 to enter casino is "deposit" or entrance fee ?
I think Genting collect 200 for deposit, right ? the malaysian can take back the 200 when leave casino.

Another question, what is the easiest way to go sentosa by public transport ?

Answer :
S$100 is the entrance fees.
It is valid for 24 hrs, fm entry time.
Example, now, at11pm, you enter Casino - you can go in/out within 24 hrs until 10.59pm tomorrow.
If you exceed the 24 hrs, then, you pay another $100.

Answer 2 :
The most convenient way is to take the bus (RWS 8).
It stops at the main B1 entrance Festive Hotel Lobby, right into the Casino.
On yr return trip by RWS 8, you dont have to pay the $2 fare again.
The initial starting trip of $2 from Vivocity or Harbour Front is Inclusive of the return trip.

Cheers and Heng-Heng : WIN more.

Ah Hai

Resorts World Casino™ opens its doors
The Resort’s much-anticipated attraction, the Casino, will open on 14 Feb 2010, and this is a day of celebrations, which include a sneak into Universal Studios Singapore®.

The Casino will have its first play on 14 February at an auspicious hour. A private ceremony will be carried out, and we will then our first public guest at 12.18 pm.

A day of festivities at the Integrated Resort has been planned to mark the red-letter day, including a debut of our public attraction, Lake of Dreams.

Throughout the Lunar New Year period, Resorts World Sentosa™ will be rolling out a series of entertainment and food and beverage options for visitors.

http://www.rwsentosa.com/language/en-US/NewsEvents/ResortsWorldCasinoOpening

streetcry

Singapore Citizens or Permanent Residents must have a valid Casino Entry Levy to enter the casino. Person eligible to enter casino must be 21 years old or above. All entry levies are strictly non-refundable and non-transferable. Entry levies collected are paid to the Singapore Totalisator Board for social or charitable purposes. SCPRs who enter the Casino Premises without paying or overstaying shall be liable to a fine of not exceeding S$1,000.

Day levy
• S$100 for each levy purchase.
• Usage: Will expire after 24 consecutive hours from the time of the first entry into the casino.
• SCPRs shall use the designated lanes for entry and exit the Casino Premise.

Annual Membership
• S$2,000 for each levy purchase.
• Usage: Will expire after 12 consecutive months, from the time of the first entry into the casino or 90 days from the date of purchase, whichever is earlier.
• SCPRs shall use the designated lanes for entry and exit the Casino Premises.

Casino levy can be made via the following methods:
• Casino Levy counters at Resorts World Sentosa
• Online payment (available on 12 Feb 2010, at 11:18am)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
1. Do I need to buy a levy?
Only Singaporeans and Permanent Residents of Singapore need to buy an entry levy to enter the casino. A S$100 entry levy lets you stay in the casino for up to 24 consecutive hours. You can also buy a $2,000 entry levy that gives you unlimited entry to Singapore’s first casino at Resorts World Sentosa for a year.

2. Must I buy the levy on the day I visit?
The day levy is valid for 30 days, while the annual levy will be autoactivated upon first entry to casino or 90 days from date of purchase. You do not need a physical levy ticket to enter the casino. You just need your IC or Singapore-issued driver’s licence. Your purchase will be recorded electronically.

3. Where can I buy the entry levy ticket?
You can buy your levy ticket online at www.rwsentosa.com or at counters outside the RWS casino. Please bring your IC or Singapore-issued driver’s licence for counter staff to verify. For on-line payment, you will need the names and IC numbers for persons you are paying levy for. (self-service counters eg ATM/AXN will come on stream later)

4. Do you take Nets or Credit Card?
Cash, Nets and credit card payments are accepted at the manned levy counters outside the casino. On www.rwsentosa.com, we accept major credit cards.

5. What do I do after I have paid for a levy?
Customers will get a receipt at our counters or an email confirmation from online booking. You can keep them for record but when you enter the casino,you’ll only need either your IC or Singapore-issued driver’s licence. Tap either of these at the turnstiles under lanes marked Singaporean/PR at the casino entrance.

6. Can I go to two casinos with one levy ticket?
Both types of entry levy - daily or yearly - admits you to only one casino. Buying an entry levy ticket now allows you access into Singapore’s first casino at Resorts World Sentosa.

7. Is the levy refundable?
Under the Law, the entry cannot be refunded or reimbursed in any way by the casino. If you’d like to enjoy members’ perks and rewards at Resorts World, we encourage you to approach our membership counters located both outside and inside the casino for sign-up.

8. Can I buy a levy and split my 24 hours with a friend?
Each entry levy ticket admits one and is not transferable. An identity card or Singapore-issued driver’s licence has to be produced at the entry turnstile to verify that the holder of the entry levy ticket is the only person entering the casino. We do not require levy ticket for admission, it is an offence to enter the casino without levy or using another person NRIC to enter the casino.

9. How do you prevent underaged Singaporeans from buying a levy ticket?
Your IC or a Singapore-issued drivers’ licence is required when you buy an entry levy from our manned counters. Online and at the self-service kiosks, patrons below 22 years old will be rejected. Patrons aged above 21 but below 22 should buy their levies at the counters outside the casino.

10. Do I have to buy the entry levy on the same day of my visit to the casino?
You can buy the entry levy ticket online or at our counters outside the casino from Friday 11:18am. The ticket is valid for 30 days. Its 24-hour/one-year validity begins from the time of entry into the casino.

11. How do I know that my 24-hour stay is up?
The levy ticket will not indicate the entry date/time, patron can check their levy expiry date/time at the casino kiosks within the casino. . Customers who wish to stay beyond their entry levy validity can buy a second entry levy from the cage inside the casino. (Customers who exit after the expiry of their levy validity will be escorted to the nearest levy counter for an extension.)

12. Do I have to tap my ic or driver’s licence at the exit to prove that I am leaving?
Yes. Singaporeans and Singaporean PRs should tap their document at the pedestals at exit lanes for Singaporeans/ SCPRs.

13. What happens if I want to leave the casino for lunch and return later?
Patrons can enter/leave casino freely so long that their levy has not expired. Tap your IC or driver’s licence at the Singaporean/SCPR lanes as per the usual procedure.

14. Can I get upgrade my $100 entry levy into a $2000 one after I’ve seen the casino?
The Law does not allow you to do so. If you’d like to consider an annual levy for unlimited access to our casino, please approach our levy counters. if you’d like to know more, let us refer you to our membership services at tel: 65778000 or [email protected].

15. 15. Do I get any gifts for buying the levy?
The Law does not let the casino operator reimburse the levy. However, if you ‘d like to join the Resorts World rewards program, call 65778000 or email [email protected]

16. What are the benefits of being a Resort World Sentosa member?
As a member, you are able to earn points through spending and gaming. These points enable you to redeem for gifts such as shows tickets, F&B vouchers and even free night stay at hotel. Our membership counters outside and inside the casino can help you.

17. Why do you collect a levy from your customers?
The money is collected by the Singapore Totalisator Board ie the Government, and is used for public and charity causes. The Casino does not keep any part of the levy money.

18. Do employees get discounts off the levy?
Employees of the company are not allowed to gamble in the casino. They also do not get discounts as the levy is charged by the Government.

19. Why do you have such an odd policy?
The entry levy is legislated by the Singapore Government to prevent addictive gambling. It is not a policy enacted by Resorts World Sentosa.

20. Which other countries have similar levies?
We are not aware of any other country with a similar policy.

21. What would you do if I walk in to the casino without buying a levy?
It is an offence to enter the casino without a valid entry levy ticket. We strongly discourage customers from trying to do so.

22. Do you support this levy policy?
The entry levy is a policy enacted by the Singapore Government to curb gambling addiction. Resorts World supports measures to promote responsible gambling.

23. I am a foreigner. What do I do?
Foreign patrons need not purchase levies to enter the casino. Simply use the designated foreigner entry and exit lanes. Do bring your passport or drivers’ licence, however, for underaged checks.

bryanking

$2000 annual is only valid for 1 casino.... So, get ready $4000 if you want to try your luck at both casino when Marina Sands is ready. The decision maker is damn smart...

tioliaohuat

Law clerk gets 7 years

A LAW clerk whose taste for gambling on board cruise ships sank her into debt has booked herself seven years and two months behind bars.

Her offences: Forging of payment vouchers that enabled her to misappropriate $1.55 million to feed her gambling habit, and counterfeiting of stamp duty certificates that netted her nearly a quarter of a million dollars.

Irene Koh Lay Hong, 44, has so far returned $155,300.

Of the $1.55 million she siphoned off, $1.3 million was from Sterling Law Corporation.

During investigations, it came up that she also cheated other law firms of some $250,000 while working for them.

She left Sterling in December 2008, when the firm's directors became suspicious.

tioliaohuat

Hard Rock Hotel Resorts World Sentosa Singapore.wmv
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/qKwWkK541NU&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/qKwWkK541NU&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>