• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

M'sian taxi drivers are worse than 'dirty toilets'

Groove Armada

SE Asia
Home > Breaking News > SE Asia > Story
Dec 9, 2009
Worse than 'dirty toilets'

<!-- end left side bar -->
In-SEA-cabNP.jpg

'The complaints by tourists about the taxi drivers' behaviour are more than toilets now, so in that context the taxi drivers are worse than dirty toilets,' cabinet minister Nazri Aziz said. --PHOTO: NP

<!-- story content : start --> KUALA LUMPUR - A TOP minister slammed Malaysia's taxi drivers on Wednesday, saying they were more of a problem for the tourism industry than the nation's notoriously filthy toilets. 'The complaints by tourists about the taxi drivers' behaviour are more than toilets now, so in that context the taxi drivers are worse than dirty toilets,' cabinet minister Nazri Aziz said. 'People are complaining about the taxi drivers overcharging, being impolite and not using their meters, forcing the tourists to bargain with them,' he told AFP. 'This is the third-world taxi driver mentality. Even in China now, taxi drivers can no longer (haggle), they just have to take the passengers, no questions asked. 'It's not that all taxi drivers behave like that, it's just a small group of them but that is already giving Malaysia a bad name,' said Nazri, who is minister in the prime minister's department. Complaints about taxis are common the world over, but it has become a hot topic in Malaysia where frustrations are vented on blog sites and in letters to newspapers. In a survey by the local magazine The Expat last year, some 200 foreigners from 30 countries rated Malaysia the worst among 23 countries in terms of taxi quality, courtesy, availability and expertise. -- AFP

cooleo

>>'It's not that all taxi drivers behave like that, it's just a small group of them but that is already giving Malaysia a bad name,' said Nazri, who is minister in the prime minister's department.<<

Small Group of them give Malaysia a bad name? BULLSHIT la. ALL the cab drivers in Malaysia are the same. I been to KL many times, can say they never auto mode turn on meter one. Must haggle like in market over price.

Char_Azn

>>'It's not that all taxi drivers behave like that, it's just a small group of them but that is already giving Malaysia a bad name,' said Nazri, who is minister in the prime minister's department.<<

Small Group of them give Malaysia a bad name? BULLSHIT la. ALL the cab drivers in Malaysia are the same. I been to KL many times, can say they never auto mode turn on meter one. Must haggle like in market over price.

lol

I was going to say the same thing. I have yet to meet a single cab driver in KL that actually use the meter. This Nazri guy probably have not taken a cab in a LONG time

jixiaolan

Not true, most KL cabbie do on the meter during the daytime. However, in the evening it will be 50-50 and also depends on the location. Past midnite, then all meters off.

hairylee

You KL and ask taxi to auto mode turn on meter you sure die. Better to stick to their quoted fare.

cheebye

No meter fare one is good lah. Malaysia wait there jam n here jam. But the fare still the same even u jam for 1/2 day or reach ur destination within an hour.

Tourist dunno how to speak malay to bargain, but if you know hor, even with the meter on, the fare quoted oso not far within range shown on the meter lah.

Taxi driver in malaysia is happier than sickapore taxi driver .....

fuck the pap to hell!