• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Job Hunting Tips for OZ

Here are couple of guidlelines that may help a new migrant or a potential migrant.

Basic Approach
Only apply when you have already received a PR or a VISA to work. As a migrant country, employers in the past have offered positions to overseas candidates that don't turn up for various reasons such as family not ready to move etc. Typically, the 2 most impt criteria when asessing is an applicant are
1) PR and 2) Locally domiciled ie local australian address and available for interview

Employment Channels
1) Employers advertising directly via their own HR. As these known exactly what they want, any request for interviews or chat is to be taken seriously. Singaporeans generally do very well because of their English, the higher standard of education and the reputation built up by past migrants.

2) Employment Agencies - be very careful. There are lot of cowboys out there. Many are only interested in filling up temp positions as they get a cut from the forthnightly wages and its very lucrative. A lot of time is spent in chats and interviews that does not lead to much. As a rule, try and get a temp positions with one agency but pursue permanent positions with another. Put down Temp/Perm in the first instance to get a bite. Temp positions also carry 9% higher wage rate (which is good) due to it transient nature.

3) Specialised HeadHunters
These guys have a habit of dealing with repeat clients and customers. They will place one candidate and 2 years later will place the same chap elsewhere. The best results are when you are already working and they approach you.

4) Seek.Com
Nearly 90% of job vacancies come thru this site. Use it rather than the newspapers. Highly productive.

Interviews/ CV - talk less about Singapore and more about generic things that you have done with past employers. Your CV must be tailor made for each and every employment opportunity. There is no such thingsas CV that catches all. Help your future employer in shorlisting you. Look at the job descriptions required and make the appropriate adjustments such as using the appropriate words and terms without copying it or duplicating it. At the interview, your submitted CV is the main basis, so be well prepared. Also be prepared to answer questions in relation to cultural adaptability at teh workplace.

Don't be greedy - penny wise and pound foolish
Don't worry about minimising taxes, maximising benefits and trying to be too smart. The trick is to put your foot thru the door first, get an "Australian working experience" under your belt. Second, try and get a permanent positions. A permanent positions tell future employers that you have been throughly vetted as to your background and job competency. Temp positions are seldom checked even for the basic background because, the employers can send back a temp staff instantly even after working for that employer for many moons.

I have come across people with post grad qualification and relevant job experience in their home country driving taxis in OZ because they refused to accept permanent positions which they think are below their standards or being underpaid. But driving taxis seems somehow logical.

Don't ever contemplate being a contractor when you have never held a permanent position in OZ with substantial track record and work testimonials from your bosses. No employer will tell you in the face that this is a major drawback. Common sense will tell you that an employer cannot gauage you and place you in a serious position without a track record.

Till today, I have heroes who tell me about lower tax rate for contractors etc.

Be Realistic

Have an anglicised name even if it kills you. By now as a Singaporean, you must have realised that aspiring civil servants with christian names hide and only give Hanyu pinyin names no different to Harry Lee becoming Lee Kuan Yew. When in rome do what the romans do. If your name is Tan Ter Boo, then apply with "Bob" Tan. Put that down in the CV. The real name can be put down when the formalities need to be completed. It means that employer knows you know English and very much westernised as opposed to a PRC chap who they have to struggle with when one deals 20 CVs in a day.

Avoid using the term Consultant as a job description in your CV as nearly everyone from conman to phone operators are now known as consutants. Unless you work for Mckinsey, or the big 4.

neddy

FAQ

1. What is salary in Aus context? salary + super? hourly rate?

2. How to get TFN if I am overseas?

3. What is local experience?

4. How to respond to selection criterias?

5. How come my interviewer smile when I state that I am a senior executive at Singapore ABC Pte Ltd. My job is more like admin work, not managerial.

6. Do I have to put my age and race in my CV? How about my Australian work status (eg Australian Permanent Resident, Citizen)

7. What is the award rates?

8. When we have a celebration in Aus, what do people bring, what do they eat?

9. When my potential boss tell me verbally over the phone that I am employed. Can I take his/her words and resign from my current job?

axe168

Here are couple of guidlelines that may help a new migrant or a potential migrant. .

OMG, you have covered almost every aspect !! But you forgot to explain the need to write up "Selection Criteria".. this is a norm for every perm position.

I should have consulted you when I landed here..keke

IWC2006

Here are couple of guidlelines that may help a new migrant or a potential migrant.

Basic Approach
Only apply when you have already received a PR or a VISA to work. As a migrant country, employers in the past have offered positions to overseas candidates that don't turn up for various reasons such as family not ready to move etc. Typically, the 2 most impt criteria when asessing is an applicant are
1) PR and 2) Locally domiciled ie local australian address and available for interview

Employment Channels
1) Employers advertising directly via their own HR. As these known exactly what they want, any request for interviews or chat is to be taken seriously. Singaporeans generally do very well because of their English, the higher standard of education and the reputation built up by past migrants.

2) Employment Agencies - be very careful. There are lot of cowboys out there. Many are only interested in filling up temp positions as they get a cut from the forthnightly wages and its very lucrative. A lot of time is spent in chats and interviews that does not lead to much. As a rule, try and get a temp positions with one agency but pursue permanent positions with another. Put down Temp/Perm in the first instance to get a bite. Temp positions also carry 9% higher wage rate (which is good) due to it transient nature.

3) Specialised HeadHunters
These guys have a habit of dealing with repeat clients and customers. They will place one candidate and 2 years later will place the same chap elsewhere. The best results are when you are already working and they approach you.

4) Seek.Com
Nearly 90% of job vacancies come thru this site. Use it rather than the newspapers. Highly productive.

Interviews/ CV - talk less about Singapore and more about generic things that you have done with past employers. Your CV must be tailor made for each and every employment opportunity. There is no such thingsas CV that catches all. Help your future employer in shorlisting you. Look at the job descriptions required and make the appropriate adjustments such as using the appropriate words and terms without copying it or duplicating it. At the interview, your submitted CV is the main basis, so be well prepared. Also be prepared to answer questions in relation to cultural adaptability at teh workplace.

Don't worry about minimising taxes, maximising benefits and trying to be too smart. The trick is to put your foot thru the door first, get an "Australian working experience" under your belt. Second, try and get a permanent positions. A permanent positions tell future employers that you have been throughly vetted as to your background and job competency. Temp positions are seldom checked even for the basic background because, the employers can send back a temp staff instantly even after working for that employer for many moons.

I have come across people with post grad qualification and relevant job experience in their home country driving taxis in OZ because they refused to accept permanent positions which they think are below their standards or being underpaid. But driving taxis seems somehow logical.

Don't ever contemplate being a contractor when you have never held a permanent position in OZ with substantial track record and work testimonials from your bosses. No employer will tell you in the face that this is a major drawback. Common sense will tell you that an employer cannot gauage you and place you in a serious position without a track record.

Till today, I have heroes who tell me about lower tax rate for contractors etc.

Be Realistic

Have an anglicised name even if it kills you. By now as a Singaporean, you must have realised that aspiring civil servants with christian names hide and only give Hanyu pinyin names no different to Harry Lee becoming Lee Kuan Yew. When in rome do what the romans do. If your name is Tan Ter Boo, then apply with "Bob" Tan. Put that down in the CV. The real name can be put down when the formalities need to be completed. It means that employer knows you know English and very much westernised as opposed to a PRC chap who they have to struggle with when one deals 20 CVs in a day.

Avoid using the term Consultant as a job description in your CV as nearly everyone from conman to phone operators are now known as consutants. Unless you work for Mckinsey, or the big 4.

U forgot to mention, local experience does play a part in selection criteria, especially to the typical local Aussie firms. The foreign MNCs, are generally more open to hire PRs without the Australian experience.

Reference checks are extremely important as well, especially for permanent jobs (minimum 2). Preferably one of your referee is based in Australia.

I also believe, your job application success is different from city to city. Sydney is the most international city in Australia, opportunites are plenty as opposed to a small city such as Adelaide.

Lastly, brush up your interview skills especially preparing to answer behaviour questions, popular among employers here. Pyschometric test is also expected in some positions.

Yes, the famous and "politically correct" selection criteria. This is the bane of the OZ Civil Service and Govt bodies which have to release a selection criteria and very pedantic. This was released to address complaints of in-house promotion where the successful candidate has already been identified.

In the private sector, this is not so a big deal. Your CV and the ability to tailor your CV with the job description is the single factor. Don't worry about the selection criteria.

Selection Criteria is important for Govt jobs and low category of private jobs where when asked to address the selection criteria , the volume of application drops rapidly. Take your time filling it up but you need to cite clear and relevant actual experienmces of past jobs.

You are better off calling the HR contact person and ask if internal candidates are in the running.

OMG, you have covered almost every aspect !! But you forgot to explain the need to write up "Selection Criteria".. this is a norm for every perm position.

I should have consulted you when I landed here..keke

Very Good points, especially the part on local permanent job experience and MNCs..

Cannot over emphasise the importance of local "permanent job" experience. Even if the job is couple of rungs below your usual station but in an industry that you are in, grab it. I know a guy who took it and the employer realised that he is heavy hitter and promoted him Head of Dept in 2 mths, bypassing a number of grades.

Location Both Sydney and Melbourne has critical mass and your best chance of success. Your chances are about 10 times better if you start out in these cities. In smaller cities, jobs considered as part of essential services such Utility companies, technical trade however are great opportunities.

Referees

Try and get one local or one from Singapore. The reference check tend to very thorough and its has to be preferably work related.

Time Duration for getting a job

The higher you are in the food chain, the longer it will take to land a job and that stands to reason as there are fewer jobs at the top. So be patient. The usual time frame is 6mths to 18 mths. So be patient. Don't be afraid to take lower paid job to pay the bills. During interviews tell them that you took those jobs to keep busy and pay the bills. The local experience though not related will also add to your credibility.

Have Positive Outlook

If you go thru life constantly thinking of discrimination, it will come thru during interviews and chats. Loose it. Be positive. I have seen PRCs, foreign Indians, Eastern Europeans with poor command of language doing well. Focus on the good things that you have done in previous jobs. It will help sell yourself.

Too strong a willpower will cost you

This is one instance where willpower can be an anvil to reaching your goals. I have seen this with overly religious people and fitness fanatics who think that willpower is all that is needed. Wrong! - listen to others, learn to adapt, change your CV, change your approach to job hunting if it is not working etc. As a general rule, I don't hire people like that as they tend to be one track in purpose and function. Success is a combination of luck, timing and availability of opportunity matching a skillset. Nothing to do with willpower.

Here is a tip of identifying people with overly powerful willpower (obstinate is possible alternative) - the inability to argue a point and prefering silence.

U forgot to mention, local experience does play a part in selection criteria, especially to the typical local Aussie firms. The foreign MNCs, are generally more open to hire PRs without the Australian experience.

Reference checks are extremely important as well, especially for permanent jobs (minimum 2). Preferably one of your referee is based in Australia.

I also believe, your job application success is different from city to city. Sydney is the most international city in Australia, opportunites are plenty as opposed to a small city such as Adelaide.

Lastly, brush up your interview skills especially preparing to answer behaviour questions, popular among employers here. Pyschometric test is also expected in some positions.

Bro, let us know when you complete the FAQ. Will throw in my $5 when office party is held to celebrate the completion of FAQ.

FAQ

5. How come my interviewer smile when I state that I am a senior executive at Singapore ABC Pte Ltd. My job is more like admin work, not managerial.

6. Do I have to put my age and race in my CV? How about my Australian work status (eg Australian Permanent Resident, Citizen)

8. When we have a celebration in Aus, what do people bring, what do they eat?

9. When my potential boss tell me verbally over the phone that I am employed. Can I take his/her words and resign from my current job?

neddy

Bro, let us know when you complete the FAQ. Will throw in my $5 when office party is held to celebrate the completion of FAQ.

No point rushing a zzz Perth guy, I am still trying to answer Question #1.

neddy

FAQ - Follow up

I try to answer the easy ones first.

The current wages for your occupation.
WA http://www.commerce.wa.gov.au/Labou...nd Leave/Wages conditions/award_summaries.htm

QLD http://www.wageline.qld.gov.au/awardsonline/index.html
NSW http://www.industrialrelations.nsw.gov.au/NSW_State_Awards/Pay_rates.html

8. When we have a celebration in office in Aus, what do people bring, what do they eat?
Pasties, sausage rolls with sauce, tea biscuits, water crackers and dips, cheese, salads, sandwiches, sushi rolls, potato chips, cold roasted chooks, pizzas, deep fried dim sims, cakes

No. Wait for the paperwork to come through and look at the terms and conditions.
Sometimes, employers give verbal replies for those they want to take on for "work experience" Meaning to say, you work free for them for a trial period.
Beware!

I love Perth for that very reason - climate, layout and type of buzz is meant to enjoy life. The groundwater with the high iron content also does wonders to the roses and smelling the roses is the next best thing.

The first person to erect a full on 24 hrs kopitiam at Sorrento is going to make a fortune.

No point rushing a zzz Perth guy, I am still trying to answer Question #1.

neddy

I love Perth for that very reason - climate, layout and type of buzz is meant to enjoy life. The groundwater with the high iron content also does wonders to the roses and smelling the roses is the next best thing.

The first person to erect a full on 24 hrs kopitiam at Sorrento is going to make a fortune.

Way to go mate .... the fortune can wait.
Will attempt the rest of the questions another day. Warm night. Need cold beer now. :cool:

neddy

The rest of the FAQ

Salary is quoted as an annual figure in Australia. (Eg Salary is $75,000)
Super is the CPF equiv but run more like Hongkong MPF.
When a recruitor ask you about what you want for your super, some people include super as part of the Salary.
Others will state salary + super, ie Salary, and Super (usu 9% -15%) added on top of the salary.

Contractors work on hourly rate. Employing a computer Analyst cost me $65 per hour. My Oracle person doing the HR application cost $150 per hour. That is why he drives a BMW.

If you have an OZ PR visa, ATO recommend you to apply online when you arrives.

Otherwise.
http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/c...02/001/008/002&mnu=42807&mfp=001/002&st=&cy=1
Tax file number - application or enquiry for an individual living outside Australia

Overview
This information explains how to apply for or enquire about a tax file number (TFN) for individuals living outside of Australia.

The Tax file number – application or enquiry for individuals living outside Australia (NAT 2628) is available as a complete product:

as a downloadable Portable Document Format (http://www.ato.gov.au/content/downloads/non_resident_tfn_application.pdf, PDF, 402KB), or
paper product.
Last Modified: Tuesday, 31 March 2009

Basically, it can be a bs of an excuse not to employ you from an employer who thinks you are smarter than him
or
a legit reason where knowing the business culture/locality is an important function in your work.

Don't be surprise if you are from Melbourne, and get that "no local experience" when seeking employment in Perth.
But, if you are what the company is looking for, who cares if you are from the Top End, we will bear the cost of your relocation. How's that?

If you are not planning to become a public servant, forget about it.
If a recruitment agency want to place you with a govt dept, they will write the statement addressing the selection criterias for you.
If it is not compulsary to write the selection criterias, ignore it because it will be used against you.
If you do write the statement addressing the selection criterias, you can quote it during the interview.
Basically, points are awarded for each question in the selection criterias you answered. Try to answer to the points, state past situations and don't try to give textbooks answers. When I was in public service, I know when a candidate try to pull a fast one on me.

Organisations like the DET-funded Employment Directions (in WA) do provide a service to help to correct and advise on selection criterias. Otherwise, buy a book that teaches you on how to write one or ask your friend.

Job titles in Singaproe are very impressive. In Aus, senior executives refer to people in senior management.

There is no requirement to state your age and race. But some people think that it is a good idea to include "Australian Permanent Resident or Australian Citizen" in the CV. If your name is not pronouncible, try to put in an English name. Luckily, Aussies are getting used to chinese surnames that have no vowels, eg Ng or chinese surnames that pronounce differently, eg Tan. But if you have local work experience, having a non English name is fine.

axe168

Yes, the famous and "politically correct" selection criteria. This is the bane of the OZ Civil Service and Govt bodies which have to release a selection criteria and very pedantic. This was released to address complaints of in-house promotion where the successful candidate has already been identified.

In the private sector, this is not so a big deal. Your CV and the ability to tailor your CV with the job description is the single factor. Don't worry about the selection criteria.

Selection Criteria is important for Govt jobs and low category of private jobs where when asked to address the selection criteria , the volume of application drops rapidly. Take your time filling it up but you need to cite clear and relevant actual experienmces of past jobs.

You are better off calling the HR contact person and ask if internal candidates are in the running.

You dont need to call the HR.. all you is a good reputable recruitment firm :wink: Of course tailoring CV is an important process.. I managed to master it adequately.. heehee..

Hudson recruitment can help with the selection criteria.. all you need is to attend the interview :wink: Thereafter he'll negotiate the salary package on your behalf.. Yes, he'll approached me 2yrs after my initial job.

But then nothing beats being your own boss.. Mind sharing with us your success story.. How can i retire by 45 ?

Now that you have been offerred a job, what next?

]SalaryThe practice is to bargain without including your superannuation. Typically salaries for jobs in australia except for tradeperson and doctors are below that of Singapore. The other exception is banking where the bonus is substantial. Those who are prepared to work in remote sites are accorded substantially more. Middle Management and upwards, it very dependent on your past record whic h might carry substantial remuneration. Sales and Business Development are also much better than Singapore.

A good way to determine the appropriate range is to google the range and aim for the yearly salary surveys done each year by various publications and bodies. The other is to go thru seek.com to get a handle.

If the offer is interstate, seek a one off relocation package which is about $5K plus one container or 1 mths stay in hotel and one container.

Salary Sacrifice
Don't commit to it unless you have done your sums. Those who are trained in economics will know this simple rule - "money now is more valuable than money later" Despite the lower taxation rate, the opportunity cost is usually too high. Its always better to get a bigger mortage and pay for it, then a smaller mortage and salary scarifice. The property and equity market always outstrips savings in the medium to long term.

I always smile, when I see a "hero" telling others about salary sacrifice. Its the usual problem of unable to work maths at multiple levels.

Company or Novated Leased Car
Understandbly this always gets new migrants and some blur aussies. Typically this is offered to anyone who holds the position of supervisor and above. Unless you are travelling salesman or live out in boondocks and travel into the city daily, the sums do not add up.

As OZ is large continent, the tyranny of distance has to be compensated, or less no one wants to live outside the major cities or in rural towns.

You can tell a blur sotong straight away by asking where he stays and where he works. As the human tendency is never to to admit to a mistake, people will begin to drive to visit friends, sight seeing, drive holidays to chalk up the minimum miles to qualify for taxes benefits. The superkiasu will begin chalking mielage at the start of the tax year by handing the car to relative for excursion etc.

Negative Gearing
Might as well put this in as it usually part of the salary equation. I tend to notice that its the favourite discussion topics at Ah Soh / Ah Beng Gatherings. In a nutshell, one is supposed to reduce your taxable annual income if you incur a defeceit or loss in your investment property.

If under the current climate, if you are losing money on your investment property, it means either your rent is too low or you paid a too high a price for the property in the first place.

Negative gearing should never be part of long term financial planning. If it is, you must be out of your mind.

fishbuff

if a new migrant can get a perm job, that will be the best. but i had started off as a contractor the day i landed here because my skills is specialized around databases. we could elaborate on the PAYG vs PTY LTD, plus ATO's 20/80 PSI and others if there are enough audiences and interest in contract jobs; they are another kettle of fishes and they do background checks; from referees to criminal background. i went thru' the hoops like everyone else in interviews and the competitions are much keener because most of the contractors are seasoned old birds with years of experiences, so i have a tough time competing with them. imagine 10 folks each with 20+ years of IT experiences working in different continents and with banks/MNCs.

It is very challenging and difficult at times to be a IT contractor especially in brisbane where there aren't many big companies around and most of the jobs here are with the government sectors.

Do understand that yours is a specialised vocation/skillset.

However suggest you try a get a permanent posiiton with a bank first or during contract if the offer comes in for permanent grab it. They will adjust your salary to compensate for becoming perm. The internal HR guideline for a proven chap is 5 years with the same employer on a pemamanent basis. That scores the highest.

After 5 years, you can convert to contract with the same firm. Make sure by then you got testimonials from bosses and have established a network.

By the way, background check for permanent is different. That is why its carries such a high weightage. The interviews are also very different.

If during interview if they ask why you want to be become a permanent staff, tell them that you want to concentrate and build up yout career rather than move from assignment to assignment.

if a new migrant can get a perm job, that will be the best. but i had started off as a contractor the day i landed here because my skills is specialized around databases. we could elaborate on the PAYG vs PTY LTD, plus ATO's 20/80 PSI and others if there are enough audiences and interest in contract jobs; they are another kettle of fishes and they do background checks; from referees to criminal background. i went thru' the hoops like everyone else in interviews and the competitions are much keener because most of the contractors are seasoned old birds with years of experiences, so i have a tough time competing with them. imagine 10 folks each with 20+ years of IT experiences working in different continents and with banks/MNCs.

It is very challenging and difficult at times to be a IT contractor especially in brisbane where there aren't many big companies around and most of the jobs here are with the government sectors.

kookiemon

Lots of good tips here. Not sure how many apply for Canada, but they seem quite applicable, regardless of the country.

Company or Novated Leased Car
Understandbly this always gets new migrants and some blur aussies. Typically this is offered to anyone who holds the position of supervisor and above. Unless you are travelling salesman or live out in boondocks and travel into the city daily, the sums do not add up

I'm a bit confused by the point on company cars though. Why don't the sums add up?

fishbuff

Do understand that yours is a specialised vocation/skillset.

However suggest you try a get a permanent posiiton with a bank first or during contract if the offer comes in for permanent grab it. They will adjust your salary to compensate for becoming perm. The internal HR guideline for a proven chap is 5 years with the same employer on a pemamanent basis. That scores the highest.

After 5 years, you can convert to contract with the same firm. Make sure by then you got testimonials from bosses and have established a network.

By the way, background check for permanent is different. That is why its carries such a high weightage. The interviews are also very different.

If during interview if they ask why you want to be become a permanent staff, tell them that you want to concentrate and build up yout career rather than move from assignment to assignment.

i beg to differ.

contract jobs are mainly for adhoc need or project basis and they are not meant to last for more than 2 years. However, some qld govt are hiring contractors almost like long term employees. can u imagine paying them $800/day for 9 years? they have to be more prudent in spending tax payer's money.

when it comes to interview for permament jobs in technical fields, the employers are usually less stringent, should the candidates fall short on certain areas and most likely, these gaps can be narrowed by trainings and coaching to bring the staffs up to par. Not so for contractors, we are tested rigorously for a specific technology and since most of the time, we are on project basis, there is no time for a person to take their own sweet time to familiarize with a technology or methodology to do the jobs. It is hard and fast, and employers tend to be alot more picky about our time and effort, plus they dont hold their tongue when it comes to critiques on our quality of works.

The contractors are working with their nose to the grinder, short lunch and straight back to work, not to mention we burn the weekends and nights to meet the deadline and system rollout. The money is there but so is the stress. my whole team of DBAs had checked into hospitals complaining of chest pains and anxiety attacks lately. one of the past project manager had died on the job years ago.