• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual Citizenship / NS Obligations / HDB Flats and Migration

Charlie99

Well done Charlie. I also remembered that you wanted your kids to acquire EU citizenship somewhere down the line and thus a mini UN. You are well on your way.

Thank you for the reminder re: EU citizenship.
I will ask my wife to research that for her and the other children.

Unfortunately, the two middle children are not as diligent with French and Ukrainian.
Otherwise, academically and piano / music wise, they are fine.

The second child with a 96 for science would have the highest mark ever for science at St. Michael's Choir School ("SMCS").

The third child, although the only child not selected for the gifted program, is a straight A student, and very athletic.

The fourth (and the youngest) child appears to be very similar to the eldest child, and probably brighter.
At SMCS, he won the Merit Award for Academic Excellence, Grade 4 (one per grade), and the Award of Excellence for Piano (one of three for Grade 4 piano).
The teacher(s) indicated that he is "model student" and a leader for the Elementary Choir.
Like me during school days, he plays soccer before and after school, and baseball during recess.
He is a keener, manages his time efficiently, except that he is a procrastinator re: homework and school projects, but practises piano every day without prompting.
He will be doing grade 5 piano (almost ideal, since he will be in grade 5).
He will be singing alto with the SMCS Junior Choir.
He watches TV (English Premier League, Euro 2016, ice hockey, World Cup Cricket, etc.) very often, and knows the "rules" for almost all the sports, including cricket, Formula One and Indy Car Racing.
He desires to be a Sports Commentator.

When the eldest child was born, I set a few goals for her and I: learn to play a musical instrument, learn to swim well, learn to ride a bicycle, to be fluent in more than one language.
So far, the eldest child has achieved those: completed 9 levels of swimming lesson and progressed to Junior Life Guard when she was age 14 or 15; although she started piano lessons later than the other children, she completed grade 6 piano.

Second child
Not as athletic, only completed level 8 for swimming in 2013 or 2014.
Will be doing grade 9 piano, and still singing soprano with the SMCS Senior Choir.

Third Child
Very athletic, completed level 9 swimming in 2013 or 2014.
She did not enrol in the Life Guard Course this summer.
Will be doing grade 6 piano.

I'll be perfectly blunt. All these awards sound like politically correct hogwash that left wing liberals dish out willy nilly for the feel good factor.

Just what does "A collaborative contributor who finds meaning, dignity and vocation in work which respects the rights of all and contributes to the common good." mean?? The guy who mows my lawn has these qualities too but he's never been awarded a thing in his life for displaying these attributes.

And this one... "This award is presented to the student who, during her time at St. Jospeh's College, has displayed an understanding of the mission of the Sisters of St. Joseph by demonstrating care for the poor and marginalized." Any student who does not show such traits should be expelled in the first semester. It should be a prerequisite for entry not an award given at the end.

Thank god I did not emigrate to Canada. It appears to be even worse than NZ when it comes to this sort of liberal rubbish.

Our daughter at the St. Joseph's College School, 161st Graduation, on June 29, 2016.

Subject Awards: She won the Religious Education (The World of Fashion) subject award, but missed out of the Canadian and World Issues: A Geographic Analysis, which she won in Grade 11.

She won the Sister Frances Hayes, CSJ, Award (which includes a cheque in the amount of $250) - This award is presented to the student who, during her time at St. Jospeh's College, has displayed an understanding of the mission of the Sisters of St. Joseph by demonstrating care for the poor and marginalized.

Ontario Catholic School Graduate Expectations Award - Team Player. She won this award as "A collaborative contributor who finds meaning, dignity and vocation in work which respects the rights of all and contributes to the common good."

http://www.ryerson.ca/content/dam/currentstudents/awards/pdfs/schol_ent_terence_grier_app.pdf

nayr69sg

Staff member
I'll be perfectly blunt. All these awards sound like politically correct hogwash that left wing liberals dish out willy nilly for the feel good factor.

Just what does "A collaborative contributor who finds meaning, dignity and vocation in work which respects the rights of all and contributes to the common good." mean?? The guy who mows my lawn has these qualities too but he's never been awarded a thing in his life for displaying these attributes.

And this one... "This award is presented to the student who, during her time at St. Jospeh's College, has displayed an understanding of the mission of the Sisters of St. Joseph by demonstrating care for the poor and marginalized." Any student who does not show such traits should be expelled in the first semester. It should be a prerequisite for entry not an award given at the end.

Thank god I did not emigrate to Canada. It appears to be even worse than NZ when it comes to this sort of liberal rubbish.

Ontario. Toronto. Montreal. Quebec. Eastern Canada. That's where the liberals are.

Western Canada is where the Conservatives are. Alberta had a freak election where the NDP got in. Actually I think it was the PCs who purposely washed their hands for these 4 years when the oil price would be in doldrums. They will make a comeback in the next elections just in time for the next oil boom cycle.

Charlie99

I am rarely politically correct.

Neither am I a Liberal or Social Democrat (NDP in Ontario).

I suppose that she will accept whatever the awards, medals and cheque(s).

I am rarely politically correct.

Neither am I a Liberal or Social Democrat (NDP in Ontario).

I suppose that she will accept whatever the awards, medals and cheque(s).

Tell her to reject them and ask her to tell the school what she thinks of such meaningless drivel. :wink:

Kids during their formative years have to be recognised for certain traits and achievements. Failing which there is nothing to aspire for and nothing to look forward to. Singapore education does not recognise nor develop soft skills. The West do and therefore you have kids in their early years aspiring to become nature conservationist, ballerinas, inventors and social entrepreneurs. On the hobby side they take up bird watching, rear and keep exotic hens, walk the trails, become radio hams etc. Singaporeans on the other hand play golf, go to Gym, do MMA, make cup cakes, play video games.

Interestingly both NZ and Canada are noted for their similarities in the way they conduct themselves.

Charlie99

Kids during their formative years have to be recognised for certain traits and achievements. Failing which there is nothing to aspire for and nothing to look forward to. Singapore education does not recognise nor develop soft skills. The West do and therefore you have kids in their early years aspiring to become nature conservationist, ballerinas, inventors and social entrepreneurs. On the hobby side they take up bird watching, rear and keep exotic hens, walk the trails, become radio hams etc. Singaporeans on the other hand play golf, go to Gym, do MMA, make cup cakes, play video games.

Interestingly both NZ and Canada are noted for their similarities in the way they conduct themselves.

I agree with you.
I believe that soft skills are just as important as academic results.
At St. Michael's Choir School, there is an award (named for one of the former Principals) for the "Best" graduating grade 12 student re: A Man for others.
The best all around student for each grade is awarded the "St. Michael's Shield" re: academic results, serving and helping others, etc.
A few years ago, our daughter started to be very eco friendly, and was the President of the Eco Club, Deputy Editor of the school magazine.
She desired to read environmental science, then urban planning and now urban planning/geographical analysis/French.
When I took all of them to Singapore in the summer of 2014, most of my friends indicated that at age 14.5, besides being 5 ft 9 and very proportionate, she is very matured for her age.
I went to the Open House and "simulation" and found Geographical Analysis (which I like the small class of about 90 first year students) very interesting, such as why are there two Starbucks coffee stores at the same street intersection; studying average family income, neighbourhood and crime rates; bank branches vs average family income vs wealth management; predicting election results.
A corporation or business entity in Toronto which employs many such graduates is Environics.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Awards at this stage of life means little. My opinion is that getting an award helps encourage students. It helps with their self esteem as well.

My daughter has received the star award (one per grade) for the last 2 years (Grade 8 and 9) for being the overall top academic student in her grade. It is a fair achievement and I am happy for her since she did it all on her own without any urging from us parents. Well besides the offer of getting her any cellphone she wanted if she got the star award in Grade 8. Grade 7 she got top in maths but we did not know there was such an award for top student. I think for her to have come up on top of the previous top student who had been a top student in the school since elementary was no mean feat for her. Many of the subjects and project marking is subjective. And a newcomer to the school the teacher would probably have had a bias towards the previous top girl. In fact they were so close neck to neck she won by like 0.4%. In Grade 9 the other girl gave up and did not bother trying anymore so it was easier.

It is good for my daughter's self esteem. And it encourages her to maintain that level of excellence. Also with her confidence she has also excelled in sports. Joining the school teams for Badminton and Track. She is also inclined musically. She took up the flute in Grade 7. In Grade 9 she switched to the Alto Saxophone. Within a year she was the best Saxophone player in the band and was given her own Solo during the school farewell concert. She won the best in band award for this year.

But I know from personal experience that doing well academically doesn't mean much. School is not real life. There will be far more important challenges to overcome in the future and that is when it all counts.

You all should know what. Deciding that a 18 year old is going to be General, CEO, Chairman, Prime Minister, President....nobody no company does that in the world....except Singapore. LOL! Imagine Mark Zuckerberg telling everyone that he has selected a handful of very bright 18 years olds and from there they will pick the next Facebook CEO? Or Apple? Or heck Obama saying these 5 18 years old will one day be the President of the United States? Rubbish lah ok?

But hey, as a parent, you are NOT going to go your kid who won an award and take it from him or her, smash it to the ground or rip it up and say this is a RUBBISH AWARD LAH!

Any parent who does that is probably drunk or on drugs and is a negligent parent. Encourage lah. Good things mah. Unless you are training your children to be mob bosses with a tough mean streak capable of murdering in cold blood, distribute child porno or something. Right Sam?

The problem with this approach is that is totally divorced from the realities of life.

Too many Western Schools inculcate this notion that everyone is a winner in one way or another and there are no losers.

The result is cohort after cohort who enter the workforce believing that working life is just as sugar coated when the reality is that it is harsh and unforgiving.

Children need to learn early in life that real achievement requires dedication and hard work. Being kind to a hamster is not an achievement. It is an expectation of civilized behavior.

I agree with you.
I believe that soft skills are just as important as academic results.
At St. Michael's Choir School, there is an award (named for one of the former Principals) for the "Best" graduating grade 12 student re: A Man for others.
The best all around student for each grade is awarded the "St. Michael's Shield" re: academic results, serving and helping others, etc.
A few years ago, our daughter started to be very eco friendly, and was the President of the Eco Club, Deputy Editor of the school magazine.
She desired to read environmental science, then urban planning and now urban planning/geographical analysis/French.
When I took all of them to Singapore in the summer of 2014, most of my friends indicated that at age 14.5, besides being 5 ft 9 and very proportionate, she is very matured for her age.
I went to the Open House and "simulation" and found Geographical Analysis (which I like the small class of about 90 first year students) very interesting, such as why are there two Starbucks coffee stores at the same street intersection; studying average family income, neighbourhood and crime rates; bank branches vs average family income vs wealth management; predicting election results.
A corporation or business entity in Toronto which employs many such graduates is Environics.

But hey, as a parent, you are NOT going to go your kid who won an award and take it from him or her, smash it to the ground or rip it up and say this is a RUBBISH AWARD LAH!

Any parent who does that is probably drunk or on drugs and is a negligent parent. Encourage lah. Good things mah. Unless you are training your children to be mob bosses with a tough mean streak capable of murdering in cold blood, distribute child porno or something. Right Sam?

I would not smash the award but I would make it perfectly clear what I think of the award and would try my best to educate my kid that these sorts of awards are meaningless in the real world.

The world is a mess because we have ignored the natural order of things by rewarding mediocrity while punishing achievement.

We tell mongoloids, midgets and spastics that they have just as much right to procreate as everyone else. We help people with low IQs to conceive and have multiple children through state funded fertility programs even though we know full well that they don't have the financial resources to raise large families.

The world is going to the dogs because the law of natural selection has been suspended because it hurts peoples' feelings and lowers their self worth. When will it all end?

Yes they study all these things but have you ever asked yourself why the crime rate is so high in the first place rather than pussyfooting around the root causes.

In the west crime is driven by drug addiction and drugs are freely available because the dealers and the manufacturers are not dealt the harsh punishment they deserve.

If they hanged the bastards the kids wouldn't have to study crime rates vs environmental factors because crime in the area would be a thing of the past.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I would not smash the award but I would make it perfectly clear what I think of the award and would try my best to educate my kid that these sorts of awards are meaningless in the real world.

My approach is the same. I wouldn't say school is pointless because the kids also have to learn to interact and work with other kids. Some of whom are idiots. At least my kids tell me so. Haha!

You are quite right about the whole liberal, rights and equality campaigns all over. I've seen parents bring their 20 year old son who is not doing well in post secondary education. The son had been doing badly in school before during elementary and junior high. He was not diagnosed with ADHD after being assessed by an expert but was told he can go on a trial of medication to see if his performance improved. The parents refused to do that so they put him in a private school with small class sizes and he apparently "did well". Up to that is post secondary. He's doing some kind of physiotherapy course which he apparently loves but his grades are bad. He has no other problems at his part time work place and at home. Certainly not ADHD. But they feel there must be "something wrong" since he is doing what he loves yet not doing well.

Sigh. This is the ang moh westerner type of parenting lor.

But it is good for us Asians lah. Cos we don't buy this bullshit. You don't do well is because simply you don't put enough effort lah. Or you just not bright enough lah. Don't blame the biochemicals and all that crap.

I tell my kids all this stuff every day. So they have an idea of all the crap in the world. They see it in school also. Like the guy who says he is gay so that he can go into the girl's washroom. Kids are not dumb you know? School is not the same as the real world, but at the kids age, it is the next best thing lah.

As long as they know that having made it in school is not going to set them up for life as what winnipegjets said about Charlie99's daughter if she was in Singapore.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes they study all these things but have you ever asked yourself why the crime rate is so high in the first place rather than pussyfooting around the root causes.

In the west crime is driven by drug addiction and drugs are freely available because the dealers and the manufacturers are not dealt the harsh punishment they deserve.

If they hanged the bastards the kids wouldn't have to study crime rates vs environmental factors because crime in the area would be a thing of the past.

I am actually pretty hopeful that Fentanyl may be the savior for the drug problem. I really hope it gets out of hand and results in millions of deaths from overdose to the point it is uncontrollable. The drug enforcement agencies should close an eye on Fentanyl and let it run its course.

It's a perfect way to solve the drug problem. Make it so dangerous to take drugs that it literally DOES kill you. Those who take it eventually die. Those who are thinking of taking it have to consider properly whether they want to take the risk of dying for a couple of joyrides.

In fact have the drug agencies sneak Fentanyl into every single drug distribution network and mix it in with other things like cocaine, meth, LSD, pot, mushrooms....you name it.

I guarantee after a while nobody would say take drugs...it will be take poision. Which is what it really is anyway.

Charlie99

Awards at this stage of life means little. My opinion is that getting an award helps encourage students. It helps with their self esteem as well.

My daughter has received the star award (one per grade) for the last 2 years (Grade 8 and 9) for being the overall top academic student in her grade. It is a fair achievement and I am happy for her since she did it all on her own without any urging from us parents. Well besides the offer of getting her any cellphone she wanted if she got the star award in Grade 8. Grade 7 she got top in maths but we did not know there was such an award for top student. I think for her to have come up on top of the previous top student who had been a top student in the school since elementary was no mean feat for her. Many of the subjects and project marking is subjective. And a newcomer to the school the teacher would probably have had a bias towards the previous top girl. In fact they were so close neck to neck she won by like 0.4%. In Grade 9 the other girl gave up and did not bother trying anymore so it was easier.

It is good for my daughter's self esteem. And it encourages her to maintain that level of excellence. Also with her confidence she has also excelled in sports. Joining the school teams for Badminton and Track. She is also inclined musically. She took up the flute in Grade 7. In Grade 9 she switched to the Alto Saxophone. Within a year she was the best Saxophone player in the band and was given her own Solo during the school farewell concert. She won the best in band award for this year.

But I know from personal experience that doing well academically doesn't mean much. School is not real life. There will be far more important challenges to overcome in the future and that is when it all counts.

You all should know what. Deciding that a 18 year old is going to be General, CEO, Chairman, Prime Minister, President....nobody no company does that in the world....except Singapore. LOL! Imagine Mark Zuckerberg telling everyone that he has selected a handful of very bright 18 years olds and from there they will pick the next Facebook CEO? Or Apple? Or heck Obama saying these 5 18 years old will one day be the President of the United States? Rubbish lah ok?

Doc,

EXCELLENT !

Charlie99

I am aware of the problems, and there appears to be numerous in Toronto.
But what can I do?

I think your point is the political correct pendulum has swung too far which I agree. In particular your point about recognising mediocrity which then leads more of the same. No arguments from me on this.

Just have to look at para Olympics. Its a major industry and more than half of the athletes do not even know they are used as fodder and excuse by very capable people to pull in sponsorship money and for mediocre coaches, trainers and officials to be paid to have fun. Its "success" has led to the Invictus games and now we have "serious competition" from a very small pool.

The world is a mess because we have ignored the natural order of things by rewarding mediocrity while punishing achievement.

We tell mongoloids, midgets and spastics that they have just as much right to procreate as everyone else. We help people with low IQs to conceive and have multiple children through state funded fertility programs even though we know full well that they don't have the financial resources to raise large families.

The world is going to the dogs because the law of natural selection has been suspended because it hurts peoples' feelings and lowers their self worth. When will it all end?

There is longitudinal study that began in the NZ decades and follow kids from a young age to the present. The study is still on and the World has begun to take notice a decade ago as the results are showing what many had all along thought so. Every year they meet up with their thousand over subject (minus those who died) including those in prison or working or living overseas in far away countries. The staff and researchers are paid to travel and follow up on this case to maintain the integrity of the studies.

For instance studies show that you more or less can tell if a person succeeds at a quite a young age and not just on IQ. These kids were tested before they went into primary school exams so they did not rely on academic achievements. It also showed nurturing in early years as important.

As to the environment factors, comparison of assaults when compared to an US city and another in NZ showed the same results except that much more died in the US as the assailants had ready access to guns

It was done in Dunedin for those born between 1972 and 1973. Sometime old wive's tales do have a bearing.

chewed

I have known a number of people who have done it.

SG government closes an eye on dual citizenship. I know of someone who declared that he has Canadian citizenship when applying for a SG passport. The individual was told that it was not possible; he without hesitation told the officer that he wants to give up his SG citizenship. He was advised by a senior ICA officer to take some time to decide. He got his SG passport eventually without giving up his Canadian citizenship.

I have not visited this thread for long time, so here's an update.

I attempted to renew my SG passport in February 2016. Of course i declared that I do hold another country's citizenship and passport.

ICA refused to let me renew the SG passport, unless I renounce the other country's citizenship. So I told them no thank you, they can take the red IC and passport back.

Ontario. Toronto. Montreal. Quebec. Eastern Canada. That's where the liberals are.
Alberta and Sasketchewan are where the bigots live. BC is progressive in the urban areas.

Western Canada is where the Conservatives are. Alberta had a freak election where the NDP got in. Actually I think it was the PCs who purposely washed their hands for these 4 years when the oil price would be in doldrums. They will make a comeback in the next elections just in time for the next oil boom cycle.
That's how right-wingers operate ...create a mess and let the progressive clean up for them. When that is done, they come out with their lies and clinch power again to feed their greed. When they cut taxes, they benefit themselves and pass on the burden of fixing the infrastructure and social services to the next generation. Conservatism kills society and the earth.