• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee: S'poreans must reach out to new immigrants

metalslug

老不死!!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/421854/1/.html

MM Lee says S'poreans must reach out to new immigrants
By Cheryl Lim/Teoh Song Keng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 April 2009 2133 hrs

php1NntjT.jpg

Photos 1 of 1

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew

Video

MM Lee's English speech at the "Making Singapore Home" seminar

SINGAPORE : Singapore's Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said it is important for Singaporeans to reach out to new immigrants and help them integrate into Singapore society.

Although inter-mixing is a two-way process, he stressed that Singaporeans must extend an open arm to new immigrants to help them be a part of Singapore.

Speaking at a seminar organised by Chinese newspaper Lianhe Zaobao on Sunday, Mr Lee said a country can progress only if its people are united as one.

One 92-year-old man, who emigrated to Singapore from Malaysia six years ago, said living in Singapore has given him a greater sense of security.

Other new immigrants from the Chinese cities of Fujian, Shanghai, Wuhan and Sichuan said they have received fair treatment in Singapore.

One person said: "After living in many countries like the US, Indonesia and Europe for the past 18 years, I feel that Singapore is really a good place. I am very thankful."

Another commented: "I want to thank the Singapore Government for developing my son into an excellent person."

Speaking at the "Making Singapore Home" seminar, Minister Mentor Lee said inter-mixing new immigrants with Singaporeans is important and both sides should make the effort.

He said: "I think families should begin to adopt new families coming here. Invite them to your homes, have food, have tea, take them out to places they have never been to in Singapore, and you make friends. In that way, you make their entry to our society easier and more comfortable."

He told new immigrants their children must study hard for better prospects, and that mastering English is an essential step towards achieving success in Singapore. Only then will they be able to compete on an equal footing.

Mr Lee said: "If you want to succeed in Singapore, you must have a good grasp of English. English is a common language to communicate with people from different places and races."

Mr Lee also felt that new immigrants who have a high standard of spoken Mandarin can help improve Singapore's Chinese standards.

He said: "I have asked MediaCorp's Channel 8 and U to consider employing new immigrants who speak standard Mandarin as their news presenters."

The seminar was attended by some 450 participants. - CNA/ms

ashjaw

i somehow don't get it, aren't these immigrants 'QUITTERS' of their own countries as well? And I thought someone said something not so nice about being QUITTERS??? hmmmm...... how should we deal with this? isn't it double standard?

takcheksian

sigh. a traitor since day 1. what u expect?

old news.

Are we supposed to change our passports? I'm confused whether we are the Repubic of Sporn or the People's Repubic of Sporn. Our entire sex industry already belongs to China.

:confused::confused::confused:

snrcitizen

One 92-year-old man, who emigrated to Singapore from Malaysia six years ago, said living in Singapore has given him a greater sense of security.

Hmmm, 92 year old immigrant. This guy must have a lot of moolahs to park here. If he is a 92 year old beggar, he would have been thrown into the sea.

He said: "I think families should begin to adopt new families coming here. Invite them to your homes, have food, have tea, take them out to places they have never been to in Singapore, and you make friends. In that way, you make their entry to our society easier and more comfortable."

We did not invite them here. The PAP ministers invited them here, so let all the MIWs adopt them into their homes for makan, pray pray, become intimate just to make them comfortable.

angie II

He said: "I have asked MediaCorp's Channel 8 and U to consider employing new immigrants who speak standard Mandarin as their news presenters."
Old Fart : Eh Lucas.. take in FTs ok?

Lucas Chow : Yes Minister Mentos! (Knn.. u mean i can say no meh?)

HakkaThaileen

Are we supposed to change our passports? I'm confused whether we are the Repubic of Sporn or the People's Repubic of Sporn. Our entire sex industry already belongs to China.

It's not entirely impossible. All we need is 0.1% of the 1.3billion people that come here. The red dot would be overwhelmed.

snrcitizen

i somehow don't get it, aren't these immigrants 'QUITTERS' of their own countries as well? And I thought someone said something not so nice about being QUITTERS??? hmmmm...... how should we deal with this? isn't it double standard?

Oh, that's the usual PAP double talk. Nothing unusual. To them, quitters from Singapore are cowards but quitters from other countries are heroes. :wink:

Just go through what the PAP has said and done in the last few years alone, and you can easily pick up loads of double talk from them.

老不死!!

php1NntjT.jpg

Photos 1 of 1

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew

Video

MM Lee's English speech at the "Making Singapore Home" seminar

SINGAPORE : Singapore's Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said it is important for Singaporeans to reach out to new immigrants and help them integrate into Singapore society.

Although inter-mixing is a two-way process, he stressed that Singaporeans must extend an open arm to new immigrants to help them be a part of Singapore.

Speaking at a seminar organised by Chinese newspaper Lianhe Zaobao on Sunday, Mr Lee said a country can progress only if its people are united as one.

I don't understand why a MM is at this session? Should not the Foreign Minisiter be here? This fucker got paid million dollar salary supposedly to mentor his retarded son, got time to come here and talk cock. Anyway, this country is not united, 33% voted against him at the last eletcions.OR]

Other new immigrants from the Chinese cities of Fujian, Shanghai, Wuhan and Sichuan said they have received fair treatment in Singapore.

One person said: "After living in many countries like the US, Indonesia and Europe for the past 18 years, I feel that Singapore is really a good place. I am very thankful."

That is because u can come and live here and not do any NS. or reservist.

Another commented: "I want to thank the Singapore Government for developing my son into an excellent person."

Why? Did your son do NS? Its not the Singapore govt. job to develop your own son into an excellent person. Its your job, u are the parent. Because u are so obviously pathetic a parent, even the fucked up job by the govt. is an excellent job by his standard.i

Speaking at the "Making Singapore Home" seminar, Minister Mentor Lee said inter-mixing new immigrants with Singaporeans is important and both sides should make the effort.

Why is there no Making Singapore Home seminars for locals and native born sinkies? If there were more of these seminars for native born sinkies, maybe less of them would emigrate and hence less FTs need to be imported.

MM is most certainly senile when he is making these kinds of comments. Ok, lets see him invite some FTs to his Oxley Drive house first.Lead by example mah. What about his ministers? Are they doing what he wants? Who want to take them into your home for tea and food after they have taken away your job? Most certainly, he is getting senile.

He told new immigrants their children must study hard for better prospects, and that mastering English is an essential step towards achieving success in Singapore. Only then will they be able to compete on an equal footing.

Mr Lee said: "If you want to succeed in Singapore, you must have a good grasp of English. English is a common language to communicate with people from different places and races."

But sinkies don't have a high grasp of english. Singlish is hardly understood in most english speaking countries in the world. asking a sinkie to teach an immigrant english is stupid. The immigrant will soon be using "lah", "alamak", "where can like that" etc. in his english sentences, which will be incoherent to most UK people.

Mr Lee also felt that new immigrants who have a high standard of spoken Mandarin can help improve Singapore's Chinese standards.

Like that, why we need a Minister of Communication? This fucker MM can easily order Mediacorp to do this and that. Shit, he has never heard of chain of command meh? The country is facing the worse recession in decades, and high unemployment. He is occupying his time by micromanaging Mediacorp Channel 8? WTF

The seminar was attended by some 450 participants. - CNA/ms

At least these news article make for funny and humorous reading. Better thna the comics.

soikee

Oh how I wish it was old scum who passed away instead of the 48 year old Richard Stanley.

banova888

If you are that confused, you go back to china first.

Singapore will never belong to the chinks! no matter how the Lees! speak Mandarin!

If you are that confused, you go back to china first.

Singapore will never belong to the chinks! no matter how the Lees! speak Mandarin!

your keling stench is polluting the air here..

fuck off back to your slums in india:oIo:

cunnosieur

Interviewed with an Indian Desi gal

Asked her if she 'surplay suni' if she wants the job...

'Oh yes my Raja' she said...

Went to have a hell of a mind boggling bollywood blow from a fair Indian desi gal in CBD...

:oIo:

Eurekas

I had run the New Citizens Events before, and I can tell that many of the FTs who get Singapore Citizenship are hardly talent material. Many of them work as hawker assistants in hawker centres, cleaners, production workers, cleaners and even prostitutes in Gayland. Is this so called the foreign talent that we want? Even at the place that I stay I often saw those peidu mama touting for sex services at the coffeeshops and hawker centres. The PAP government is too liberal for the foreign trash and what we get is those trash that throw rubbish all over the place, dirty the food centres and coffeeshops and selling sex services. I think the Ministry of Home Affairs should have stronger enforcements for the applications social pass and work permits and teach them about keeping good hygiene Who knows we might have a few percent of our population as illegal workers. These sort of foreign trash will make Singaporeans resent foreigners even more and even become xenophobic as they are not the sort of quality talents that we want.