• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Anybody making to move to JB to settle down?

We’ve all thought about it. The cost of living in Singapore gets you curious about life north of the border. The idea of lower rent, more space and cheaper groceries makes you wonder if packing your passport and the daily commute is worth the move to Johor Bahru. Is the grass really greener across the causeway? Well, they do have Legoland and Tesco. But before you get your annual pass and clubcard, it’s time to get the skinny from an expert – Shona Sanosi, Founder and Director of Blue House Nursery & International School, tells us about her recent move to Johor Bahru and how it’s changed life for her and her family. Read on for the lowdown on moving to Malaysia from Singapore.

What prompted your move to Malaysia?
Two main factors prompted our move to Nusajaya Malaysia. Firstly, the desire to own our own property and secondly the opportunity for our children to attend a school such as Marlborough College Malaysia. Children living in Singapore can attend the school but need to commute daily and we felt at the time that this was too much to expect from our children, Alfie and Ella.

And how does it differ from the set up you had in Singapore?
As a family we lived together in Singapore for eleven years. We stayed in a rented condominium where the children were very dependent on us to ‘take them out’. Now we live in a 4 bedroom house with a good size garden and pool. We live on an established gated estate called East Ledang and the children have lots of freedom to explore independently and spend time with their friends and neighbours.

The burning question is: does the move mean savings and a better lifestyle?
Absolutely! Financially we were able to not only buy a landed property but renovate the building and garden extensively- at last after so many years of renting we were able to have the creative freedom to plan our ideal living space. We do save money on a monthly basis on basics such as grocery shopping, petrol and utilities.

Our lifestyle as a family has changed for the better. Our children are so much happier, especially our active and sporty son who is enjoying the extensive sports programme that Marlborough offers. In addition, both children are enjoying the freedom they have to come home, drop their bags, grab their bikes and go and visit the many friends that they have in East Ledang.

Ben and I are far more relaxed and are enjoying the peace and quiet of living in Malaysia. For the first 6 months we would come home every night from work and enjoy drinks and dinner by the pool until one day we gave ourselves a nudge and reminded ourselves that we were not on holiday!

Malaysia feels slightly cooler and less humid than Singapore and on most days we benefit from a breeze blowing through our home and garden. We live outside for the majority of the time and truly appreciate the simple things like hearing the birds sing.

Obviously your business is based in Singapore – how do you find the commute to Singapore each day?

School for the children is just a ten minute drive away from our home. Once they leave home on the school bus at 8.10am my husband and I head across the border to Singapore for work. Generally, by this time the border crossing is clear and we arrive at Blue House Nursery and International School in Bukit Timah within the hour. On a good day we can reach there in 45 minutes.

We try to leave Singapore around 4-4.30pm every day, ensuring that we miss the peak period traffic at the border and are home in time to help with homework and eat a family meal together.

What sorts of things do you get up to in Malaysia on the weekend and during your downtime – do you come into Singapore at all or stay north of the border?
Friday evening generally sees us unwinding by the pool with a few drinks and some of our neighbours whilst the children swim, play on their bikes or enjoy a game of table tennis.

We love being at home so our weekends are fairly chilled. I am still enjoying ‘playing house’ so you may find me poodling around the house organising bits and pieces, whipping up a Pavlova or cutting fresh flowers from our garden. This is in real contrast to my busy working week and I love the slower weekend pace.

On Sunday mornings Alfie plays rugby for Tanglin Rugby Club in Singapore so my husband will drive him over the border but they are home by 11am.

You mentioned that the kids enjoy a certain amount of freedom within your gated estate but is extra vigilance required elsewhere?
Our twins are nine years old and they do enjoy a lot of freedom living within the estate of East Ledang. As parents we have spoken to them about possible dangers, strangers and road safety for example and how they should respond in certain situations. We feel confident that they are safe in the estate and as such allow them the freedom to call on their friends- they both have watches and have responded well to the responsibility of checking back in at certain times.

Where do you love to go in Malaysia – any secret hotspots we should know and check out?
As I am working in Singapore all week when I reach home I generally do not go out and about that much – I LOVE being at home!!

There are several large supermarkets close by including Tesco and Giant and Cold Storage is in JB- about 20-30 minutes away. We do buy basic groceries locally but we still need to buy more specialised items in Singapore.

Options for western style dining in this region are growing and nearly every week there is a new restaurant or cafe popping up in Puteri Harbour so it’s worth a visit. Of course there are endless places to enjoy local food!

For relaxation I like to treat myself to a massage at the Angsana Spa which is based at the Ledang Club, conveniently located at the entrance of our estate!

Furniture wise there are now two companies who have recently started to ship beautiful pieces in from Bali – Tropical Living Asia and Sora Capital – and for something more bespoke try Hauskandar Contemporary Living.

To supplement the flowers from our garden I do like to pop along to Espresso Garage in Puteri Harbour and pick up some extra orchids or ginger stems. It is not easy to find cut flowers in our area so this is a great addition to the local scene.

The Johor Premium Outlet stores are a 15 minute drive from where we live and are definitely worth a visit, even from Singapore it makes a good day out.

The children of course love Legoland with its theme park and water park.

And is there much of a community where you live, people to connect with so as to not feel isolated?
I would say that we have a richer social life and group of friends in Nusajaya than we did in Singapore. As the social scene in terms of restaurants and bars is still developing many people choose to invite friends to their home for dinner or parties.

We have been warmly welcomed into the neighbourhood and school community and have made some lovely friends.

All in all, a good move then?
All in all we have no regrets in choosing to live here. As a family we are so much happier. There are of course days in particular when the border crossing is busy that you might huff and puff and roll your eyes with frustration but once you are home you can relax!

It’s so tempting! What sorts of things should we weigh up (pros and cons) if we were considering a move to Malaysia?
Travelling is a careful consideration. Most people who choose to commute for work into Singapore have some flexibility with their time. Travelling can be stressful during peak periods and you need to always allow more time than you need.

If you have a longing to either own a home or own a piece of land and design/ build your own home then you should consider a move to this region

Moving-to-Malaysia-21.jpg

If you want to retire, you need a land.

Malaysia has tons of land and you are allow to get a LANDED property so you can retired and grow your own food.

How can you do that?

Just walk across the causeway and you can have a land already lor..so easy..

Sinkies are lucky to be able to just walk across the causeway,(WALK to EMIGRATE) show middle finger to the PAP govt and then have your own land to retire..easy.

May i ask sinkies, do you feel stupid to get a HDB flat? or whatever shit property u get in sinkieland?

Most jiuhukias are violent and untrustworthy. I can't imagine living in a place surrounded by savages. I rather stay in Singapore. My home has a nice garden too.

In sinkapore, a small patch of land is called a garden. In Mudland, a garden is 10X the size of the small patch of grass in sinkapore.

No lah terrace house has no garden at all while cluster or semi d standard size is 10 ft width only - just a narrow strip of land - unless you pay extra for bigger land. Maybe Rm 100k or 200k more depending on project will get you the corner or end lot with maybe around 20 ft to 30 ft width.

Trustworthy? My barbarian MALAYSIAN CHINESE neighbours are not just not trustworthy but sneaky characters. Threw litter, dog poo, played ghost firecrackers to disturb and perhaps stinky crime behind too. I wish these foxes and wolves with kind dog lover facade many violent deaths.

If you want to retire, you need a land.

Malaysia has tons of land and you are allow to get a LANDED property so you can retired and grow your own food.

How can you do that?

Just walk across the causeway and you can have a land already lor..so easy..

Sinkies are lucky to be able to just walk across the causeway,(WALK to EMIGRATE) show middle finger to the PAP govt and then have your own land to retire..easy.

If you want to use the land to grow your own food, you better dig up all the soil and replace with your own organic soil. You don't know what kind of soil they used to fill up your garden, lots of trash hidden inside if you bother to dig.

And if you grow fruit trees, be prepared people - your neighbours - will steal your fruits. Not I say one hor but somebody in JB forum experienced that before.

This east ledang is not a typical JB local housing estate but mostly foreigners. So their neighbours are not locals but fellow foreigners. And east ledang houses are not cheap lah. Those houses with good size garden and pool like what the interviewed family are staying will cost a few million Rm. I can't remember exact how much lah but someone said in JB forum before around Rm4 or 5 millions lah for bungalow with pool.

"And how does it differ from the set up you had in Singapore?
As a family we lived together in Singapore for eleven years. We stayed in a rented condominium where the children were very dependent on us to ‘take them out’. Now we live in a 4 bedroom house with a good size garden and pool. We live on an established gated estate called East Ledang and the children have lots of freedom to explore independently and spend time with their friends and neighbours."

This east ledang is not a typical JB local housing estate but mostly foreigners. So their neighbours are not locals but fellow foreigners. And east ledang houses are not cheap lah. Those houses with good size garden and pool like what the interviewed family are staying will cost a few million Rm. I can't remember exact how much lah but someone said in JB forum before around Rm4 or 5 millions lah for bungalow with pool.

"And how does it differ from the set up you had in Singapore?
As a family we lived together in Singapore for eleven years. We stayed in a rented condominium where the children were very dependent on us to ‘take them out’. Now we live in a 4 bedroom house with a good size garden and pool. We live on an established gated estate called East Ledang and the children have lots of freedom to explore independently and spend time with their friends and neighbours."

of course i will show articles of sinkies living well in JB and if you wanna live well, you got to have money.

there are sinkies peasant who live near the causeway and commute through the causeway daily to work. I talk to one guy who did that and he is very happy about it. He earns about 2 to 3k and convert to ringgit. bought an inexpensive apartment and enjoy a peaceful, stress-free life.

To have people who has money and move out to settle across the causeway and show PAP the middle finger is the kick in the face to the PAP.

There are more sinkies with money are leaving your sinkie shit land and i truly love it!!! The best is those who WALK across the causeway and settle there..very smart. Leech on the sinkie PAP polluted soil and spend it on Malaysia land.

If you want to use the land to grow your own food, you better dig up all the soil and replace with your own organic soil. You don't know what kind of soil they used to fill up your garden, lots of trash hidden inside if you bother to dig.

And if you grow fruit trees, be prepared people - your neighbours - will steal your fruits. Not I say one hor but somebody in JB forum experienced that before.

If you want to do something to have a good life, you have to do research and overcome all challenges to get what you want. This is life and it has been this way all the while. What so special about it? to overcome challenges is the norm in life.

What is not normal is the sinkies are too stupid to know that the govt is screwing them and still vote for a govt to screw them. Pay for a housing with almost a life time of mortgages while the housing does not belong to them, etc... The smart sinkies are like this smart guy who just walk across the causeway and settle there to have a real life that is fit for a real human being.

i dun not know where you get the idea that your jiuhukia are not trustworthy and violent..if that is so, why there are more and more sinkies moving to JB to stay. and sinkies there are happy and less stressful.

No wonder you are stupid and sounded stupid.

The untrustworthy is your PAP govt who lie and cheat and sell your soul for money. This is what i called violent and untrustworthy, and even more untrustworthy are those stupid sinkies who voted for them.

If you want to do something to have a good life, you have to do research and overcome all challenges to get what you want. This is life and it has been this way all the while. What so special about it? to overcome challenges is the norm in life.

What is not normal is the sinkies are too stupid to know that the govt is screwing them and still vote for a govt to screw them. Pay for a housing with almost a life time of mortgages while the housing does not belong to them, etc... The smart sinkies are like this smart guy who just walk across the causeway and settle there to have a real life that is fit for a real human being.

Talk is cheap lah. When you meet barbarian neighbours then see how you solve. The one in JB forum whose fruits got stolen by neighbours also can't solve what, same thing like me - his neighbours also threw cigarette butt and other litter. Looks like it's their culture lah and common for them to do such dirty tricks. Can't be one small JB forum so coincident right to meet same kind of mudlander shit neighbours.

Suay you get this kind of barbarian neighbours you think you can solve just by talking reason to them? Refer my recent thread on MALAYSIANS caught dumping their rubbish to outside neighbours' house instead of their own house. The frightening thing is it's done by old and young, including young executive and they think nothing wrong to do that and slandered foreigners to be the litter bugs when they are the ones throwing. Very sneaky behaviour and character, not just Untrustworthy.

Oh the replacement of soil can solve lah but you will need to spend money lor and it may jack up the cost so much it's no longer cost effective to grow your own food and better just buy your fruits or vegetables from outside. So whether it's called solve the challenge or not depends on your own definition.

They say if don't know malayu walk across liao will be a blur sotong.

Bahasa Melayu is one of the easiest languages to pick up. I've been going to JB & Malaysia for decades & I've never really had to use any malay. Got by just using english.
What get's most Sporeans into trouble in JB is that they talk too loud & draw attention to themselves.

Talk is cheap lah. When you meet barbarian neighbours then see how you solve. The one in JB forum whose fruits got stolen by neighbours also can't solve what, same thing like me - his neighbours also threw cigarette butt and other litter. Looks like it's their culture lah and common for them to do such dirty tricks. Can't be one small JB forum so coincident right to meet same kind of mudlander shit neighbours.

Suay you get this kind of barbarian neighbours you think you can solve just by talking reason to them? Refer my recent thread on MALAYSIANS caught dumping their rubbish to outside neighbours' house instead of their own house. The frightening thing is it's done by old and young, including young executive and they think nothing wrong to do that and slandered foreigners to be the litter bugs when they are the ones throwing. Very sneaky behaviour and character, not just Untrustworthy.

Oh the replacement of soil can solve lah but you will need to spend money lor and it may jack up the cost so much it's no longer cost effective to grow your own food and better just buy your fruits or vegetables from outside. So whether it's called solve the challenge or not depends on your own definition.

losers like you who only complain about bad things and dun have the creativity to solve problem will try to put anything positive out of the window. You will never have luck whatsoever. I am happy to say that i dun have associates who behave like you and are doing very well in life. And yes, my associates also encounter tons of issues and problem and one by one , they solve it using their creativity.

I had such neighbours before. I solved it not by being louder than them or wasting time arguing with them. I talked to them nicely and they brushed me off. After that, I solved the problem simply by being way more aggressive and assertive than they were.

If they dumped one piece of garbage in front of my property, I will dump two pieces of garbage in front of theirs. If they blast music at night to disturb the peace, I will blast my music back at them and I will disrupt any private parties they host on their estate.

They confronted me, and when one guy pushed me on the shoulder to assert dominance, I responded by giving him a tight slap, punch and kicks that knocked him to the ground. I challenged his watching family to go get parang or get some friends for a fight, and I would do the same. The authorities deemed this a personal squabble and told us to settle it ourselves as no one was badly hurt besides his hurt pride.

After that, they backed off and were much better behaved. Since then, we had no further trouble until we both eventually sold our places at different timing and relocated.

You don't resolve your problems with unreasonable neighbours with logic, debates and reason. You resolve it by being more hardened and aggressive than they are. Grow some balls. Your neighbours are picking on you because they identified you as ball-less.