• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Singaporeans in NZ regretting moving there.

zeroo

“Travelling in NZ versus living in NZ is a totally different experience! Depending on what you do, where you live … it’ll change your opinions about NZ.

Crime rates are getting higher in some cities … all you hear in the news are depressing news like murders, burglaries, assaults etc. Alcohol and drugs are huge concerns here and are major social problems in NZ! Law and order? Number of prisoners reaches new high! http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/numb...w-high-3083396

Make sure you are secured with a job if you intend to migrate here under Skilled Migrant Category because it’s very, very hard to find a job here. And of course, not forgetting about the certain degree of racism and discrimination that we have to face here!

Living standards? The proposed increase in GST from 12.5% to 15% will definitely have an impact on living cost. http://www.3news.co.nz/Poll-and-surv...7/Default.aspx

Although health care is free but … unless you need urgent immediate attention otherwise you can join the long queue in the waiting list! Read this article about the recent health cuts. http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PA0908/S00210.htm

For those who have children, your children may feel less stressful studying in NZ but you really have to think thrice if that’s what you want for them! It’s their future you have to consider! Unless you’re very sure that they have self-discipline … Read this article about the chaos created by Otago University students annually and decide if you want to send your children here.http://www.odt.co.nz/on-campus/unive...udent039s-view

Do you think Kiwis are happy here? Read this article about the high suicide rate in NZ. http://www.socialreport.msd.govt.nz/health/suicide.html

We can go on and on and on …

Of course, if you retire here and don’t have to deal with many people then it’s a different story! You probably will enjoy the quiet lifestyle here and the weather (except during the cold winter months) is definitely better than the hot and humid Singapore!

zeroo

Quote:
I totally agree! I’m a Singaporean and have been in NZ for the past almost 5 years. I have traveled extensively prior to coming to NZ and never have I seen any other country that exhibits such ridiculous behaviors! Imagine turning on the TV and the ads are showing you that 1) Violence is Not ok, 2) Do not ever shake a baby, 3) People drinking and driving, 4) People speeding recklessly and the list goes on. The ongoing consistent messages out there truly reflects the dire circumstances of the social behaviors of the Kiwis.

In addition, basic literacy rate is quite poor. I just about to tear my hair out when people spell “Masters Ave” as “maRster’s ave”, “there” spelled as “their” and if you add an up-size fries to a burger meal, they totally lost count of how much they need to pay! So REALLY, send your kids here to study.

And yes, jobs are extremely hard to find here and if you are so lucky to get one, be prepared for the large amount of taxes you have to pay. If you earn between NZ$14,001 to NZ$48,000/year (which is most likely for many people), your tax rate is 21% (excluding ACC levy). Well in SG, you will have to earn 6 times more ie: SG$320,000 (which is about NZD$322,328 at today’s exchange rate) before you are tax at 21%. How good is that?!
NZ Tax rate: http://www.ird.govt.nz/how-to/taxrat...etaxrates.html
SG Tax Rate: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1190

PS: oh by the way, your taxes are paying for those people who are on benefits, as well as those that are drinking from 9am in the morning to 10pm at night, the ones that yell at you to “go back to china” (they have no idea of other countries except for england, australia and south africa.. did i mention china?), the ones that NEED to have a cigarette break EVERY 30 minutes while you slog on and on at work, not to mention legal aid for the Kiwis who just happened to be drunk or “mentally unstable” and decide to torch your car for no reason other than they just did!

how many people in sg earn 320,000?as far as i know 65 percent of sinkies earn 3.5k or less according to cpf statistics,most sinkies are peasants......the laws in sg are meant to benefit the rich and few only.

theres no pleasing singaporeans,everything also kiasu,kiasee,humji,boh lumpar,ai lui,ai pi,mai welfare,and love to pay and pay,they should come back to singapore,singapore is heaven on earth,paradise for sinkies,singapore was made for sinkies.

I regrete moving to NZ. When I arrived I soon realised that PAP is the best of the best and Singapore is almost perfect in every way.

this shows u are a true blue sinkie in every way,mentally physically psychologically spiritually,time to come back to singapore and embrace ur long lost motherland.

Asterix

yeah! macritchie reservoir is on top of the list of 500 places to see before you die :oIo:

[video=youtube;dMGSrS_2R6I]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMGSrS_2R6I[/video]

Boss, please excuse my shamelessness, let me share an advert. for myself:

bros and sisters,

if you intend to buy property in OZ but lack of capital, let me know. besides the kickback i can give and be also assured that it is legal. remember to pm me and i will get back to you. all i need is proof that you are able to service your loan, eg. payslip or cpf contribution. you won't regret and even with OZ banks' stricter controls in place, i still can help you to get your mortgage approved. I will be the one to look for if you want to invest in OZ. take advantage of the low exchange AUD to SGD rate now, besides, OZ is very dependent on China, and china currently is experiencing hiccup, it won't be long that the dragon awakes again. you will enjoy both appreciation in currency and also property prices. many OZ politicians own more than few properties here and unlikely, they will abolish negative gearing. ask for more info. from me if interested.

cheers & have a good weekend. :smile:

It would be far wiser not to leave Singapore in the first place.

firstly, staying in s'pore will make one a depressed soul, not joking, the psychological impact of being couped up in a pigeon hole is not a trivial thing, the spaces are cramped when you looked from the sky, over-crowded almost everywhere. any of the PAP MP stay in HDB? do you think they will? sometimes, when i think of this, i feel like an oppressed sinkie.

JHolmesJr

Quote:
I have traveled extensively prior to coming to NZ and never have I seen any other country that exhibits such ridiculous behaviors! Imagine turning on the TV and the ads are showing you that 1) Violence is Not ok, 2) Do not ever shake a baby, 3) People drinking and driving, 4) People speeding recklessly and the list goes on. The ongoing consistent messages out there truly reflects the dire circumstances of the social behaviors of the Kiwis.

LOL…look who's bloody talking. Which fuckin country in the world runs tv campaigns to tell people to be courteous, to smile, to date, to get married, to have kids, to put your backpack down in the mrt, to not look at your mobile phone so much…. we don't seem to have social problems as much as we have social deficiencies on the basics.

lifeafter41

“Travelling in NZ versus living in NZ is a totally different experience! Depending on what you do, where you live … it’ll change your opinions about NZ.

Crime rates are getting higher in some cities … all you hear in the news are depressing news like murders, burglaries, assaults etc. Alcohol and drugs are huge concerns here and are major social problems in NZ! Law and order? Number of prisoners reaches new high! http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/numb...w-high-3083396

Make sure you are secured with a job if you intend to migrate here under Skilled Migrant Category because it’s very, very hard to find a job here. And of course, not forgetting about the certain degree of racism and discrimination that we have to face here!

Living standards? The proposed increase in GST from 12.5% to 15% will definitely have an impact on living cost. http://www.3news.co.nz/Poll-and-surv...7/Default.aspx

Although health care is free but … unless you need urgent immediate attention otherwise you can join the long queue in the waiting list! Read this article about the recent health cuts. http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PA0908/S00210.htm

For those who have children, your children may feel less stressful studying in NZ but you really have to think thrice if that’s what you want for them! It’s their future you have to consider! Unless you’re very sure that they have self-discipline … Read this article about the chaos created by Otago University students annually and decide if you want to send your children here.http://www.odt.co.nz/on-campus/unive...udent039s-view

Do you think Kiwis are happy here? Read this article about the high suicide rate in NZ. http://www.socialreport.msd.govt.nz/health/suicide.html

We can go on and on and on …

Of course, if you retire here and don’t have to deal with many people then it’s a different story! You probably will enjoy the quiet lifestyle here and the weather (except during the cold winter months) is definitely better than the hot and humid Singapore!

Just saw the tax rate for nzd 14,001 to 48k is 17.5%, 48k to 70k is 30% while above 70k is 33%.
GST is 15%.

That's almost 50% of your income goes to just taxes alone......
That's pretty high.......

Correction, its remaining after the 70k is 33%.

lifeafter41

The cost of keeping your Sporean citizenship is that you will never see your CPF.

I have friends that has reached and withdraw their cpf...... Of course, not all of it. One took out almost 150k, while another took out 280k. Of course, there is the amount that is retained under the Retirement account I believe is 160k and almost 50k under medisave.