• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

BB By Elections - PAP buys Votes - Pork-barrel politics

Trust the PAP to bribe the electorate in this manner. A practice that was frowned upon by the old man and claimed that he was above this sort of politics. That was until Potong Pasir became rock solid under Chiam. GCT and Old man offered residents of PP lift upgrading and various other perks but the residents stood firm over 3 GEs.

PAP - truly a party with no ethics, no morals and whose word is not worth the paper it is written.

Bear in mind it is a massive bribe with Concept drawing and models for residents to view. It will be hard for residents to give up this much.

http://www.straitstimes.com/politic...s-he-wants-to-focus-on-the-campaignPUBLISHED2 HOURS AGOUPDATED1 HOUR AGO

Walter Sim
SINGAPORE - Lawyer Murali Pillai, the People's Action Party (PAP) candidate for Bukit Batok, on Sunday (April 24) unveiled $1.9 million worth of infrastructure plans for a neighbourhood in the single-member constituency if he were to be elected at the May 7 by-election.

The plans - which include covered walkways, ramps, a jogging track and a small park - come under the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme for the precinct at Blocks 140 to 149, Bukit Batok West Ave 4. Some 640 of the 12,000 households in the seat live in these blocks.

Mr Murali told reporters at an exhibition on these plans on Sunday morning that residents were surveyed late last year on how the neighbourhood can be enhanced.

But the PAP-run Jurong-Clementi Town Council - which currently looks after Bukit Batok - will only be able to carry out these plans should he be elected, he added.

"Let me just say that this plan we are presenting is a plan by the PAP Jurong-Clementi Town Council. So it's really up to our residents.

A total of 25,727 voters are expected to cast their ballots at nine polling stations for the Bukit Batok by-election.

"We will only have the mandate to carry on if we are returned at the next by-election. If we don't have the mandate then we won't have the ability to carry on, because we will not form the town council," he said. "That's the rules."

Also at the exhibition on Sunday were Jurong GRC MPs: Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister of State for Home Affairs and National Development Desmond Lee, and town council chairman Ang Wei Neng.

Mr Murali's announcement comes two days after his likely opponent at the May 7 by-election, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) secretary-general Chee Soon Juan, unveiled four social programmes he planned to roll out if he is elected.

The by-election was triggered by the abrupt resignation of PAP MP David Ong on March 12 over an alleged extramarital affair.

Both Mr Murali and Dr Chee almost crossed paths on their walkabouts on Sunday morning, appearing at the same coffee shop barely minutes apart from each other.

When asked for his take on Dr Chee's programmes, Mr Murali would only say: "I've just spoken about the plans I believe Bukit Batok residents can identify with because this came up after a very, very extensive consultation."

He added: "Other plans will be revealed in due course, before Nomination Day. What we are dealing with today are some plans to improve the liveability, to enhance the family environment for our residents."

The SDP last Friday (April 22) promised to roll out four social initiatives for Bukit Batok residents should Dr Chee be elected on May 7.

The programmes, which target a broad swathe of residents from youth to the elderly, will help those who have fallen through the cracks, Dr Chee said, adding that existing social assistance programmes had not gone far enough.

Dr Chee told reporters on Sunday morning: "The whole idea is that we are going to bring the community together to ensure that people here don't just live very atomised lives - when they come back from work they don't just go into their homes, shut the door and that's it."

He vowed that, with Bukit Batok "going to be like our firstborn after a long absence", the SDP will devote the kind of attention of "doting parents and grandparents and uncles and aunties" to the estate.

The SDP has had a presence in the area, with its candidate Kwan Yue Keng winning 44 per cent of the vote in Bukit Batok in 1988. At the next polls just three years later, he lost to the PAP incumbent MP, Dr Ong Chit Chung, by just 858 votes.

That same year, the SDP's Mr Ling How Doong had captured neighbouring Bukit Gombak SMC, winning 51 per cent of the vote against the PAP.

Dr Chee on Sunday declined to be drawn into commenting on Singapore People's Party (SPP) chairman Lina Chiam's comments that the SDP did not seek nor receive permission to include SPP chief Chiam See Tong's image in the newsletter. She had said that Mr Chiam had not endorsed any candidate at the by-election.

The SDP on Saturday (April 23) issued a statement by Dr Wong Wee Nam, who wrote the article beside the photo, clarifying that the image referred to was in The New Democrat's June 2015 issue, where Dr Wong recounted his failed effort in 2010 to bring Mr Chiam back to the SDP. "The SDP was not seeking any endorsement from Mr or Mrs Chiam," Dr Wong, a long-time opposition supporter, added.

Dr Chee said on Sunday: "I just want to be able to focus on this campaign and what we can do for Bukit Batok. Everything else, believe me, is just a distraction."

[email protected]

Debonerman

Started with Lim Hng Khiang's brilliant HDB upgrading masterstroke. Co payment with the mortgagee paying less. Again owing the government money and feeling gratified puts the damper to vote Opposition. Just like a Secret Service agent who saves a US President's life, he forever can do no wrong. That's the reason Lim Hng Khiang is still sitting pretty in the cabinet doing nothing, hearing nothing and saying nothing. Easiest million bucks annually in the world.

It reflects on the entire cabinet including Tharman. This is against the principles of democracy and totally unethical. As the report states, the residents are only going to get it if they receive the mandate. This is using public funds to get elected. Why are we even controlling political donations when the treasury is robbed to get the Murali elected. Murali is a lawyer and therefore an officer of the Supreme Court. He knows every well that this practice is not just and he brings the entire legal fraternity into disrepute if they do not act against such acts. And it includes members of the Judiciary.

Why are we even prosecuting people for petty corruption and taking kopi money when this is far worse off.

Debonerman

Murali as a Singaporean lawyer knows that this is all LEEgal as long as the PAP with a Lee is in charge.

report to the police this lawyer practice corruption bride.

but 70% still love corrupt PAP?

It reflects on the entire cabinet including Tharman. This is against the principles of democracy and totally unethical. As the report states, the residents are only going to get it if they receive the mandate. This is using public funds to get elected. Why are we even controlling political donations when the treasury is robbed to get the Murali elected. Murali is a lawyer and therefore an officer of the Supreme Court. He knows every well that this practice is not just and he brings the entire legal fraternity into disrepute if they do not act against such acts. And it includes members of the Judiciary.

Why are we even prosecuting people for petty corruption and taking kopi money when this is far worse off.

steffychun

Welcome to unethical Singapore--where there's no sanctions by the West.

If Chee had the resources and manpower at his disposal do u think he would not do the same?what is politics about?money and power!!!the end goal is the same.the carrot PAP is dangling is nothing compared to the prize they have to protect......30 percent of a 300 bil dollar a year economy and national reserves amounting to over 800 billion dollars!!!!!do u think Chee has a chance of winning?he is merely a puppet dancing on a stage strings pulled by PAP in the grand scheme of things!!!!!!worship LKY my ass,the poor peasants bow before LKY but the smart sinkies know they are not actually worshiping the old fart,they are worshipping MONEY!!!!!LKY is merely a token symbolising money....MONEY IS THE ONE AND ONLY TRUE GOD!!!!!LKY cannot really make you rich,but worshipping LKY and putting Black ribbons on your car can make good things happen to you!!!!!!

i read this in a novel once,a single bill or note or a couple of dollar bills or notes represents money,but when u bundle aand stack a whole bunch of bills and notes together into a massive stack it no longer is money,it becomes power!!!!unimaginable power!!!!!the power to influence hundreds,thousands of lives,even companies or even countries and nations,regions or even world economies!!!money can make or break entire companies,bankrupt entire nations!!!money represents trust and faith,faith in a society,in a nation.....without faith even the most powerful country will fall!!!!

OverTheCounter

SDP should counter this pork barrel politics in the following way:

Raise national issues that are of concern, like cost of living and jobs. For local issues, point out how they can do better than what they PAP has done before

But the focus is not local because the opposition can never match PAP taxpayer funded resources. The emphasis should only be that things will be smooth under them, without any excess promises made.

Make the campaign not a Chee centric one but show nice and professional looking faces standing by and supporting Chee. Leave john tan, jufrie, and ops spectrum detainees out. Put in Paul T., Wong seok yee, Jaslyn Lamei, his wife ChiMei, and show some new and good looking members too that are newly joined.

OverTheCounter

The opposition will always be handicapped as long as the political system is manipulated by the incumbent PAP.

SDP will always be even more disadvantaged due to people's memory of the relentless attacks made on it in the past. Chiam's wife's haughty attitude last week helps no one. No one except the pure hard core Chee lovers will think that chiam's wife is doing the bidding of the establishment. They will instead think negatively of Chee. That is the kind of uphill battle SDP is up against. Its like I punch your face, but people say you are wrong.

OverTheCounter

Looking at the bigger picture, what's the true value of electing another PAP MP?

We are seasoned oppo supporters. You are even better, you are helping them at the ground. We both know how to think. But how do we convey this message and convince them?

Voters even outside Singapore do not think along those lines. They look at issues and if these issues have an impact to the voter. If there are no issues, the human tendency is to retain the status quo. Look at the politics of US, UK, Australia and even Malaysia and Thailand. The opponents will always raise a series of missteps of the government, failed policies, cronyism, favouritism, abuse of office etc. No candidate who wants to challenge the incumbent or the party in power just states that he will do a better job or provide an alternative voice in parliament.

The only place where an alternative view and voice is welcome is at academic forum where a robust discussion is the aim and their value is judged by the quality of the debate. Parliament is sometimes mistaken for a forum. It is about jostling for power in order to legislate.

Looking at the bigger picture, what's the true value of electing another PAP MP?

Voters even outside Singapore do not think along those lines. They look at issues and if these issues have an impact to the voter. If there are no issues, the human tendency is to retain the status quo. Look at the politics of US, UK, Australia and even Malaysia and Thailand. The opponents will always raise a series of missteps of the government, failed policies, cronyism, favouritism, abuse of office etc. No candidate who wants to challenge the incumbent or the party in power just states that he will do a better job or provide an alternative voice in parliament.

The only place where an alternative view and voice is welcome is at academic forum where a robust discussion is the aim and their value is judged by the quality of the debate. Parliament is sometimes mistaken for a forum. It is about jostling for power in order to legislate.

i look at british and australian parliament and there is always vigorous debate over every issue from fiscal to education to wages to immigration.and its no holds barred,theres no bullshitting around these guys,its not like PAP can just spew a bunch of cuckoo logic and the opposition have no choice but to swallow it.everything is debated,challenged,argued with facts,evidences,logic and intellect.sg parliament compared to australian parliament is like kids playground politics.

The opposition will always be handicapped as long as the political system is manipulated by the incumbent PAP.

How is it manipulated? Voters have the freedom to vote out PAP. Nobody is forcing them to vote for PAP. Neither are the ballot boxes stuffed. Voters get what they vote for.

SDP will always be even more disadvantaged due to people's memory of the relentless attacks made on it in the past. Chiam's wife's haughty attitude last week helps no one. No one except the pure hard core Chee lovers will think that chiam's wife is doing the bidding of the establishment. They will instead think negatively of Chee. That is the kind of uphill battle SDP is up against. Its like I punch your face, but people say you are wrong.

Sinkie voters are the most rational and unforgiving voters in the world. They rightly demand that the winning party possess years of experience in running a town council or a country before they would dare to vote for you. If you fuck up once at the municipal or national level, voters will never forgive you.

Voters will never trust Chee in huge numbers because of his dishonest past. There is no way Chee can shake off his past. Even Buddha cannot forgive Chee no matter how many good deeds and speeches he make in order to atone for his past. There is no way Chee can ever be forgiven and allowed to return to politics. He can only stand from the side and make noise. Voters are okay with that, because Chee can't do any damage as long as he is not in parliament.

i look at british and australian parliament and there is always vigorous debate over every issue from fiscal to education to wages to immigration.and its no holds barred,theres no bullshitting around these guys,its not like PAP can just spew a bunch of cuckoo logic and the opposition have no choice but to swallow it.everything is debated,challenged,argued with facts,evidences,logic and intellect.sg parliament compared to australian parliament is like kids playground politics.

Apparently, the Brits and the Aussies are good at bullshitting too. If they debated so thoroughly through issues, they wouldn't be facing their current social and environmental problems, most of it due to bad policies.

How is it manipulated? Voters have the freedom to vote out PAP. Nobody is forcing them to vote for PAP. Neither are the ballot boxes stuffed. Voters get what they vote for.
The upgrading should happen regardless of the political stripe of the MP. It is our tax dollars. If BB is due for an upgrading of facilities, then it should happen, not only when the MP is from the PAP.

Sinkie voters are the most rational and unforgiving voters in the world. They rightly demand that the winning party possess years of experience in running a town council or a country before they would dare to vote for you. If you fuck up once at the municipal or national level, voters will never forgive you.
Stupid, you mean.

Voters will never trust Chee in huge numbers because of his dishonest past. There is no way Chee can shake off his past. Even Buddha cannot forgive Chee no matter how many good deeds and speeches he make in order to atone for his past. There is no way Chee can ever be forgiven and allowed to return to politics. He can only stand from the side and make noise. Voters are okay with that, because Chee can't do any damage as long as he is not in parliament.
So, you forgive Vivian for blowing off $500 million but make a mountain out of molehill for an oversight by Chee?