• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bukit Batok by-election to be held on May 7

yahoo55

SDP 3rd Rally - Dr Chee's speech in Mandarin & Hokkien

SDP 3rd Rally - Dr Chee's speech in English

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/chee-highlights-plight-of/2754044.html

Chee highlights plight of elderly, CPF issues

The Singapore Democratic Party chief asks if the Government is withholding CPF money because it “doesn’t have enough funds to pay us all back”.

Posted 04 May 2016 06:53

SINGAPORE: The plight of the elderly and Singaporeans’ Central Provident Fund (CPF) monies were two issues that candidate Dr Chee Soon Juan focused on, in his third rally of the Bukit Batok by-election.

On Tuesday night (May 3), the chief of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) broached the issue of elderly suicides, citing the statistical increase – from 79 cases in 2000, to 120 in 2014.

“In other words, one elderly person commits suicide every three days in Singapore,” said Dr Chee.

Referring to a report in The Straits Times that the elderly were increasingly afraid of dying alone, he said: “Many of these problems are created by PAP (People’s Action Party) policies.”

Some old folks are “forced to downgrade their flats” to get income, he said, which means having to uproot to a new neighbourhood. Such displacement from family and friends is “traumatic” for the elderly, said Dr Chee.

“Does this Government really understand the plight of the elderly?” he asked. “When you become old, your Government can't just put you to one side. PAP can't treat you like tissue paper, use you then throw you away.”

As part of its Hearts for Bukit Batok initiative, the SDP would get the help of volunteers to organise activities such as “bingo nights, mahjong mornings, gardening” to give elderly residents “something to wake up to” every day, Dr Chee said.

He also pledged, if elected, to keep raising the issue in Parliament until the Government increased the budget for assistance to the elderly.

“You need to lead more independent lives instead of having to rely on your children for support. The Government must do its part,” he said.

‘WHY DON’T WE HAVE ENOUGH TO RETIRE ON?’

Turning to the issue of CPF and the minimum sum scheme, Dr Chee asked "whether the Government is withholding our CPF money because it doesn’t have enough funds to pay us all back because of its failed investments”.

He then cited a study released by HSBC in March, which found that the cost of living made Singapore “one of the toughest countries to retire in”, with nearly half of pre-retirees here stating that they would not be able to retire in the next five years. The global average is only 38 per cent, Dr Chee noted.

He also noted that 30 per cent said they would never be able to fully retire, compared with 18 per cent globally.

“And yet, because of the CPF scheme, we are the biggest savers in the world in terms of our retirement. How is it that despite this, we still don't have enough to retire on?” asked Dr Chee.

He put it down to Singaporeans having to use their CPF monies to buy HDB flats, which has left them with “little disposable income for retirement”.

yahoo55

Great speech by Neo Swee Lin in last night's rally.

The link: http://chn.ge/1rtlg38 to her petition Singaporeans Against Gutter Politics petitioning Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, currently 2700 people have signed the petition.

http://theindependent.sg/actor-neo-...lee-and-other-pap-leaders-to-not-vilify-chee/

Actor Neo Swee Lin appeals to PM Lee and other PAP leaders to not vilify Chee

By The Independent - May 3, 2016

Highly acclaimed actor Neo Swee Lin was a guest speaker at the Singapore Democratic Party’s rally in Bukit Batok today (3 May). At the rally she appealed to PM Lee Hsien Loong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob and Culture Minister Grace Fu to conduct the campaign for the by-election in a dignified manner.

She said:

“We are a group of Singaporeans who have been following the progress of the Bukit Batok by-election. We would like to categorically state that we do not condone the personal attacks and character assassinations made by the Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, and Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu against Dr Chee Soon Juan of the SDP.

We are deeply saddened in the manner in which the campaign is run – having deteriorated to the level that undermines our Singaporean values. We should re-assess…if people who have been entrusted with power and leadership should perpetuate such unbecoming behaviour.

We want an election campaign which addresses the pertinent issues of Singaporeans, rather than one which is marred by, primarily by the vilification of any one person.

This letter is signed by 30 people…people from all walks of life who simply want a fair election campaign.”

The appeal to the Prime Minister signed by 30 prominent individuals said:

“We are a group of Singaporeans who have been following the progress of the current Bukit Batok by-elections.

We would like to categorically state that we do not condone the personal attacks and character assassination made by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, and Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu, against Dr Chee Soon Juan of the SDP.

We are deeply saddened at the manner in which the campaign is run, having deteriorated to a level that undermines our Singaporean values. It is indeed a sad state of affairs when people who have been entrusted with positions of power and leadership perpetuate such unbecoming behaviour.

We want an election campaign that addresses the pertinent issues facing Singaporeans, rather than one that is marred primarily by the vilification of anyone’s person.”

The individuals signing the appeal are:
1. Alfian Sa’at
2. Alfred Dodwell
3. Andrew Loh
4. Ariffin Sha
5. Braema Mathi
6. Dana Lam
7. Fong Hoe Beng
8. Glen Goei
9. Goh Ming Siu
10. Howard Lee
11. Jasmine Teo
12. Jeanne Lim
13. Kevin Ho
14. Lee Hui Min
15. Leona Yuen
16. Leslie Low
17. Lim Kay Siu
18. Lynn Lee
19. M. Ravi
20. Neo Swee Lin
21. Peter Low
22. Pingjin Thum
23. Rachel Zeng
24. Ravi Philemon
25. Siew Kum Hong
26. T. Sasitharan
27. Tay Bee Pin
28. Terry Xu
29. Vanessa Ho
30. Vivian Wang
31. Yeng Pway Ngon

Members of the public may sign the appeal to the Prime Minister at this link: http://chn.ge/1rtlg38.

yahoo55

Great speech by Dr Paul Tambyah, he spoke in 3 languages and his mandarin is quite good.

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/bukit-batok-election-highlights-may-3#sthash.Q8hyOdKC.dpuf

Bukit Batok by-election: Highlights for May 3

SDP central executive committee member Dr Paul Tambyah addressed Bukit Batok residents first in Malay, followed by Mandarin, and then in English.

In his Mandarin speech, he asked residents not to worry about upgrading plans as the authorities in charge of the plans are "professional" and would not scrap plans based on the election results, he said.

He told the audience that Dr Chee had sacrificed a lot for Singaporeans. "His wish for freedom has not changed," he said. He also said that Dr Chee would be a voice for people regarding issues like CPF and transport in Parliament.

In his English speech later, he said that if Dr Chee was elected, residents would get "two for the price of one" as the People's Action Party's (PAP) candidate Murali Pillai would not abandon the SMC even if he lost the race.

Over the issue of whether character is important in evaluating election candidates, Dr Tambyah also said that character is important, but that a person's character is "not determined by distorted media reports" but best determined by "those who know you best...those who can see you apart from the limelight".

steady lah Dr Chee!!!!!

SDP 3rd Rally - Dr Chee's speech in Mandarin & Hokkien

SDP 3rd Rally - Dr Chee's speech in English

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/chee-highlights-plight-of/2754044.html

Chee highlights plight of elderly, CPF issues

The Singapore Democratic Party chief asks if the Government is withholding CPF money because it “doesn’t have enough funds to pay us all back”.

Posted 04 May 2016 06:53

SINGAPORE: The plight of the elderly and Singaporeans’ Central Provident Fund (CPF) monies were two issues that candidate Dr Chee Soon Juan focused on, in his third rally of the Bukit Batok by-election.

On Tuesday night (May 3), the chief of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) broached the issue of elderly suicides, citing the statistical increase – from 79 cases in 2000, to 120 in 2014.

“In other words, one elderly person commits suicide every three days in Singapore,” said Dr Chee.

Referring to a report in The Straits Times that the elderly were increasingly afraid of dying alone, he said: “Many of these problems are created by PAP (People’s Action Party) policies.”

Some old folks are “forced to downgrade their flats” to get income, he said, which means having to uproot to a new neighbourhood. Such displacement from family and friends is “traumatic” for the elderly, said Dr Chee.

“Does this Government really understand the plight of the elderly?” he asked. “When you become old, your Government can't just put you to one side. PAP can't treat you like tissue paper, use you then throw you away.”

As part of its Hearts for Bukit Batok initiative, the SDP would get the help of volunteers to organise activities such as “bingo nights, mahjong mornings, gardening” to give elderly residents “something to wake up to” every day, Dr Chee said.

He also pledged, if elected, to keep raising the issue in Parliament until the Government increased the budget for assistance to the elderly.

“You need to lead more independent lives instead of having to rely on your children for support. The Government must do its part,” he said.

‘WHY DON’T WE HAVE ENOUGH TO RETIRE ON?’

Turning to the issue of CPF and the minimum sum scheme, Dr Chee asked "whether the Government is withholding our CPF money because it doesn’t have enough funds to pay us all back because of its failed investments”.

He then cited a study released by HSBC in March, which found that the cost of living made Singapore “one of the toughest countries to retire in”, with nearly half of pre-retirees here stating that they would not be able to retire in the next five years. The global average is only 38 per cent, Dr Chee noted.

He also noted that 30 per cent said they would never be able to fully retire, compared with 18 per cent globally.

“And yet, because of the CPF scheme, we are the biggest savers in the world in terms of our retirement. How is it that despite this, we still don't have enough to retire on?” asked Dr Chee.

He put it down to Singaporeans having to use their CPF monies to buy HDB flats, which has left them with “little disposable income for retirement”.

yahoo55

A video message this morning from Dr Chee to the Bukit Batok residents in Mandarin.

A video message this morning from Dr Chee to the Bukit Batok residents in Tamil.

A video message this morning from Dr Chee to the Bukit Batok residents.

A video message from Dr Chee today to the Bukit Batok Malay residents.

yahoo55

Dr Lee Wei Ling has now denied signing the petition. http://theindependent.sg/dr-lee-wei-ling-denies-supporting-chee-soon-juan/

http://theindependent.sg/petition-to-pm-lee-to-stop-attacks-on-chee-a-dr-lee-wei-ling-signed-it/

Petition to PM Lee to stop attacks on Chee: A Dr Lee Wei Ling signed it

By The Independent - May 5, 2016

Highly acclaimed actor Neo Swee Lin was a guest speaker at the Singapore Democratic Party’s rally in Bukit Batok on 3 May. At the rally she appealed to PM Lee Hsien Loong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob and Culture Minister Grace Fu to conduct the campaign for the by-election in a dignified manner.

Swee Lin released a letter at the rally signed by 30 other people from all walks of life who simply called for a fair election campaign.

The thirty-one people who signed the letter said: “We would like to categorically state that we do not condone the personal attacks and character assassination made by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, and Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu, against Dr Chee Soon Juan of the SDP.”

The letter was made available online for members of the public to sign the appeal to the Prime Minister (link: http://chn.ge/1rtlg38).

So far over 3000 peiple have signed the letter. And one of the persons who has signed the letter has identified herself as ‘Dr Lee Wei Ling’ (link: http://chn.ge/1Oeww8l).

13177304_167620570301183_8580137712933570825_n.jpg

She signed the letter with the following message of support:

“First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt said this: Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.”

Fellow doctor and SDP member Paul Tambyah had referred to the same quote of the former American first lady in his speech at the rally on 3 May, to ask the PAP to stop attacking Dr Chee Soon Juan.

Ex-Director of ISD, Mr Yoong Siew Wah, who had endorsed Dr Chee’s bid for the constituency had also asked Dr Lee to consider supporting Dr Chee in the by-election.

“She will forever be remembered as a national heroine” if she did, he said.

“But if the power that be wants to establish a dynasty, LKY’s daughter will not allow LKY’s name to be sullied by a dishonorable son.”

These were the words of Dr Lee Wei Ling, the daughter of Singapore’s first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, and she had said them in an email to a local newspaper.

Her brother and the Prime Minister of Singapore, Mr Lee Hsien Loong, was quick to denounce Dr Lee’s accusations. He said her allegations were “completely untrue”.

But when an international publication, the Wall Street Journal, called Dr Lee to get her side of the story for their article yesterday (11 Apr), she would only tell them that the dispute “is a Singaporean matter” and that she “always try to stick by the truth”.

shittypore

John Tan, you shld ask PM Lee to instruct ISD to arrest all tos that hve signed the Petition against Gutter Politics and lock em up for the good of PAP.

Ex-Director of ISD, Mr Yoong Siew Wah, who had endorsed Dr Chee’s bid for the constituency had also asked Dr Lee to consider supporting Dr Chee in the by-election.

“She will forever be remembered as a national heroine” if she did, he said.

Looks like these ex civil service types tend not to be able to see the woods for the trees. :wink:

yes... i have yet to figure out lau aunty with sagging boobs donning wonderbra and 3 for $10 undies and a samsui headscarf zooming in and out of MRT station helping the poor and hapless.

funny_wonder-woman.jpg

These are the 3 choices for BB residents. Option C has cum and gone. :biggrin:

attachment.php

hsienloong

These are the 3 choices for BB residents. Option C has cum and gone. :biggrin:

attachment.php

Just an observation, perception and impression

A full-time MP commitment, family values, family centered, educational, knowledge and love.

B Indian Parliament in the making.

C Playboy, sex, lust, orgy and adultery.