• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Haze hit 71......went for jogging at East Coast parkway

lifeafter41

It's been a while since able to do some jogging outdoor, no thanks to the bloody haze. It's very different from running on treadmill. More enjoyable as compare to treadmill, not too monotonous.
Had a good run, put on the headphone and here we go....sweating away......really enjoy it.

UltimaOnline

Go buy a bicycle, they're in in-thing in Singapore these days

eatshitndie says it like it is.

lifeafter41, for the sake of your knees, and (believe it or not) also your heart, you should be cycling instead of jogging.

Not only is it healther, it's a lot more fun than jogging. Trust me, I've switched from jogging to cycling, and never looked back. Boss Sam himself is a hardcore cyclist.

I recommend a full-suspension (ie. front + rear suspension) mountain bike instead of a road bike aka racer aka racing bike (which has zero suspension as it sacrifices comfort and stability for speed), because at our age, comfort (bicycle suspension system) and stability (mountain bike tires have larger surface area in contact with the ground, sacrificing speed for stability) are way more important than speed.

Aleoca is a Singaporean brand, and they sell their low-end to mid-end bikes at Giant supermarkets around Singapore.
http://aleoca.com/main/?product_cat=mountain-bikes

If you're lazy to pickup your bike from a bicycle shop or Giant supermarket, and you want home delivery, the following full-suspension bicycle is one of the most comfortable bicycles you can buy for such a super affordable price! Home delivery within 24 hours.
http://www.lazada.sg/2015-urata-18-speed-mountain-bike-blue-901230.html

If you've deeper pockets, and you enjoy attracting envious stares by onlookers, pedestrians and other cyclists, go for the monstrous (but really comfortable) Fat Bike.
http://www.gumtree.sg/a-sports-fitn...ke-electric-bicycle/1001381003870910677867909

If you want an electric bike but are afraid of being arrested and thrown in jail by LTA, buy an LTA approved electric bike here (ask for a young chap named Ah Shun) :
http://www.singaporeelectricbicycle.com/
If you want an Ah Beng type of electric bike, and/or feel like rebelling against the LTA :oIo: , buy the 'for export only' model here :
http://www.gumtree.sg/a-sports-fitn...d-version-brand-new/1001340299960910673159509

If you want a mid-end Giant (USA brand of bicycles, nothing to do with Giant supermarket Singapore) mountain bike $1k-$3k, buy from Tampines shop Tay Junction aka Tay Cycle :
https://www.facebook.com/Tay-Cycle-165278043633765/timeline/

If you want a high-end Treknology (USA brand of bicycles comparable to Giant, but somewhat more elitist) mountain bike $2k-$8k, buy from Siglap shop Treknology :
http://www.treknology3.com/

Marine Parade has a 12 cycle bike shop that sells a mixture or low-end, mid-end and high-end mountain bikes :
https://www.facebook.com/12Cycle

Recent Straits Times article on illegally modified bicycles :
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/modified-e-bikes-raise-safety-concerns

"Reckless road behaviour by non-motorists on the rise?"
http://mothership.sg/2015/10/reckless-road-behaviour-by-non-motorists-on-the-rise/

YouTube - "The Dangerous Cyclists / Electric Bicycles of Singapore"
[video=youtube;Vx8YlZXEu2w]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vx8YlZXEu2w&feature=player_detailpage[/video]

lifeafter41

Re: Go buy a bicycle, they're in in-thing in Singapore these days

eatshitndie says it like it is.

lifeafter41, for the sake of your knees, and (believe it or not) also your heart, you should be cycling instead of jogging.

Not only is it healther, it's a lot more fun than jogging. Trust me, I've switched from jogging to cycling, and never looked back. Boss Sam himself is a hardcore cyclist.

I recommend a full-suspension (ie. front + rear suspension) mountain bike instead of a road bike aka racer aka racing bike (which has zero suspension as it sacrifices comfort and stability for speed), because at our age, comfort (bicycle suspension system) and stability (mountain bike tires have larger surface area in contact with the ground, sacrificing speed for stability) are way more important than speed.

Aleoca is a Singaporean brand, and they sell their low-end to mid-end bikes at Giant supermarkets around Singapore.
http://aleoca.com/main/?product_cat=mountain-bikes

If you're lazy to pickup your bike from a bicycle shop or Giant supermarket, and you want home delivery, the following full-suspension bicycle is one of the most comfortable bicycles you can buy for such a super affordable price! Home delivery within 24 hours.
http://www.lazada.sg/2015-urata-18-speed-mountain-bike-blue-901230.html

If you've deeper pockets, and you enjoy attracting envious stares by onlookers, pedestrians and other cyclists, go for the monstrous (but really comfortable) Fat Bike.
http://www.gumtree.sg/a-sports-fitn...ke-electric-bicycle/1001381003870910677867909

If you want an electric bike but are afraid of being arrested and thrown in jail by LTA, buy an LTA approved electric bike here (ask for a young chap named Ah Shun) :
http://www.singaporeelectricbicycle.com/
If you want an Ah Beng type of electric bike, and/or feel like rebelling against the LTA :oIo: , buy the 'for export only' model here :
http://www.gumtree.sg/a-sports-fitn...d-version-brand-new/1001340299960910673159509

If you want a mid-end Giant (USA brand of bicycles, nothing to do with Giant supermarket Singapore) mountain bike $1k-$3k, buy from Tampines shop Tay Junction aka Tay Cycle :
https://www.facebook.com/Tay-Cycle-165278043633765/timeline/

If you want a high-end Treknology (USA brand of bicycles comparable to Giant, but somewhat more elitist) mountain bike $2k-$8k, buy from Siglap shop Treknology :
http://www.treknology3.com/

Marine Parade has a 12 cycle bike shop that sells a mixture or low-end, mid-end and high-end mountain bikes :
https://www.facebook.com/12Cycle

Recent Straits Times article on illegally modified bicycles :
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/modified-e-bikes-raise-safety-concerns

"Reckless road behaviour by non-motorists on the rise?"
http://mothership.sg/2015/10/reckless-road-behaviour-by-non-motorists-on-the-rise/

YouTube - "The Dangerous Cyclists / Electric Bicycles of Singapore"
[video=youtube;Vx8YlZXEu2w]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vx8YlZXEu2w&feature=player_detailpage[/video]

Hi UltimaOnline and eatshitndie, thanks for your concern and suggestion. Really appreciate it.

It may sound ridiculous, that at this age, I am aiming to go for a half marathon, or even ultimately a full one, if this getting old pairs of knee permits.
not sure, whether if it is sort of a middle age crisis, doing this kind of crazy things. But my thoughts is if now, still can and able to, why not.

I am taking some supplements that does help in the knee, though Leongsam, has say that it could be a placebo effect.
Meanwhile, will review on the website and consider biking (not naked though), if the pair of knees cannot make it liao.
Nothing beats breaking into a good sweat after a workout and feeling fresh thereafter........

GramStroker

Hi UltimaOnline and eatshitndie, thanks for your concern and suggestion. Really appreciate it.

It may sound ridiculous, that at this age, I am aiming to go for a half marathon, or even ultimately a full one, if this getting old pairs of knee permits.
not sure, whether if it is sort of a middle age crisis, doing this kind of crazy things. But my thoughts is if now, still can and able to, why not.

YOLO! Do it man, you will not regret!
I spent 4 middle aged years collecting medals and running tees, now just hike up hills.

GramStroker

Start with those 5k events then slowly up to marathon, it's addictive and no exercise beats a "runner's high".

It's been a while since able to do some jogging outdoor, no thanks to the bloody haze. It's very different from running on treadmill. More enjoyable as compare to treadmill, not too monotonous.
Had a good run, put on the headphone and here we go....sweating away......really enjoy it.

Hey man, are you a regular runner?

do you frequent 10k running races?

YOLO! Do it man, you will not regret!
I spent 4 middle aged years collecting medals and running tees, now just hike up hills.

people who are not regular runners will not understand the joy of the challenge of running.. it not just gives you a good workout, it also nourishes you emotionally and mentally.. nothing can come close to a good run.

GramStroker

Start with this:

hkr2015_pre-reg.png

http://www.hellokittyrun.com.sg/

BONUS: Lots of 小妹妹 in FBTs to see!

lifeafter41, for the sake of your knees, and (believe it or not) also your heart, you should be cycling instead of jogging......

I thought of using a bicycle to get around unfortunately there are plenty of bicycle thiefs out there:(

UltimaOnline

I thought of using a bicycle to get around unfortunately there are plenty of bicycle thiefs out there:(

1. Get a good lock (eg. those U-shaped locks recommended by Singapore Police Force). These are so tough to cut open, that it's almost theft-proof. If you wanna play safe with double or triple condom, buy 3 of those U-shaped locks, one for each wheel, and one for your bicycle frame. No thief would wanna spend hours trying to cut through all 3 locks.
http://www.hometeam.sg/article.aspx?news_sid=20140106uBp5GvkV2nka

2. If you're cycling for leisure/sports/health/hobby, get a more expensive higher quality bike (eg. a few thousand dollars), and keep it within your sight even after locking it (eg. when you makan at Satay by the Bay or Lau Pa Sat or some kopitiam or hawker center, etc), or don't let it leave your sight for too long (eg. 10 mins is ok if you need to park it outside a 7-11 while you go in to get a drink, but always still lock it of course). If you're cycling mostly just to get to work (eg. home to MRT station), get a cheaper budget bicycle (eg. a few hundred dollars), than even in the worst case scenario of having it stolen (which in the first place if it's a cheap bike, unlikely to be stolen coz the effort to cut through a U-shaped lock isn't worth it for the thief), isn't such a big deal and you can easily replace it with another cheap bike.

I've owned 6 bikes in recent years (currently own and use 4 bikes), and never had any of them stolen.

Updated :
tonychat's suggestion is also a good one. Or you can buy a foldable bicycle that you can carry on the MRT and to work. There are even foldable electric bikes (LTA approved) available these days, that are quite affordable.

lifeafter41

Start with this:

hkr2015_pre-reg.png

http://www.hellokittyrun.com.sg/

BONUS: Lots of 小妹妹 in FBTs to see!

Hi Gramstoker, Thanks!!
Can't imagine the day when I take part in first 5k event, it a HelloKittyRun. Hahahahahaha.
Already done 5k outdoor (no event) and now doing 7k on the treadmill and go more to built on the stamina. With the haze, no choice too but go on treadmill.

I read in an article, that for runs more than 45mniutes, it's better to have a bottle for hydration, and that would take it to at least 7k and beyond.
Next target is 10k, while not sure how long that would take, but targeting to achieve it within the next 1 month. Was thinking if being too ambitious with the timeframe.

lifeafter41

Hey man, are you a regular runner?

do you frequent 10k running races?

Hi Tonychat,

Coming to that on the 10k, as for regular runner, try to do it if the weather (no haze) else indoor on the treadmill.
Now on run 3 days rest 1 day regime or maybe should go for run 4 days and rest 2 days

I will ask.. can middle age gentlemen go jogging with full gear :p
I am not a jogger but I curious why in sg drama people go walk/run with running jackets. By right should run with minimum attire in this sg climate.

Hi Tonychat,

Coming to that on the 10k, as for regular runner, try to do it if the weather (no haze) else indoor on the treadmill.
Now on run 3 days rest 1 day regime or maybe should go for run 4 days and rest 2 days

I did a 1 day run and 1 day rest model.. i use this model as i believe the repairing of muscle cells is better.

GramStroker

Hi Gramstoker, Thanks!!
Can't imagine the day when I take part in first 5k event, it a HelloKittyRun. Hahahahahaha.
Already done 5k outdoor (no event) and now doing 7k on the treadmill and go more to built on the stamina. With the haze, no choice too but go on treadmill.

I read in an article, that for runs more than 45mniutes, it's better to have a bottle for hydration, and that would take it to at least 7k and beyond.
Next target is 10k, while not sure how long that would take, but targeting to achieve it within the next 1 month. Was thinking if being too ambitious with the timeframe.

These things are fun but expensive! Another one is the Brooks Party run, 9k in the evening. Just roll back the years man.

Edit: usually they have hydration stations along the way.

lifeafter41

These things are fun but expensive! Another one is the Brooks Party run, 9k in the evening. Just roll back the years man.

Edit: usually they have hydration stations along the way.

Yes, saw on the hellokittyrun, it's 65 per person.
Ok, will check out on the brooks party run. Thanks!!.