• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore, After The Next Election

Runifyouhaveto

I do not know when is the next elections, but this is what will happen thereafter:

1. SGD Strength

Our economy contracted about 4.6% q-o-q recently.
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/gov...ittle-changed-from-flash-estimate-of-46-q-o-q
-4.6% is a bad as the 1997 economic crisis. There are plenty of speculations that we have been defending our currency’s strength. Till date, Euro Japanese Yen, Malaysian Ringgit, Indonesian rupiah depreciated about 20-30% against USD within 2 years while SGD dropped about 7% in the same period.

Today, we paid the price. Our economy tanked harder than Malaysia although their import and export stalled after implementation of GST. SGD is now too strong and ruined our exports and tourist receipts. Even the lacklustre Eurozone fared better than us.

Private bankers are also telling us that their clients are giving them sell-on-strength instructions to offload local shares and financial assets and the money is remitted to other safehaven markets, particularly US.

we will see 2.85 before NDP
http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?180967-SGD-Strong-Ringgit-Weak&p=2210459#post2210459
On the last trading session before NDP, SGDMYR briefly traded 2.85 before closing at 2.835 for our NDP. We hit 2.85, not because of Ringgit’s weakness (Ringgit was quite consistently-priced against USD that day), but due to a small spike in SGD at closing. Apparently, we wish to have a nicer number to mark our 50th NDP.

We are probably entering deflation mode. Consumer Price Index (CPI) is down for 8-straight months.
http://www.straitstimes.com/busines...-prices-down-03-in-8th-straight-month-decline
The easy way to create a little inflation is to hike taxes and depreciate SGD, going forward.
Eg. We increased our petrol tax by 15-20 cents recently.

Therefore, in all likelihood, we are in recession. SGD will be given more room to depreciate after the incumbent into office again, so that our economy can take a breather

Runifyouhaveto

2. Taxes and Govt Revenues

In the last FY, betting and gambling contributed billions to our state coffers and latest dismay financial results from casino operators, are hinting that we will see slowdowns in gambling receipts The recent drop in equity prices in Singapore, China and other parts of the world will probably translated to lower contributions from our state’s investment vehicles. Thirdly, we will receive significantly-less from property-related stamp duties due to the quiet property market this year.

Nevertheless, we will not expect our state’s budget expenses to be reduced as much as the decline in our state’s revenue.

As such, it likely that we will face higher taxes after the incumbent regains control over the parliament after the elections, to limit any budget-deficits.

This is also Killing 2 birds with one stone; Consumer Prices are also crumbling in Singapore, so tax hikes will create a little inflation and that impact of hiking taxes on the man-on-street will not be felt in the macroeconomic numbers.

As such, it likely that we will faced higher taxes after the incumbent regains control over the parliament after the elections, to limit any budget-deficits.

After splurging on so much SG50 bullshit (including the SEA Games 2015), of course you'll have to hike taxes to recoup some money for the coffers. :rolleyes:

Runifyouhaveto

3. Property Prices

In 1H15, we experienced the slowdown in general property prices. There were 3 noticeable trends:
- Tier 3:
HDB prices (index), adjusted about a moderate 10% from its peak
- Tier 2:
In the $800K to $1.5mio sector, Private Condos registered a smaller drop and $1000psf private condos is a norm for most units (Condo resale prices inch up 0.4% in June http://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/condo-resale-prices-inch-up-04-in-june-srx-property
- Tier 1:
Big-ticket Private properties above 2.5mio were badly hit and mostly fell by double-digits and registering losses in hundreds of thousand. http://www.straitstimes.com/business/loss-making-property-transactions-on-the-rise-in-singapore

The Tier-1 slowdown is an advanced indicator of property trend with some concerns for demand, interest-rate outlook and a tightening credit market.

In Tier-3, HDB increased the supply in HDB to satisfy eager young couples in recent years and the BTO-prices had increased steadily over the years, providing support for resale HDB market. However, there are emerging reports that some resale HDBs are now sold at similar price as BTOs. Most of these sellers are taking multifold-profits or upgrading to private properties as a huge wave of condos are due for completion in 2015-2017. This points to the possibility that unsold BTOs stockpile will increase.

In June, the government hints at the possibility remove or raise the HDB income ceiling for BTOs. This policy is expected to be welcomed by the higher-income electorate who will enjoy one more housing option. At the same time, it will also absorb part of the unsold BTO stockpile and limit any potential downside in BTO prices.
http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/hdb-raise-income-ceilings-bto-flats-ecs

Given the possibility of the incumbent being re-elected, the above proposed measure is expected to be implemented. However, it will erode the demand in Tier-2, forcing prices to be adjusted to a more competitive level.

If only we get to know how much Temasek and GIC are losing on their China bets ...those figures will shock sinkees.

Runifyouhaveto

4. Domestic Help
Singapore wants to reduce reliance on low-skilled foreign workers and there have been some unhappy issues with major maid-sources such as Indonesia or Myanmar. At the same time, Singaporeans are being gradually introduced to the concept of being enrolled into JB nursing homes for their retirement. This is going to be a fast-growing business that will reduce our reliance on maids; with a wave of Singaporean and/or Malaysian –owned nursing homes in JB being expanded or built to cater for the old from Singapore.

However, policymakers can never directly force our senior citizens to be parted with their children or grandchildren.

For that to happen, the levy for maids will be gradually raised. This will increase the pressure for the sandwiched middle-aged who have to juggle between work, caring for elders and children. When the cost of having a personal maid (maid’s levy, maid’s salary and maid’s living expenses) for our seniors, becomes much higher than JB’s nursing home, the economics will justify the separation from family.

Is Grandma destined for export to Johor Baru?
http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/is-grandma-destined-for-export-to-johor-baru

Runifyouhaveto

5. Population

Since 1965, Singapore and Malaysia almost tripled their population within 50 years, exceeding that of Thailand and Indonesia.

However, Malaysia’s birthrate per 1000 population is appx 17.6 in 2013 (significantly higher than Singapore’s 7.9 per 1000 population) while death rate is almost identical in both countries.

Country – Historical Population Growth – 2013 Birth Rate – 2013 Death Rate
Malaysia – Similar – 17.6 – Similar
Singapore – Similar – 7.9 – Similar

The above statistics reflects a trend that the incumbent adopts an inorganic population strategy, going forward. Policies will continue to favour integration and settlement of new citizens and permanent residents (PRs) into the country, eg. more-equal job opportunities for PRs, subsidized housing and extending pro-rated Baby Bonus benefits to children of new citizens, etc.

Runifyouhaveto

Our economy contracted about 4.6% q-o-q recently.
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/gov...ittle-changed-from-flash-estimate-of-46-q-o-q
-4.6% is a bad as the 1997 economic crisis.

This morning's update:
Singapore's gross domestic product contracted 4.0% on-quarter on a seasonally adjusted and annualized basis, compared with a 4.6% contraction estimated last month when the government released its advance estimates.
http://www.nasdaq.com/article/singapore-2q-gdp-contracts-less-than-prior-estimate-20150810-01293

Runifyouhaveto

If only we get to know how much Temasek and GIC are losing on their China bets ...those figures will shock sinkees.

These investment arms are supposed to create greater economic contributions beyond our boundaries.
We have a higher GNP than GDP.
US have a higher GDP than GNP.
If they don't do well, we are "deleveraged"

Runifyouhaveto

6. Regulatory Oversights

a financial institution is in deep shit too
Their investment arm is sitting on many listed counters with >30-50% losses
because the investment bankers colluded with the EDs in the same bank

The Investment bankers took up stakes in listed local O&G, Construction & minor Property companies
At the same time, the EDs made their RMs provide massive loans, trade facilities and OD facilities to the same companies companies, making so made so much money from revenue points
Some of these companies turned sour and the banks' risk dept want to recall some of the risky loans

but they cannot because their investment arm also invested in their customers.
conflict of interests
Do you think Iceberg Research n Muddy Waters dare to expose them in 2016?

soIsee

TS constant paronoid harping about wealth and money is exactly what the current batch of Papies are doing..

which is why the common folk Sinkie are getting shits from such policies that orginate from such mindset.

Kinds like TS are like those property agent.... financial planners ....insurance peddlers and should be ...

SHOT to put them out of their misery to have to think about money ALL THE TIME!

kopiOuncle

this is utter nonsense
after the election we will have a new team to govern Singapore

and we will have another 50 years of golden era

Runifyouhaveto

7. Education

NDP showstopper Emma Lee: A career-driven woman who regards Singapore as home
http://news.asiaone.com/news/singap...areer-driven-woman-who-regards-singapore-home
Ms Lee was a constant muse of broadcast crews at the Padang, appearing at least five times on TV throughout the two-hour-long extravaganza on Sunday.

She got a seat in our Jubilee NDP. She was featured 5 times but 99% of my fellow Singaporeans are not like that.
When locals can no longer catch up with the pace in life, Emma and likes are brought in.
Given opportunities and privileges that the locals enjoy.

Allow me to relate this incident to our local education scene; Singapore will be more like this, after the elections.

Volunteer Expat wives are getting their hubbies' secretary to create the most impressive proposals for community outreach programmes in honour of the school Taking a step further, other PRs and New Citizens who helped out in PA and RCs enjoy first-priority in the choice of primary schools in the district.

The fathers and/or Grandfathers of our local kids completed their national service + ICTs.
Shouldn't this be more significant than participation in grassroot activities?
Priorities should be given to ALL children of sg father or sg grandfathers (because sg mum didn't marry sg man) who served national service, not naturalized. PRs can go international school or leftovers in Phase 3.

Many new-citizens and PRs are not going to stay here for good. Why should someone who has no stake in this country enjoy the same priority as true locals? We are also actively granting free education and lodging to lots of china secondary school students every year too. When they are here, our local schools will form special tuition class for them to learn english and humanities subjects in secondary school. Why ain't the same efforts channelled into our weaker local students?

In JCs, we recruit scores of ASEAN scholars, and many of them get the free A-levels education here and happily apply for scholarships in US, UK and Aust universities. When there is no choice, then they stay in local unis.

Our country is sick. What's wrong with grooming our own children?
Give ourselves a chance.

kopiOuncle

Nothing wrong with our society.
It is not sick.
Only those keyboard warriors here are chronically sick and deranged.

escher

7. Education

In JCs, we recruit scores of ASEAN scholars, and many of them get the free A-levels education here and happily apply for scholarships in US, UK and Aust universities. When there is no choice, then they stay in local unis.

Our country is sick. What's wrong with grooming our own children?
Give ourselves a chance.

THE ONLY CHANCE WE HAVE WILL BE TO DANGLE PAPs AND THEIR CRONIES TO SEE THEM DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS

HISTORICALLY, PIANO WIRES WILL BE WHAT TRAITORS OF COUNTRIES DESERVED
AND WE ALL CAN SEE PAPs AS TRAITOR TO SINGAPORE AND SINGAPOREANS AND PAPs ONLY SERVE THEIR OWN NEEDS AND LAUGH ALL THE WAY TO THEIR BANKS

THERE IS ONLY ONE SOLUTION

DANGLE ALL THOSE PAP BASTARDS AND CRONIES TO SEE THEM DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS
AND TURN STINKAPORE BACK INTO SINGAPORE WHERE SINGAPOREANS ARE TREATED FIRST INSTEAD OF THE FUCKING FTs FROM FUCKED UP SCHOOLS WHERE THEY CHEAT AND CHEAT

HANG THE PAPs TO SEE THEM DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS

The cronies do not get peanuts or they will not be cronies

http://sonofadud.com/2015/06/25/sin...new-how-much-singtels-ceo-was-really-getting/

Running Bitch Chua Sock Koong is not even an exceptional running bitch cum crony and she getting over 10 million a year.
What do the fucking PAPs pay their even more favourite cronies? Even morest than to bitch chua

How much do the fucking ministers pay themselves? More than they want to tell you.

ALL THAT FROM OUR FUCKING MONEY THAT THEY CREAM AND CUM THEMSELVES ON WHILE THEY GO LAUGHING ALL THE FUCKING WAY TO THEIR FUCKING BANKS
WHILE WE ALL STAND STUPIDLY IN FRONT OF A FUCKING FLAG TO MAKE OUR PLEDGES NOT KNOWING WE ALL HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE
FUCKED AND TIEWED AND KANNED BY THEM ALL AND THEIR CRONIES

DANGLE A PAP WITH PIANO WIRE FROM ORCHARD ROAD LAMP POST
INCLUDE THEIR RUNNING DOGS AND CRONIES
NECKLACE THEM SO THEY CAN SEE LIGHT

DO THAT BEFORE THEY KILL US ALL

Runifyouhaveto