• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SINKIE Screwed Deep Deep!

Pinkieslut

Singapore Sovereign-Wealth Fund Expects Lower Returns
GIC has long-term investment view on China
BEEK/BLOOMBERG NEWS
By P.R. VENKAT
Updated July 29, 2015 8:13 p.m. ET

SINGAPORE—Singapore’s sovereign-wealth fund, one of the world’s biggest, has warned that it expects lower returns over the next five to ten years because global economic growth and earnings don’t look promising.

GIC Pte Ltd., whose largest investments are in North America, said ultralow interest rates have inflated asset prices in developed markets. It said opportunities remained in developed and emerging markets, although it cut its exposure to Europe in the fiscal year to March 2015.

“The fall in interest rates to historic lows in most advanced economies has caused prices of a broad range of asset classes to rise,” Lim Chow Kiat, GIC’s group president and chief investment officer, said in the fund’s annual report for the fiscal year that ended in March. “The sharp rise of asset prices, when the global economy is still struggling to gain a firm foothold, makes the investment environment particularly uncertain and unpredictable.”

ENLARGE
Even China, which has faced waves of heavy selling in stocks in the past month, remains a long-term investment destination for the fund, GIC said. The fund said it still has a positive view on the economy and believed in the ability of the government to carry out overhauls. Recent volatility is ”fallout of rampant market speculation,” Mr. Lim said.

“China in the last three years has demonstrated its seriousness to reforms and we believe that the country’s future is good," he said.

GIC publishes its annual report following a lengthy audit process. The sovereign-wealth fund is a major global player, and its investments are closely watched. The fund said its investments globally gave it a 4.9% 20-year real rate of return for the fiscal year that ended March 31, or a 6.1% return over the same period in U.S. dollar terms.

“The challenge posed by higher current valuations, low starting yields and low potential future returns is common to all major asset classes; public equities, private equity, bonds and real estate,” GIC said in its report.

GIC, which manages Singapore’s foreign-exchange reserves and bought stakes in Citigroup Inc. and UBS AG during the financial crisis, oversees around $344 billion in assets, according to the Sovereign Wealth Fund Institute, making it the world’s eighth-biggest fund.

The Americas remain GIC’s biggest investment destination, accounting for 43% of its assets last fiscal year, up from 42%.

GIC didn’t disclose specific investments in its results, but the Singapore fund in late 2014 made one of its single biggest overseas investments when it bought U.S. warehouse operator IndCor Properties Inc. for $8.1 billion from Blackstone Group LP. It also bought a 5% stake in Nielsen N.V., the U.S. information and television-ratings company, in a deal valued at more than $800 million.

The fund reduced its focus on Europe. Investments there made up 25% of its assets as of March, down from 29% previously. Asia, meanwhile, rose in its portfolio, accounting for 30% of its total holdings, up from 27%.

GIC still holds stakes in UBS and Citigroup and said that it was comfortable with the lenders’ execution of their business strategies. “Their recent results reflect the progress made by these banks,” Mr. Lim said.

The sovereign-wealth fund doesn’t usually disclose its investments. It only reports on the performance of its portfolio over 20-year, 10-year and five-year periods.

Since last year, GIC has been aggressively pursuing investment opportunities, putting billions of dollars in areas ranging from property to technology to businesses focused on consumers.

In addition to its holdings in IndCor and Nielsen, the Singapore fund is also an investor in CGN Power Co., China’s largest operator of nuclear power plants. In May this year, GIC said that it will invest $1.7 billion in Hutchison Whampoa Ltd.’s U.K. telecommunications business.

GIC said in its latest annual report that it kept its exposure to developed stock markets at 29%, while marginally cutting its exposure to emerging-market stocks to 18% from 19% the prior year. Investments in bonds and cash accounted for 32%, compared with 31% last year, and exposure to real estate remained at 7%.

Over a five-year period, GIC said its annualized nominal return in U.S. dollar terms was 6.5%. Over 10 years, it was 6.3%.

gingerlyn

my cpf is locked and i have to work till i die to get my cpf.
government said CPF is not our money. now i know why

iluvgst

pathetic returns. probably cos the management is grossly overpaid. berkshire hathaway does so much better.

That's not true because Temasek beats Buffet hands down.

The Straits Times June 19, 2009

Temasek outdid benchmarks Long term, it did even better than Buffett

By Alvin Foo SINGAPORE investment agency Temasek Holdings may have taken a hit recently on some of its high-profile banking investments, but over the longer term it has outperformed key global benchmarks.

Figures obtained by The Straits Times show that over a 10-year period to March this year, Temasek outgunned several closely-watched equity indexes. It also beat other notable long-term investors such as Berkshire Hathaway, a top US investment company headed by billionaire Warren Buffett.

Temasek's performance has come under scrutiny in recent months after it suffered significant losses earlier this year on investments in Western banks Barclays and Bank of America (BoA). The state investment house delivered an annualised total shareholder return by market value of 5.4 per cent from March 1999 to March this year, assuming the value of its portfolio remained unchanged since November last year. That is the date of the last available update of the value of its investments. This compares with a return of 4.5 per cent in the same period for the MSCI Asia Pacific excluding Japan index, 3.1 per cent for the MSCI Singapore index, and -3 per cent for the MSCI World index, according to figures obtained by The Straits Times. MSCI indexes are key indicators commonly used by institutional investors to see how well they are doing relative to the market. Temasek's main investments are in stocks, with the bulk of its assets in Singapore and Asia, so these indexes are regarded as a useful gauge of its performance. Temasek's returns were also better than that of long-term investors like Swedish investment firm Investor AB, which delivered 3.7 per cent, and Berkshire Hathaway, which yielded 0.7 per cent. Last month, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam told Parliament that Temasek has performed 'respectably' compared to relevant market indexes and reputable institutional investors.

Deep? How deep?

SDS-all-sizes-website.jpg

By Alvin Foo SINGAPORE investment agency Temasek Holdings may have taken a hit recently on some of its high-profile banking investments, but over the longer term it has outperformed key global benchmarks.

Figures obtained by The Straits Times show that over a 10-year period to March this year, Temasek outgunned several closely-watched equity indexes. It also beat other notable long-term investors such as Berkshire Hathaway, a top US investment company headed by billionaire Warren Buffett.

Temasek's performance has come under scrutiny in recent months after it suffered significant losses earlier this year on investments in Western banks Barclays and Bank of America (BoA). The state investment house delivered an annualised total shareholder return by market value of 5.4 per cent from March 1999 to March this year, assuming the value of its portfolio remained unchanged since November last year. That is the date of the last available update of the value of its investments. This compares with a return of 4.5 per cent in the same period for the MSCI Asia Pacific excluding Japan index, 3.1 per cent for the MSCI Singapore index, and -3 per cent for the MSCI World index, according to figures obtained by The Straits Times. MSCI indexes are key indicators commonly used by institutional investors to see how well they are doing relative to the market. Temasek's main investments are in stocks, with the bulk of its assets in Singapore and Asia, so these indexes are regarded as a useful gauge of its performance. Temasek's returns were also better than that of long-term investors like Swedish investment firm Investor AB, which delivered 3.7 per cent, and Berkshire Hathaway, which yielded 0.7 per cent. Last month, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam told Parliament that Temasek has performed 'respectably' compared to relevant market indexes and reputable institutional investors.

Sam, you lying piece of shit, this article is from more then 6 years ago. Stop living in the past.

The fund said its investments globally gave it a 4.9% 20-year real rate of return for the fiscal year that ended March 31, or a 6.1% return over the same period in U.S. dollar terms.

Kong lancheow lah. All our money poured into GIC is in Singapore dollars. Bring up US $ for fuck. Just say we got 4.9% over 20 years. Should be a lot less with the inflation factored in.

If you invested $1000 in Warren Buffet's Berkshire Hathaway 20 years ago in 1994, you will get $10,842 in 2014. Better then 4.9% or not?

http://www.businessinsider.com/warren-buffett-berkshire-hathaway-historical-returns-2015-3

Maybe because the USD sank to all time low in 2009. I think it went down by 20%. based on that, of course temasek wins.

Sam, you lying piece of shit, this article is from more then 6 years ago. Stop living in the past.

It does not make any difference what period you look at. The fact remains that Ho Ching is one of the most astute investors in the world.

She wasn't listed as one of the most powerful women in the world for her beauty or her dress sense. She makes the cut because she's one of the best brains on earth when it comes to forecasting markets over the long term.

http://women.asiaone.com/women/people/ho-ching-among-forbes-top-50-most-powerful-women-world

[h=2]Ho Ching among Forbes' top 50 most powerful women in the world[/h]AsiaOneWednesday, May 27, 2015

Something tells me Ho Ching had plonked down a lot of money on China stocks. :wink:

Amy idea why recently PAP selling so many parcels of land? The money go where ah? To fill up some hole is it?

my cpf is locked and i have to work till i die to get my cpf.
government said CPF is not our money. now i know why

Even when you die, you might not get your CPF, even your dependents or relative or.....you have already "donated"..Thank you for your donations, the SG50 Pioneers were the first donors & subsequently those that came after...THANK YOU FOR YOUR DONATION.

Why you never ask this question earlier? you need a "martyr" like Roy or even a smack the piñata like Amoy....you get the answers for you?:rolleyes:

if ho jinx is even better than warren buffet why arent sinkies filthy rich and raining money down the plains of Punggol?after all sinkies are all shareholders of this country's assets including soverign wealth fund.where is the money?show us the money?

and why does Ho jinx need a handout from taxpayers to pay her a pathetic ass a 10 million dollar salary when warren buffet is the richest man in the world with 72 billion net worth after donating 1/3rd of his wealth to charity?