• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a year

Fareed Zakaria asks him a very simple question at the IPS Dialogue. The current generation of sinkies don't consider Indonesia or Malaysia a threat. So, what is the challenge coming from? Gay Loong siam and talk cock about rich family son, transhipping containers from Chennai and all other sorts of bullshit. Obviously, he could not articulate a direct answer on what the threat is. What a fucktard PM.

Dr Zakaria: When you look at the past of Singapore, you think about the things we’ve been talking about, politically, socially, economically, so much of it was formed and forged out of a sense of adversity, out of a sense this is a country that was not meant to be, there were forces against it, from Malaysia initially, the Indonesians launching Konfrontasi, the realities of the Cold War, the Soviets and the Chinese in Vietnam, and so much of the policy and the national coherence came from that. If you look at young Singaporeans today, they’ve grown up in one of the richest countries in the world, they don’t really believe that Malaysia is a threat, Indonesia is not a threat.

PM: How do you know all these?

Dr Zakaria: I had a conversation with one very articulate one last night at dinner and he mirrored what people say over and over again. First of all, it happens to be true that these threats have diminished in objective terms. How do you maintain the pressure and the sense of drive? I’m asking a question in a sense that every rich parent wonders about with his children.

PM: Every child thinks his father is rich and that is a problem for us. It’s a real challenge. The threats have changed but in fact threats have not disappeared. You may not think of them as existential threats in a sense that an army will come and invade you and take over you but can your cheese disappear? Yes. Can your lunch disappear? Yes. Can your business go somewhere very rapidly? It’s entirely possible and something which we worry about all the time. We are the second busiest port in the world; Shanghai is the busiest. They came from nowhere. Why are we the second busiest port? Not because we generate the business but because we are efficient and transhipment cargoes come to Singapore from very far away. They used to come from Chennai in India to Singapore to be transhipped in order to go to Europe, it makes no sense. Few hundred, few thousand miles to the east and back again but we can provide a service which obviously, nobody else more conveniently-placed can. Why can we do that? Because we are performing exceptionally and we need to keep on being able to do that, otherwise, somebody would move our cheese.

Re: GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a yea

Existential threat... it all depends on how much you perceive the value of your country's sovereignty to be. :wink:

Israel also likes to harp on 'existential threat' but theirs is a special case. On one hand you got the kooky religious claims that 'God gave me the land'. On the other hand, them Jews like to guilt trip the Gentiles and use the Holocaust as an excuse to support Israel, ideologically, politically and financially.

bigboss

Re: GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a yea

.....The threats have changed but in fact threats have not disappeared. You may not think of them as existential threats in a sense that an army will come and invade you.....

Some of us may not agree with what the paps are doing in certain areas of governance but the island is home regardless who governs the country. As long as the flag flies high, external threat and internal subversion will always remain.

The military aggression of ISIS and foreigners entering the country to create social chaos and fear among residents are threats, not to be taken lightly. Don't look at Indonesia and Malaysia as the only threats.

Existential threat... it all depends on how much you perceive the value of your country's sovereignty to be. :wink:

Israel also likes to harp on 'existential threat' but theirs is a special case. On one hand you got the kooky religious claims that 'God gave me the land'. On the other hand, them Jews like to guilt trip the Gentiles and use the Holocaust as an excuse to support Israel, ideologically, politically and financially.

The existential threat to ISrael is real. It has been proven in the many wars they fought and the many Muslim countries that threatened to wipe them off the face of the earth. The fact that Gay Loong cannot state what the existential threat to singapore is, in itself very telling in itself. I mean, is the existential threat communism? Malaysia? Indonesia? China? What is it? He can't say what it is because there isn't any.

The military aggression of ISIS and foreigners entering the country to create social chaos and fear among residents are threats, not to be taken lightly. Don't look at Indonesia and Malaysia as the only threats.

But who has created this threat? Who has given long term work permits and social passes numbering in the hundreds of thousands to citizens of muslim countries that are known to harbour ISIS and other islamic terrorists? I refer to Indonesia specifically. Any security agency in the world will tell you that there are ISIS cells and other terror cells in Indonesia. Yet the PAP freely lets in hundreds of thousands of Indonesians into the country. How hard is it for a ISIS operative to blend in and enter the country that way?

What about creating social chaos as you mention? LI riots social chaos enough for you? Who allowed so many Indians into the country? The answer is again the PAP.

matamafia

Disband the useless SAF!

The Pinoys and the Chinks also once thought the navy was a waste of time and money until their enemies came from the sea.

Only morons would demand for us to scale down or shut down the SAF so that more funds can be diverted to their pension schemes or free medical care for their unhealthy lifestyle. That' what this "reduce military spending" debates are usually about.

U dont expect him to name mudland n Indonesia as threats in a public forum do u ?

It will be complacent to think they r cute pussycats when time n time again we r being used as whipping boys for their cock ups.

And i agreed w the bro below, even if oppo rules SG I expect us to be defensively capable.

U dont expect him to name mudland n Indonesia as threats in a public forum do u ?

It will be complacent to think they r cute pussycats when time n time again we r being used as whipping boys for their cock ups.

And i agreed w the bro below, even if oppo rules SG I expect us to be defensively capable.

For $13 billion a year, you fucking better expect him to name the threats. What the fuck is wrong with you? If you ask Israel who their military threats are, they will tell you Syria, Iran, etc. If you ask ROC, they will tell you its China. If you ask South Korea, they will tell you its North Korea and China. If you ask the US, they will tell you Iran, North Korea, China, etc. In fact, if you went around the world and ask the leaders of different countries who their threats were, I don't think you would have a problem getting an answer. Only a fucktard million $ minister cannot answer this simple question. The most likely answer is that there is no military threat.

The Pinoys and the Chinks also once thought the navy was a waste of time and money until their enemies came from the sea.

Only morons would demand for us to scale down or shut down the SAF so that more funds can be diverted to their pension schemes or free medical care for their unhealthy lifestyle. That' what this "reduce military spending" debates are usually about.

Ok, go and sit down now and take your meds.

rodent2005

The only reason why yoing stinkees think there is no threat is because there is a strong SAF duh.

rodent2005

"No military threat" does not happen by default. You must have a strong deterence and good diplomatic effort to achieve "no military threat".

Anyway, any Country can rightfully name ISIS as a military threat.

"No military threat" does not happen by default. You must have a strong deterence and good diplomatic effort to achieve "no military threat".

Anyway, any Country can rightfully name ISIS as a military threat.

ISIS is not combated by a strong military stupid. All the aircraft carriers in the world nor $100 million stealth fighters nor nuclear subs can prevent an ISIS attack. 3 guys with AK-47s could shoot up a bunch of people in the name of ISIS and all the billion $ hardware you have is not going to stop it. Already, there are reports that people have been simply walking into singapore from JB thru a pathway that ICA knew nothing about. No military threat is not a function of your so call strong deterrence bullshit. No military threat simply means that the neighbours have not bothered to spend money at all on their military and hence pose no threat to us. Get it?

The threat must always exist,the enemy is always on our minds,war is peace,freedom is slavery,ignorance is strength!!!!Big brother is watching you!!!!

steffychun

Gosh how he pass his A Levels or his GP or his O Levels? Any kindergarten kid can argue better than LHL.

For $13 billion a year, you fucking better expect him to name the threats. What the fuck is wrong with you? If you ask Israel who their military threats are, they will tell you Syria, Iran, etc. If you ask ROC, they will tell you its China. If you ask South Korea, they will tell you its North Korea and China. If you ask the US, they will tell you Iran, North Korea, China, etc. In fact, if you went around the world and ask the leaders of different countries who their threats were, I don't think you would have a problem getting an answer. Only a fucktard million $ minister cannot answer this simple question. The most likely answer is that there is no military threat.

PAPsmearer, don't be a fucktard. Malaysia and Indonesia are a threat to Singapore. We all know that!

Just that no Singapore Government would want to admit it openly. Even if KJ or Dr Chee were to be PM, do you think that he will openly declare that Malaysia and Indonesia are threat to us?

PAPsmearer, don't be a fucktard. Malaysia and Indonesia are a threat to Singapore. We all know that!

Just that no Singapore Government would want to admit it openly. Even if KJ or Dr Chee were to be PM, do you think that he will openly declare that Malaysia and Indonesia are threat to us?

prove they are a threat. how do they invade? How is it possible as Gay Loong said, their "army will come and invade you and take over you"? All the malaysians have to do is close the border and shut the water off, and recall all their citizens. the singapore stock market will collapse. no food coming in from malaysia. no workers coming in. they would have damaged singapore heavily without firing a shot, much less invade.

As for indonesia, there is thing called the sea. If you are not familiar with it, you need to have many many ships supported by many many long range fighter planes to land many many troops to invade singapore. All of which the Indons don't have. Their generals and rich chinese have so much money parked here, the last thing they want is to invade singapore and lose it all. Or are you too stupid or mentally retarded to see that?

bigboss

....Yet the PAP freely lets in hundreds of thousands of Indonesians into the country. How hard is it for a ISIS operative to blend in and enter the country that way?

What about creating social chaos as you mention? LI riots social chaos enough for you? Who allowed so many Indians into the country? The answer is again the PAP.

The pappies are indeed dumb when they let in hordes of foreigners into the country.

There was one Indian national turned shitizen who left sinapor to fight for ISIS. Now, the paps have a big bomb in their hands. How to get rid of all these foreigners? How many of them are moles of the ISIS, the jihadists, Al-Qaeda or other islamic militants?

The paps have now also stupidly allowed SPRs to get military training and carry weapons in the volunteer corp. Would these foreigners one day take on the SAF to stage a coup? Never say never, hor. When a monkey is trained to jump, one day that monkey will jump over your head.

bigboss

and recall all their citizens.

No need to recall their citizens. Just ask th Malaysian SPRs to pull out their CPF money from sinapor and balek kampong and the pappies will have a big headache.

SPRs are allowed to take back all their CPF money in one lot and in one go, unlike sinaporans who cannot touch it until they die. Still, SPRs are given privileges in the country almost similar to sinkies. Which country in the world has policies to make life rosy for foreigners?

Ambulance

No need to recall their citizens. Just ask th Malaysian SPRs to pull out their CPF money from sinapor and balek kampong and the pappies will have a big headache.

halo lee si gung 东马 ah si 西马 ha