• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi driver cannot renew license as he owe his CPF Medisave money

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...new-license-as-he-owe-his-cpf-medisave-money/

[h=1]Taxi driver cannot renew license as he owe his CPF Medisave money[/h]chris / 18 hours ago June 30, 2015

Recently, I met up with a friend who is a taxi driver who has just switched over from a taxi driver wtih ComfortDelgro to Uber and GrabTaxi and he said the government has made it tougher for GrabTaxi drivers because of Medisave.
How has Medisave affected the drivers?
According to onemotoring.sg on LTA guidelines for Application of Taxi Vocational License:
“To apply for a Vocational Licence, you must meet the following requirements:
a. Payment of Medisave Contributions by Self-Employed Persons”
The Grabtaxi taxi driver said that his taxi license was revoked and not being able to renew as he is not able to pay the medisave “debt” which he accumulated over S$10,000.
e3.jpg
Photo by Chris

However, despite “owing” his CPF Medisave money, it is not an arrestable offense. The only down side is that ComfortDelgro did not renew his license and forced him to be jobless unless he pay up.
q4.jpg
Photo by Chris

There is however no room for negotiation on license renewal, except to pay for an expensive installment fee like $200 a month, which is a lot to a taxi driver who earns about S$2,400 a month.
A taxi driver pay a daily rent of $120 and petrol cost of $50 a day.
On average a taxi driver earns about $200-$250 per day that make it $80 a day of profit left for him. However, according to the CPF, the taxi driver earns about $2400 per month, which gives them an annual income of $28,800, legislated by law to pay medisave.
As taxi drivers grow old, they have to pay more Medisave contributions. have to pay a min of 8% into your medisave when you are at age 35 and below , 9% for age 35 to 45 , 10% for age 45 to 50 and lastly 10.5% for age above 50.
Do you think the Government even care about the taxi drivers if at all?
Chris
Co-edited by Alex Tan

Many self employed and small business owners are in similar predicament.
Penalized for owing money to yourself.....haha what a fucking joke.
Cpf is a tax make no mistake

Brightkid

PAP enforced that all licensed, self-employed people need pay medi save before licence renewal. These include taxi drivers, property agents and insurance agents?

If they don't pay, cannot renew license, hence cannot do work.

PAP will then say no local want do such work, and open flood gate wider for foreigners to compete in these areas!

Sad.

PAP enforced that all licensed, self-employed people need pay medi save before licence renewal. These include taxi drivers, property agents and insurance agents?

If they don't pay, cannot renew license, hence cannot do work.

PAP will then say no local want do such work, and open flood gate wider for foreigners to compete in these areas!

Sad.

That is the karma of Sinkies ball-lessness.

i am the one who they refuse to renew my licence, i am now shaking leg at home...:o

i am turning to UBER or GRABCAR.:wink:

soIsee

Cannot be a taxi driver then be a SECURITY guard loh!

Switching between fucked up jobs, for fucked up ppl!

Problem solved.

Anyway, who did the taxi driver vote for? LoL

roylhl20701.jpg

^
Let this asshole stay in power, and things are going to become worse. Maybe we'll see CPF Medisave enforcement secret police, you'll be detained indefinitely or beaten up if you don't pay up. :cool:

LordElrond

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...new-license-as-he-owe-his-cpf-medisave-money/

[h=1]Taxi driver cannot renew license as he owe his CPF Medisave money[/h]chris / 18 hours ago June 30, 2015

Recently, I met up with a friend who is a taxi driver who has just switched over from a taxi driver wtih ComfortDelgro to Uber and GrabTaxi and he said the government has made it tougher for GrabTaxi drivers because of Medisave.
How has Medisave affected the drivers?
According to onemotoring.sg on LTA guidelines for Application of Taxi Vocational License:
“To apply for a Vocational Licence, you must meet the following requirements:
a. Payment of Medisave Contributions by Self-Employed Persons”
The Grabtaxi taxi driver said that his taxi license was revoked and not being able to renew as he is not able to pay the medisave “debt” which he accumulated over S$10,000.
e3.jpg
Photo by Chris

However, despite “owing” his CPF Medisave money, it is not an arrestable offense. The only down side is that ComfortDelgro did not renew his license and forced him to be jobless unless he pay up.
q4.jpg
Photo by Chris

There is however no room for negotiation on license renewal, except to pay for an expensive installment fee like $200 a month, which is a lot to a taxi driver who earns about S$2,400 a month.
A taxi driver pay a daily rent of $120 and petrol cost of $50 a day.
On average a taxi driver earns about $200-$250 per day that make it $80 a day of profit left for him. However, according to the CPF, the taxi driver earns about $2400 per month, which gives them an annual income of $28,800, legislated by law to pay medisave.
As taxi drivers grow old, they have to pay more Medisave contributions. have to pay a min of 8% into your medisave when you are at age 35 and below , 9% for age 35 to 45 , 10% for age 45 to 50 and lastly 10.5% for age above 50.
Do you think the Government even care about the taxi drivers if at all?
Chris
Co-edited by Alex Tan

This is not a new rule leh. Don't anyhow politicise issue. I ask the gay erotica whack you.

soIsee

This is not a new rule leh. Don't anyhow politicise issue. I ask the gay erotica whack you.

The debate on this issue is not whether it is a new rule or old rule, twit.

The argument about this unfairness of the rule, centers on why should a self employed person have to contribute to a 'state controlled fund manager' aka CPF, funds meant for his medical upkeep and how could this be related to his ability or rather inability to have a license to carry out a form of service (taxi driving) which is his job to earn a living?

To the self employed, they deem it is their own prerogative, as to who and where they wish to place their money, to be utilized for their health care needs.

If they do not wish to have Medisave , who says they cannot PAY CASH to any health care org ( hosp) when they need to use their service?

But as a Sinkie twit, I guess you do not look further into any discussion, other than what you have been conditioned to think and what you have NOT been CONDITIONED to think.

But can you even THINK? LoLoLoL

roylhl20701.jpg

^
Let this asshole stay in power, and things are going to become worse. Maybe we'll see CPF Medisave enforcement secret police, you'll be detained indefinitely or beaten up if you don't pay up. :cool:

Hmmmmm I think its a Lexus LS

kryonlight

roylhl20701.jpg

^

You might get locked up in the craziest building at IMH together with Amos Yee. Please pay all your Medishield Life premiums on time.

Microsoft

Y sit inside car oso mus cross leg? And...Look at de fuckup color of his iPad cover...:oIo:

Medishield Life is a better plan than Obamacare. If a low caste falls sick, he would be counting on Medishield Life to pay fore the bulk of his medical bills. As such, it is fair to insist that the sinkie pays his insurance premiums promptly.

Soon, this taxi driver cannot even leave Singapore, for he owe Medshield Life premiums & the only way out is to check in at Mandai C....even that, they may not take him in, for he is owing "them" money.

The only way out is to jump (1) Bedok Reservoir, (2) Jurong Lake, (3) any HDB flats ( Swissotel Stamford is for the upper class)...