• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Disgruntled Over Free SG50 BBQ By Aussie High Commission! Blame Grassroots Woh

Australian PM Tony Abbott came to Singapore today (28 Jun) as part of his 2-day official visit in Singapore. He came to give his support as PM of Australia to 50 years of bilateral relations between Singapore and Australia this year.

Australia was one of the first countries to recognise Singapore’s independence in 1965.
australia-bbq-sg50-singapore.jpg

To celebrate 50 years of diplomatic relations between Singapore and Australia, as well as Singapore’s Golden Jubilee, the Australian High Commission in Singapore sponsored various arts and community engagement programmes in Singapore.

And among the community engagement programmes, the High Commission helped to set up Aussie barbecue parties at the various locations – mostly in HDB estates – in Singapore today. Some 10,000 free beef and lamb steaks were set up across 22 locations in Singapore.

Mr Abbott and PM Lee presided over one barbecue at Bishan Park, with about 1,000 people participating. The 2 PMs barbecued some steaks.

According to the Australian organizer, tickets to the free BBQs were controlled and given out by the People’s Association [Link]:

Capture47-475x480.jpg

PA grassroots members hogging BBQ tickets for friends and family members?

According to posting on the Australian organizer Facebook page, some of the netizens are accusing grassroots members at PA hogging the BBQ tickets for themselves.

Some netizens complained that there were no announcements by CCs or RCs for netizens to collect the tickets. When someone called a CC, he was told that there were no tickets left. When he complained about this, he was suddenly given 2 tickets:

gMvBSRf.png

Netizens think that the tickets have been reserved for friends and related parties of grassroots members instead:

zNS6ENp.png

lUocepg.png

Someone asked where to find information about the BBQ events. The Australian organizer replied that CCs and RCs will publicise the event individually. But as revealed above, netizens said no publicity was seen and they had to call PA:

VW1FfHR.png

The reader who alerted TRE about what’s happening on the ground, asked, “Is PA leveraging on the Australian Embassy’s goodwill to earn brownie points with their RC members?”

“The Australian Embassy has clearly stated that it will be an event that is open to the public. Yet, PA has conveniently subsumed this into yet another event to reward their loyal grassroots supporters. So how now?” he further asked.

Close relationship between PA and PAP

In Singapore, RCs, CCCs (citizens’ consultative committees), and CCs (community clubs) are all grassroots organizations that come under the purview of PA, a statutory board funded by taxpayers’ money, which is tasked to take care of all the grassroots activities in Singapore.

The relationship between PA and PAP is a close one. The chairman of PA is none other than the PM himself, who is also the Secretary-General of PAP.

Former PM and Secretary-General of PAP, Lee Kuan Yew, once said that the PRCs have been sending teams of officials from China to study Singapore for years. He told of a lesson the Chinese learnt, “They discover that the People’s Action Party has only a small office in Bedok. But everywhere they go, they see the PAP – in the RCs, CCCs and CCs.”

- More at AllSingaporeStuff.com http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/tickets-aussie-embassys-free-bbq-hogged-grassroot-members

Tuayapeh

Re: Sinkie Disgruntled Over Free SG50 BBQ By Aussie High Commission! Blame Grassroots

Why sinkies so cheapskate ? Want to eat BBQ just buy your own lah :wink: eat government free food will become suay :wink:

Re: Sinkie Disgruntled Over Free SG50 BBQ By Aussie High Commission! Blame Grassroots

Why sinkies so cheapskate ? Want to eat BBQ just buy your own lah :wink: eat government free food will become suay :wink:

Australian beef and lamb woh ...not cheap you know.

John Tan gave the tickets to his grandparents, grand uncles and aunts, father & mother, wife & kids, mistresses and secret kids, brothers and sisters, nephews and nieces, cousins ...enough to take up all the tickets for that location.

Blame John Tan.

Of course. We cannot have sour looking, opposition supporting rebels joining us in this joyous occasion.

Force 136

peoples assoc2.gif

This guy should come forward to say something, now that it was alleged that his staff did not open up the event to the public..... but kept the goodies for their own people......

Tuayapeh

Australian beef and lamb woh ...not cheap you know.

Don't say Australia beef even Kobe / Wagyu as long as free from the government eat Liao also suay :wink:

Tuayapeh

John Tan gave the tickets to his grandparents, grand uncles and aunts, father & mother, wife & kids, mistresses and secret kids, brothers and sisters, nephews and nieces, cousins ...enough to take up all the tickets for that location.

Blame John Tan.

Don't know John tan got bring container and tabao those toxic beef bo ? :wink:

Tuayapeh

Blame John Tan.

Dumbass aussies should have known the PA woukd practice cronyism n yet they approved the decision to let the pa do the distribution.

Geminipegasus

Dumbass aussies should have known the PA woukd practice cronyism n yet they approved the decision to let the pa do the distribution.

Went to investigate what netizens alleged & found the following:
1. Officer In charge ask me which block I stay as the vouchers are given to residents.
2. Since I am a resident in the targeted block I asked why is there no notice in my block.
3. Reply was there are notices pasted so I ask her to show me.
4. Officer led me to a lift landing & exclaimed that somebody must have torn it off as no notices were found.
5. I ask her why not put the notices in the three sealed notice board provided.
6. I then ask whether there is any higher authority present & the chairman came.
7. He told me that the event is open to public so that's why as a resident does not automatically get the tickets.
8. He then walked away.

Conclusion, this kind of arrangement is a "Johadri 4" outcome.
Resident come, say for public . Public come, say for resident. Got proper notice board, don't put. When challenged, say public tear notices away. Sure win Liao lor!!!
This kind of public liaison outfit is a liability as it's missing its primary objectives of building goodwill & fostering harmonious community relationships.

Semaj2357

can eat, don't waste....it's just another way to reward pappy lapdogs and rc cocksuckers - compliments of the aussies.
membership has its privileges :wink:

can eat, don't waste....it's just another way to reward pappy lapdogs and rc cocksuckers - compliments of the aussies.
membership has its privileges :wink:

That's why you should volunteer with the People's Association, instead of the useless WP grassroots. No bbq, no National Day award, no public service medal, no luncheon at the Istana with the president. Volunteer with those other groups like church, temple or WP for fark?

View attachment 22094

This guy should come forward to say something, now that it was alleged that his staff did not open up the event to the public..... but kept the goodies for their own people......

Ang is another $68-million man. What does an ex-policeman know about fostering relations between the people and government? He is there to ensure that our money flows to PAP cronies. Send him to the Islamic State for re-education.

Semaj2357

That's why you should volunteer with the People's Association, instead of the useless WP grassroots. No bbq, no National Day award, no public service medal, no luncheon at the Istana with the president. Volunteer with those other groups like church, temple or WP for fark?

agreed absolutely....but next time, please don't bring your relatives with numerous plastic and styrofoam containers to tar-pow, telling others that they are glassloots leaders - very the sia suay and gives the pa a bad name.
knn...and one more thing, saying that the bones are for the dogs just doesn't cut it anymore - we've heard that one before :o

What? No free BBQ? It must have been taken by the pinoy maids sent there by their ATB employers! :mad::biggrin:

looneytan

your rank also didn't get to taste the steaks, I heard only your boss' rank upward got invited ..

still want to speak out for them ah!

View attachment 22094

Trust me - you DON'T want him to speak. His pronunciation is worse than Vomit Singh's - whose grammar is at least better than this guy's.

Who cares? He probably got very good A-level grades, won a PSC scholarship and did very well at university. He is doing far better than Gurmit Singh.