• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Schools Best In Da Whole World! Majullah PAP!!

UK and US lose to us. Even Nordic countries like Sweden lose to us. We are the best! Thank you Heng Swee Kiat!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank PAP for doing such a wonderful job in educating our kids, even if some of their parents are ungrateful and disloyal by voting for opposition.

sctest12343e.jpg

SINGAPORE - Singapore has done it again, topping the biggest global school rankings published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Asian countries took the top five spots; African countries were at the bottom.

The analysis, based on test scores in maths and science in 76 countries, is a much wider map of education standards than the OECD's Pisa tests, which focus on more affluent industrialised countries. The latest Pisa test in 2012 polled 65 countries and regions.

OECD's education director Andreas Schleicher said: "This is the first time we have a truly global scale of the quality of education." The OECD economic think tank says the comparisons show the link between education and economic growth.

"The idea is to give more countries, rich and poor, access to comparing themselves against the world's education leaders, to discover their relative strengths and weaknesses, and to see what the long-term economic gains from improved quality in schooling could be for them," said Mr Schleicher.

Singapore is the top performer but it had high levels of illiteracy into the 1960s, he added, showing how much progress could be made.

The rankings are based on a combination of international tests taken in different regions, putting developed and developing countries on a single scale. The report, published by the OECD, argues that the standard of education is a "powerful predictor of the wealth that countries will produce in the long run". It also wrote: "Poor education policies and practices leave many countries in what amounts to a permanent state of economic recession."

This latest league table, ranking more than a third of the world's nations, also highlights the decline of Sweden - ranked 35th - with the OECD warning last week that it had serious problems in its education system. The United Kingdom came in 20th place, among higher achieving European countries, with the United States in 28th.

The findings will be formally presented at the World Education Forum in South Korea next week, where the United Nations is to convene a conference on targets for raising global education by 2030.

The country that was in last place was Ghana.
- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ngs-published-oecd-20150#sthash.63fYeA0G.dpuf

xpo2015

students commuted suicides, definitely not worth the rankings...

studying should be enjoyable! not pain in the S!

Asterix

At the height of its glory, Nutzi Germany had the best training system in Europe! Sinkies are trained but not educated and it's all the PAP's fault.

[video=youtube;5y0UlxlDmpM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5y0UlxlDmpM[/video]

theblackhole

Singapore students are the best in the world.
Most of the graduates are head hunted even before they graduate.
This speaks volumes the trust and recognition. We are number one in education.
Our students are world class - sought after globally. Well done!

goodtool

UK and US lose to us. Even Nordic countries like Sweden lose to us. We are the best! Thank you Heng Swee Kiat!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank PAP for doing such a wonderful job in educating our kids, even if some of their parents are ungrateful and disloyal by voting for opposition.

Is our Universities ranked as well? Better than Mumbai University? Good enough for employment in Singapore?

theblackhole

Singapore graduates, even our poly graduates are world class - heavily sought after by head hunters globally.

you see singaporeans everywhere holding prestigious jobs - because they are singaporeans: honest, trust-worthy, hard-working and intelligent

you get all the trash here and you see all the bird brains here...no wonder

tun_dr_m

PAP and morons are self-intoxicated deep within their own shits and sins and mistakes. They got so high when idiots praised them a little. Lee Kuan Yew (dead old fart) called it COMPLACENCY - after MSK fled ISD.

theblackhole

those who did not make it blame others
those who did not succeed blame others
self intoxication no lah
you are simply jealous and envious
singaporeans are the best in the world
simply because we have a great enlightened government
all thanks to our great mr lee kuan yew who had moulded this great place
into an economic miracle and a social paradise

cocobobo

knn lah.
school ranking no 1 but when these same kids graduate from sg universities they queue behind pinoy and india degree holders for jobs.

fucking meaningless. like winning the charity shield but relegated at end of the season when it matters.

theblackhole

knn lah.
school ranking no 1 but when these same kids graduate from sg universities they queue behind pinoy and india degree holders for jobs.

fucking meaningless. like winning the charity shield but relegated at end of the season when it matters.

where got
singaporeans are always ahead!!

Leckmichamarsch

how cum still lose to RapistLand Ah Nehs in terms of securing jobs......... RapistLand must be better than Singapore as number 1

Manny pacquiao never attended school. His was a life of hard knocks. He may end up as president of a country. Can a sinkie graduate be his equal?

Runifyouhaveto

I have the unfortunate honour of visiting hospitals & A&E for 15-30 days a year.

Tell you a secret, if you diligently camp at SGH, NUH, IMH A&Es during exam seasons, we will see countless students being admitted for breaking-down. It is too scary, as a parent, you will regret pushing your kid so hrd. I even came across officials are there on peak days to persuade journalists not to cover these stories to prevent a hysteria among our student-communities.

Many fallen ones along the way of being the top in education among OECD, is it worth it?
I say No
We are missing out something
Anyway, the best MBA student, is definitely not the best businessman in life.

I have the unfortunate honour of visiting hospitals & A&E for 15-30 days a year.

Tell you a secret, if you diligently camp at SGH, NUH, IMH A&Es during exam seasons, we will see countless students being admitted for breaking-down. It is too scary, as a parent, you will regret pushing your kid so hrd. I even came across officials are there on peak days to persuade journalists not to cover these stories to prevent a hysteria among our student-communities.

Many fallen ones along the way of being the top in education among OECD, is it worth it?
I say No
We are missing out something
Anyway, the best MBA student in life, is definitely the best businessman.

What cock are you sprouting? Most students and teachers are doing fine in school. Our schools provide a lot of support to teachers and students. The evidence is presented in this Today article below.

19441883.JPG

Si Ling Secondary teacher Low Pei Wen (left) with her mentor, Ms Wang Pei Fen. While Ms Low might just be six months into the job and has experienced students who argued in class and took her laptop, she learned to pull through with the help of Ms Wang. Photo: Ng Jing Yng

By
Ng Jing Yng
[email protected]
Published: 4:04 AM, June 26, 2014
S’pore teachers work longer hours but are satisfied: Poll

SINGAPORE — On average, teachers here work longer hours — with more time spent on administrative tasks and extracurricular activities — compared with their overseas counterparts, an international study has found.

Still, almost nine in 10 of those surveyed said they are satisfied with their job, comparable to the international average.

The findings of last year’s Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Teaching and Learning International Survey, which were released yesterday, also showed that the Republic has the youngest teaching force across all the 34 countries involved in the survey, with an average age of 36 years — about seven years younger than the international average.

Correspondingly, a typical teacher here is less experienced, with an average of a decade of experience, compared with the international average of 16 years.

At the same time, Singapore has the highest proportion of teachers serving as mentors at 39 per cent, more than double that of the international average of 14 per cent. It also topped the charts in terms of teachers’ participation in professional development.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/spore-teachers-work-longer-hours-are-satisfied-poll

those who ended up in a&e are the mentally weak ones and deserve to be culled from the superior gene pool.