• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Government will continue to provide policies that benefit Singaporeans

hokkien

SINGAPORE: The Government will continue to provide policies that benefit Singaporeans - regardless of who they vote for.

Social and Family Development Minister Tan Chuan-Jin said this during a community visit to the Serangoon division in Aljunied GRC on Sunday (Apr 19). It was Mr Tan's fourth visit to the Workers' Party-run GRC.

During the visit, Mr Tan said that its residents have not been "forgotten". He added that some residents had also asked him during Sunday's visit when the ruling party was "coming back".

The minister emphasised that whoever residents vote for, the Government will still do its best to provide policies that cut across every division.

"Our part as the Government is to do the best we can. I think it's important to make sure our policies benefit the people. But we also need to balance with societal needs, dealing with the present and the future," said Mr Tan. "I think one of the things we have always believed in is to try and do the right thing. It is really important for us as a small country and I think we will continue to do that."

Mr Tan said he received a "very warm" reception during his visit and that it was a good opportunity to meet and touch base with residents.

When asked about the ruling party's strategy to win Aljunied GRC back in the next election, he said that has to be worked out. However, he stressed that the Government's responsibilities remain the same.

Mr Tan said: "Our work as the Government doesn't stop because here in Aljunied, every Singaporean matters. And for policies that we need to continue, we will tweak, adjust, change, or strengthen it - that work continues whether you have a General Election or not. And whether you're in an opposition ward or a PAP ward, we will continue working and I think that's something we are focused on."

HEALTHCARE COSTS THE "BIGGEST CHALLENGE"

Mr Tan's visit to the division ended with a dialogue involving 170 people, including residents. The dialogue, which stretched over an hour, covered a wide range of topics, including the increasing cost of living, how to ensure adequate job opportunities for various educational pathways, as well as manpower concerns.

For the Government, healthcare costs remain the biggest challenge, said Mr Tan.

He pointed out the possible impact an ageing society would have on Singapore's economy: "Do you think that maybe 10 years, 15 years from now, instead of Singapore being the more happening place, would people decide to go to Jakarta instead? Or perhaps go to Bangkok, Manila, or Mumbai?

"When that happens, will the economy be the same? Will we still be as exciting? For all our younger people who have aspirations for interesting jobs, would you still be able to find it in Singapore? Or do we need to go to somewhere else because it's more exciting there?

"We need to keep an eye on this because if things go a bit slower, you will need to manage things such as expenditure and healthcare. The popular thing is to distribute free gifts or subsidies, but it's never free, it is always paid for by somebody."

Even as the Government continues to work for the people, Mr Tan called on residents to continue showing compassion and empathy, pointing out that these are values that make a nation great.

"Values only happen when you do something," said Mr Tan. "I think by caring for others, volunteering your time, helping others in our own way - we will also begin to change as an individual. Those of you who are active in social work will know what I mean. If one by one we begin to change, society will change to be a better place."

He pointed out how well Singaporeans behaved during the week of national mourning for the late Mr Lee Kuan Yew: "You saw the best displays of what we can be as a people. If we're not careful, we can become very selfish. We can become people who only care about their own backyard and their own issues."

Mr Tan also urged residents to pay attention and be alert to those around them who may need help, and to let authorities know so that they can step in.

soIsee

Re: The Government will continue to provide policies that benefit Singaporeans -

hahahahahahahHaHaHaHaHa

LoLoLololololoLoLololoL

Re: The Government will continue to provide policies that benefit Singaporeans -

I've never heard such a load of bull in all my life. :rolleyes:

The Government will continue to provide policies that benefit Singaporeans - regardless of who they vote for.

That's what the PAP likes to say. Reality is quite different.

The PAP always lies, because its recently dead founding father was a father of lies himself. There is no truth in him. The PAP is an embodiment of his values.

soIsee

I've never heard such a load of bull in all my life. :rolleyes:

Notice that after 5 days out out a week of 7 days, they usually release their bull shits over the weekend?

Must be holding onto 5 full days of shits and then over 2 days of the weekend, they get released!LoL

wendychan

so they have a sense of humour

Agoraphobic

The job of a government, is to govern.

However, here in Singapore, the people wish for the government to take care of them, educate them, tell them how many children to have, what languages, how to behave, what sport to excel in (if they can). That's why it is also known as the Nanny-State.

Agoraphobic

That's the best way to take the views expressed by the official media here. Have a good laugh, otherwise the Straits Times is a horrible piece of shit.

so they have a sense of humour

The majority of their family members and friends are also Singaporeans. :rolleyes::biggrin:

They should play this song when they make that announcement.

Bring out the gimp!!!

Microsoft

Yahman...like the propose gst amendment...now mus pay 7%...after propose adj...need oni pay 10%...so much lesser...de poor will certainly benefit much much more...now 1k monthly salary can afford condo leow...:biggrin::biggrin:

Yes. Singaporeans like Nisha.

In 2011, 60.1% agreed that PAP provided polices that benefited sinkies. In 2012, it was 70%, considering that 70% of the votes went to presidential candidates with strong PAP-background. This coming GE, the grassroots leaders are expected around 75% support from sinkie voters. That's the message we are getting at ground level. Very high chance for PAP to regain back Aljunied GRC and strengthen their voter base in the east. As for West and Central, PAP will continue to dominate with ease.

During the visit, Mr Tan said that its residents have not been "forgotten". He added that some residents had also asked him during Sunday's visit when the ruling party was "coming back".
... ...
When asked about the ruling party's strategy to win Aljunied GRC back in the next election, he said that has to be worked out. However, he stressed that the Government's responsibilities remain the same.

Bwahahahahahahaa... As much as I admire your optimism, Tan CJ, Aljunied GRC is set to be another Hougang. For your 170 odd enthusiastic supporters, I dread to say you'll have to encourage them to move to your ward :smile::smile::smile:

Based on number of sinkies going to jb, umno are the ones who can take care of the people.

Very high chance for PAP to regain back Aljunied GRC and strengthen their voter base in the east.

Kin! Kin! Mai Tu Liao, call for elections now! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: