• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Needs LKY Or Else Break Up Like Yugoslavia! Sinkies Be Grateful To LKY, Ok?

I am sure most of you have heard of the story about the blind men and the elephant. One blind man grabbed the tail of the elephant and declared that the elephant was a snake. The other grabbed the elephant by its leg and declared the elephant was a tree.

BlindMenElephant_720.png

This fable makes the point that people are unable to see the big picture. Over the past few days, people wrote nice things about Lee Kuan Yew (LKY) on the internet. There are also people who wrote nasty things about him.

The usual good things said was that he brought us from the 3rd world to the 1st. He created a harmonious multi racial society. He created a meritocratic society. Etc.

The bad things people wrote about him were that he has high handed, undemocratic, interned people without trial, muzzled the press, sued opposition members, elitist etc.

All of the above is true. His critics are like the blind men in the elephant fable. What they failed to realize is that without doing the nasty things, we could not have achieved all the good things. LKY had a vision. He wanted to transform Singapore from a 3rd world country into a 1st world country.

He also wanted a multi-racial society where all races are treated the same. Those who did not share his vision were “steamrolled” by the juggernaut of a man with internment without trial or lawsuits and restricted from expressing their views in the press.

Had he not done so, his vision, which nearly everybody praised, could not have been achieved. Judging from the long queues of people going to pay their last respects to LKY, I would say that nearly everybody loved the results he has achieved for us.

Let me elaborate with a few examples on how he achieved success with methods that earned him criticism.

To get Singapore to the first world, we had to work very hard. There was no short cut. That is why meritocracy was promoted. Meritocracy means that the reward goes to those who work hard and have abilities. Not to those with connections or of a certain race. It also means that reward does not go to those who do not work hard or are incapable.

This leads to inequality of rewards. Some will grow rich while others remained poor. The Socialists and Communists had a different vision. They wanted or claimed to want equality of wealth for everybody. LKY started out as a Socialist. But he eventually realized, long before the rest of the world, that Socialism does not work. Giving people equal rewards despite of their effort put in results in poverty.

Mao Tse Tung (Mao Zedong) found that out the hard way. He put everybody into communal farms where the rice or wheat grown would be shared equally by everybody regardless of how hard each farmer worked. The result was starvation and tens of millions died. If I work 10 hours a day and get the same amount of rice as someone who works 2 hours a day, why would I bother to work hard?

LKY’s first clash was with the Communists who were inspired by Mao and Marx. They were thugs who organized violent strikes and protests. They sought power using violence instead of through the election process. LKY interned them without trial those that his Special Branch believed were communists.

They were nasty people who would have turned Singapore into another N. Korea if they had won. Tens of thousands would have died. These were interned and given three choices:

1) Confess and promise to stop their communist activities. Those who did that were set free. Some of them ended wealthy businessmen, a far cry from the Communist ideal of equal distribution of wealth. So after they failed at Communism, they succeeded in capitalism! What an irony.

2) Migrate to a country that was willing to accept them. Some of them went to China, the country that inspired their Communist activities. I recall reading an article of an ex-internee that LKY met in China. She had climbed high in the Communist Party hierarchy after migrating there. After China took the capitalist road under Deng Xiaoping, all senior party officials were told to learn from Singapore. Another irony.

There were some who went to the United Kingdom. This is yet another irony because in the centuries of British colonialism, the British would send their black sheep to the colonies. After independence, Singapore sent its red sheep to the UK.

3) Remain in jail.

Another group of people that clashed with LKY in the early days was the Chinese nationalists or Chinese chauvinist as what LKY called them. These loved the Chinese language and culture and wanted Singapore to be a Chinese country. Why not? After all, the Chinese were and still are the majority group.

The natural thing would be to make Chinese the main language. But LKY had a different vision - that Singapore would be a multi-cultural country. So English and not Chinese would be the working language. Using English would have the great advantage of facilitating knowledge transfer and attracting western investments.

But, more importantly, it also meant that all races would be on an equal footing. It is easier to turn everyone into Singaporeans if we use a neutral language. If Chinese were the national language, then Singapore will become a Chinese country. The Malays and Indians would not feel that this is their country too. At the same time, they would be disadvantaged in the competition for jobs. This would cause discontent and racial friction.

Singapore at the time of its birth had experienced racial riots between Malays and Chinese. Any more riots would have discourage foreign investment as well as raised the risk that Malaysia might have an excuse to invade Singapore at a time when our armed forces were weak.

But the Chinese educated at that time were very unhappy that LKY decided to promote English and hence downgrade the importance of Chinese. This is understandable. It meant their jobs and career prospects were threatened. Besides this, they loved their language, Chinese schools and universities. All these eventually had to close. They knew that and made a spirited defence of the Chinese language and culture.

They were in the way of LKY’s vision of creating a harmonious multi-racial society. Making Singapore a Chinese country, which was the popular thing to do, would not create a harmonious multi-racial country. So LKY steamrolled over them in his usual way.

One of the casualties was press freedom. Chinese newspapers were forced not to criticize his language policy. The curbs on the press was one side of the coin. On the other was a harmonious multi-racial society. Both came together. Defusing ethnic tensions also encouraged international companies to invest and create jobs.

Before you condemn him for curbing press freedom, let me tell you the story of Yugoslavia. When it was ruled by a dictator, Josip Broz Tito, all the different ethnic groups lived in peace. Stirring up racial animosity would get you sent to prison. Then Tito died. When democracy came and the people had greater freedom of speech, the country fell into civil war.

Thousands died and today, Yugoslavia is no more. How come? That’s because politicians posed as champions of their ethnic group against the others whom they portrayed as belligerent. Stirring up racial animosities got them votes and power instead of jail terms. That was how Slobodan Milosovich gained power in Serbia. But it caused a civil war because other ethnic groups’ leaders did the same.

In summary, LKY had a vision and he succeeded in achieving it. His vision of a prosperous First World economy with a harmonious multi-racial society Is widely praised. But it was achieved by “steamrolling” over those who did not agree with it or wanted to do things that in his judgement would endanger achieving his vision.

In the end, his judgement proved correct. For me, it is the result that counts. We would not be where we are today had he acted differently.

http://therealsingapore.com/content...nt-lee-kuan-yews-critics-dont-get-big-picture

Re: Singapore Needs LKY Or Else Break Up Like Yugoslavia! Sinkies Be Grateful To LKY,

Yugoslavia broke up because USA and NATO stirred shit in the Balkans for geopolitical reasons.

Singapore breaking up is actually a good thing. Yishun can have its own king, Jurong can have its own kapitan chief, and Geylang can have its own sultan. Just like the good old days.

Re: Singapore Needs LKY Or Else Break Up Like Yugoslavia! Sinkies Be Grateful To LKY,

1. yo! no offence.
2. the individual is already gone.
3. you can stop kissing arse.
4. btw, were you invited to give the eulogy thing or what?
5. you should perform very well too:biggrin:

Leckmichamarsch

I am sure most of you have heard of the story about the blind men and the elephant. One blind man grabbed the tail of the elephant and declared that the elephant was a snake. The other grabbed the elephant by its leg and declared the elephant was a tree.

BlindMenElephant_720.png

http://therealsingapore.com/content...nt-lee-kuan-yews-critics-dont-get-big-picture

nation will breakup into Cina province, Little India, Kampung Geyland n Eurasia Mana?

I would love to watch a football match between Yishun and Croatia and a handball match between Jurong and Serbia. :biggrin:

Yugoslavia broke up because USA and NATO stirred shit in the Balkans for geopolitical reasons.

Singapore breaking up is actually a good thing. Yishun can have its own king, Jurong can have its own kapitan chief, and Geylang can have its own sultan. Just like the good old days.

Yes, no government is good government.

We no stoopig.

There is ONE BIG PROBLEM with this analogy of the blind men and the elephant, because after all is said and spoken for by the blind men, it actually was NOT an elephant, but a DINOSAUR!

Dnosaur is meant to be what it is........EXTINCT!

tun_dr_m

Yr Pua Chee Bye Ah Kong caused Malaysia to BROKE UP into Red Dot and Malaysia so he is a state criminal.

You forgot this?

nayr69sg

Staff member

In summary, LKY had a vision and he succeeded in achieving it. His vision of a prosperous First World economy with a harmonious multi-racial society Is widely praised. But it was achieved by “steamrolling” over those who did not agree with it or wanted to do things that in his judgement would endanger achieving his vision.

In the end, his judgement proved correct. For me, it is the result that counts. We would not be where we are today had he acted differently.

I agree with you wholeheartedly.

Singapore is where it is today partly because of the vision LKY had, his focus and resolve to get the results he wanted regardless of the price, as well as the co-operation of the majority of Singaporeans.

However this very fact also belies the "vulnerabilities" of the country. The word "vulnerable" comes up many times whenever there is a discussion about Singapore and its future. Why is that?

I have read all of LKY's books and read all his quotes, thoughts and famous phrases. Personally I think a lot of Singaporeans do not know what LKY was really thinking. I even doubt that many have read his books at all or even understood what he meant when talking about the country and its challenges. A lot of what the media reports and emphasizes on are folklore-legend type stories.

Reading LKY's books and following his work and words I have learned this much from LKY:

1) Singapore is a small city state with no natural resources. LKY brings this up many times. It is a hard truth. Such a country is dependent on trade for survival. Food, fuel, building materials have to be imported. You need money to trade for them. Singapore sold services to get that money. Human hard work and labor. Money needs to exist in order for Singapore to exist. If the monetary system failed for some reason there will no longer be a Singapore. Where would people get food from without money? Fuel to purify water needs to be bought with money. If the great depression happened again, there will be no more Singapore. LKY knew this as a fact. And despite bringing Singapore from third world to first world he knows that all those past achievements do not change anything on this point. Singapore is still just as vulnerable to whatever the big players in the world choose to do.

2) Hard actions were taken in Singapore to ensure survival and economic success. LKY steam rolled a lot of policies whether they were popular or not. In fact many were unpopular. But it was for the good of the country economically and socially. The people went with his decisions despite the unpopularity. Tearing down kampungs for HDB estates, moving various racial groups around, national service and using English as the first langugage. This is the mark of how powerful and convincing LKY was. And that was very good for Singapore. However, LKY knows deep down that Singapore's success was not by the choosing or foresight of the majority of Singaporeans. It was his cabinet and himself who had that foresight. The people chose him, but when they did it was because of who he was rather than the actual policies which he eventually steam rolled. Which is why he does not trust Singaporeans to choose wisely in new leaders or new directions. Why should he when he has a past experience and track record to say otherwise? This is why, he brought in many foreigners to lead in various key economic areas. In fact as time went on, and LKY continued to push policies that were unpopular AND this time also led to undesired results (eg falling birth rates and failed industries like biohub), he realised that Singaporeans were none the wiser. This probably scared him. What happens if the people were given free hand to choose their own leader now and they chose wrong? Singapore would crumble. All his hard work would be undone. In order to ensure Singapore remain successful he had to stay in power. Hence some of the gerrymandering we witnessed in the past 2 decades. When LKY managed to find a policy that both furthered his objective for economic improvement and was also popular, he realised he changed the nation into one that was so reliant on that privilege that they could no longer survive without it. (FDW or maid policy). Another warning sign.

3) Singapore is beholden to LKY and his cabinet for its success and continued survival. This is absolutely true. The outpouring of grief and emotion affirms this. LKY himself knows that when he is gone and can no longer control things, then the future is extremely uncertain. His hope was that his son who he brought up could continue his legacy. But unfortunately, it cannot last that long as eventually his son will come to pass.

The bottomline is this, we have Singapore a city state with no natural resources, totally dependent on monetary systems for survival, beholden to a handful of individual who had the foresight to shape Singapore, a people who cannot be trusted to choose wisely, on a piece of land which cannot get much bigger while it gets more and more crowded. In order for Singapore to survive as a nation it HAD TO BE ECONOMICALLY SUCCESSFUL. Without economic success, there will not be a Singapore. Without a Singapore there are no Singaporeans to speak of. This is why economy is of such paramount importance in Singapore.

I am sure LKY knew that in the long run, a continued economically successful Singapore would have to pay a price. And that would be massive overcrowding, thus leading to unhappy people who would be even more likely to choose wrongly. (A wrong choice would be any decision that places anything of more importance than the economy). A less crowded Singapore would mean the economic successes had started to unravel. This probably stressed him a lot in the later years and he had no solution to this conundrum without thinking of bloodshed. (You could for example, choose to take more land - by going to war. But that is a price nobody would want) This alludes to his video interview about meditation and even mentioning that had Hitler meditated he would not have gone on his military rampage.

We shall see how long LKY's offspring continue to stay and live in Singapore. If I read LKY's message clear and loud, it is that eventually living in Singapore would be unbearable despite the economic successes. Singapore is fantastic in developing young minds and giving them the ability to live and succeed anywhere on this Earth, but Singapore would not go the further step to encourage them to do so because it would mean a brain drain. So they purposely chose not to develop that area. Instead they chose to invite foreign expertise to hopefully patch up any talent loss they might have from those smart and bold enough to explore and succeed abroad. As a market, Singapore will always be too small to attract the best in the world. GCT knew this which was why they started going the emotional-moral route of labeling some as "quitters".

We should not take away anything from LKY's success. Those who criticize him for not leaving behind a vibrant political climate with abundant free speech and expression should ask themselves whether this was alone LKY's wish and desire, or was it his overall assessment that the people of Singapore were not ready and perhaps would never be ready? You could of course debate whether LKY should have introduced into the education system more free-minded thought and critical thinking to develop a people who could then choose wisely. However that would take too long and LKY knew this. It was far easier to lead sheep than become a leader of wolves. Again the focus and objective was the economy.

Singapore will never break up like Yugoslavia. Simply because by doing so, the various villages in Singapore would die. It is like saying you want to turn each room in a HDB flat into an actual living unit with its kitchen, washing area, toilet etc. You can't do it, it is physically unviable. Singapore is however very likely to eventually end up as a part of some other bigger country eg China or Malaysia. Whether the merge is done in terms favorable to Singapore depends on when Singapore chooses to do so.

cocobobo

is the article writer 8 years old? sounds like written by one.

and how will sg break up? Like Ang Mo Kio is a sovereign state, need passport to cross into toa payoh? and jurong has the strongest army? and bedok is soccer powerhouse qualifies for world cup every 4 years?

The ERP charges for driving into the city is already more than the levy into JB. Might as well let the PAP declare the kingdom of Loong and have the whole CBD together with their foreign pets.

looneytan

Do I chop my passport before entering MRT station?

Hans168

you hv to pay vehicle entry fee when pass ERP gantry......... saeime as malaysian & soon applies to sgian crossing into sovereign Johore

Maybe in the future? They already have traffic lights outside of the angmo kio station. Or should I say pedestrian lights?

you hv to pay vehicle entry fee when pass ERP gantry......... saeime as malaysian & soon applies to sgian crossing into sovereign Johore

Wait till Josephine Teo says 'we need to calibrate our ERP charges to match what Malaysia is charging Singapore motorists'.

Every ERP gantry deducts an equivalent of 20 ringgit from your cash card. :biggrin:

xpo2015

Sg broke up is the result of Pap policies.

Divide and conquer strategy devised by our late LKY.

Sideswipe

we should be grateful to Emperor LKY for everything in life. we need him. can he get up from the ashes ? :rolleyes:

OP talks like he knows the big picture?

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA