• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Passing of Mr Lee Kuan Yew

Which world leader will NOT make it for the funeral

• Obama

Votes: 13 59.1%
  • Cameron

Votes: 7 31.8%
  • Putin

Votes: 13 59.1%
  • Abbott

Votes: 6 27.3%
  • Merkel

Votes: 7 31.8%
  • Xi

Votes: 10 45.5%

• Total voters

JohnnyCage

World hails Singapore's Lee as sage and shrewd statesman

AFP
March 24, 2015, 1:16 am

2bd79db610f31db876d4834c1ef9382a281972f4-1ah08c9.jpg

Singapore (AFP) - The United States and China on Monday led global acclaim for Lee Kuan Yew, the Singaporean statesman whose shrewd and sometimes caustic views on world affairs were much sought by his fellow leaders.

But as tributes poured in for the former prime minister, who died in hospital aged 91 after a long illness, foreign rights campaigners said it was now time for Singapore to relax his authoritarian legacy.

Lee is credited with transforming Singapore from a sleepy British imperial outpost into one of the world's wealthiest societies as leader from 1959 to 1990.

"He was a true giant of history who will be remembered for generations to come as the father of modern Singapore and as one of the great strategists of Asian affairs," US President Barack Obama said.

Lee's views "were hugely important in helping me formulate our policy of rebalancing to the Asia-Pacific", Obama said in a statement.

During his rule, Lee positioned Singapore as a key plank of America's regional security architecture. And in a Forbes interview in 2011, he rejected the notion that Washington was doomed to "second-rate status".

He cited America's track record of economic innovation, its willingness to attract foreign talent and the fact that English is the world lingua franca -- all strengths he exploited in Singapore's own rise.

But Lee was also an early proponent of the view that China would become a force to be reckoned with, recounting in one of his books a meeting with newly emerged paramount leader Deng Xiaoping in 1978.

Lee, the ethnic-Chinese leader of a largely ethnic-Chinese nation, wrote that he told Deng: "Whatever we have done, you can do better because we are the descendants of the landless peasants of south China.

- 'A lion among leaders' -

"You have the scholars, you have the scientists, you have the specialists. Whatever we do, you will do better."

As they opened China up after 1978, Deng and his Communist colleagues cast a keen eye on Lee's model of rule -- marrying economic liberalisation with rigid political control.

President Xi Jinping praised Lee as an "old friend of the Chinese people" and said he was "widely respected by the international community as a strategist and a statesman".

After the British withdrew, Lee created modern Singapore out of a short-lived and stormy political union with Malaysia. Their ties remained turbulent down the years.

But in mourning Lee, Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak lauded his "determination in developing Singapore from a new nation to the modern and dynamic city we see today".

Encomiums came too from Singapore's other neighbours, which Lee was instrumental in grouping as the Association of Southeast Asia Nations in 1967, as a bulwark against communism and to promote development.

Lee's political vision was forged in World War II, when Japan routed British and Australian troops to occupy Singapore. He studied law at Cambridge University in the years after, returning home convinced that Asians must be masters of their own destiny.

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe called Lee "one of the greatest leaders of modern times that Asia has ever produced" and said: "He was highly revered all over the world."

Prime Minister David Cameron noted that Lee was "sometimes a critical" friend of Britain but stressed his "place in history is assured, as a leader and as one of the modern world's foremost statesmen".

India's reformist Prime Minister Narendra Modi also reflected on Lee's legacy, tweeting: "A far-sighted statesman & a lion among leaders, Mr Lee Kuan Yew's life teaches valuable lessons to everyone."

One lesson that Lee sought to impart was delivered in a sharp-tongued warning in 1980, when he said that Australians risked becoming "the poor white trash of Asia" unless they opened up their economy.

"Our region owes much to Lee Kuan Yew," Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott said, adding that "today we mourn the passing of a giant of our region".

In recognition of his outsized standing on the international stage, Lee was sometimes spoken of as a potential UN secretary-general. Ban Ki-moon, who holds the job today, called him a "legendary figure in Asia".

Rights groups, however, expressed hope that Lee's death would open the door to greater freedoms in Singapore, where opposition leaders say they have long suffered legal and political harassment.

"Lee Kuan Yew's tremendous role in Singapore's economic development is beyond doubt, but it also came at a significant cost for human rights," said Phil Robertson of Human Rights Watch.

Re: Lao lee's corpse to be moved from istana to parliment house this wed, traffic war

I think Mr. LKY would prefer to be cremated with his defeated enemies. In life, they were beaten by him. In death, they will serve him forever.

Treachery. Instead of gg down with him for regular majong n be his constituency rrsidents n continue to vote for him so yr well wishes n promises r kept. You rather he face it alone. You think the dozen of paper hatchet you burnt will really help. He only got 1 pair of hands lah. Stpid.

da dick

Re: Suggestion: When you reach LKY's altar, do this to pay your respects

got free food and free MC anot ? otherwise dun bother.

Charlie99

From The Globe and Mail, March 23, 2015, Canada's National Newspaper

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news...pore-lee-kuan-yew-dies-at-91/article23574597/

SAEED AZHAR
SINGAPORE — The New York Times News Service
Published Sunday, Mar. 22 2015, 6:33 PM EDT
Last updated Monday, Mar. 23 2015, 2:54 AM EDT

Lee Kuan Yew, the founding father and first prime minister of Singapore who transformed that tiny island outpost into one of the wealthiest and least corrupt countries in Asia, died on Monday morning. He was 91.

Lee “passed away peacefully at the Singapore General Hospital today at 3:18 a.m.,” according to a statement on the website of the office of the prime minister.

MORE RELATED TO THIS STORY

World leaders’ tributes for Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew
91-year-old founding father’s condition has deteriorated further, Singapore says
First Singapore PM’s condition worsens in hospital
Lee was prime minister from 1959, when Singapore gained full self-government from the British, until 1990, when he stepped down. Late into his life he remained the dominant personality and driving force in what he called a First World oasis in a Third World region.

The nation reflected the man: efficient, unsentimental, incorrupt, inventive, forward-looking and pragmatic.

“We are ideology-free,” Lee said in an interview with The New York Times in 2007, stating what had become, in effect, Singapore’s ideology. “Does it work? If it works, let’s try it. If it’s fine, let’s continue it. If it doesn’t work, toss it out, try another one.”

The formula succeeded, and Singapore became an international business and financial center admired for its efficiency and low level of corruption.

An election in 2011 marked the end of the Lee Kuan Yew era, with a voter revolt against the ruling People’s Action Party. Lee resigned from the specially created post of minister mentor and stepped into the background as the nation began exploring the possibilities of a more engaged and less autocratic government.

Since Singapore separated from Malaysia in 1965 - an event Lee called his “moment of anguish” - he had seen himself in a never-ending struggle to overcome the nation’s lack of natural resources, a potentially hostile international environment and a volatile ethnic mix of Chinese, Malays and Indians.

“To understand Singapore and why it is what it is, you’ve got to start off with the fact that it’s not supposed to exist and cannot exist,” he said in the 2007 interview. “To begin with, we don’t have the ingredients of a nation, the elementary factors: a homogeneous population, common language, common culture and common destiny. So, history is a long time. I’ve done my bit.”

His “Singapore model,” sometimes criticized as soft authoritarianism, included centralized power, clean government and economic liberalism along with suppression of political opposition and strict limits on free speech and public assembly, which created a climate of caution and self-censorship.

The commentator Cherian George described Lee’s leadership as “a unique combination of charisma and fear.”

As Lee’s influence waned, the questions were how much and how fast his model might change in the hands of a new, possibly more liberal generation. Some even asked, as he often had, whether Singapore could survive as a nation in a turbulent future.

Lee was a master of “Asian values,” a concept in which the good of society took precedence over the rights of the individual and citizens ceded some autonomy in return for paternalistic rule.

Generally passive in political affairs, Singaporeans sometimes chide themselves as being overly preoccupied with a comfortable lifestyle, which they sum up as the “Five C’s” - cash, condo, car, credit card, country club.

In recent years, though, a confrontational world of political websites and blogs has given new voice to critics of Lee and his system.

Even among people who knew little of Singapore, Lee was famous for his national self-improvement campaigns, which urged people to do such things as smile, speak good English and flush the toilet, but never to spit, chew gum or throw garbage off balconies.

“They laughed, at us,” he said in the second volume of his memoirs “From Third World to First: The Singapore Story 1965-2000.” “But I was confident that we would have the last laugh. We would have been a grosser, ruder, cruder society had we not made these efforts.”

Lee developed a distinctive Singaporean mechanism of political control, filing libel suits that sometimes drove his opponents into bankruptcy and doing battle with critics in the foreign press. Several foreign publications, including The International Herald Tribune, which is now called The International New York Times, apologized and paid fines to settle libel suits.

The lawsuits challenged accusations of nepotism - members of Lee’s family hold influential positions in Singapore - and questions about the independence of the judiciary, which critics have said follows the lead of the executive branch.

Lee denied that the suits had a political purpose, saying they were essential to clearing his name of false accusations.

He seemed to genuinely believe that criticisms would gain currency if they were not vigorously disputed. But the lawsuits themselves did as much as anything to diminish his reputation.

He was proud to describe himself as a political street fighter more feared than loved.

“Nobody doubts that if you take me on, I will put on knuckle-dusters and catch you in a cul-de-sac,” he said in 1994. “If you think you can hurt me more than I can hurt you, try. There is no other way you can govern a Chinese society.”

A jittery public avoided openly criticizing Lee and his government and generally obeyed its dictates.

“Singaporeans are like a flea,” said Lee’s political tormentor, J.B. Jeyaretnam, who was financially broken by libel suits but persisted in opposition until his death in 2008. “They are trained to jump so high and no farther. Once they go higher they’re slapped down.”

In an interview in 2005, Jeyaretnam added: “There’s a climate of fear in Singapore. People are just simply afraid. They feel it everywhere. And because they’re afraid they feel they can’t do anything.”

Lee’s vehicle of power was the People’s Action Party, or PAP, which exercised the advantages of office to overwhelm and intimidate opponents. It embraced into its ranks the nation’s brightest young stars, creating what was, in effect, a one-party state.

In a policy intended to remove the temptation for corruption, Singapore linked the salaries of ministers, judges and top civil servants to those of leading professionals in the private sector, making them some of the highest-paid government officials in the world.

It was only in 1981, 16 years after independence, that Jeyaretnam won the first opposition seat in Parliament, infuriating Lee. Two decades later, after the 2006 election, just two of the Parliament’s 84 elected seats were held by members of opposition parties.

But in 2011, the opposition won an unprecedented six seats, along with an unusually high popular vote of close to 40 percent, in what was seen as a demand by voters for more accountability and responsiveness in its leaders. Pragmatic as always, the PAP reacted by modifying its peremptory style and acknowledging that times were changing.

But the new approach still fell short of true multiparty democracy, and Singaporeans continued to question whether the party intended to change itself or would even be able to do so.

“Many people say, ‘Why don’t we open up, then you have two big parties and one party always ready to take over?’” Lee said in a speech in 2008. “I do not believe that for a single moment.”

He added: “We do not have the numbers to ensure that we’ll always have an A Team and an alternative A Team. I’ve tried it; it’s just not possible.”

What Singapore got was centralized, efficient policymaking unencumbered by what Lee called the “heat and dust” of political clashes, and social campaigns.

In one, the government tried vigorously to combat a falling birthrate, organizing what was in effect an official matchmaking agency aimed particularly at affluent ethnic Chinese.

Lee also promoted the use of English as the language of business and the common tongue among the ethnic groups, while recognizing Malay, Chinese and Tamil as other official languages.

With tourists and investors in mind, Singapore sought to become a cultural and recreational hub, with a sprawling performing arts center, museums, galleries, Western and Chinese orchestras and not one but two casinos.

Despite his success, Lee said that he sometimes had trouble sleeping and that he calmed himself each night with 20 minutes of meditation, reciting a mantra: “Ma-Ra-Na-Tha.”

“The problem is to keep the monkey mind from running off into all kinds of thoughts,” he said in an interview with The Times in 2010. “A certain tranquillity settles over you. The day’s pressures and worries are pushed out. Then there’s less problem sleeping.”

Lee Kuan Yew, who was sometimes known by his English name, Harry Lee, was born in Singapore on Sept. 16, 1923, to a fourth-generation, middle-class Chinese family.

He worked as a translator and engaged in black market trading during the Japanese occupation in World War II, then went to Britain, where he earned a law degree in 1949 from Cambridge University. In 1950 he married Kwa Geok Choo, a fellow law student from Singapore. She died in 2010.

After serving as prime minister from 1959 to 1990, Lee was followed by two handpicked successors, Goh Chok Tong and Lee’s eldest son, Lee Hsien Loong, who, groomed for the job, has been prime minister since 2004.

Besides the prime minister, Lee is survived by his younger son, Lee Hsien Yang, who is the chairman of the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore; a daughter, Dr. Lee Wei Ling, who runs the National Neuroscience Institute; a younger brother, Suan Yew; and a younger sister, Monica.

Ho Ching, the wife of the prime minister, is executive director and chief executive of Temasek Holdings, a government holding company.

“His stature is immense,” Catherine Lim, a novelist and frequent critic of Lee, said in an interview. “This man is a statesman. He is probably too big for Singapore, on a level with Tito and de Gaulle. If they had three Lee Kuan Yews in Africa, that continent wouldn’t be in such a bad state.”

The cost of his success, she said, was a lack of emotional connection with the people he governed.

“Everything goes ticktock, ticktock,” she said. “He is an admirable man, but, oh, people like a little bit of heart as well as head. He is all hard-wired.”

In the 2010 interview with The Times, though, he took a reflective, valedictory tone.

“I’m not saying that everything I did was right, but everything I did was for an honorable purpose,” he said. “I had to do some nasty things, locking fellows up without trial.”

He said he was not a religious man and that he dealt with setbacks by simply telling himself, “Well, life is just like that.”

Lee maintained a careful diet and exercised for most of his life, but he admitted to feeling the signs of age and to a touch of weariness at the self-imposed rigor of his life.

“I’m reaching 87, trying to keep fit, presenting a vigorous figure, and it’s an effort, and is it worth the effort?” he said. “I laugh at myself trying to keep a bold front. It’s become my habit. So I just carry on.”

da dick

Lee Kuan Yew's passing mourned in Taiwan

CNA and Staff Reporter
2015-03-23

C323C0016H_B54_N71_copy1.JPG

Ma Ying-jeou and Lee Kuan Yew during the latter's visit to Taiwan in 2011. (Photo/CNA)

The government of Taiwan on Monday mourned the passing of Lee Kuan Yew, the founding father of Singapore, with President Ma Ying-jeou and other prominent and former government officials paying tribute to him.

Lee, who died earlier in the day at a hospital in Singapore at the age of 91, was "a distinguished leader who will be remembered by people around the world," Ma said through his spokesman, adding that Lee was leader who had built Singapore into a "first-rate nation."

On his Facebook page, Ma posted a picture of himself and Lee, which was taken during Lee's last visit to Taiwan in 2011 in his capacity as minister mentor. Lee was a leader with great vision and integrity," Ma said in the post. He also described Lee as a resolute and hard-working politician who loved his people.

Ma said he had firsthand knowledge of Lee's strong friendship with the late president Chiang Ching-kuo, noting that it was "the most solid foundation of the friendship between our two countries."

Ma was Chiang's secretary in the early 1980s and drafted letters to Lee, who was then prime minister of Singapore, for the president. Ma said he was instructed at the time to write the letters "with affection." Ma subsequently met with Lee in Singapore on several occasions in his own capacities as minister of justice, mayor of Taipei and chairman of the Kuomintang.

In a separate press release by the Executive Yuan, Premier Mao Chi-kuo said the death has cost international society the loss of a wise man and the loss of a close friend of the Republic of China.

"The ROC government and its people will always remember Lee Kuan Yew's contributions to the promotion of Taiwan-Singapore relations and the peace between the two sides of the Taiwan Strait," Mao said.

In the statement, the Executive Yuan said that since Singapore was established in 1965, Lee had played the key role in the promotion of Taiwan-Singapore links and spared no efforts in pushing for interaction between Taiwan and China. Lee was instrumental in helping implement the first talks between Taiwan's Koo Chen-fu and China's Wang Daohan — the top negotiators from the two sides at that time — in Singapore in March 1993. It was these "Koo-Wang talks" that started the on-going and peaceful dialogue and stable exchanges between the two sides of the strait, the statement said.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also issued a statement on Lee's passing, saying he was a leader who was "familiar with and friendly toward Taiwan."

Eric Chu, chair of Taiwan's ruling Kuomintang, said his party is "deeply saddened" by the passing of Lee and expressed his condolences to Lee's family and the people of Singapore.

"Singapore became an economic miracle under his leadership, and has successfully played an important role in international politics," said Chu, who is also mayor of New Taipei. Chu described Lee as a longtime friend of the KMT and said Lee's ideas and practices inspired him during visits he made to Singapore in 2009 and earlier this year.

Taiwan's opposition Democratic Progressive Party spokesperson Cheng Yun-peng also quoted DPP chair Tsai Ing-wen as describing Lee as an "outstanding" politician of the modern era. Tsai said Singapore became a vibrant economy under Lee's leadership and that his contributions will be remembered, Cheng added.

Former president Lee Teng-hui praised the late Singaporean prime minister for leading his country in their efforts to build an independent nation, calling him "a precious asset to Singapore." Under his three-decade leadership that ended in 1990, Lee Teng-hui said, Singapore became head of the Asian Tigers comprising Singapore, South Korea, Hong Kong and Taiwan, all newly industrialized economies which achieved prosperity in the 1980s.

Meanwhile, on his Facebook page, former premier Frank Hsieh praised Lee for designating English as one of Singapore's official languages, which he said laid the foundation for Singapore's international competitiveness.

Lee visited Taiwan no fewer than 25 times, mostly during Chiang Ching-kuo's presidency from 1978 until his death in January 1988.

japanese translator taking picture with anothe jap cocksucker and also tion cocksucker. what is new?

Re: MPs and Ministars are competing

The MP who gathers the most number of condolences and mourners will get a cabinet job. The ministar who fail to gather the minimum number of condolences will be dropped from cabinet.

Hehehe... Defense Minister and Education Minister sure bao jiak... Mobilize SAF and mob recall can Huat big time, likewise, mobilizing the schools in Singapore... Whoa... Altogether now!!! HUAAAAAAT AH!!!

The MP who gathers the most number of condolences and mourners will get a cabinet job. The ministar who fail to gather the minimum number of condolences will be dropped from cabinet.

Hehehe... Defense Minister and Education Minister sure bao jiak... Mobilize SAF and mob recall can Huat big time, likewise, mobilizing the schools in Singapore... Whoa... Altogether now!!! HUAAAAAAT AH!!!

japanese translator taking picture with anothe jap cocksucker and also tion cocksucker. what is new?

he did not translate english to japanese and vice versa. he took morse code intercepts and filled in the gaps after translating morse to english alphanumeric to make sense out of messages that were filled with holes and nonsensical filler letters, words, and phrases. he then passed his finished work to language translators, whom one of them was his good buddy. he was sg's first sinkie morse code intercept intell analyst. he would make all analysts in mindef proud. :biggrin:

sex6sex6sex6

today I paid my highest respect to LKY half mast flag + 21 guns

Today damn Shiok and satisfied.

I rolled down my condom only half way down my dick shaft.

Followed by making immediately 21X full stroke penetrations and 100% full exit withdrawals.

After my full satisfaction my load was fired.

Ttibute to John Tan's Ah Kong.

Raped In Peace = RIP LKY

sex6sex6sex6

today I paid my highest respect to LKY half mast flag + 21 guns

Today damn Shiok and satisfied.

I rolled down my condom only half way down my dick shaft.

Followed by making immediately 21X full stroke penetrations and 100% full exit withdrawals.

After my full satisfaction my load was fired.

Ttibute to John Tan's Ah Kong.

Raped In Peace = RIP LKY

wendychan

thats what i ve been saying
quite a few have been trying to outshine and outdo each other in the kiss ass game. especailly on FB

asif posting on FB is actually showing yr true feelings...

those who know you will know better
and those who dont will also know better

rambo22

LEE KUAN YEW is SINGAPORE say PM

is PM saying that since LKY was SG,

now that LKY up lorry,

Sg also will up lorry

if this is the case, then vote PAP 4 fark

kryonlight

Re: LEE KUAN YEW is SINGAPORE say PM

Singapore is finished. All of us better book air tickets to run road to New Zealand.

blissquek

now that LKY up lorry,

Sg also will up lorry

KNN.......whole day CNA puts what PM Lee say this say that on its trailer..

No other soul can make any other intelligent statement besides the Prince Lee.

Can't they be a little more creative even as a controlled media.

lorrydriver

PAP website has changed its logo.

Before:
logo.png

After:
WJwcldi.png

SG50 was the one that took his life in the end.....there was too much Yang energy generated in Singapore and this had to be balanced off by a big Yin energy......the chi always needs to be in balance, that's the way it is..............think about it...

songsongjurong

media whore circus expected, once the show is over, citizens be baying for LHL blood in upcoming GE. wont be surprised if breakaway planning within PAP in the works.

yahoo55

now that LKY up lorry,

Sg also will up lorry

WP wrote in their condolence letter that "his passing marks an end of an era in Singapore’s history". And what is the era that has ended? Maybe it could mean it marks the end of the PAP era.