• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jo Teo Confuses, Confirms and Corroborates - She is a Clown!!!!

Context is, of course, very important to interpreting and understanding what’s said. But before we can proceed, we need to ask, if Jo’s motivation is to ‘clarify’,

– Why then does she not include verbatim both the ‘suggestion’ or question asked and her original response at the REACH Post-Budget 2015 Public Forum, 26 Feb?

– Why did CNA & Today delete the original report of the Forum? Were they ‘instructed’ to do so, by whom?
Without knowing what she was responding to and the original reports, how does it help readers to compare what and why she finds it necessary to clarify after nearly a fortnight.

She Confuses
As it is, the uploaded videos at REACH, PAP F/B & Youtube are absent her reply. We only have CNA & Today original reports i.e. “She addressed one participant’s suggestion that national servicemen should be paid more. While she noted the importance of giving NSmen recognition, Mrs Teo said service for the country cannot be measured in dollars and cents.”

Since she prefaces her clarification with ‘My recent comments on National Service appear to have caused a stir, wouldn’t the logical first thing to do be to refute the reported remarks and context? As only ‘110 participants’ attended the forum, uploading the video of the relevant part will also allow everyone to listen, watch and weigh in more intelligently.

Note also that she did not repudiate both the part about ‘one participant’s suggestion’ and her reported response i.e. while she noted the importance of giving NSmen recognition…service for the country cannot be measured in dollars and cents.’

Instead, of directly addressing the unclear report, she introduced unverified, her own perceived, unverified view and projecting herself as a leader ‘sensing the disquiet’. With that, she then rephrases her reply as ‘the contributions of NSmen cannot be valued in monetary terms. What the SAF provides by way of the allowance cannot be used to measure the high levels of their contribution – it cannot be measured in dollars and cents.’

In effect, she paints herself as a leader while using a personal, emotional spin to nudge fence-sitters, marginal supporters and the mal/mis-informed voters (FMMs) to give her the benefit of the doubt.

Bottomline and specific to the episode, in not repudiating the report and introducing unverified info without the requisite video for readers to understand the original words and context – combined with the now un-cached report – she comes as someone caught with her pants down and then taking 2 weeks to dream up a narrative to confuse the FMMs .

Suffice to observe that her case as she makes it out to be will not stand muster to a basic court appearance on at least 2 counts; concealing and removing evidence.

Hence, instead of clarifying, she tries to confuse her way through.

She Confirms
Moving away from the specifics of this episode, let’s try to piece her words and conduct as a Senior MoS.

A little over a year ago, in response to the initial Marina Coastal Expressway foul-up, she said, ‘We cannot have the attitude that everything will be perfect from Day One. If we go in with that attitude, it can only mean that we have to build in a lot of redundancy.’

Even for SMEs, whether offering goods or services, the most basic operational philosophy is ‘getting it right the first time’. Many of us have also heard and read of Goh Keng Swee’s modus operandi along the same line. Lee Kuan Yew (when he was younger and not given to hubris and lowered standards about 50-year floods) once related at a National Day Rally how he insisted that when he picked up his phone in his official car, it’s got to work! Period.

Do not the 2 episodes (readers here, please list more snafus here) suggest that Jo Teo is not fit for her job as a Senior MoS and should go back to being an MP?

Furthermore, it is said ‘out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks’. So, there is no need for any hearer or reader to ‘twist’ her words as her supporters (in particular, Calvin Cheng) allege. Her conduct is plain enough for the reasonable person to see.

Jo Teo believes deep in her heart that there is ‘service for the country’ and, well, ‘service for the country’ – depending on who dominates parliament to assign the monetary recognition level. (NB: Nowhere is there any call for the same level of monetary recognition as ministers. All calls are for what is reasonable as ‘recognition’ e.g. where ministers insist on pegging at the top 10% earners, some ask only to measure against current cost-of-living. So, who is twisting whose words?)

With this, Jo Teo confirms that she has more than reached her level of incompetence and that for all her words and (debatable) charm, she believes in her own sense of entitlement, supposedly, as a PAP-sanctioned ‘talent’, never mind service to country.

She Corroborates
As a junior amongst full minister, her conduct appears to corroborate how more and more citizens are perceiving the PAP leaders, that they are out of touch with us and that, when confronted with a slip in word or action, they lack the courage or integrity or both to admit to being human sometime, to apologise but instead try to divert or deceive their way through.

Still fresh in our memory is Khaw Boon Wan’s sham Butterfly Lover talk-cock (sorry, no better English term than a Singlish one) to deflect over-complacency and professional neglect of duty in his ministry’s tender evaluation.

The worst and highest level event of the PAP’s shameful, self-deluding ways is PM Lee saying, let’s move on, after Singapore’s renowned terrorist, Mas Selamat, escaped while sacking a low-ranking guard and letting uncle-in-law Wong Kang Seng (who incidentally organized a casual makan session that resulted in his nephew making PM-elect back in 2003/4).

There we have it, Jo Teo’s clarification and conduct serve to corroborate the perception that PAP leadership is unlike the original PAP of their fathers’ days. They have become self-serving, touchy narcissists lacking in competence and integrity.

https://2econdsight.wordpress.com/2015/03/12/jo-teo-confuses-confirms-and-corroborates/

A little over a year ago, in response to the initial Marina Coastal Expressway foul-up, she said, ‘We cannot have the attitude that everything will be perfect from Day One. If we go in with that attitude, it can only mean that we have to build in a lot of redundancy.’

With comments like these, she confirms the low standards which the current cabinet is aspiring to.

When Wooden Goh launched some quality movement campaign decades ago when he was PM, he said in his speech: "Would you buy a brand new TV set with one screw missing?"

sirus

NS men: We (NSF) the unwilling, trained by the unskilled (MINDEF), to do the impossible, for the ungrateful (PAP).

According to our dumb minister, NS is a calling leh, never mind we are trained by the incompetent, and still stand accused of being daft by our self-proclaimed servants.

Her admiring smile whenever one of the ministars is speaking, is indeed rather clownish. :wink:

cunnosieur

20090904.113834_jt2.jpg

She's quite chio....got front n back....lucky dude who got her as wife...

Poor Loong!

With comments like these, she confirms the low standards which the current cabinet is aspiring to.

When Wooden Goh launched some quality movement campaign decades ago when he was PM, he said in his speech: "Would you buy a brand new TV set with one screw missing?"

from the mce design perspective, it's an excellent infrastructure. sinkies couldn't have asked for more. of course, in every major infrastructure project, there are weaknesses. you cannot cover and mitigate 100% of all weaknesses on day one. in the case of mce, the archilles heel is in the vent/exhaust system in the catastrophic event of a major pile up where toxic gaseous fumes are spilled in the tunnel by a massive amount. there are fans up on the ceiling but they are not continuously connected and venting out into open sky.

A better question would be how the fuck does a 5km expressway cost 3.2b nearly 500k per meter of highway.if it cost 500k t0 build one meter of shit,it jolly well bring me to where i wanna be when i stand on it.highways in china span thousands of km and cost a fraction of that.

Sometimes, Tharman not very bright also.
When COE prices went up, he said, don't worry, inflation not affected,
as only new car/lorry buyers affected.
Two years later, he admitted that there was a flow down from
inflated COE levels. Even the damn taxi companies increase
fares when COEs go up, even though the percentage of the new
taxis account for a very small number.
of the