• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Study reveals Chinese speakers use more of their brain than English speakers

Why am I a traitor dog of Malaysian Chinese when I am not even Malaysian? You're not only a Chinese dog but an idiot.

You are a dog of msia chinese. How many times I must explain your own logic? And you are a traitor by your own admission. So traitor dog of msia chinese. You are not just a dog but the ultimate idiot dog. Jah shit is a traitor dog, traitor dog, traitor dog dog dog!!!!

who says chinese cannot speak english fluently? In singapore itself there are so many. :rolleyes:

ang moh people performing at a chinese speaking competition,the chinkification is so perfect its almost spooky,its almost like a ventriquolist manipuating a white doll and making the sounds of a china man.

[video=youtube;fgpDmNCiv98]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgpDmNCiv98[/video]

if theres a competition starring chinese or asian people speaking english,they would have to limit the competion to 5 phrases......

1. FYAKKKKKKKK YOU!!!!!
2.I KEELLLLLLLLLLLLL YOU!!!!!!!!!
3.YOU SHHHHHHHHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!
4.SHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!
5.NOOOO PORBLEMO!!!!!!

dickhead. Go read this book http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Angry-Island-Hunting-English/dp/075382096X

Angmoh England themselves have many English accents. Try the suck Cockney accent which the English themsleves hate their won kind.

Maybe accent is the problem and as more England are used you get more screwed accents like Sinkies. I am a English language hater preferred Chinese is lumber 1.

Song boh.

even shitskin can speak english better than most sinkie chinks,their pronounciation is perfect,their intonation is perfect,their accent is perfect,their sentence structuring is perfect international school standard.sinkie chink british colony for 150 years and 30 years of ang moh education still cant make it.even when u listen to our so call ministers and mps speak,can chio ka peng.

that's because the chinese language is so hard to learn, relies on sheer memory and rote learning, is extremely archaic and unsystematic, is inefficient and irrelevant to modern information technology, and consumes so much brain energy, memory and cranial power that the chinese learner's creative pursuit and inventive mentality are heavily compromised. that wasted energy, power and memory could have been used for more modern and civilized uses instead of instinctive reversion to clearing throats during meals, spitting in the streets, peeing at bus stations, and shitting in plain view at transit facilities. :rolleyes:

hey if you find Chinese hard to learn say so, don't blame yourself, LKY is to blame Sinkies for his banana-ism sucking angmoh dicks to this fancy.

China is no. 1 economy in 30 years speaks more of the Chinese and their language to learn faster and more brain than the Westerners.

Angmoh economy has no sustainability, cut and paste and screwed up everyone. Properties prices will become unsustainable soon caused by angmoh style of banking system. Says who brick and mortars have values for investment?

that's because the chinese language is so hard to learn, relies on sheer memory and rote learning, is extremely archaic and unsystematic, is inefficient and irrelevant to modern information technology, and consumes so much brain energy, memory and cranial power that the chinese learner's creative pursuit and inventive mentality are heavily compromised. that wasted energy, power and memory could have been used for more modern and civilized uses instead of instinctive reversion to clearing throats during meals, spitting in the streets, peeing at bus stations, and shitting in plain view at transit facilities. :rolleyes:

You are a dog of msia chinese. How many times I must explain your own logic? And you are a traitor by your own admission. So traitor dog of msia chinese. You are not just a dog but the ultimate idiot dog. Jah shit is a traitor dog, traitor dog, traitor dog dog dog!!!!

Hello chinese dog who you want to serve today? Sri lankans, fijians, tamils?

yellowarse

A 2004 UC San Diego study published in showed that speaking tonal languages, e.g. Chinese, promotes perfect pitch in music.

Speaking Tonal Languages Promotes Perfect Pitch

November 9, 2004 |By Don Monroe

F687D9E8-CB24-4ED2-81EF2BA3AA1F2134_article.gif

A new study concludes that young musicians who speak Mandarin Chinese can learn to identify isolated musical notes much better than English speakers can. Fewer than one American in 10,000 has absolute pitch, which means they can identify or produce a note without reference to any other note. Also called perfect pitch, this skill requires distinguishing sounds that differ by just 6 percent in frequency.

Five years ago researchers led by Diana Deutsch of the University of California at San Diego found that native speakers of Mandarin Chinese and Vietnamese frequently match this level of precision during ordinary speech. In these so-called tonal languages, changing pitch can completely alter the meaning of words. For example, the Mandarin word "ma" means "mother" when the vowel is a constant high pitch, but means "hemp" when pronounced with a rising pitch. Until now, it was not known whether this precision in linguistic pitch transferred to musical tones.

To address this question, Deutsch and her colleagues compared 115 advanced music students from Rochester, New York, with 88 students from Beijing. In results to be presented at the meeting of the Acoustical Society of America in San Diego on November 17, the scientists found that the Mandarin speakers were much more likely to have absolute pitch than were English speakers who had started musical training at the same age. For example, 60 percent of Beijing students who had begun studying music between the ages of four and five years old passed a test for absolute pitch, whereas only 14 percent of the American students did. In both groups, students who started their musical instruction later were less likely to have absolute pitch, and none of the Rochester students that began training after their eighth birthday had the ability.

Deutsch suggests that for students who speak a tonal language, acquiring absolute pitch is like learning a second language, which becomes much more difficult after a ¿critical period¿ of development. For students who speak a nontonal language such as English, however, absolute pitch is more like a first language, for which the critical period occurs at a much younger age. One limitation of the study was that all of the Mandarin speakers from the Chinese institute were also ethnically Chinese, so genetic differences could explain some of the effect.

ang moh people performing at a chinese speaking competition,the chinkification is so perfect its almost spooky,its almost like a ventriquolist manipuating a white doll and making the sounds of a china man.

[video=youtube;fgpDmNCiv98]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgpDmNCiv98[/video]

if theres a competition starring chinese or asian people speaking english,they would have to limit the competion to 5 phrases......

1. FYAKKKKKKKK YOU!!!!!
2.I KEELLLLLLLLLLLLL YOU!!!!!!!!!
3.YOU SHHHHHHHHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!
4.SHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!
5.NOOOO PORBLEMO!!!!!!

It's just one video of a few ang mohs speaking mandarin. Try holding a similar program inviting chinese people in it. No way that would fly. Chinese people have been speaking english for a long time. What a stupid angle you came up with and still refuse to admit it.

A 2004 UC San Diego study published in showed that speaking tonal languages, e.g. Chinese, promotes perfect pitch in music.

Speaking Tonal Languages Promotes Perfect Pitch

November 9, 2004 |By Don Monroe

F687D9E8-CB24-4ED2-81EF2BA3AA1F2134_article.gif

A new study concludes that young musicians who speak Mandarin Chinese can learn to identify isolated musical notes much better than English speakers can. Fewer than one American in 10,000 has absolute pitch, which means they can identify or produce a note without reference to any other note. Also called perfect pitch, this skill requires distinguishing sounds that differ by just 6 percent in frequency.

Five years ago researchers led by Diana Deutsch of the University of California at San Diego found that native speakers of Mandarin Chinese and Vietnamese frequently match this level of precision during ordinary speech. In these so-called tonal languages, changing pitch can completely alter the meaning of words. For example, the Mandarin word "ma" means "mother" when the vowel is a constant high pitch, but means "hemp" when pronounced with a rising pitch. Until now, it was not known whether this precision in linguistic pitch transferred to musical tones.

To address this question, Deutsch and her colleagues compared 115 advanced music students from Rochester, New York, with 88 students from Beijing. In results to be presented at the meeting of the Acoustical Society of America in San Diego on November 17, the scientists found that the Mandarin speakers were much more likely to have absolute pitch than were English speakers who had started musical training at the same age. For example, 60 percent of Beijing students who had begun studying music between the ages of four and five years old passed a test for absolute pitch, whereas only 14 percent of the American students did. In both groups, students who started their musical instruction later were less likely to have absolute pitch, and none of the Rochester students that began training after their eighth birthday had the ability.

Deutsch suggests that for students who speak a tonal language, acquiring absolute pitch is like learning a second language, which becomes much more difficult after a ¿critical period¿ of development. For students who speak a nontonal language such as English, however, absolute pitch is more like a first language, for which the critical period occurs at a much younger age. One limitation of the study was that all of the Mandarin speakers from the Chinese institute were also ethnically Chinese, so genetic differences could explain some of the effect.

Oh shit now the bashers are coming in to bash you for this. Perhaps they will be going oh are there any great composers of chinese heritage all because they don't know of any totally ignoring what this article was talking about.

Also this. One limitation of the study was that all of the Mandarin speakers from the Chinese institute were also ethnically Chinese, so genetic differences could explain some of the effect.

What this means is that if any race learnt to speak mandarin from a young age like these chinese kids this doesn't mean he could have perfect pitch because it might be due to genetics.

greenie

who says ang moh cannot speak mandarin?some of them can even speak beijing standard mandarin fluently.better than sinkie japalang choppy broken "chinese" interspersed with english and hokkien and singlish vocabulary and whatnot.and most sinkies chinese vocabulary is pathetic,if u ask the average sinkie to read a difficult chinese history textbook,or a science or biology textbook in mandarin they would probably be stumbling and fumbling over the words.

more proof that ang moh can speak asian languages well.theres a yellowman by the name Lee in our country whose yellow on the outside but white on the inside and spoke english fluently,british lawyer english even and had a gift of the gab,but couldnt speak or understand a lick of mandarin but for some reason he fancied himself a chinaman and love wearing dragon robes. yet manage thru painstaking effort to taught himself how to speak mandarin at the age of 27.till today i have yet to hear jackie chan speak english like this man speaks chinese.

speaking too much mandarin makes u retarded.

Yeah who say so angmoh and indians cannot speak mandarin fluently? I saw on Taiwan TV shows before many angmohs in Taiwan can speak mandarin fluently, especially those who married Taiwanese spouse. And it is also not uncommon for Msian indians to be able to speak mandarin as a number of them studied in Msia Chinese schools.

They go all the way. Just to speak fluent English.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/2161780.stm

Last time I read somewhere before a report saying chinese language is more efficient than english language, it is more concise and to the point so an english report that is one page long can be conveyed in chinese in half a page. But english is still more concise than other languagues like russian, that will maybe take two pages long to cover the same thing. However, it is true the modern info technology terms are translated into chinese and not original chinese words. It is not true that chinese language is difficult to learn and relies on sheer memory, reading chinese books and newspapers will pick up the chinese language easily. Only learning chinese literature, poetry, etc will need rote learning.

Hello chinese dog who you want to serve today? Sri lankans, fijians, tamils?

You self admitted traitor is the dog serving other nationalities, especially msia chinese. You are a Singaporean dog very willing to be made use by foreigners to stir shit and racial hatred in Spore to the delight of foreigners. Traitor dog, traitor dog, traitor dog dog dog!!!!

Last time I read somewhere before a report saying chinese language is more efficient than english language, it is more concise and to the point so an english report that is one page long can be conveyed in chinese in half a page. But english is still more concise than other languagues like russian, that will maybe take two pages long to cover the same thing. However, it is true the modern info technology terms are translated into chinese and not original chinese words. It is not true that chinese language is difficult to learn and relies on sheer memory, reading chinese books and newspapers will pick up the chinese language easily. Only learning chinese literature, poetry, etc will need rote learning.

it's no wonder that when english is bastardized by chinese into singlish, what you hear when sinkies speak is truly efficient....only to singlish speakers. "oredy oredy", sinkie mom scowling at her kid to stay safe at the curb as cars passed by at the parking lot. what she actually meant was "i oredy told you not to play on road but you do not listen (car zipped by). see? i told you oredy."

God is fair. Those using tonal language, they talk less. For those that talk a lot, usually they end up having tongue cancer early in life.
So, most talk little but do a lot. That's why the Chinese, Vietnamese and similar people will inherit the earth.

Don't talk cock lah. Only licking cheebye too much can lead to throat cancer.

Asterix

it's no wonder that when english is bastardized by chinese into singlish, what you hear when sinkies speak is truly efficient....only to singlish speakers. "oredy oredy", sinkie mom scowling at her kid to stay safe at the curb as cars passed by at the parking lot. what she actually meant was "i oredy told you not to play on road but you do not listen (car zipped by). see? i told you oredy."

No lah, uncle. You only hear "oredy oredy" due to becoming hard of hearing i.e. deaf. Sinkie mom said that word louder than the rest to emphasise fact that it was not the first time that the child had been careless. Soon, your hearing will deteriorate further and it will sound like "old lady, old lady" before it finally becomes "....................." :biggrin:

Oredi told you to faster see doctor :rolleyes:

No lah, uncle. You only hear "oredy oredy" due to becoming hard of hearing i.e. deaf. Sinkie mom said that word louder than the rest to emphasise fact that it was not the first time that the child had been careless. Soon, your hearing will deteriorate further and it will sound like "old lady, old lady" before it finally becomes "....................." :biggrin:

the next sequence is "obladi oblada....." no worry. i can hear my chiobu neighbor moan and groan from my favorite shithole when she fiddles herself. :biggrin:

yellowarse

Also this. One limitation of the study was that all of the Mandarin speakers from the Chinese institute were also ethnically Chinese, so genetic differences could explain some of the effect.

More evidence, this time from a Toronto study involving Cantonese speakers, who're probably closer genetically to the Vietnamese than to northern Chinese.

Tonal Language Speakers Have an Advantage in Musical Learning, Pitch Training

Apr 3, 2013 12:57 AM By Ashik Siddique

A new study finds that speakers of tonal languages like Cantonese and Vietnamese not only perceive music notes more finely than speakers of "flat" languages like English, but that their brains also process some aspects of music as well as those of trained musicians- yetanother reason for monolingual Americans to feel inadequate.

Tonal languages, in which alternating pitch patterns change the meanings of words, are common throughout East Asia, sub-Saharan Africa, and among the native tongues of the Americas. Variations in tonal REGISTERS can sound musical, and are often difficult to grasp for native English speakers. While most commonly spoken Indo-European languages lack tonal variation, tonal languages like Vietnamese and Cantonese can convey meaning with as many as six different tones.

It's widely accepted that music and language abilities overlap in the brain, but like much about brain function, exactly how is still a mystery. Since pitch variations in tonal languages SHARE qualities with pitch variations in music, those similarities are a promising topic for research.

Previous studies suggested that native tonal language speakers SHARE certain learning patterns with trained musicians. Notably, tonal language speakers are far more likely to have perfect pitch- the ability to recognize the pitch of a musical note by ear.

Now, researchers at the Rotman Research Institute (RRI) in Toronto have found what they say is the strongest evidence yet that tonal language speakers may be more attuned to music. Furthermore, they suggest that tonal language speaking and musical learning are bi-directional skills- that is, having one ability might reinforce the other. Their study, supported by the GRAMMY Foundation, was published today in the journal PLOS ONE.

The study recruited 54 healthy 20-somethings from the Toronto area, who were screened into three groups: English-speaking instrumentalists with at least 10 years of training in Western classical music, English-speaking non-musicians, and non-musician Cantonese speakers who were raised in mainland China and learned English as a second language.

While participants wore headphones in a soundproof lab, they completed a variety of basic auditory and complex musical perception tests that measured their pitch memory, pitch processing speed, and ability to discriminate between complex musical tones and melodies. They also took cognitive tests that measured their working memory and general reasoning.

The results showed that trained musicians performed the best on basic auditory measures, but that Cantonese non-musicians matched them on the musical and cognitive tests and outperformed their English-speaking non-musician counterparts by 15 to 20 percent. The Cantonese participants' advantage did not seem to stem from bilingualism, which has proven cognitive advantages.

"For those who speak tonal languages, we believe their brain's auditory system is already enhanced to allow them to hear musical notes better and detect minute changes in pitch," said LEAD investigator Gavin Bidelman in a statement. "If you pick up an instrument, you may be able to acquire the skills faster to play that instrument because your brain has already built up these auditory perceptual advantages through speaking your native tonal language."

Don't panic yet, American tiger mothers- a head start doesn't automatically make a world-class musician. Chinese instrumentalists may have rapidly mastered the Western classical music canon, but that body of work was developed by-and-large by musicians who spoke atonal languages.

The researchers also believe that some tonal languages might give speakers more musical advantages than others. Cantonese, for example, might be particularly attuned to music because its pitch patterns resemble musical pitch patterns. Mandarin, on the other hand, may not be as helpful because it has more "curvilinear" tones, with pitch patterns that vary in time differently than how pitch occurs in music.

[video=youtube;IfCqUx-c-ig]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfCqUx-c-ig[/video]

Bidelman is excited by the idea that music and language are mutually reinforcing areas of human cognition:

"If music and language are so intimately coupled, we may be able to design rehabilitation treatments that use musical training to help individuals improve speech-related functions that have been impaired due to age, aphasia or stroke," he said in the statement. He suggested that the reverse could be true as well- speech training programs for tonal language speakers might improve their musical listening skills.

The complete study is available for free on PLOS ONE.