• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Study reveals Chinese speakers use more of their brain than English speakers

zeroo

study has found that people who speak tonal languages such as Mandarin or Cantonese use both hemispheres of their brain rather than just the left hemisphere, which researchers have long emphasized as being the primary processing center for languages.
Quartz sorts out the report, which was recently published in the in the Proceedings for the National Academy of Science:
After analyzing brain imaging data from Mandarin and English speakers listening their respective languages, researchers from Peking University and other universities found that native Mandarin speakers and native English speakers both showed evidence of activity in the brain’s left hemisphere. But Mandarin speakers also saw activation in the right hemisphere, specifically in a region important for processing music, via pitch and tone, that has long been seen as largely unrelated to language comprehension.

Since at least the 1950s, researchers in the field of neurolinguistics have been questioning how languages influence perception, and physiological behavior. This latest study supports one emerging theory, connectionism, that maintains that some languages require interactions across the entire brain. The findings are important for better protecting language-related regions during brain surgery as well as understanding the “constitution of knowledge of language, as well as how it is acquired,” according to the study.

languages-brain.jpg

It can be reasonably concluded then that all native speakers of tonal languages, including Vietnamese, Cantonese and Thai, use more of their brain than non-tonal language speakers, Gang Peng, a co-author of the study, told Quartz. Bonus: these speakers are more likely to have perfect pitch.

Contact the author of this article or email [email protected] with further questions, comments or tips.

its amazing how chinese speakers use more of their brains yet when they attempt to speak any other language other than mandarin or their asiatic language,they manage to make themselves look like utter fools.

the only people i know that are truly good at languages are the shitskins who can speak their native tongue,english and even mandarin fluently.iv yet to see a sinkie chinese that can do all three.

Use more, wear and tear also more. Best not to think so much and just put the cross beside the lightning. You can't go wrong with that.

God is fair. Those using tonal language, they talk less. For those that talk a lot, usually they end up having tongue cancer early in life.
So, most talk little but do a lot. That's why the Chinese, Vietnamese and similar people will inherit the earth.

its amazing how chinese speakers use more of their brains yet when they attempt to speak any other language other than mandarin or their asiatic language,they manage to make themselves look like utter fools.

the only people i know that are truly good at languages are the shitskins who can speak their native tongue,english and even mandarin fluently.iv yet to see a sinkie chinese that can do all three.

Fuck you la seriously fuck you. Try to see a non native speaker of Chinese or tonal languages like Ang MOHs speak Chinese fluently And shit skins can speak different languages fluently? ROFL they speak yyenglieesh for god'a sake and which shit skin can speak mandarin fluently?

even shitskin can speak english better than most sinkie chinks,their pronounciation is perfect,their intonation is perfect,their accent is perfect,their sentence structuring is perfect international school standard.sinkie chink british colony for 150 years and 30 years of ang moh education still cant make it.even when u listen to our so call ministers and mps speak,can chio ka peng.

You need to broaden your exposure.

Go listen to yourself do you even remember what you wrote earlier? You mentioned many Chinese ppl have problems speaking non tonal languages in which I retorted no way many Ang MOHs cannot speak tonal languages properly at all. Then you mentioned shit skins can speak all languages perfectly in which I rebuted you. Now in this post of yours you totally left out everything except that shit skins can speak English perfectly. Well not all only some no difference from Chinese.

Back to your original post where you mentioned if Chinese speak any other language or at least non tonal languages they sound like fools well Ang MOHs sound like fools when they speak Chinese so whats your point?

Go listen to yourself do you even remember what you wrote earlier? You mentioned many Chinese ppl have problems speaking non tonal languages in which I retorted no way many Ang MOHs cannot speak tonal languages properly at all. Then you mentioned shit skins can speak all languages perfectly in which I rebuted you. Now in this post of yours you totally left out everything except that shit skins can speak English perfectly. Well not all only some no difference from Chinese.

Back to your original post where you mentioned if Chinese speak any other language or at least non tonal languages they sound like fools well Ang MOHs sound like fools when they speak Chinese so whats your point?

who says ang moh cannot speak mandarin?some of them can even speak beijing standard mandarin fluently.better than sinkie japalang choppy broken "chinese" interspersed with english and hokkien and singlish vocabulary and whatnot.and most sinkies chinese vocabulary is pathetic,if u ask the average sinkie to read a difficult chinese history textbook,or a science or biology textbook in mandarin they would probably be stumbling and fumbling over the words.

more proof that ang moh can speak asian languages well.theres a yellowman by the name Lee in our country whose yellow on the outside but white on the inside and spoke english fluently,british lawyer english even and had a gift of the gab,but couldnt speak or understand a lick of mandarin but for some reason he fancied himself a chinaman and love wearing dragon robes. yet manage thru painstaking effort to taught himself how to speak mandarin at the age of 27.till today i have yet to hear jackie chan speak english like this man speaks chinese.

speaking too much mandarin makes u retarded.

who says ang moh cannot speak mandarin?some of them can even speak beijing standard mandarin fluently.better than sinkie japalang choppy broken "chinese" interspersed with english and hokkien and singlish vocabulary and whatnot.and most sinkies chinese vocabulary is pathetic,if u ask the average sinkie to read a difficult chinese history textbook,or a science or biology textbook in mandarin they would probably be stumbling and fumbling over the words.

more proof that ang moh can speak asian languages well.theres a yellowman by the name Lee in our country whose yellow on the outside but white on the inside and spoke english fluently,british lawyer english even and had a gift of the gab,but couldnt speak or understand a lick of mandarin but for some reason he fancied himself a chinaman and love wearing dragon robes. yet manage thru painstaking effort to taught himself how to speak mandarin at the age of 27.till today i have yet to hear jackie chan speak english like this man speaks chinese.

speaking too much mandarin makes u retarded.

Yeah who say so angmoh and indians cannot speak mandarin fluently? I saw on Taiwan TV shows before many angmohs in Taiwan can speak mandarin fluently, especially those who married Taiwanese spouse. And it is also not uncommon for Msian indians to be able to speak mandarin as a number of them studied in Msia Chinese schools.

who says chinese cannot speak english fluently? In singapore itself there are so many. :rolleyes:

No wonder the chinks are such low achievers. They use up most the their limited brain power just talking.

The fact of the matter is a Chinese dog like yourself probably agrees with everything that frenchbriefs says so its no different addressing it to you

You traitor dog of msia chinese just go to hell. Traitor dog, traitor dog, traitor dog dog dog!!!!