• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kee Chiu: WE WILL ONLY GIVE A "PGP 2" IF THAT'S WHAT VOTERS WANT

[h=1]CHAN CHUN SING: WE WILL ONLY GIVE A "PGP 2" IF THAT'S WHAT VOTERS WANT[/h]
Post date:
27 Jan 2015 - 3:06pm

Social and Family Development Minister Chan Chun Sing explained that whether there will be another Pioneer Generation Package will depend on whether people continue to support it and want to keep honouring the elderly.

He said that he hopes that they can continue to provide it but it ultimately depends on the next generation.

"Will we have the means? Will society have the same values (as now) to want to honour those who contributed?" he asked.

He was answering a question related to the pioneer generation package at an Institute of policy studies dialogue.

At the same time, he also noted that we can’t make the pioneer generation package or other benefit schemes a ‘political promise’ as this may result in political parties “buying votes” with promises of more help.

He pointed at several countries around the world where democracy works as an auction of promises and political parties who offer the most popular package of benefits get voted in without regard for how they are going to be funding such promises.

Chan suggested that in order to avoid this, voters need to be enlightened and ask the tough questions to political parties.

Of course it is best for the PAP to keep saying things such as this as they advocate financial prudence and less social welfare than other opposition parties in Singapore.
By urging others not to fall for “populist” promises, they are pushing that their current approach is the best and they are brushing aside other models, painting them as a “waste of money”.
However, if voters feel that the current government is not doing enough to help the people and is favouring businesses too much, voters will still vote for change.
Do you think the PAP has the right balance or are they just spreading fear about “populist” policies which they are afraid may win more votes than their pro-business stance?

I am beginning to dislike this man...it started from indifference...it is now dislike...

xpo2015

I find Kee Chiu has some mental problem. Can anyone verify that has gone to see a shrink like LKY and Lao Goh?

ask him to stop skirting the question. pay our CPF back at 55 and fark off from the fake retirement benchmark.

For other country govts, assistance for elderly is something expected and continuous, For Spore govt, helping the elderly becomes extraordinary help and one time only.

Really nonsense to say it depends on voters, it should be something that is to be done by every govt and not something negotiable.

Satyr

Same words GCT used to describe estate upgrading.
PAP is brilliant. Use your own money to bribe you.

let's do a bit of recall....

what did pinky last time mention b4? "we are peoples' servants...."

now, what does kee chiu says: WE WILL ONLY GIVE A "PGP 2"

what does he mean "give"? aren't those "give" belongs to the money of the people?

verdict: confirmed HYPOCRISY!

next action: VOTE THEM OUT!!

Social and Family Development Minister Chan Chun Sing explained that whether there will be another Pioneer Generation Package will depend on whether people continue to support it and want to keep honouring the elderly.

"If you don't support the PAP we will withhold from your elderly folks a sum of bribery money. If that happens, you will be the unfilial ones."

The shaming language and guilt-tripping arrived extra early this time. :wink:

I am beginning to dislike this man...it started from indifference...it is now dislike...

Your indifference was caused by not paying attention to details. Chan Chun Sing is no less a scumbag than the others, don't be distracted by the affable clownish exterior. :wink:

rotiprata

meng,... dun like/like is not impt now.... got PG1... sure got PG2...3....4.....
PG2 = those who serve NS in the mid 70s + 13 yrs of in-camp.... take $ first ... no need to talk more :biggrin:

Your indifference was caused by not paying attention to details. Chan Chun Sing is no less a scumbag than the others, don't be distracted by the affable clownish exterior. :wink:

Affable clownish exterior?sorry I wasn't paying attention but from what activity iv seen so far this month,his all out attack on csj,his threats on the FTA and cepa and now this veiled accusation that sinkies might be anti pap and thus anti filial piety doesn't make him seem very affable or endearing to me.