• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Of Niches and Seng Kang West

Timerty

Re: Future residents of Fernvale Lea BTO start petition against columbarium plan

living near dead people will cause lots of ghost hauntings, I know this is true from NS. later home value will drop.

winners

Re: Funeral Parlour in Sengkang West? HDB Please Come Clean!

I have already said, if there is a FULL DISCLOSURE in a transparent and open manner, and people still buy it, then no problem lor. But this is NOT the case. HDB tries to hide material information under ULTRA fine prints, then that is unethical and despicable. Simple as that.

Goh Meng Seng
I still don't understand why you are so sore on this issue? Are you or 1 of your relatives is also the buyer of this BTO? And you have contradicted yourself above. The HDB did disclosed the information, albeit in smaller print. It's the buyers' onus to read carefully when making purchases of these large ticket items. Do you want the HDB to provide each buyer with a magnifying glass as well?

I'm sure you'll react in the same manner as me above if you were in the PAP camp, which unfortunately, you are not. It's only a columbarium, not a funeral parlor nor crematorium. Nobody visits a columbarium every day, except only on dedicated occasions.

Re: Future residents of Fernvale Lea BTO start petition against columbarium plan

If petitions got use in SG, pigs can fly..

Yes waste of fucking time....
Petition via the ballot box next GE.....
Meantime civil disobedience until next GE

winners

Such sinkies will vote for PAP anyway. Their loyalties are easily bought, and they don't buy any of the morality crap the opposition likes to preach about, especially the lousy SDP party. These guys will still remain PAP strong supporters.
1 thing's for sure, if the WP will remain silent and not forthcoming with their accountability of their TC's fund management, there's going to be some repercussions.

ever since wp paid $800 to stfu papzi's mouth there has been no more complain, this shows that papzi can be easily bought. what repercussions r we talking... nothing happened. no shit happened. all fakes. just molehill anthill and ann siang hill.

My dad's ashes were scattered inside his favorite shopping centre. We undertook the process very discreetly. :smile:

i hope you burnt a camera for him to upskirts the young girls taking escalators

I thought you should have brought up a more important point than to parrot what I have said.

Unlike GMS, he would just pick a controversial issue and as they say 'play to the gallery' but insidiously try to slip in what I would also be questioning, you should have been more 'alert' as to the issue at hand.

A private columbarium is actually a revenue generating instrument.
Now the question begs as to who and why the permission was granted to this org to build it for such a use besides their use for religious purpose?

The questions are , is there a influential person or persons who are connected to the authority or in simple words 'a crony' who has the same religious/business interest as those who run that org? Are there persons in that org that are so 'connected' in some way to the ruling authority? Link through business shares or what's not?

In simple words, in granting such a permit was there anyone who had a hand with approval having a conflict in interest?
You can already have ppl who pervert the course of justice like Mr plastic surgeon who was given a slap on his wrist and ppl questioning are people in the law society , medical councils etc having 'independent members' who look into complains and go on to address them fairly. And Kargarooism and what's not.

The place is going to the dogs, I tell you and the festering rot only will finally show when the structure collapse.

no slips. columbaria is needed n there is demand. HDB/ JTC/ Surbana/ Mapletree/ NTUC etc has no interest to build one. so land may be released to build one under private management. nothing unusual. a nos of carparks r leased out for pte firms to manage. same practise.

if it is viable. am if it was truly part of diversed plan, NTUC would hv join into the bandwagon too.

blackmondy

Look on the bright side.

During Ching-Ming, it's only walking distance to pay respect to your deceased beloved.

palden

Agree. With a hospital in a pipeline at the same place. Simply die transfer burn and keep. Maybe should implement buy 1 HDB allocate one space there.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Wait long long lah! Life Corporation is in the business of PREMIUM Funeral service and do you think those living in these HDB flats can afford such STATE OF THE ART columbarium?

Goh Meng Seng

Look on the bright side.

During Ching-Ming, it's only walking distance to pay respect to your deceased beloved.

Construction of controversial columbarium under way despite mp promising dialogue

[h=1]CONSTRUCTION OF CONTROVERSIAL COLUMBARIUM UNDER WAY DESPITE MP PROMISING DIALOGUE[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
2 Jan 2015 - 8:59pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The above is a photo of the site for the planned columbarium to be integrated into a Chinese temple at Fernvale, Sengkang West.

According to a resident who took the photo, construction work appears to be starting.

This is taking place even as the PAP MP Lam Pin Min says he is holding a dialogue with residents on the issue.

What is the point of the dialogue if the authorities have already decided to go ahead - regardless of residents' concerns and feedback on the lack of transparency of HDB and URA on the whole process?

Temasek Review
*Article first appeared on https://www.facebook.com/Temasek0Review/photos/a.181409655245691.55639.1...

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Background story:
Residents who bought BTO flats in Sengkang West were shocked to recently find that a Columbarium would be included in the development where the original BTO brochure said a Chinese Temple would be built.
Many residents cried foul as they did not want to stay near a resting place for the dead and they were also afraid that it would affect their housing prices and resale potential.
For many, they were not made aware of the plan and admission that a Columbarium may be included in the area was only written in the super fine print and notes not made obvious in the brochure.
Following the outcry, PAP MP Lam Pin Min who is the MP for the affected area, explained that he would be holding a dialogue with residents and address their concerns.
However, if the picture above really shows the start of a construction site, it seems that any dialogue would just be a persuasion session.

garlic

Re: Construction of controversial columbarium under way despite mp promising dialogue

They doing groundwork to prevent rat infestation lah.... Dialouge (election) first...

Re: Construction of controversial columbarium under way despite mp promising dialogue

I don't see what the problem is. The presence of a columbarium right next door means the residents there can be close to their deceased loved ones and don't have to travel far to pay their respects.

winners

These Sinkies are just being self-centered and damned bloody selfish. Even if they were to build an Old Folks Home there, they will also protest. On the other hand, if an MRT station were to be built instead, they'll be contented like fuck, simply because the valuation of their flats will go up tremendously when the MRT station is up and running. Their main concern is MONEY. All the other excuses are just a plain smokescreen. From this, you can clearly see the evil and greed behind the current day Sinkies.

That is why I also stay away from disgusting Sinkies nowadays. If they still want the best environment, then go and stay in Sentosa Cove lah. I just love to see the PAP continuously screwing the Sinkies day-in, day-out. It also shows that the PAP is not going to be threatened by the loss of votes at the next GE.

Unrepented

dialogue is to brain wash sinkies to suck it up, otherwise the lousy planning decision is still your fault.:smile:

Equalisation

Definitely a no-no especially if your house is facing any entrance of columbarium. Very very bad fengshui. No kidding.:o

Who did the resident of Sengkang vote for:confused:

This is becoming a common question. You get the gov't you voted for. So maybe next time you will think twice or thrice before voting for the PAP.

Equalisation

Who did the resident of Sengkang vote for:confused:

This is becoming a common question. You get the gov't you voted for. So maybe next time you will think twice or thrice before voting for the PAP.

Agree. It is just like caning you a few times before deciding why you are naughty ! Vote them out !!:oIo: