• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shortage of 10,000 guards as people shun low-paid sector

SgGoneWrong

To blackmore at post #20:

And what's wrong with a sinkie security guard earning 1.1k to jaga the interests of so many people? You think 1.1k is very big and you deserve to earn 10 times more not producing anything useful other than wayang better in your job?

Like you, these people have families to feed to. Their lives are as deserving as yours and so is their time.

Since you cited casino as an example; have you wonder the various tiers of security working at these places and the professionalism. They stand around physically but the support level behind the whole infrastructure is more massive than what you see. At the mid to high level ; I believe they are handsomely paid compare to the low level. The level of training and experience each had (from their former background) are different from the security guards you see in malls, estates and such. The risk assessment level is real

For general business, they do add value to their venture as a deterrence ; but businesses subcontract these services by engaging the various big boys where choices are limited. The quality of these cohorts tends to dilute with their sheer numbers over the years if anyone notice. Seriously; how many of them really know what they are doing or even the CPC to understand their own limits of power. I was ever told by an associate that engaging security services was a business requirement to him despite his low confidence of the providers. He had no option but to choice one.

There is a distinct difference in roles between a jaga, a security officer, a armed escort or protection personnel. A security officer in local context is like a cover all definition for this nature of work. In actual definition, it always refer to the lower strata of the food chain which WDA churns out.

You dunno lah. Heard of progressive wage and wage ladder? With the PAP, those condo and shopping mall security uncles can look forward to climbing the wage ladder for more lucrative roles. Where else in the world but singapore?

That is why the PAP is good for singapore.

sirus

You dunno lah. Heard of progressive wage and wage ladder? With the PAP, those condo and shopping mall security uncles can look forward to climbing the wage ladder for more lucrative roles. Where else in the world but singapore?

That is why the PAP is good for singapore.

Hey security uncle, don't say I didn't warn you hor. Don't eat your lunch in the open, otherwise I sack you hor.

$13.60 an hour for a 60-hr work week. How is this attractive for a university graduate or a mid-age ex-manager?

Garbage men in US make more money than that and the cost of living is lower than sinkapore!

Security guards are the Dalits of our society. We are taught that it is perfectly acceptable to be rude to them and to despise them. In fact, we are taught that God would be angry with us if we didn't openly disrespect them, just like how the upper castes are trained by culture and society to mercilessly bully the lower caste. So, it is not surprising that any Singaporean, with a shred of pride left, would refuse to be a security guard.

With the current pay structure and working environment, one is better off driving a taxi. Status wise same same. But more freedom and flexibility driving a cab.

xebay11

With the current pay structure and working environment, one is better off driving a taxi. Status wise same same. But more freedom and flexibility driving a cab.

Driving a cab is much more stressful, violent non-paying passengers, endless jams, road bullies, that's why many taxi drivers have heart attacks.

rushifa666

Being a cheapass boss is so easy nowadays. First you start early. Hire people 6 months before. Use shifty rates. Waste 6 months then bitch about it to everyone, mp, govt agencies. Then hire foreigners. Continue to bitch about how locals are fucked up how you should be allowed to employ even more foreigners. Certainly the other bastards will agree with you. Then the stink will become so big you can hire 90% foreign work force. Of course by then they probably would have planned how to steal your money , the foreign talents.