• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

10 things you might not know you could be punished for in Singapore

hokkien

10 things you might not know you could be punished for in Singapore
PUBLISHED ON NOV 21, 2014 2:21 PM 78.7K 379 5 3
PRINT
EMAIL

Under Singapore regulations, it is an offence to leave the engine of a motor vehicle running when it is stationary for reasons other than traffic conditions. -- PHOTO: ST FILE

BY JALELAH ABU BAKER

SINGAPORE - Warning letters were issued on Wednesday to 14 motorists who had left their vehicle engines idling while stationary in a three-hour enforcement exercise by the National Environment Agency (NEA) in Ang Mo Kio.

Under Environmental Protection and Management (Vehicular Emissions) regulations, it is an offence to leave the engine of a motor vehicle running when it is stationary for reasons other than traffic conditions. Those breaching the law can be fined up to $5,000.

hose breaching the law can be fined up to $5,000.
Here are 10 other offences you may not have known.

1. Annoying someone by behaving badly in public while drunk

According to section 510 of the Penal Code, whoever, in a state of intoxication, appears in any public place, or in any place which he cannot enter, and behaves "in such a manner as to cause annoyance to any person", may be jailed up to six months, fined up to $1,000, or both.

That's going to be many people on a Saturday night at Clarke Quay.

2. Annoying someone in a public place through an act, or by reciting or uttering a song with lyrics that are obscene

According to Section 294 of the Penal Code, this carries up to three months in jail, a fine, or both.

Now you know what to do if someone propositions you with a lewd song

3. Sale, distribution, rental of all things "obscene", including paintings, books, figures

According to Section 292 of the Penal Code, the penalty is up to three months in jail, a fine, or both.

What is considered obscene?

According to the Singapore Statutes, the word "obscene", is anything that tends to "deprave and corrupt persons" who are likely to see or read the materials.

You might want to think twice about selling that old sex toy on Carousell then.

4. Purposely obstructing a person, so as to prevent him from proceeding in any direction that he is allowed to walk in

According to Section 341 of the Penal Code, this carries a jail term of up to a month, a fine of up to $1,500, or both.

5. Using false weight or measure

According to Section 265 of the Penal Code, whoever fraudulently uses any false weight or false measure of length or capacity, or fraudulently uses any weight or any measure of length or capacity as a different weight or measure from what it is, may be sentenced to up to a year in jail, a fine, or both.

Hopefully, the vendors at the wet markets know this.

Offences under the Miscellaneous Offences (Public Order and Nuisance) Act

6. Your dog injuring a person

Any owner of a dog which causes injury to any person may rack up a fine of up to $5,000.

A leash might be cheaper than $5,000.

7. Bathing or washing yourself in on a public road, in a public tank, reservoir, or any water body

This will fetch a maximum fine of $1,000

Taking a shower at a swimming pool toilet may cost less.

8. Flying a kite that obstructs traffic on a public road

Anyone who flies any kite, or plays at any game, or does any act which obstructs or interferes with the traffic in any public road, or the use of the wires of any telephone may have to pay a fine of up to $5,000.

West Coast Park and Marina Barrage are good alternatives if you really would like to fly a kite.

9. Annoying someone by making noise in any way, including by an instrument

Any person who makes any noise " to cause or be likely to cause annoyance or inconvenience to the occupier of any premises in the vicinity" may be fined up to $1,000.

Does your neighbour's bad karaoke singing at 3am count?

10. Taking alcohol into a public hospital

Anyone who takes or tries to take without "due permission" into any public hospital any intoxicating liquor, drug or preparation may be jailed up to two months, fined up to $1,000, or both.

It is probably not the cure, no matter how convinced you are.

[email protected]

Source: Singapore Statutes Online

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...-could-be-punished-singa#sthash.bTDeNVZ8.dpuf

5. Using false weight or measure

According to Section 265 of the Penal Code, whoever fraudulently uses any false weight or false measure of length or capacity, or fraudulently uses any weight or any measure of length or capacity as a different weight or measure from what it is, may be sentenced to up to a year in jail, a fine, or both.

this one confirm i committed......i always give false length by telling a girl i'm only 3 inches long so she not so alarmed but then when actual fact when humping her, i am actually 10 inches long when not so erect......depending on my mood.......

JoverChew

KNN, you know wtf is the meaning of 'forcing' or not? Protect your chee buy head lah, fucking shit-stirrer. :oIo:

Crass piece of shit like you should just fuck off from this forum. Everyday talk big. In real life probably an ah beng with an ugly pokey face :oIo:

Anything oso better than you who use a criminal nick who run foul of the law and hv to close shop.....but most likely in real life, you are much worse than that.......:oIo::kma:

JoverChew

Anything oso better than you who use a criminal nick who run foul of the law and hv to close shop.....but most likely in real life, you are much worse than that.......:oIo::kma:

Obviously u are fucktard to even have thought processes like this...confirm you will kena bad luck and lose lots of money.

So far i'm doing velli fine leh..........but can't speak for you with a fuckup bastardized criminal nick who has so much bad luck hv to close shop and run road and use wife to defend your backside........wat a dumbass useless piece of smelly shit......

:oIo::kma:

JoverChew

So far i'm doing velli fine leh..........but can't speak for you with a fuckup bastardized criminal nick who has so much bad luck hv to close shop and run road and use wife to defend your backside........wat a dumbass useless piece of smelly shit......

Is it? You may just kena a heart attack and die lor.

Are you blind, deaf and dumb? You no know how to read izzit? I'm protected by guardian angels.......
Only i curse you, but you can never curse me........get a life........get real, fucktard........

THese laws make alot of sense to discourage public nuisance, prevent anti social behaviour and making the environment more pleasant to live in. However the poodles and pap have failed to enforce the law. Poodles now come up with rubbish like maximum restraint so as not to do anything and sit there and wait for the monthly pay cheque.

Pappies have too much free time, so they're micromanaging every little detail on this island to make themselves look busy and important. :rolleyes:

Case in point:

20459726.JPG

3. Sale, distribution, rental of all things "obscene", including paintings, books, figures

According to Section 292 of the Penal Code, the penalty is up to three months in jail, a fine, or both.

What is considered obscene?

According to the Singapore Statutes, the word "obscene", is anything that tends to "deprave and corrupt persons" who are likely to see or read the materials.

You might want to think twice about selling that old sex toy on Carousell then.

HardTruths1401.jpg

Obscene, you were saying? :rolleyes:

Shingz

Purpsoely forming a long line and keep crossing the road on a zebra x'ing whereby causing Traffic Jam.