• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie who is living his dream ...

Pinkieslut

Singaporean, 58, has been living illegally in the US for 28 years

BY MELISSA SIM, US CORRESPONDENT IN WASHINGTON
He is Singaporean, but for 28 years he has lived illegally in the United States with no social security or bank account, and with a library card as his only photo identification.

Mr T, 58, who spoke with The Straits Times but would not give his full name, is skirting the law as an undocumented immigrant.

He is one of the estimated 11 million in the same category, many from countries such as Mexico, El Salvador and the Philippines. Some found their way in without proper documentation, others stayed beyond the date they were required to leave.

This week, all eyes are on US President Barack Obama. He is expected to act on immigration reform, which he has long said should include a pathway to citizenship for undocumented immigrants who have lived and worked here for years.

Mr T is one such case. He quit school after Secondary 3 and came to the US in 1986 after losing his job as a senior telecom operator, transcribing voice messages into text.

"A friend told me to come to the US and get a job, but the situation wasn't what he said it would be," says Mr T, who currently works as a home care assistant for the elderly.

Dressed in a purple singlet and checked bermudas - bought on sale because he cannot afford to splurge - he says: "The first couple of years were very difficult, very tough... My first job was as a janitor in an office working for US$4 an hour."

After six months, his tourist visa expired, but he stayed on. "I liked it here," says the bachelor. "I just wanted to stay."

He has no bank account in his name so he often deals in cash. His passport expired after three years and he did not obtain a new one until this year.

He says employers never ask for official documentation so he was able to get by, but he picks the places he works in carefully.

"I never work in Asian restaurants because the officers come in more often...If a restaurant has Mexican busboys, I rather not work there."

He adds: "You have to be smart if you want to survive."

When immigration officers do come knocking, he ducks out. "I'll tell the manager I'm going for a smoke break and won't come back for an hour," he says.

Or, he adds, he'll "make friends" and chat with the officers casually to avoid suspicion.

Over the years, Mr T has taken all manner of odd jobs.

"I've worked at Macy's (department store), as an administrative assistant, personal secretary, restaurant manager, bus boy, landscaper, anything!" he says.

"I don't care about getting dirty."

He changes jobs every two to six months and has stayed with friends in a number of states, so that the law doesn't catch up with him.

"I like the change, like to see new things and meet new people," he says.

When his mother died five years ago, he could not return to Singapore as he feared he would be unable to re-enter the US.

He hopes to become a US resident but his priority for now is to avoid the law and continue living in the US.

He says: "It is frustrating waiting to be a resident but I try not to think about it, if not I will get old fast."

Shrugging off the hardships of the past 28 years, he says: "I consider this my home."

[email protected]

what are we waiting for ???!!!

eh................28 years ago, USA still good................now different liao...........plus Sinkies' balls have shrunk even more hor.............

songsongjurong

now PAP will seek way to denied him pioneer package,healthcare should he return.
no CPF, owing Medisave, become destitute. heck, might do jail time. all monies made from chanGI goes into Cpf medisave account first.

now PAP will seek way to denied him pioneer package,healthcare should he return.
no CPF, owing Medisave, become destitute. heck, might do jail time. all monies made from chanGI goes into Cpf medisave account first.

the pap gov is kind enough to renew his sg passport. he is enjoying the benefits and privilege of being a sinkie citizen.

At least he did better than Alex Tan who came back just after a few months in NZ. Alex cant even get a Mcdonalds job in NZ with his degree.

This Sec 3 is a survivor. I wish him all the best.

Fuck he's living the dream....I almost considered becoming a illegal when my Australian visa expired but nah didn't want to risk it with so little money,but if I had 50k or 100k I would surely stay there and try to find a job.

This is what I'm talking about.sinkies are willing to stay in USA or Australia even as a fugitive for 20 years,ang moh truly the bestest.

Equalisation

This is what I'm talking about.sinkies are willing to stay in USA or Australia even as a fugitive for 20 years,ang moh truly the bestest.

Not very surprising.

Few years back, I was at Los Angeles's Hollywood Boulevard. I was approached by an Eurasian around mid fifties to join a tour and we had a conversation. He was actually from Singapore and migrated to LA just to escape NS when he was in his teens. He said there are many of them there in LA, some working as chefs and the casinos in Vegas.:o

gingerlyn

Not very surprising.

Few years back, I was at Los Angeles's Hollywood Boulevard. I was approached by an Eurasian around mid fifties to join a tour and we had a conversation. He was actually from Singapore and migrated to LA just to escape NS when he was in his teens. He said there are many of them there in LA, some working as chefs and the casinos in Vegas.:o

this is PAP long term intention, to chase sinkie out and replaced with ah tiongs.

gingerlyn

The PAP started it off with Malaysians but realised the Malaysians were useless pricks and corrupted. So now they try with tiongs.

useless pigs and I also think that ex malaysians (who are now singaporeans) also started in big numbers to vote out PAP

Not very surprising.

I met one in Australia too,said he left Singapore 20 plus years ago and never been back.....to escape his ns liabilities I suppose,but I dunno how he manage to stay illegally in aussie .said he worked at the hospital as a nurse,make about 2k a month,Aussies are stingy with the hours,don't want to give u work.

not always.....one of my cousins ran to US, 30+ years liao...I think SS issues....didn't even dare to come back for his dad's funeral....

what SS?the only SS in singapore now is the PAP.people with problems with SS usually end up in malaysia or thailand or some asian shit hole.those who go to ang moh countries are there to uplift themselves and become a americanised de sinkified human being with balls.

sochi2014

Angmo countries still lumber ONE!

Because wealth doesn't really buy happiness!

Living a fulfilling life is much more happier!

MAI TU LEOW!! GO FOR YOUR DREAMS!!