• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Disquiet of WP AHPeTC's Incompetency?

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
That may have been a factor in the good old days but it is hardly important anymore. World trade dances to a different tune in the 21st century eg a huge volume goes by air so a deep harbor means very little.

You siao arh. Sea trade still accounts for majority for cargo movements in the world. Air will never replace sea because of costs

It doesn't replace sea cargo at the moment but costs are falling rapidly and in 50 years time, who knows what the ratio will be.

raw material, heavy bulk items and autos are dependent on ocean cargo delivery. however, for autos, which provide the highest value and returns in terms of ocean cargo, that number is shrinking as more auto manufacturers are building plants in market countries due to size, volume and sheer economics. plus, apl which was acquired by nol, has less to ship these days as the u.s. have pulled out their massive military presence in iraq and soon in afghanistan.

Sea cargo isn't going to go away. However, from the early 90s onwards while I was still in manufacturing, I already noticed the trend of shipping relatively large pieces of high value capital equipment by air rather than by sea.

The opportunity cost of having a $500,000 precision drilling machine sitting in container ship for 6 weeks rather than actually producing finished product outweighed the high air freight costs so they all arrived to by air and were put to work within days of arrival.

In a world where everybody wants to latest stuff NOW, lead times mean the difference between huge profits and out of date inventory that has to be written off.

Haha!!! posts in this page has nothing to do with title of this thread.
Shocking

Because TS didn't define what kind of incompetences we should be looking at specifically and what are the outcomes of the discussion :p:p:p

People always talk about core competencies, but we should also have a list of core incompetencies, especially for public servants at ministarial level. :p

Because TS didn't define what kind of incompetences we should be looking at specifically and what are the outcomes of the discussion :p:p:p

People always talk about core competencies, but we should also have a list of core incompetencies, especially for public servants at ministarial level. :p

Bwahahahahahahahaa... You forgot that a committee has to be set up first to look into the various KPIs that are to be factored in the core incompetencies :wink::wink::wink:

Should be KNPIs. N=Non. :wink:

Bytheway, the committee set up to look into the various KNPIs will be chaired by the subordinate of the ministar's subordinate. :biggrin:

Bwahahahahahahahaa... You forgot that a committee has to be set up first to look into the various KPIs that are to be factored in the core incompetencies :wink::wink::wink:

You never notice how they choose the chair of previous committees meh?

It's neither anyhowly nor the subordinate of the ministar. The former would be too random and the latter too obvious. :biggrin:

Oh... Not anyhowly choose one ah?

Reasons why grants were slashed after WP won Aljunied

Huge uproar over PM Lee’s comments

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/sin...grading-pay-less-tax-20110405-231901-526.html

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s open admission that PAP wards are favoured for HDB upgrading exercises has touched a raw nerve among netizens.

His admission came as a reply to a university student living in the Hougang Single-Member Constituency (SMC) ward who asked if he could pay less tax since the opposition-held ward does not enjoy upgrading programmes.

Since this story was first posted, reaction has been swift with over 1,500 Facebook shares and 150 comments. The majority were highly critical of PM Lee’s stand.

The highest-rated comment came from Yahoo! user Chia, who posted, “Upgrading is not delivered solely based on policies. It is driven by money from the reserves. The money comes from the people and not from PAP.”

He added that, “It (upgrading) is a national building programme. A nation does not belong to any party but the people.”

Another Yahoo! user, Davido, said, “I can’t believe the PM said that, my only respect left for him is that he is candid enough to admit not all wards are treated equally.”

User VKH was also appalled at the PM’s comments.

He wrote, “I thought that as PM, he was there to represent ALL the people, without favour or preference. He is not the PM of just those he voted for, but for each and every Singapore citizen, including those who did not vote for him or his party… How can the PM say that if you vote for PAP, you get nice chocolate cake and coffee, but if you vote for other party you only get water and biscuit?”

The furious reaction comes a day after fourth-year engineering student Seah Yin Hwa asked PM Lee why residents living in Hougang SMC are penalised for picking “a ‘Teochew nang’ (dialect for Teochew person) who doesn’t wear a white uniform”

When asked by PM Lee on how he was penalised, the 25-year-old Seah said, “When it comes to upgrading, what is being told to us is that we don’t have the funds to actually go ahead with lift upgrading, as well as shelters to the bus stops. When I look across the road to Aljunied GRC, they have everything, ” reported The Straits Times.

Paraphrasing the question posed, PM Lee said that what Mr Seah meant is why opposition wards are not treated at least as good, or maybe even better than the PAP wards.

PM Lee’s reply was, “The answer is that there has to be a distinction. Because the PAP wards supported the Government and the policies which delivered these good things.”

He said that while basic goods such roads, transportation, housing, healthcare and defence apply to Singaporeans, the extras — which come down to the upgrading programmes — is a national programme.

“Between the people who voted and supported the programme and the government, and the people who didn’t, I think if we went and put yours before the PAP constituencies, it would be an injustice,” PM Lee told the 1,200 students who were attending a Ministerial Forum organised by the National University of Singapore (NUS) Students’ Political Association.

In response to PM Lee, Seah cheekily asked if he could pay less tax and maybe “take one or two years off my NS?”, which drew laughter and applause from the audience.

But PM Lee said that this is not possible because the SAF, defence, taxes and all the facilities which have been provided, are enjoyed by every Singaporean.

Rounding off his reply, PM Lee said, “But you can do something about it, you know. You don’t have to keep voting for people not in white-on-white.”

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/11/20/reason-why-grants-were-slashed-after-wp-won-aljunied/

sochi2014

Re: Reasons why grants were slashed after WP won Aljunied

Benefits given should never have partisan objectives or political purposes!

This is unfair to all tax payers living in opposition wards! This kind of stuffs gets strike of lightning from heaven! Or cancer! Leemember?

soIsee

Whether grants are slashed or not for whatever upgrading works is another matter which won't drive the 2 oppo TCs into desperation.

The main cause for the your wayang party downfall is they 'allow' those in their wards to own S&C fees. Ending up with many following suit and never paid up. You are just running 2 out of the manyTCs and still the oppo can end up this way.

No way these buggers can ever even run their own household let alone running TCs.

spotter542

GE 2016 is about 1 ½ years away , do the right thing for yourself , your family and your next generation :wink: