• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who is GMS?

JoverChew

Only people who lack substance in anything they put up, will resort to vulgarity and irrelevant flaming and trolling.

That is the best you guys can put up? Hmm... seems that the quality has dropped substantially for ....

Goh Meng Seng

Oh is it? How ungrateful to Leongsam who gave you a free Infp...
By the way, if you think standard is so bad, what are u doing here???

fuck-off.jpg

where was he at tiananmen square?
where was he at occupy central?
oh,,,,, he was not a HKie n in HK? ok

where was he at Roy's n HHH march?
where was he when TJS SFP walkabouts?,,,,,

Hama's capt goh returned from Syria okie. Don't pray pray.

CloneHunter

Lau Goh, long time no see since Hwa Chong and River Valley days leh...remember the long hair gal you were interested but she not interested in you? hahaha....still got contact her boh?

SgParent

Only people who lack substance in anything they put up, will resort to vulgarity and irrelevant flaming and trolling.

That is the best you guys can put up? Hmm... seems that the quality has dropped substantially for ....

Goh Meng Seng
you expect people to use gold bricks, diamond rings to throw and chase away a rabid dog?

Blazars

GMS, I applauded you for your courage and beliefs in our local political scenes. But why do you need to pick on WP only? The fact that you were a former member and only picking on WP shows you are just another sour grapes.

u know iv dabbled and read a few books written by politicians like the malay dilemma by Mahatir and i must say while that book was an exercise in intellectual orgasms and a pleasure to read......it is nothing like this wall of lunacy by political builder Goh Meng Seng.u can clearly see the types of intellectuals produced by Singapore education system especially HCJC and other "elitist" jcs.

"bothered by some strange fellows who are so "obsessed with me" with such intense hatred against me as if I have killed their whole family." lmao.

GMS is on the right path. ANyone with half a brain can see that. Stand above the noise and look at the big picture. What has been the political impact of the oppos parties on the landscape? Minimal to non. Even for well funded official party like WP with 7 MPs in PArliament, they have made no noise and have not fired the people's imagination. When was the last time they organized a protest at Hong Lim PArk? The other oppo parties are just static noise in the background.

The biggest impact have been made by non affiliated independent people like Roy, HHH, Catherine Lim, Tan Kin Lian, etc. More people read and discuss their blogs than do sign on to read the oppo websites. U can tell that the PAP is scared of these people. They will only sue people who they think can harm them. Hence the lawsuit against Roy. These bloggers comment on CPF, polulation squeeze, high cost of HDB flats, FTs taking jobs, etc. Their comments appeal and resonate with the voters. This is something that oppo parties have not been able to do. Not even under parliamentary privilege protection.

If any of these unaffiliated bloggers and commentators decide to run for a single constituency, they will garner a lot of votes. More importantly, they highlight the injustice and corruption of the PAP. These people combined will cost the PAP votes at the next election. You can count on it. Oppo parties will be the unfair beneficiaries of anti PAP sentiment sentiment generated by this crop of bloggers. People who read their blogs will vote for anybody but the PAP, and hence oppo parties will get votes they never worked to earn. That's fine. This was not possible even a decade ago, but with the internet and social networking, everyone can put out their well thought and researched opinions for an infinite audience to read. Remember, Roy was not sued for using false or erroneous facts and stats to put forth his CPF argument. rather he was sued for a slip of the tongue. Therefore, his facts and reasoning and arguments are sound. The PAP have not once sued him or accused him of fabricating lies about the CPF, and that tells u something about the power of reasonable argument.

I hope that more and more independents like GMS will come out and continue with their thought provoking blogs and websites. In addition, I hope they will form an informal alliance and share ideas and do joint rallies together like Roy and HHH. These people now are the conscience and voice of reason (not discord) for singapore. They are more influential than many oppo parties. This is good for singapore.

tanwahp

GMS is on the right path. ANyone with half a brain can see that. Stand above the noise and look at the big picture. What has been the political impact of the oppos parties on the landscape? Minimal to non. Even for well funded official party like WP with 7 MPs in PArliament, they have made no noise and have not fired the people's imagination. When was the last time they organized a protest at Hong Lim PArk? The other oppo parties are just static noise in the background.

The last people who thought this way were the Barisan Sosialis cohorts led by Dr Lee Siew Choh, and we can see where that landed Singapore up.

Years ago, when activism was new, it is often said not to dismiss the contributions of activists and recognize only the opposition, as activists claim to play a role alongside but different from the opposition.

Seems like these days, it is the other way around - activists dismiss the role of the opposition. Similarly, activists shouldn't dismiss the opposition, be it whatever absolute statements (what you're well known for) or motherhood statements that come to your minds like doing NOTHING, changed NOTHING, NEVER ONCE turned up for HL events etc etc.

Gotze

Yellowarse has been a traditional SDP supporter. I find that this group of people like to put down WP in order to indirectly bolster SDP.

On the topic of civil activism, niche interests are by definition the interests of only a small group of people. Why should any opposition party bother, unless the topic affects a wide segment of the population like for example the CPF? In any case, even if the topic is something like the CPF, the opposition must choose its battles wisely and be careful who it associates with. Roy and HHH by their own bungling made this very apparent.

The Malaysia activist scene is more vibrant and colourful, and staffed also with great people that are electable themselves. The same cannot be said for Singapore activist scene. Until local activism reaches the Bersih kind of credibility, I don't see why any opposition party should dip its toe in.

Gotze

Oppo parties will be the unfair beneficiaries of anti PAP sentiment sentiment generated by this crop of bloggers. People who read their blogs will vote for anybody but the PAP, and hence oppo parties will get votes they never worked to earn. That's fine.

This is politics. The PAP also gets votes it never earned, such as parents intimidating their children into voting PAP, or forbidding their kids to sign up with the opposition. In any case, the example of bloggers which you cite is not a good one. For one thing, I am really not sure how many minds they really have changed. They seem to be just preaching to the converted, not reaching out to the swing voters who hold the key.

Only people who pound the ground and shake hands in coffeeshops and Pasar Malams are reaching out to the middle ground. They are the ones who make PAP votes change into opposition votes. Bloggers only make oppo votes into strong oppo votes, so the marginal effect is considerably lesser.