• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

64,000 foreigners threw away their singapore pr since 2010

[h=1]64,000 FOREIGNERS THREW AWAY THEIR SINGAPORE PR SINCE 2010[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
1 Oct 2014 - 10:23pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The PAP government needs to urgently address its flawed immigration policy to avoid compounding issues in future.
The Singapore PR appears to have the ‘lowest value’ in the world as an increasing number of foreigners have given up their PR status in recent years. ICA should have the figures.
In our latest population figures, the number of PRs has continued to reduce from 531,200 in 2013 to 527,700 in 2014 although new PRs number some 30,000. In 2010, there were 541,000 PRs (see population)
Although there were about 120,000 (30,000 annually) new PRs from 2010 to 2014, an estimated 90% of new citizens came from the current stock of PRs. The net increase in PRs has to take this into consideration.
2010 to 2014
PRs = 30,000 X 4 = 120,000
New citizens = 19,000 X 4 = 76,000
90% new citizens were PRs = 76,000 X 90% = 68,400
Net PR increase = 120,000 – 68,400 = 51,600
2010 PRs + net increase = 2014 PRs
541,000 + 51,600 = 592,600
In 2014, we should have about 592,600 PRs. (give or take some left with valid reasons or may have died)
But the actual figure is only 527,700 PRs.
The reduced number indicates 64,900 foreigners have renounced their PR status during the last 4 years, an average of about 16,000 annually.
If our policy of taking in an average of 30,000 PRs is to make up for the loss of 16,000 (more than 50%) foreigners who renounce their PR status annually, then our immigration policy is seriously flawed. When foreigners from third world countries renounce their first world PR as if a piece of tissue paper, something must be very wrong.
The National Population and Talent Division under the Prime Minister’s Office should review our flawed immigration policy.
PS
The NPTD has been silent on my queries and it has refused to disclose any data to dispute my estimates despite my feedback to the PMO. link I believe the figures are an embarrassment confirming our failed immigration policy.
In March this year, past data had confirmed an average of about 10,000 foreigners had renounced their PR status since 2000. (data also not disputed by government) The number has been increasing at a higher rate in recent years.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

PRs are given a number of privileges similar to citizens. But about 3% of PRs leave Singapore for good annually compared to only 0.04% of Singaporeans renounce their citizenship. There are stark differences between PRs and citizens but we are grouped under one category as “residents”. The government gives out PRs too freely because it wants to accord certain privileges to foreign workers such as the purchase of public housing, priority in education, etc. Without such privileges, Singapore’s high cost of living may be too prohibitive.
Phillip Ang
*The writer blogs at http://likedatosocanmeh.wordpress.com/

That's a very small percentage. It shows how desirable Singapore PR is an what a good job the PAP government is doing to make Singapore one of the best places on earth.

Kudos to LHL and his team for making it happen.

That's a very small percentage. It shows how desirable Singapore PR is an what a good job the PAP government is doing to make Singapore one of the best places on earth.

Hmmm...giving away/up something that is desireable?

sochi2014

Foreigners get pr you complain?

Foreigner give up their pr you also complain?

And not only that you use the word throw away!!

Why so dramatic?

How many give up on NZ PR?

blissquek

Hmmm...giving away/up something that is desireable?

Obvious reason...they CASHED OUT their Hdb flats.

made a handsome profit and retire back to their home country to live like a lord...

HDB should come up with the figures of these 'flippers' and would be interesting to note the hundreds of millions they made.

Zero sum game ..these hundreds of million are then shouldered by the daft Singaporean who has to pay for the inflated value and hence add to the burden of being the world most expensive city.

blissquek

Obvious reason...they CASHED OUT their Hdb flats.

made a handsome profit and retire back to their home country to live like a lord...

HDB should come up with the figures of these 'flippers' and would be interesting to note the hundreds of millions they made.

Zero sum game ..these hundreds of million are then shouldered by the daft Singaporean who has to pay for the inflated value and hence add to the burden of being the world most expensive city.

Whose stupid idea was it to allow PR to buy Govt subsidise public housing...????

I think this is the only country that allows non-citizen to buy public housing...to the detriment of its citizens.

A Thai PR is more valuable than sinkie PR anytime.

Who wanna PR of a freaking small island without resources and tons of unnecessary bullshit rules to follow.

PAP don't care as long as these 64000 PR buys overpriced HDB flats from them, and sell them before they leave. They make money from that. and also lets not forget the cars that they buy and all the money that the PAP can make from them thru GLC owned taxis, MRTs, airline tickets, etc

xebay11

A Thai PR is more valuable than sinkie PR anytime.

Who wanna PR of a freaking small island without resources and tons of unnecessary bullshit rules to follow.

Thai PR dun feed you squat, SG PR is a ticket to allow you to steal jobs without confined by quota......golden goose.

zeebjii

Whose stupid idea was it to allow PR to buy Govt subsidise public housing...????

I think this is the only country that allows non-citizen to buy public housing...to the detriment of its citizens.

How else can them scums make property prices shoot up like a rocket? Shitizens suffer but the scums become super rich due to the many properties they own. I reckon even a small-time MP owns at least 3 properties. Ministers at least 10 or more. That's not counting superscale civil serpents and jaik leow bee army generals. Of course, this has go hand in hand with population growth. What's stopping them to aim for 10m?

Our public servants should be made to declare their assets like many first world countries.

Thai PR dun feed you squat, SG PR is a ticket to allow you to steal jobs without confined by quota......golden goose.

Depends on what you want in life. If you know Thai and are accustomised to Thai culture and way of life, you can stay there.

Many ang mohs a.k.a farangs have stayed in Thailand. They opened bars and eateries etc.

Then again, some people prefer to squeeze with hordes of FTs in a congested public transport system, have a regimented lifestyle in an urban jungle. Your life, your choice. :wink:

How else to win over the pro-establishment porlumpars and property flippers, who squeal with delight when their little pigeon hole appreciates in value? 'Asset enhancement' they call it.

This country is utterly sick. Seldom a day can you get by without hearing about property prices, transport fare prices, utilities fee prices, COE prices, 4D/Toto etc. Everybody is obsessed with money. We're a nation of psychopaths.