• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ten real reasons why your prime minister asks you not to study for a degree

The majority of Sinkees would have to consider employment as their main option. You can't have a country where the majority are entrepreneurs. Might be wrong, but isnt this the case for all countries?

thats why they have welfare and minimum wage in australia and new zealand....most ang mohs are losers but they dont want to hurt each others feelings.

The majority of Sinkees would have to consider employment as their main option. You can't have a country where the majority are entrepreneurs. Might be wrong, but isnt this the case for all countries?

Not everyone can start and grow companies but the first alternative to being an employee is not entrepreneurship it's simple self employment. It's very common in NZ. People set up sole proprietorships to cut grass, do landscaping, walk dogs, look after cats, house sit, restore antique furniture, clean windows, scrub paving tiles, water blast mouldy driveways, paint letterboxes.

McDonaldsKid

Not everyone can start and grow companies but the first alternative to being an employee is not entrepreneurship it's simple self employment. It's very common in NZ. People set up sole proprietorships to cut grass, do landscaping, walk dogs, look after cats, house sit, restore antique furniture, clean windows, scrub paving tiles, water blast mouldy driveways, paint letterboxes.
Well that's true. What I am not sure is if such jobs can earn enough for a decent living.

bigboss

The real reason is to attract foreigners without uni degree to emigrate to sinkie land. No need for foreigners to have uni degree to get jobs. Papees need foreigners to become shitizens to vote for them to stay in power. The policy is not targeted at sinkies; it is part of their white paper on pop growth.

bigboss

Perhaps not yet falling apart (US is trillion dollars debt, Scotland to break away from England, some European countries dead broke, Australia's economy is weak), but economic might is weakening...

These first world countries could not even smash the ISIS for beheading whitemen. They dragged their feet to launch military action and three innocent civilians had already lost their heads.

they saw how iraq a third world country manage to bankrupt USA thru military action,of course they are hesitant to launch military action lah.....do u know how many terrorists groups there are in iraq?more than 10....u are only hearing about the more prominent 2 or 3 groups.

u think launch military is anyhow suka suka willy nilly ah?there is tremendous cost behind any military operation.....u think USA will spend 1 billion just to save one american head from beheading?ISIS would have to behead at least 300 americans to justify any action whatsoever.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEW YORK, March 14 (Reuters) - "The U.S. war in Iraq has cost $1.7 trillion with an additional $490 billion in benefits owed to war veterans, expenses that could grow to more than $6 trillion over the next four decades counting interest, a study released on Thursday said. The war has killed at least 134,000 Iraqi civilians and may have contributed to the deaths of as many as four times that number, according to the Costs of War Project by the Watson Institute for International Studies at Brown University. When security forces, insurgents, journalists and humanitarian workers were included, the war's death toll rose to an estimated 176,000 to 189,000, the study said.

The report, the work of about 30 academics and experts, was published in advance of the 10th anniversary of the U.S.-led invasion of Iraq on March 19, 2003. It was also an update of a 2011 report the Watson Institute produced ahead of the 10th anniversary of the Sept. 11 attacks that assessed the cost in dollars and lives from the resulting wars in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iraq.

bigboss

Retirement is a personal choice not a government decision. Those who want to retire well before 55 can do so simply by setting goals and working hard to achieve them.

How to retire when your money is locked up in the CPF? You can get peanuts on monthly basis from CPF after 55 but it is just enough for breakfast money for 1 month but what about lunch money, dinner money, household expenses, bills payment, etc.

Retire without money? Not possible in sinkie land. You support papees until your eyes got cataract, cannot see clearly.

bigboss

they saw how iraq a third world country manage to bankrupt USA thru military action,of course they are hesitant to launch military action lah.....do u know how many terrorists groups there are in iraq?more than 10....u are only hearing about the more prominent 2 or 3 groups.

u think launch military is anyhow suka suka willy nilly ah?there is tremendous cost behind any military operation.....u think USA will spend 1 billion just to save one american head from beheading?ISIS would have to behead at least 300 americans to justify any action whatsoever.

Let the ISIS behead as many whitemen as they wish. Had they not executed Hussein on hearsay of WMD, that part of the world would not have become such messy today. The Americans never learned their lesson in Vietnam.

Well that's true. What I am not sure is if such jobs can earn enough for a decent living.

Depends how you define "decent living". Those who have built up a regular client base certainly earn a lot more than a graduate.

The downside of course is that if you take a week off, you don't earn anything for that week. However, in most cases a few weeks off over Xmas is already factored into the work schedule.

The person who trims my trees every year charges $80 per hour. My accountant charges $65.

bigboss

welfare is not an option in singapore.

Where got welfare in sinkie land? All just wayang.

You have money in medisave, you can use only limited amount to pay medical bills. You pay balance in cash from your own pockets. No cash? Wait. Lawyer's letter will come to sue you in court.

WTF !!! Got money in medisave to pay medical bills in full but still got sued for non-payment. Old women, old men, not working, how to pay in cash? Wage earners not even enough to support families every day. How to pay in cash? Those jobless sinkies. Pray hard you don't fall sick. Medisave also cannot help you.

Let the ISIS behead as many whitemen as they wish. Had they not executed Hussein on hearsay of WMD, that part of the world would not have become such messy today. The Americans never learned their lesson in Vietnam.

the funny thing is why USA pulled out of iraq after spending 10 bloody years and 1.6 trillion in iraq......if they stayed for 20 or 30 years and established a US colony there,iraq might have a chance at developing and recovering into a decent middle eastern country.....leaving the job half done again like in vietnam.

How to retire when your money is locked up in the CPF? You can get peanuts on monthly basis from CPF after 55 but it is just enough for breakfast money for 1 month but what about lunch money, dinner money, household expenses, bills payment, etc.

Retire without money? Not possible in sinkie land. You support papees until your eyes got cataract, cannot see clearly.

All funds should be locked up upon retirement as the key to successful retirement is to not touch the principal sum.

Retirement assets are like the goose that lays the golden eggs. Once you kill the goose, your means of survival for the long term are gone for good.

All funds should be locked up upon retirement as the key to successful retirement is to not touch the principal sum.

Retirement assets are like the goose that lays the golden eggs. Once you kill the goose, your means of survival for the long term are gone for good.

We have discovered that the goose has been laying normal eggs like any other geese. Perhaps the goose that lay the golden eggs is but a fabrication.

If it is your goose, you should raise it yourself rather than to let the nanny state help itself to the largesse.

OverTheCounter

That was what I was planning to do should I choose to emigrate. It's just that I can't drive due to a medical condition and it would be very difficult for me to travel around to clients homes.

We have discovered that the goose has been laying normal eggs like any other geese. Perhaps the goose that lay the golden eggs is but a fabrication.

If it is your goose, you should raise it yourself rather than to let the nanny state help itself to the largesse.

The state only mandates that they look after one of your geese. If you have 10 geese, you are perfectly entitled to look after the other 9 yourself.

This is a fair and prudent policy. It ensures that the vulnerable members of society are protected while those who are more capable are free to do as they please with their retirement funds.

That was what I was planning to do should I choose to emigrate. It's just that I can't drive due to a medical condition and it would be very difficult for me to travel around to clients homes.

Get a business partner who can do the driving for you.

steffychun

There are many reasons why some European countries have gone backwards in recent years and most are related monetary policy and over generous welfare benefits funded by debt. The percentage of the populace with tertiary education is not a factor.

For example, the percentage of the population with tertiary qualifications in Germany, the economic powerhouse of Europe, is only 27%.

On the other hand, Greece, a basket case by any measure, has put 33% of its population through a tertiary course but has no work for them after they graduate.

Europe gives foreign aid even during a recession