• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WTF! You can get away from accident liability so easily in Singapore!

Boliao

I cannot fathom how this is possible. Car A was speeding and bang into Car B. Driver A wanted to settle out of court but did not offer a reasonable settlement and thus, driver B went ahead to make an insurance claim against him.

Here's the FTW part..

As long as Driver A does not make an accident report, his insurance company will not take any action and thus, Driver B is left hanging and unable to claim against him. Driver B has only 2 options - claim his own insurance or engage a lawyer to sue Driver A. For the average people, the latter option is incomprehensible because the upfront cost may be more than his insurance excess.

Apparently, the 24 hours time limit to make an accident report is not legally enforceable. It's what the insurance wants you to do but not by law. What a joke.

So there you have it guys. Just don't make a report and you can drive the other party up the wall. Unbelievable.

bigboss

I cannot fathom how this is possible. Car A was speeding and bang into Car B. Driver A wanted to settle out of court but did not offer a reasonable settlement and thus, driver B went ahead to make an insurance claim against him.

Here's the FTW part..

As long as Driver A does not make an accident report, his insurance company will not take any action and thus, Driver B is left hanging and unable to claim against him. Driver B has only 2 options - claim his own insurance or engage a lawyer to sue Driver A. For the average people, the latter option is incomprehensible because the upfront cost may be more than his insurance excess.

Apparently, the 24 hours time limit to make an accident report is not legally enforceable. It's what the insurance wants you to do but not by law. What a joke.

So there you have it guys. Just don't make a report and you can drive the other party up the wall. Unbelievable.

Car A driver is likely someone driving while under suspension or without licence. The TP would investigate the report and if he is not the car owner, the owner of Car A would also be implicated and might be blacklisted by insurers in sinkie land for MV insurance due to his failure to lodge an accident report even though he was not driving the car at that time.

khunking

Here's the FTW part..

Police Report FTW?

sochi2014

Angmo countries you can report police and he can verify the accident in the court of law if the other party play punk. Singapore dun have one meh?

K Sham is the law minister go and find where his Meet the MP session is and screw him upside down.

Car A is supposedly in the wrong and he is not legally bound to do so. If you are driver of Car A, will you be a fool to make a report?

Boliao

Happened to my friend. She was along Orchard and stationary when her car was rammed from the back. She was told by Police that she should report to insurance instead of police because no one is injured; so this is not a police case. Apparently, driver A is a AngMo FT.

Freaking pissed off when I heard this. It's been close to a month and she cannot repair her car while waiting for the driver to make his report. She cannot even ask for a complimentary rental from her insurance because that is only available once the insurers accepts the repair; and it's for a max of 10 days only. She is almost giving up.

Bloody hell, is Singapore becoming a joke and a playground for the rich?

first you dont listen to the balless clerk carrying gun. you file mata report online. no need their permission. report to insurance is a must and file under hit and run.

next goto LTA to ask for particulars of owner. file a lawyer letter of demand for particulars of driver.

send car for assessment and claim ownself first.

sue both driver and owner jointly and severally for damage, loss of income, alternative use of vehicle plus interest plus lawyer fees. and demand for payment within 7 working days.

dont use mediation or small claim, use subcourt to sue. if dont pay, goto their house to sticker and sticker the car as well.

first you dont listen to the balless clerk carrying gun. you file mata report online. no need their permission. report to insurance is a must and file under hit and run.

next goto LTA to ask for particulars of owner. file a lawyer letter of demand for particulars of driver.

send car for assessment and claim ownself first.

sue both driver and owner jointly and severally for damage, loss of income, alternative use of vehicle plus interest plus lawyer fees. and demand for payment within 7 working days.

dont use mediation or small claim, use subcourt to sue. if dont pay, goto their house to sticker and sticker the car as well.

Can claim for legal fee boh?

if he dont challenge why not? even if challenge, the anus is to prove that he did not hit and run, factual evidence he did not file insurance claim.