• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Pin Pin's film To Singapore, With Love not to be shown in public

Re: Defiant Singaporeans watch banned political documentary in Malaysia

Not necessary the way you like them to do.

so long join any Singapore Club or associations that PAP lapdog visited and say hi is enough. Do social work or help new Singaporeans migrant settle down or organized Singapore Day and so on.

Still kKpkb they were kicked out still make no diff and slim change of getting back to Singapore.

Pray tell, what do you want them to do? What do you expect them to do? Sing the praises of LKY thank him for his kindness and generosity? :rolleyes:

Besides, why the hell would you want exiles to promote Singapore? That's the job of the Singapore Tourism Board. "Ooh, look at the pretty Gardens By The Bay, come and visit it sometime!" Isn't that good enough? :rolleyes:

Not necessary the way you like them to do.

so long join any Singapore Club or associations that PAP lapdog visited and say hi is enough. Do social work or help new Singaporeans migrant settle down or organized Singapore Day and so on.

Still kKpkb they were kicked out still make no diff and slim change of getting back to Singapore.

You need to constantly KPKB about it because the younger generation do not know/remember. Don't expect them to learn the truth in schools. One youngster who watched the film and was interviewed claimed that he did not understand how it could be a threat to national security. You can't let the PAP and the Lees whitewash history.

Also, the exiles have their own lives to live, wherever they may be. Doing things such as social work or helping Sinkies is entirely optional. They're not obliged to do anything.

not necessary what you or they think.

They shown you why they are kicked out. What happen after they were kicked out and stay out for so long and what have they done to try to get back to Singapore by doing social work for Singaporeans there too?

Want to come back must also show you are up to scratch to make it back? Show tell your story at their later part of their life (in their 60s today) now is simply stir shit to make some noises. Who really care their is truth in it?

Live and let live.

You need to constantly KPKB about it because the younger generation do not know/remember. Don't expect them to learn the truth in schools. One youngster who watched the film and was interviewed claimed that he did not understand how it could be a threat to national security. You can't let the PAP and the Lees whitewash history.

Also, the exiles have their own lives to live, wherever they may be. Doing things such as social work or helping Sinkies is entirely optional. They're not obliged to do anything.

not necessary what you or they think.

They shown you why they are kicked out. What happen after they were kicked out and stay out for so long and what have they done to try to get back to Singapore by doing social work for Singaporeans there too?

Want to come back must also show you are up to scratch to make it back? Show tell your story at their later part of their life (in their 60s today) now is simply stir shit to make some noises. Who really care their is truth in it?

Live and let live.

you don't care because your PAP masters order you not to care.

Not everyone is as ball-less and spineless as you to earn a living by guarding their sinkie gate..

we have our own thinking and we can decide ourselves. The fact is that they are prevented to come back and this is the undeniable fact.

Care?

Care to come back must also prove your salt in the countries you live. They are probably exiled in Angmoh West Ministers country.

TWP is a UK citizen? He was in politic in Singapore and if really a good politician then he should also join one of the UK political parties and climb up the rank and file. At least go for MPship in UK to prove you are good at politic. Kpkb when he was studying in in Singapore and in UK how come also not kpkb of the UK politic.

Politics are the same everywhere in the master to slaves colonized UK West Minister system.

Questions to the exiled ex-politicians?

1. Did you achieve any political ground in the countries you lived in all these years?

2. Do you care for the angmohs who housed you and pay you as an exiled, school fees and living expenses?

3. Do you reward them back by joining the politic in UK or countries you live?

Make 45 mins film want to show tell how you run road.

Make a 45 min film to show tell what, and how well, you did in UK and prove your salt that you are a good politician there too, serving the country of your choice.

Come back as a Minister or MP of UK political party on official visit and you think LKY will not let you come in? LKY dared to offend UK MPs, tio boh?

That make sense?

This is how to shamed LKY telling him they also wu liao one, one ups type, can make it in UK can make it anywhere type, no horse run, tio boh?

knn, balless Tonychat fuck back to jiu hu and get eaten by python.

you don't care because your PAP masters order you not to care.

Not everyone is as ball-less and spineless as you to earn a living by guarding their sinkie gate..

we have our own thinking and we can decide ourselves. The fact is that they are prevented to come back and this is the undeniable fact.

rushifa666

Care?

Care to come back must also prove your salt in the countries you live. They are probably exiled in Angmoh West Ministers country.

TWP is a UK citizen? He was in politic in Singapore and if really a good politician then he should also join one of the UK political parties and climb up the rank and file. At least go for MPship in UK to prove you are good at politic. Kpkb when he was studying in in Singapore and in UK how come also not kpkb of the UK politic.

Politics are the same everywhere in the master to slaves colonized UK West Minister system.

Questions to the exiled ex-politicians?

1. Did you achieve any political ground in the countries you lived in all these years?

2. Do you care for the angmohs who housed you and pay you as an exiled, school fees and living expenses?

3. Do you reward them back by joining the politic in UK or countries you live?

Make 45 mins film want to show tell how you run road.

Make a 45 min film to show tell what, and how well, you did in UK and prove your salt that you are a good politician there too, serving the country of your choice.

Come back as a Minister or MP of UK political party on official visit and you think LKY will not let you come in? LKY dared to offend UK MPs, tio boh?

That make sense?

This is how to shamed LKY telling him they also wu liao one, one ups type, can make it in UK can make it anywhere type, no horse run, tio boh?

knn, balless Tonychat fuck back to jiu hu and get eaten by python.
OMG, you really should seek help. Or get committed to IMH. So they must prove something? How bout you prove something? How bout we decide whether to keep you in or not? How bout you being judged by the elites? You will not like the answer. Because compared to the exiles you are a dung beetle

tell them, your good exiled friends, to go back rewrite the story line.

Bring back some goodies to show tell they make it. Or continue to do the same, this time in UK parliament. That way they can even walked in under the UK banners and even LKY lanlan got to accept their returns.

Of course proof your worth of salt and sweat that LKY made a mistake, a few good men.

OMG, you really should seek help. Or get committed to IMH. So they must prove something? How bout you prove something? How bout we decide whether to keep you in or not? How bout you being judged by the elites? You will not like the answer. Because compared to the exiles you are a dung beetle

Wounded pride, the real reason for SINGAPORE LOVE banned

A ban on a film is usually counter-productive. Borrowing a phrase from Heineken, a ban on a film has the effect of reaching the parts other films cannot reach. Singapore is a country which people around the world look up to. That is why the move to ban director, Tan Pin Pin’s award-winning film, “To Singapore, With Love”, proves that the government of Singapore is desperate, vindictive and afraid. Ironically, Singapore has ambition to be an Asian film and cultural hub.

Desperation makes people take desperate measures. In a world made smaller by Internet and social media, the banned film will now be viewed by more people than if the government had approved it for screening. The ban has inadvertently given the film a boost and generated much publicity, across the globe.

As the government of Singapore (and other autocratic nations) will discover, a ban makes people curious. Ordinary Singaporeans are like other human beings. They will want to know what it is that they have been stopped from seeing. They will become interested and want their curiosity sated.
When books are banned, a pdf version almost always pops up in cyberspace. When a film is banned, most people will attempt to find a copy of the film, to see it and judge for themselves, why the film failed to receive government approval.

The documentary “To Singapore, With Love” gives us a glimpse into the lives of nine Singaporeans, some of whom left the island in the early 1960s. One has since died, but many have not returned, simply because they would be refused entry to Singapore or like one political pundit said, “They can return…and be escorted straight to prison.”

The book “Escape from the Lion’s Paw”, sparked filmmaker Tan’s quest to find out more about the Singaporean dissidents, and to film their lives in exile.
The statement released by the Singapore Media Development Authority (MDA) said that the film was judged to “undermine national security because legitimate actions of the security agencies to protect the national security and stability of Singapore are presented in a distorted way as acts that victimised innocent individuals”.

Although some of the older exiles in the film had joined the Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) in the 1950s and 1960s, the Singapore government appears to have overlooked the 1989 Hatyai Peace Agreement, between the Malaysian government and the CPM. These former communists, who are in their 70s and 80s, are living in Thailand and are not living rough in the jungles of the peninsula, attempting to overthrow any government.
So, it is highly likely that the ban is targeted at the second group of individuals, the former student activists who went into exile in the late 1970s. This is the group which the government of Singapore really fears.

These former student activists, who were rounded up in the mid-1970s, were highlighting humanitarian and social issues, workers’ rights and the government’s neglect of certain communities. These student activists escaped being incarcerated, under Singapore’s draconian Internal Security Act (ISA) by lying low, then escaping into exile. They were later stripped of their citizenship.

The failure to capture these activists has embarrassed the Singapore government. Forty years later, the government is still sore with them. That is why the men and women have been branded “communists” or “communist sympathisers”.

These former student activists have remained vocal, with their bold criticisms of the Singapore government. The authorities are afraid that their actions will embolden ordinary Singaporeans and students to stand up for their rights and demand their various freedoms. The authorities are afraid of criticism and an open culture of free speech. These former activists have neither reformed, nor mellowed with age. These voices from the past may be the catalyst for change.

Singaporeans are just as repressed as their Malaysian counterparts. Although both countries share a common history, and perhaps, a common destiny, it may be easier to restore a true democracy in Singapore, as Malaysia is hampered by the emotional baggage comprising race, religion and royalty.
Next week, “To Singapore, With Love”, is scheduled to be screened in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, during the Freedom Film Festival, and should attract scores of Singaporeans.

Perhaps, the Singaporean government will kick up a fuss, and Najib Tun Razak, who is also flexing his autocratic muscles, by clamping down on dissenters, with his sedition dragnet, will tell his Singaporean counterpart, Lee Hsien Loong, “You help me, I help you” and forbid the screening in Johor Bahru, under some national security pretext.

Despite its development, its stature in the financial world, its first class education system and its success as an international port, deep down, the people who run the Singapore government are as insecure as the man in a sampan, who can see a storm approaching on the horizon.

http://www.negarakita.com/Post-1073705-Film+banned:+Real+threat+or+just+wounded+pride

THE_CHANSTER

Re: Wounded pride, the real reason for SINGAPORE LOVE banned

I was fortunate enough to catch a screening of this documentary with the Director Tan Pin Pin in London this week and have decided to give a personal review of the film.
I am not of any political affiliation but like many, was curious to learn what had irked the MDA to ban what was seemingly a rather innocuous film about a group of ageing political exiles. I am grateful to TPP for arranging to screen it in the UK.

****Spoiler Alert!****

It’s a very personal, emotional and poignant account of the lives of a handful of ex-Singaporean Political activists living in the UK, Malaysia and Thailand. Some have not been back since 1963, others have assimilated quite well into their host country having married, had children, set up businesses, etc. with many now in their 70’s or 80’s.

Whether these Singaporeans are or have been Marxist conspirators or members of the Barisan Sosialis or the Communist Party of Malaya, is a mute point to me as it’s only relevant in the context of how they have arrived at their current situation. That issue was not really the central focus of the film and I do not think it was an attempt to provide a sympathetic platform to the participants to voice their grievances about their expulsion but more to gauge their life experiences away from Singapore and of their hopes and aspirations of returning here one day.

Among three of the most intriguing interviewees were Ang Swee Chai (wife of Francis Khoo), Tan Wah Piow and Ho Juan Thai. All spoke candidly about their lives in exile, especially Ang Swee Chai who spoke eloquently of her passion for providing medical assistance to the people of Palestine and how she wished that she could have helped Singaporeans as well as British patients during her career as a surgeon.

Ho Juan Thai spoke of his frustration and bitter disappointment at not having a Singapore Passport or Exit Permit. As a consequence he is unlikely to obtain future Singapore citizenship for his son or get to see his son join the SAF. He is immensely proud of his NS days and wanted his son(s) to follow in his footsteps. Ironically, such was his passion for the military defence of Singapore, if you were not aware of his background, you could almost assume that he worked for MINDEF or served in the military in some capacity.

To be honest, I was expecting a wave of criticism to be leveled squarely at the government, especially from those who had been detained under ISA for decades but in fact this was not the case. Despite their exile, many still spoke of great affection and love for their homeland and pride in being a Singaporean.

Finally, a word on the MDA ban. It was not TPP’s intention to get this documentary film banned in Singapore but in a counter intuitive way, the ban has only served to highlight and raise the profile of her work in Singapore (which personally, is a good thing).
It will have piqued a lot of interest in that many amongst us will now want to see what all the fuss is about.
I am not sure if TPP holds any political affiliation but the film certainly does not overtly seek to malign or disparage the government. In fact little, in any, reference was made to the MIW during the whole film.

Indeed, when I read recently about MHA officers turning up in Penang to stop a recent screening, I thought it was a silly prank and wondered just how much free time these civil servants have on their hands. It’s clear by their actions, the ban is not going to be lifted anytime soon and whilst I do understand why the film was banned initially, I still find it somewhat difficult to reconcile what I have seen on screen with the contents of the MDA statement.

I recommend this film if you wish to gain a subjective and visceral understanding of the personal consequences of political activism in a historical context.
But even if you’re not interested in domestic politics, watch it as a piece of thought provoking entertainment which will still be better than anything you will see in a Jack Neo movie.

THE_CHANSTER

Tan Pin Pin has finally made this film available on Vimeo to stream for USD 2.99

For obvious reasons, it is unavailable in Singapore but given the high level of Internet savvy individuals in this forum, I am sure some of you will find a way.

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/tosingaporewithlove/132325466

Untitled.jpg

Thanks, i will view it.

i would like to add that for those who are in SG and wish to view it, you can go to JB to purchase it under malaysia IP address.

or maybe VPN can help too. Any bros here can confirm that?

Thanks, i will view it.

i would like to add that for those who are in SG and wish to view it, you can go to JB to purchase it under malaysia IP address.

Are you nuts???.... go to JB??? just to purchase a streaming video?? :rolleyes:

Screenshot_2015-07-29-05-39-51_zpsj0zfr1qm.png

I just watched it.. A good video to know how fucked up Lee Kuaw Yew and his whole goddamn family is.

You can feel the injustice on these detainees. Everyone has the right to make a stand and say their piece. Only coward loser like Lee Kuan Yew locked them up and drive them away.

These people are leaders, educated, intelligent and patriotic to their country. They are the cream of the crop.. Just because of a coward Lee Kuan Yew and his lust for power, causes so many people to left their family and roots. They cannot exercise their patriotism to their own country and feel an empty space in their hearts because their exercising of patriotism to their nation is incomplete.

Look at how a self-interest, self-serving, power lusty loser Lee Kuan Yew do to so many high caliber people. What a waste to a country when these people are not around to serve the country.

May Lee Kuaw Yew rot and burn in hell for a long time.