• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Pin Pin's film To Singapore, With Love not to be shown in public

BeamMeUpScotty

Defiant Singaporeans watch banned political documentary in Malaysia

Defiant Singaporeans cross border to see documentary on political exiles

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 21 September, 2014, 6:02am
UPDATED : Sunday, 21 September, 2014, 6:02am

Agence France-Presse in Johor Bahru

imghieoem6.1_ed1_page11_45466081.jpg

To Singapore, With Love

Hundreds of defiant Singaporeans protesting censorship gathered in Malaysia to see a documentary banned by regulators in their home country as a threat to national security.

The film, To Singapore, With Love, examines the case of political exiles in the city-state and features interviews with nine former activists, student leaders, and self-confessed communists who fled Singapore from the 1960s until the 1980s and are currently settled in Malaysia, Britain and Thailand.

Organisers estimated 400 people watched the screening on Friday, with most of the audience was made up of Singaporeans who had crossed the border to see the film in the southern Malaysian city of Johor Bharu.

The Media Development Authority (MDA), Singapore's media regulator, on September 10 banned the documentary, saying it provided a "distorted and untruthful" account of the exiles' situation. It said the film's content undermined national security because the "legitimate actions of the security agencies to protect the national security and stability of Singapore are presented in a distorted way as acts that victimised innocent individuals".

According to the Singapore government, a number of the exiles featured in the film were former members of the Communist Party of Malaya, which had sought to overthrow governments in Singapore and Malaysia in the 1950s and 1960s.

Singapore became independent from the Malaysian federation in 1965.

"I am disappointed by the reaction of the MDA, I wish it was otherwise of course … I spent a lot of time making it and really would have liked this film to have been seen [in Singapore]," director Tan Pin Pin told the audience in remarks after the screening.

Tan added that she was weighing her options, including launching an appeal and holding "private screenings".

The production has been screened at film festivals in Germany, Dubai, South Korea and the United States, and will be shown at the SEA ArtsFest in London in October.

Singaporeans at the Malaysia screening, part of the Freedom Film Fest, said the relatively large turnout by their compatriots - despite the hassle of having to travel to Malaysia - signified indignance in the city-state over the film's censorship.

"The interest is evident in the number of people here - over 400 who turned up in Johor Bahru on a weekday afternoon," said 24-year-old university student Lim Jialiang. "After watching the film now, it is difficult for me to imagine why the film had to be banned," he added.

The 70-minute documentary drew loud applause from the audience at the end of the screening.

Re: Defiant Singaporeans watch banned political documentary in Malaysia

any youtube videos for that film?

Let's promote the film - To Singapore, with Love

If the PAP govt wanna banned this film that show the truth about the fucking PAP and LKY, then we must go all out to promote the film.

[video=youtube;FRmlT5RbIi0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRmlT5RbIi0[/video]

Re: Let's promote the film - To Singapore, with Love

Why do you want to promote a movie full of lies and distortions?

You lancheow jiu hu kia go fuck off back to Johor Ayer Hitam or Desaru.

Dont bring your KL kiasu kiasi speaking English only ( and try to correct people's English) cheebye mouth to stir shit Singapore.

Old fart TWP and his exile have done any social service works and promote Singaporeans welfare when he was in England?

Kpkb now and make a film want to stir shit again?

Show me what these groups have done in countries they live promoting goodwill among Singaporeans living aboard, 做善事.

Ban the fucking film altogether if they have not done any good to Singapore while aboard. Proof to us they are good to Singaporeans aboards.

At least LHL flew all the way to places where Singaporeans aboard.

Kong jiao wei go fuck your PM Najib backside lah!

If the PAP govt wanna banned this film that show the truth about the fucking PAP and LKY, then we must go all out to promote the film.

the biggest threat to our security is the sinkapore poodle farce for providing nil security n allowing genetal public to b vulneravle to jungle rule. build up of secret society. infestration of loan sharks. magnifestation of whoreship.

You lancheow jiu hu kia go fuck off back to Johor Ayer Hitam or Desaru.

Dont bring your KL kiasu kiasi speaking English only ( and try to correct people's English) cheebye mouth to stir shit Singapore.

Old fart TWP and his exile have done any social service works and promote Singaporeans welfare when he was in England?

Kpkb now and make a film want to stir shit again?

Show me what these groups have done in countries they live promoting goodwill among Singaporeans living aboard, 做善事.

Ban the fucking film altogether if they have not done any good to Singapore while aboard. Proof to us they are good to Singaporeans aboards.

At least LHL flew all the way to places where Singaporeans aboard.

Kong jiao wei go fuck your PM Najib backside lah!

You sound like an uneducated piece of shit fuck who is usually employed by the PAP to guard their gate.

you sound like a fuck intellect is it?

Come from Malaysia uni ranked what number in the world standard?

Typical Malaysian Chinese fuck shit loser start hitting below the belt when lose an argument.

You sound like an uneducated piece of shit fuck who is usually employed by the PAP to guard their gate.

... in Penang

That is intentional... because shit PAP fucks will have nothing to fight back and use eNGLISH cORRECTION..

eNGLISH cORRECTION is always use to defend their master's lies and treachery.

LKY has kick out many opposition leaders to keep himself in power...... oh you have Gammar error in your english.. that is enough to prove LKY's innocent... The master strategy of Low life PAP sinkie shit asa.

long lanjiao wei.

Poor England is outright clear cut your England fuck like shit.

That is intentional... because shit PAP fucks will have nothing to fight back and use eNGLISH cORRECTION..

eNGLISH cORRECTION is always use to defend their master's lies and treachery.

LKY has kick out many opposition leaders to keep himself in power...... oh you have Gammar error in your english.. that is enough to prove LKY's innocent... The master strategy of Low life PAP sinkie shit asa.

I remember that in the past people went to JB to see naughty shows. It is funny when you think about it because Malaysia is an islamic state.:biggrin:

Now we go there to get banned books, cheaper fuel, cheaper groceries,... Sporeans could have avoided all this trouble if they had gotten rid of a certain old man.:rolleyes:

i am going to JB to buy the DVD, but i am not going to upload it cos' it will be unfair to the film crew who made this movie.:o

Agoraphobic

Whether they're lies or not, a matured society will allow the audience to judge for themselves. There are lots of programs in the media, TV, movies on topics such as UFOs, cryptics, legends, myths events/happenings. As the audience, we at least should be given the chance to be entertained and draw the conclusions for ourselves, if we choose to.

Why do you want to promote a movie full of lies and distortions?

Whether they're lies or not, a matured society will allow the audience to judge for themselves. There are lots of programs in the media, TV, movies on topics such as UFOs, cryptics, legends, myths events/happenings. As the audience, we at least should be given the chance to be entertained and draw the conclusions for ourselves, if we choose to.

Indeed. So why is the MDA still blocking some porn sites? :rolleyes:

i am going to JB to buy the DVD, but i am not going to upload it cos' it will be unfair to the film crew who made this movie.:o

you are a motherfucking fucktard.. there is no DVD now..

but of course i will watch it online and spread all out , and if i get the DVD, i will post it online and show everyone how fucked up PAP is..

low life shit PAP govt banned it does not mean people cannot watch it...