• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are Chinese tourists so rude? A few insights

Not communism per se, but the transition from communism to capitalism without the moral/cultural ballast that old civilizations tend to have, because of years of suppression of traditional Chinese (read Confucianist/Taoist/Buddhist) values.

Eastern Europe has yet to make the spectacular transition that the Chinese have to capitalism, not even Russia, which remains a semi-fascist oligarchy. Cuba is still staunchly communist.

it not the transition from socialism to capitalism that caused current mainlander to be so uncouth.

the farking cultural revolution throw out the Confucianism, there so many real stories where children put there elders on "struggle sessions" , beat them up and made to do the aeroplane stance on a stool or even worse put placard on them for public humiliations.

yellowarse

it not the transition from socialism to capitalism that caused current mainlander to be so uncouth.

the farking cultural revolution throw out the Confucianism, there so many real stories where children put there elders on "struggle sessions" , beat them up and made to do the aeroplane stance on a stool or even worse put placard on them for public humiliations.

Transition from totalitarian socialism to capitalism, plus suppression/elimination of religious/moral traditions (Confucianim, etc). And certainly, the Cultural Revolution had a very big hand in destroying 5,000 years of heritage, apart from setting China back in its development by a couple of decades.

The Scandinavian countries are socialist on a Christian grounding but are all highly ethical societies. Even the most capitalist Anglo-Saxon nations have a modicum of ethics, again drawing from their Christian heritage. Ditto for capitalist Asian nations like Japan and Taiwan with their Confucian/Buddhist/Taoist/Shinto heritage.

It's not just uncouth behaviour we're talking about. Uneducated folks in agrarian economies like India, South America, and even Communist China are generally uncouth and crude when measured by the standards of urban folks, but they still have heart and a sense of obligation to community. And they're generally more hospitable and much kinder than city slickers. People understand that.

It's the self-centred behaviour, hostile aggression and lack of respect for the rule of law among the commoners that we see in post-Communist China that's giving Chinese tourists a bad name everywhere. Plus the nouveau riche mentality that money and money alone talks, a mentality that all First World societies have left behind a long time ago.

A lot of chinese have no formal education. Especially the women.

I know a lot of them who are working in singapore, but most of them have fake education certificate and came because singapore immigration attorney is taking money under the table from agents.

The tourists also, most have no education.

Try to ask them some simple question that children learn in school. I bet you , they do not know.

independentdirect

I do not think there is any link to communism and their behaviour. I heard this comment so many times and in the early days used to think the same. Much of Eastern Europe and even Cuba were in similar position yet they don't behave like this.

I think they have become highly competitive in their own environment plus your point about corruption and jungle mentality and survival of the fittest approach has become the order of the day.

Communism was not the direct cause. What communism did instead was to rob people of their traditional values linked to Confucianism. It also took away good work ethos and good habits like thrift, manners, respect for others, etc.

Communism in my opinion acts like a poison to a man's soul. Because it depletes a man of his individual rights and demeans his claim to private property, it creates a pervasive sense of powerlessness and utter dependency on the state. In that psychological condition, all moral values are suppressed, and the law of the jungle takes over as the primary behavourial construct.

When Deng freed China from the prison of Mao's proverty, the Chinese were let loose like savages. Yellowarse in this case has stated it very well. The sudden conversion to capitalism left a vast ideological vacuum. It was also a moral and spiritual vacuum. No rules of social graces or manners remained after communism had ravaged the psyche of the Chinese. No codes of conduct or best practices. No values and ethics. Just the law of the jungle.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It's the self-centred behaviour, hostile aggression and lack of respect for the rule of law among the commoners that we see in post-Communist China that's giving Chinese tourists a bad name everywhere. Plus the nouveau riche mentality that money and money alone talks, a mentality that all First World societies have left behind a long time ago.[/QUOTE]

This paragraph of yours summarises all that has gone wrong with the Chinese, culturally at least. It is like the perfect storm...lol

Its the same mentality as chinese in US/Australia and south east asia also behave the same way. Fuck any where,shit anywhere,park anywhere as as long as it is conevenient. Selfish.

rushifa666

When your govt abolish religion, destroying morality, and you have no education, what did you expect society to become? Doesn't help that most are corrupt to begin with. What is incomprehensible is why anyone will want these people in their backyard.

Beside staying away from sinkies, you have to stay away from China Chink.

Last year, i booked a middle class apartment in bangkok for a period of time and i notice a sign saying there should be no spitting on the ground.

At first, i was puzzled that there is such a signage in a Thai apartment ground in Bangkok..After some pondering, ahhhh...the bloody china chinks..

Stay away from you and your fellow mudland chinese especially those who become rich, all the points in the article for PRC are applicable to these people:

"Disregard for rules"
"You cannot reason with these kinds of people"
"They think they can do anything with their money.”
"Lawless for a reason"
"It seems that thousands of years after Confucius admonished his students not to “impose on others what you yourself don’t desire", the Chinese now act in quite the opposite way."
etc.

At least they don't do this:

tourists2.jpg

It's just a funny picture wtf when an ang moh does this you will think he's cute same with keling or pinoy when chinese does it you write crap.

yellowarse

It's just a funny picture wtf when an ang moh does this you will think he's cute same with keling or pinoy when chinese does it you write crap.

Internalized racism. Looking down on your own kind because you've internalized the racist values of the dominant racial group, usually Caucasians because of 500 years of European colonialist expansionism. Not just the Chinese, but Indians, Malays, Pinoys, blacks ... all colonial peoples in fact.

That's why slavery and colonialism is so abominable. It's not just the physical subjection and economic exploitation of natives and aboriginals by a foreign race, but more importantly the indelible damage done to a people's psyche and culture which remains long after colonialism and slavery have been outlawed.

neddy

Asians are too uptight serious.
Ang Moh are the bestest.

Having said that.
PRC womenfolk are the best photo models. See how they pose.

British Indian women are OK.

Internalized racism. Looking down on your own kind because you've internalized the racist values of the dominant racial group, usually Caucasians because of 500 years of European colonialist expansionism. Not just the Chinese, but Indians, Malays, Pinoys, blacks ... all colonial peoples in fact.

That's why slavery and colonialism is so abominable. It's not just the physical subjection and economic exploitation of natives and aboriginals by a foreign race, but more importantly the indelible damage done to a people's psyche and culture which remains long after colonialism and slavery have been outlawed.

That's right and I have to add somehow it seems that Chinese dogs aka Chinese uncle toms do it the worst. Like somehow I bet if its a non Chinese doesn't have to be Ang moh just any non Chinese does it these Chinese dogs won't find offense they only complain when Chinese do it that's why I added in Pinoy, Keling in addition to Ang moh when I posted to laksaboy.

Asians are too uptight serious.
Ang Moh are the bestest.

Having said that.
PRC womenfolk are the best photo models. See how they pose.

British Indian women are OK.

Another problem ppl always judge it poorly when a non Ang moh does it especially a Chinese.

Thanks for your posts. I think it is a fair point. I just cannot reconcile why the other ex-communists did not behave anywhere close to the new PRC Chinese. I guess its a mystery.

I think you may be wrong on this account. The Chinese gentlemen was based on thousands of years of confucius and other great sage's teachings. When the Chinese communist come into power in post-war 1949. In its place and especially from '66 when the cultural revolution took place, a lot of the older value systems were suppressed and communistic ideology took centrestage. I believe this is the vacuum, considering the void it created in 1 whole generation, which are now in their 50s and 60s.

Its the same mentality as chinese in US/Australia and south east asia also behave the same way. Fuck any where,shit anywhere,park anywhere as as long as it is conevenient. Selfish.

chinese peasants and coolies who settled in south east asia hundreds of years ago were just as filthy, inconsiderate and uncouth as their modern cousins. in sg before and after ww2, sinkie chinese were living in slums and polluting the streets and sg river with their filth and lack of hygiene. only when the pap is in charge with lky at the helm that sg becomes a much cleaner and more pleasant place. without lky, sg would still be like present day penang or ipoh with street filth and dirty drains.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    120.9 KB · Views: 163

sinkies of today should thank their lucky stars that they have the old man to macro- and micromanage and clean up their act, from massive beautification of infrastructure to flushing of toilets. without him, sinkies would still be as dirty, uncouth, and with no spurs stuck in their hide.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    186.9 KB · Views: 163

sinkies of today should thank their lucky stars that they have the old man to macro- and micromanage and clean up their act, from massive beautification of infrastructure to flushing of toilets. without him, sinkies would still be as dirty, uncouth, and with no spurs stuck in their hide.

whats wrong with that picture?i see a port with flourishing trade jam packed with junks and sampams,tons of shophouses to depict the bustling commerce full of life and vibrancy and oriental culture....this is paradise in the british colonial era.....do u know what poverty looks like today?have u seen the slums and fishing villages that litter the shores of indonesia and africa?their dingy looking boats and fishing nets?

don't think so highly of yourselves, sinkies. you're just as filthy and unhygienic as your tiong cousins. every time i return to sg, sinkies continue to throw trash around. if you tour the grounds of hdb estates early in the morning, you'll find trash everywhere, and only through the hardwork of lowly paid foreign grounds-keeping sweepers and garbage collectors that these estates are kept clean. decades of anti-littering campaign and fines imposed do jackshit to the sinkie filth. it's genetic. just having a meal with my sinkie relatives is enough to cause me to puke. double dipping with chopsticks, spoons and forks is common. this stupid sinkie habit can never be corrected by the old man himself. and whenever someone is sick or coming down with symptoms of a viral infection, they would cough and sneeze openly at meal tables and close quarters, without wearing a mask or giving considerations to those around. the southern chinese peasant and coolie inconsideration and filth have never left the sinkie chinese population, even after 50 years of hygiene micromanagement by the old hakka mandarin. :rolleyes:

neddy

whats wrong with that picture?i see a port with flourishing trade jam packed with junks and sampams,tons of shophouses to depict the bustling commerce full of life and vibrancy and oriental culture....this is paradise in the british colonial era.....do u know what poverty looks like today?have u seen the slums and fishing villages that litter the shores of indonesia and africa?their dingy looking boats and fishing nets?

I see 10 families living in one shophouse.

In the service of the Tuan

you're too young to venture inside the boats. the stench alone will cause you to puke.

oh please those boats are like the mercedes and bmws and toyotas and hondas of singapore today,the fact u find so many packed together shows the wealth and prosperity and the trade.like the highways of china today jammed packed with cars and lorries and trucks and vans and construction vehicles and cement trucks like the vast armies of Qing,they march on endlessly to the beat of progress and smog of prosperity.

[video=youtube;DMNlI-YCVbU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMNlI-YCVbU[/video]