• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

People and government must pull together as a family: ESM Goh

greenies

People and government must pull together as a family: ESM Goh -

Loosening ties between people and government could pull Singapore apart unless Singaporeans demand as much of themselves as they do of the Government, Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong warned on Saturday.

Unrealistic demands and frequent criticism of the Government are straining the cohesiveness of the Singapore family, he said.

"This state of relationship between the people and the Government is part of the so-called new normal," he said.

"But if this new normal leads to fractiousness, divisiveness and estrangement in the Singapore family, then we will be undoing what the pioneer generation had painfully and diligently built over many decades."

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...together-family-esm-goh-#sthash.7aro8oqS.dpuf

Who started breaching the trust?
Who made preferential treatment for elites and members?
Who created suffering to opposition wards; Houngang and Potong Pasir?

Who the fuck wanna be family with you? Give the people their CPF first.. Fuck the family shit. Real family don't cheat each other.

greenies

A good response by: -

Kevin Boo
You run Singapore as an Inc. , you peg your salaries to world class CEOs, you treat the people as economic digits to be replaced, exploited as mere resources and squeezed and now suddenly in the face of backlash you started crying about not being treated as "family"?

Such audacity!

Hans168

Loosening ties between people and government could pull Singapore apart unless Singaporeans demand as much of themselves as they do of the Government, Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong warned on Saturday.

Unrealistic demands and frequent criticism of the Government are straining the cohesiveness of the Singapore family, he said.

"This state of relationship between the people and the Government is part of the so-called new normal," he said.

"But if this new normal leads to fractiousness, divisiveness and estrangement in the Singapore family, then we will be undoing what the pioneer generation had painfully and diligently built over many decades."

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...together-family-esm-goh-#sthash.7aro8oqS.dpuf

If there were NO major screwups will there be problems like now???

Kevin Boo's description is apt.

A good response by: -

Kevin Boo
You run Singapore as an Inc. , you peg your salaries to world class CEOs, you treat the people as economic digits to be replaced, exploited as mere resources and squeezed and now suddenly in the face of backlash you started crying about not being treated as "family"?

Such audacity!

Similar to Pinky's fake apology in 2011..

Crying out for sympathy and understanding when they already sucked us dry.. Now this Woody bastard said that we are all one big family... Ha Ha Ha

Yeah, but the PAP has betrayed the trust of the people.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice...

Observations:

Lee Kuan Yew is a master of talking condescending trash.

Goh Chok Tong is a master of making motherhood statements.

Lee Hsien Loong is a master of faux pas.

The first one is the worst. Because without him, the other 2 would not have been allowed to flourish. :wink:

Observations:

Lee Kuan Yew is a master of talking condescending trash.

Goh Chok Tong is a master of making motherhood statements.

Lee Hsien Loong is a master of faux pas.

bigboss

GCT is a big time joker.

If the Govt sees the sinkies as members of a family, why the SPRs, who are really foreigners, are also treated almost like sinkies? SPRs have the rights to buy HDB flats, compete with sinkies for jobs in Job Bank, places in schools, hospital beds, etc and are also given public transport concession.

Being a SPR in sinkie land is much better than being a sinkie. Otherwise, why are there so many SPRs living for donkey years in the country and still refusing to take up shitizenship?

GCT is having a time of his life. Fully paid despite not holding any responsibility, support staff and spends his time meeting people. He knows that the only reason he is on the payroll is so that the old man does not look like he is having a free ride.

palden

Agreed. Wayang party should be ashamed of themselves trying to weaken this bond by spreading rumors and hate.

Calling Kuan Yew "Old Man" sounds so deferential, meek and subservient. :wink:

iluvgst

Singaporeans demand of the government is as much as what the government leaders demand of their salaries.