• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore should plan for population of 10m

Song boh? The CCB 60.1%.

[SINGAPORE] The Republic should plan for a population of 10 million in the long term if it is to remain sustainable as a country, says the man known widely as the architect of modern Singapore. According to Liu Thai Ker, Singapore should not stop its population growth projection at the figure of 6.9 million listed in the 2013 White Paper on Population.
"That is an interim figure and projection and obviously Singapore is going to grow beyond that," he said yesterday at a seminar, "Building a Nation: Tomorrow, Challenges and Possibilities for a Liveable Singapore".

As architect-planner and CEO of the Housing Development Board from 1969 to 1989, Mr Liu oversaw the completion of over half a million public housing units, and as CEO and chief planner of the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) from 1989 to 1992, he spearheaded the major revision of the Singapore Concept Plan and key direction for heritage conservation.

"The question is: How long do you want Singapore to exist as a sovereign state? Certainly beyond 2030, so we should plan for the longer term and for this 10 million figure as we cannot curb population growth after 2030."

Mr Liu explained that it was necessary for Singapore to plan for the longer term than for the 17 years it had planned for in the White Paper. He suggested that even though Singapore has a lot of land to be reclaimed and there is a lot of land set aside for industrial purposes that can be converted for other use, it is still better to plan for the long term so that there is a better estimate of the amount of land that is required.
"So if we need to reclaim more land from the sea, we can plan for it and do so."

Conversely, Mr Liu argued that shorter-term population planning would result in higher density as each time the population projection is made, the government may increase land density as it does not have a longer-term view of the amount of land that may be needed and that it has available. "Overall, this results in Singapore's land density increasing."

Mr Liu told BT that the 10 million figure was projected on how much Singapore could grow long term for the next 80-150 years at a population growth rate of less than one per cent each year. He said that if the growth rate were based on the upper limit of the projection of the 2013 White Paper, at 6.9 million, then Singapore could reach a population of 10 million by 2090. If however, it is based on the lower limit of 6.5 million then we may reach 10 million by 2200.

The director of RSP Architects & Engineers since 1992 and the founding chairman of the Centre for Liveable Cities said that, over time, Singapore's growth rate could contract with education, technology and productivity gains as is the case of the Scandinavian countries, which are small like Singapore, but still managed to achieve economic growth with a population growth of less than one per cent per year.

But this will take time, he added, as Singapore was not as mature as those economies and therefore still needed immigration to grow its population.
Even though he acknowledged that Singaporeans may be uncomfortable with the thought of the country ever having a population of 10 million, Mr Liu believes that it is better for the country to anticipate this and to plan for it so that the adjustment can be smoother.
"If you look at from 1960 till now, Singapore's land density has tripled but even with that, we have built a good environment through more skills and knowledge. So if we can do it then, Singaporeans should believe that we now have the ability to solve these problems and that we will have a good environment even though population density may increase."

Chew Hock Yong, CEO of the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and a panellist at the seminar, noted that while this projection of 10 million is Mr Liu's personal view, it will guarantee a critical mass for Singapore to thrive economically and in other areas. However, he admitted that there is a consideration of the human dimension and whether Singaporeans would be able to adjust to having twice the number of people and what kind of city-state they would like to live in. The seminar was organised by The Business Times in collaboration with Singapore Institute of Building Limited. It was supported by Hitachi and co-hosted by InterContinental Singapore.

numero uno

Song boh? The CCB 60.1%.

vested interests as he is The director of RSP Architects & Engineers !!! more business for him. bloody crap nonsense. when will it stop? next he would ask for 20 million or even 30 million. bullsh!t @sshole. so much credubility for someone who was kicked out of HDB/URA because of .....

I have already told you all that while they're busy jacking up the population, they will use some words frequently to deceive you.
They will also utilize various think-tanks and academics to regurgitate the same official lines, because they are the so-called experts, with all the credibility and legitimacy, right?

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?169355-What-6-9-million-It-is-8-million!&p=1716623#post1716623

One of the words used is 'sustainable'.

Anyone who thinks that squeezing that many people into a small piece of land is a 'sustainable' thing, is clinically insane. Or an outrageous liar.

Or it could be doublespeak. They did not specify who it is 'sustainable' for.

BT_20140801_MSFUTURE1_1204114e_top_story_full.jpg

Liveable is another word. Do you think Singapore is more liveable at the current 5.5 million population, or back in 2005-2006, when it was 4 million? 'Liveable' for who? :rolleyes:

J92bNp

He is an old cock. He can say whatever figure he wants. 10m, 15m anyhows. He is dying in the near future and whatever size the Singapore population, it does not affect him.

Leepotism

The trend in PAP camp now is how to be a good traitor. Every PAP motherfucking skunk is vying for the top spot and awaiting reward from Ass Loon.

blissquek

The trend in PAP camp now is how to be a good traitor. Every PAP motherfucking skunk is vying for the top spot and awaiting reward from Ass Loon.

This guy is really disgusting...why..???

Because he made PM LHL looks like an angel with only a 6.9 mio figure...

blissquek

This guy is really disgusting...why..???

Because he made PM LHL looks like an angel with only a 6.9 mio figure...

I think they have discussed this in the backroom b4 he sprouts this rubbish.

It only make those property shorts get jittery.

you will see more road accidents and rowdy behaviour on public transport due to over crowding.:oIo:

dr.wailing

............He is dying in the near future and whatever size the Singapore population, it does not affect him.

Who says he's not affected?

Tell him to his face that if the population is 10m or more, he won't be able to have a place in the cemetery or a mausoleum.

Let's be honest and objective about this. Liu Thai Ker is right. He has worked extensively in Government and the private sector.

This government has no idea on what it's doing and only can operate with GDP growth in mind. They are incompetent, has not shown any ability to move the economy in the right direction and explore new areas unlike the early generation of leaders. Notice that fare increases and fee increases are more often than in the past. Noting to show any improvement in efficiency or productivity.

To continue to grow the economy you need to bring in foreigners and in great numbers. We have little choice. If we had a more capable government we would not even be in the sorry state and have this discussion. In the recent months you can clearly see the conflicting versions of how CPF works, the denials followed by admissions and then another round of merry-go-rounds.

I am sure the questions in people' mind is why the need the grow the GDP in the first place. Let's face it if it does not grow, more Singaporeans will lose their jobs and this Government knowing its history will even drop the citizenship qualification period to 3 months to make up the numbers for voting.

With the PAP, we do not have the luxury of choice. It's also unrealistic to expect this cohort of ministers to rise above mediocrity and perform miracles. If you gave them a monkey and an organ, I quite certain they would not know what to do. The GDP growth approach is the one and only benchmark that they depend on. It is really not fair expecting them to do anything anytime soon.

Tiger slow lah. I have been saying that months ago on sbf. The only way the PAP knows to create more jobs for sinkies is to create more openings in the public sector. For that you need a much larger tax base. Full steam ahead i say, and accelerate the demise of the middle class.

actually hes right,did u guys read the article?PAP is absolutely insane to set the population figure to only stop at 6.9 million in 2030....why are they ignoring the fact that the population will not stop growing after 2030?

they are just trying to make the population projections as palatable as possible since obviously saying that the population might reach 8m,9m or 10m by 2050 is insane......they can project until 2030 but they cannot project until 2040 or 2050?2050 is only 20 years after 2030 which means ur children and ur grandchildren will be facing a population growth of 6.9m to 8.9m.

does LHL think that anything that happens after 2030 is not his problem and all he has to do is care about gdp growth while he is in office?let future prime ministers worry about all the problems and overcrowding?

bigboss

This guy is another pap talking cock. How can the island sustain a population of 10 million? Pour sands into the sea to create land and use the artificial land to build HDB flats?

Quantity is not the answer. Quality of the people, clean Govt, efficient administration and all other admirable factors are the keys to keeping the island running ahead of other countries in SE Asia.

Let's be honest and objective about this. Liu Thai Ker is right. He has worked extensively in Government and the private sector.

Local experience means nothing. Sinkees are frogs in the well and Liu is no different. Now, if he had lived in the West for decades ...he has more credibility. He has been sheltered all his life - one of the $68-million man.

To continue to grow the economy you need to bring in foreigners and in great numbers. We have little choice. If we had a more capable government we would not even be in the sorry state and have this discussion. In the recent months you can clearly see the conflicting versions of how CPF works, the denials followed by admissions and then another round of merry-go-rounds.

We do have a choice ...either be part of a bigger country or we craft ourselves to be a Monaco or Luxembourg. Instead of increasing the population, we should reduce the population. Our economy needs to be re-engineered ...we can't focus on manufacturing. We need to be a brain country instead of cheap labour centre. We can have Swiss standard of living if we aim to be a Switzerland. We will never be a Switzerland if we see to be a low cost hub.

You think like the PAP.

I am sure the questions in people' mind is why the need the grow the GDP in the first place. Let's face it if it does not grow, more Singaporeans will lose their jobs and this Government knowing its history will even drop the citizenship qualification period to 3 months to make up the numbers for voting.
We should go for quality growth instead of growth at all cost. With a population of 3 million, we can manage with 3 percent growth and live comfortably.