• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sungei Rd Flea Market to Make Way for Ass Loon's 6.9M FTrash Plan

Oracle

No henghua though I know many stayed in that area....got a henghua friend staying in nearby Maude road

Henghua people usually own bicycle shops during the old days or trishaw business, all gathered in Jalan Besar and sometimes even gang clashes with other dialect group. Their Henghua Mee Sua is delicious.

This dialect group is a minority in Sinkieland, not many people know.

Something close to it is Fuzhou people I think. The Fuzhou Poh Hwa Oyster Cake at Sam Leong Road also standard drop.

soIsee

An appropriate end to all those losers and low life at the 'Thieves market'.

PAP does not and will not want ppl of such category to stay alive or worse breed here.

Afterall, with these bunch of losers in a high cost living environment, it does no favor to the ruling party for them to remain alive and to those who lead such miserable lives.

If these losers did not know the No. 1 rule of the PaP, then they should all go, not to Bedok reservoir to drown themselves becos that would pollute the Pappies waters but to make a trip to Batam and drown themselves there.

palden

No worries, pioneer generation package will be sufficient for them till their last breathe.
ST_20140731_MZSUNGEI319WJW_537674e.jpg

The Sungei Road flea market, which is open daily from 1pm to 7pm, draws tourists, foreign workers and locals. At least 70 per cent of the peddlers are between 60 and 80 years old. -- PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI FOR THE STRAITS TIMES

<cite>Quote:</cite>By Melody Zaccheus

Around eight decades of history seem set to come to an end for Sungei Road flea market.

As it has to make way for the Sungei Road MRT station, due to open in 2017, an association representing its 200 traders had suggested relocating to one of four alternative sites nearby.

However, the National Environment Agency (NEA) has rejected this - and not given it any explanation. When asked, NEA referred The Straits Times to the Urban Redevelopment Authority, which said the four sites have been zoned for parks and residential use under Master Plan 2014. They are next to Rochor River, at Kampong Bugis along Kallang River, behind Sim Lim Tower and a roadside near Jalan Kubor Malay cemetery.

The president of the Association for the Recycling of Second Hand Goods, Mr Koh Ah Koon, 73, received a letter from the NEA informing him of the decision last week. He passed on the bad news to members at a meeting on Monday. "Shutting down the market will mean taking away a source of income for many elderly folk here," he said. "Most of us have little education or are illiterate."
- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...et-will-have-go-20140731#sthash.wJV7DW9E.dpuf

palden

What cultural icon? They never pay GST.

The NEA is making a terrible mistake in not consulting with the NHB to preserve or relocate this cultural icon of ours.

it would be easy to locate the market within one of the parks that have been planned for under the master plan. but no one in the NEA is willing to stick their neck out to save the market.

what a pity.

bushtucker

ahh yes the famous and delicious sungei road laksa located at kelantan lane. always had a bowl after buying cheap bike stuff from lim ah boy motor shop. :biggrin:

iluvgst

with the pap, it's all about money and profit. They will sell the land to private developers when the mrt is completed, so as to recoup the cost of building the MRT line and also make a tidy profit from the land sale and future property taxes on whatever the private developer builds on it. To pap, running singapore is like running a company, growing the topline and the bottomline. When they talk about preserving our culture or heritage or about wanting to serve the people is just lip service to win some votes from the guillible.

MND/LTA has always been high-handed when it comes to resettlement and road planning. Look at the old national Library, what has replaced it now - a useless piece of asphalt that they could have run a detour and saved the mounment.

Now this. Why is it that they cannot even reroute a little and save big time on our history. Fooking pen-pushers hiding and planning in vacuo in their aircon offices to the oblivion of the big picture? In the end, we again moan the loss of our roots and create more artificial erections which are tasteless in architectural value and meaningless to everyone.
leehsienloongpointingfingers_zpsefb36004.jpg

I am a scholar General. I say, you do. Get it, you Stinkee! *hee*hee*

so?

Is this anything new to you guys?

So many old monuments and old places have been torn down but nothing changes.

The sinkie govt can change the entire demographic and every old feature on this fucking island/country and nobody will say anything. No protests nothing.

Henghua people usually own bicycle shops during the old days or trishaw business, all gathered in Jalan Besar and sometimes even gang clashes with other dialect group. Their Henghua Mee Sua is delicious.

This dialect group is a minority in Sinkieland, not many people know.

Something close to it is Fuzhou people I think. The Fuzhou Poh Hwa Oyster Cake at Sam Leong Road also standard drop.

One old sammyboy member is from the henghua dialect group. I understand it's something quite close to hokkien but not exactly sinkie hokkien or southern fukkinese.

with the pap, it's all about money and profit. They will sell the land to private developers when the mrt is completed, so as to recoup the cost of building the MRT line and also make a tidy profit from the land sale and future property taxes on whatever the private developer builds on it. To pap, running singapore is like running a company, growing the topline and the bottomline. When they talk about preserving our culture or heritage or about wanting to serve the people is just lip service to win some votes from the guillible.

Indeed. And the construction of MRT stations and lines are less about providing convenience in transport and more about:

1) Pumping money into the construction business to boost the economy.

2) Providing an 'area-of-effect' buff to the land/property prices in the vicinity, so as to maximize revenue from land sales and rental collection.

mulvi74

Singapore lost its soul a long time ago. The charm and character singapore once had is long gone. The people used to be laid back now it seems they are the most stressed in the world, enslaved and conditioned not to think outside the square. Even orchard rd used to have character in places like lucky plaza, Far East (yeah I know it's Scott's rd) but now it is one pristine mall after another selling the same overpriced tat.

It's why (despite my dad being singapore born) I prefer malaysia. It is what singapore used to be. You an still haggle and bargain, see old architecture and shop lots etc. Once that history is demolished it's gone forever.

ahh yes the famous and delicious sungei road laksa located at kelantan lane. always had a bowl after buying cheap bike stuff from lim ah boy motor shop. :biggrin:

Remember dun go to the fake opposite ah boy shop....the one that also sells otak is fake one.

Real sungei road laksa is located at jin shui coffeeshop at blk 27 nearby.....behind hawker center after the grass field.

hofmann

Singapore lost its soul a long time ago. The charm and character singapore once had is long gone. Even orchard rd used to have character in places like lucky plaza, Far East (yeah I know it's Scott's rd) but now it is one pristine mall after another selling the same overpriced tat.

all thanks to REITS and high rents. malls should go the way of dinosaurs as people turn to online shopping to avoid the overpriced mall-bought items.

soIsee

all thanks to REITS and high rents. malls should go the way of dinosaurs as people turn to online shopping to avoid the overpriced mall-bought items.

You are blaming this issue on any things that appears to your view to be blamed.

Ppl and markets make their choice. Policy makers might influence the choice the mass consumer makes but by and large this is not a one country thing that create the real impact. It is world wide.

These Sungei road losers need to be done with, simply becos they fail to change, improve and adapt to where change is heading.

For the entire place to improve and get better, these elements MUST be remove. Next would be Geyland.

hofmann

you are burying your head in the sand and ignoring facts.

these traders are trying to make an independent living for themselves without relying on government handouts.

the high-handedness of the PAP is the only element that MUST be removed.

You are blaming this issue on any things that appears to your view to be blamed.

Ppl and markets make their choice. Policy makers might influence the choice the mass consumer makes but by and large this is not a one country thing that create the real impact. It is world wide.

These Sungei road losers need to be done with, simply becos they fail to change, improve and adapt to where change is heading.

For the entire place to improve and get better, these elements MUST be remove. Next would be Geyland.

soIsee

you are burying your head in the sand and ignoring facts.

these traders are trying to make an independent living for themselves without relying on government handouts.

the high-handedness of the PAP is the only element that MUST be removed.

Who the fuck care the losers in THIS TRADE are making an independent living and not relying on handout?

They are a eye sore and a embarrassment for the supposed 'First World' pappy rulers to still ply such trade and create such a scene, in a place where the pappy want to 'up class' the entire place.

Under-the-stand?

In short. The pappy are telling the traders...the famous phrase ..' GET OUT OF MY UNCARING ELITE FACE'!

Now go bury yourself! LoL