• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - RSN NDU better than SEALs

Tested, Brandon Choo is among best of the best

20140730_brandonchoo_ST.jpg

To benchmark themselves against their foreign counterparts, the Naval Diving Unit's career divers undertake specialised training in Singapore and overseas, and are among the most decorated sailors in the service.

Adorning their crisp white shirts are Thai army parachutist, Indonesian navy combat swimmer, Ranger, sniper, and freefall badges.

As testament to the extremely competitive standards divers are held to before they can represent the navy abroad, Singapore participants regularly ace their overseas courses.

Captain Linkesh Balasubramanyam, 31, and Third Warrant Officer Loh Chin Wee, 37, for example, topped their international cohorts in the United States Special Forces Officer and Engineer Sergeant courses respectively in 2012.

Major Brandon Choo, 33, who graduated as a joint-top student in his Royal Navy Mine Clearance Officers' Course in Britain last year, did so well that he received a rare written commendation from the school's commanding officer.

One of the most prized insignia in the fraternity, however, is the US Navy Special Warfare Operator badge. This is a massive gold "trident" donned by those who complete the Basic Underwater Demolition/Seal (BUD/S) course - and its brutal Hell Week - in the frigid waters off the Naval Special Warfare Centre in Coronado, on the west coast of the United States.

Considered one of the most physically demanding courses in the American military because of the intensity and duration of the training, it often claims a dropout rate of over 60 per cent.

"Out of over 100 candidates in my batch, only 38 made it," recalls Maj Choo. The former Special Warfare Group officer earned his "trident" along with two other Singaporeans after enduring eight months of gruelling instruction.

Just getting a spot on the Navy Seal course is a challenge in itself, as the Singapore Armed Forces sends only its fittest regulars from the Commandos and Naval Diving Unit, with just a handful making it to the BUD/S course every year since the 1980s.

"I had to attend a physical selection which consisted of the diver fitness test, an obstacle course, and a 2km sea swim," recounts Maj Choo, a muscled sailor who has since completed tours of duty in Iraq and the Gulf of Aden.

"Only the candidate with the best timings could go."

Maj Choo made it into BUD/S Class 257, and endured cold like he had never experienced before.

"It was ridiculous," he says. "Even though our seniors prepared us for it mentally, the initial stage was really tough.

"The 'cold treatment' consisted of lying in the ocean, taking off pieces of clothing down to our trunks, at six o'clock in the morning." But the three Singaporeans persevered.

"We wanted that trident very badly to prove that we were on par with the US Navy Seals," he says. "And when we came back, we wanted to make sure our teams were just as good."

Brandon should quit now and freelance in Iraq, Afghanistan or Libya ...big money there ...work a few years and become millionaire.

Fark the navy seal. Our divers can locate mh370 in matter of days by sniffing the seawater for the urine trail of the pilot.

Do they train together with the US soldiers?
Seems they got a separate international intake just for soldiers from other countries....note the sinkie said he top his international cohort....

Poomer

When you send the best 3 divers out of 300, obviously they'll do well.

I'm sure after attaining all these medals and badges, these soldiers can shoot fire from their mouth & cast spells. :rolleyes:

escher

Fucking innuendoes that Stinkapore PM besterest of all the world
Stinkapore judges bestesterest of all the world
Stinkapore politics besterest of the entire fucking world
Stinkapore life is besterest of the entire fucking world

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Satyr

Let's be proud. These are real achievements. By real Singaporeans not foreign talents. If anything it's the PAP who should learn from this .

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Do they train together with the US soldiers?
Seems they got a separate international intake just for soldiers from other countries....note the sinkie said he top his international cohort....

Yes they train with the americans. My friend passed. However SAF "pre-trains" these guys with a 1 year Singapore "SEALS" course first, then send them over. Usually train about 30 guys and then send the best 3 that didn't get injured or stupid enough to endure the pain.

The international cohort is a collection of gay cocks from South Korea, Thailand, Taiwan etc.... only if an Israeli turns up then the sinkie cannot win

Our NDU is definitely better than Seals. Seals are not able to use weapons or explosives because their flippers are not dexterous enough. And thousands are clubbed to death in the arctic every year for their fur.

All this kind of bullshit PAP news articles are a joke. Do you know what the US does with all the personnel that they send for the training alongside Brandon? they send them to war. they send them into areas of conflicts after the training, so that they can truly tested. All the SEAL training in the world is no substitute for real combat. Until Brandon can prove his training in actual combat, its still all theoretical. If he can survive 2 tours in Astan without getting himself killed, than we can talk.

Thick Face Black Heart

My blood really boiled when I read this article.

First and foremost, US SEAL candidates don't get their Trident after BUD/s. They get their Trident only after completing an additional 28 weeks of SEAL qualification training or SQT. From what I gather the Singapore candidates only completed the equivalent of the BUD/s portion.

Secondly a Navy SEAL only gets his first combat deployment after getting his Trident AND after finishing an additional 18 months of Prodev (professional skills development), platoon workup and pre-deployment training. The level and depth of training a SEAL undergoes even before his first combat deployment is phenomenal.

How can our SG candidates dare to compare themselves to SEALs?

And finally many BUD/s candidates are actually fresh from boot camp. And some of them make it through despite lack of prior military experience. Our SG candidates are already professional operators. If they can't make it through they ought to be fucking ashamed.

Satyr

All this kind of bullshit PAP news articles are a joke. Do you know what the US does with all the personnel that they send for the training alongside Brandon? they send them to war. they send them into areas of conflicts after the training, so that they can truly tested. All the SEAL training in the world is no substitute for real combat. Until Brandon can prove his training in actual combat, its still all theoretical. If he can survive 2 tours in Astan without getting himself killed, than we can talk.

Like someone said some of these guys can go to international hotspots and earn big money after leaving the service. They can't be that bad. Put them in combat I think they will acquit themselves well. That's what the training is for. To make sure these guys are 99.99 % on.

The guys we should be worried about are our instant generals.

Like someone said some of these guys can go to international hotspots and earn big money after leaving the service. They can't be that bad. Put them in combat I think they will acquit themselves well. That's what the training is for. To make sure these guys are 99.99 % on.

The guys we should be worried about are our instant generals.

U can tell that the whole business of professional arms is a wayang bullshit in singapore. have u ever heard of any sinkies joining the French Foreign legion, or even joining any security agencies like Blackwater, etc. I have not. that should tell u something about the quality of soldiering in singapore. When u look at all these assholes instant generals u will note one glaring thing. They are all graduates of big unis like Harvard, cambridge, stanford, etc, with degrees in engineering, etc. Shouldn't they be graduates of Sandhurst, West Point, etc. instead? Soldiering is a full time profession. These guys should be in Sandhurst or West Point to be totally immerse in the profession. the fact they are not is very telling.

First and foremost, US SEAL candidates don't get their Trident after BUD/s. They get their Trident only after completing an additional 28 weeks of SEAL qualification training or SQT. From what I gather the Singapore candidates only completed the equivalent of the BUD/s portion.

Secondly a Navy SEAL only gets his first combat deployment after getting his Trident AND after finishing an additional 18 months of Prodev (professional skills development), platoon workup and pre-deployment training. The level and depth of training a SEAL undergoes even before his first combat deployment is phenomenal.

And finally many BUD/s candidates are actually fresh from boot camp. And some of them make it through despite lack of prior military experience. Our SG candidates are already professional operators. If they can't make it through they ought to be fucking ashamed.

Yep, well said.

Satyr

U can tell that the whole business of professional arms in a wayang bullshit in singapore. have u ever heard of any sinkies joining the French Foreign legion, or even joining any security agencies like Blackwater, etc. I have not. that should tell u something about the quality of soldiering in singapore. When u look at all these assholes instant generals u will note one glaring thing. They are all graduates of big unis like Harvard, cambridge, stanford, etc, with degrees in engineering, etc. Shouldn't they be graduates of Sandhurst, West Point, etc. instead? Soldiering is a full time profession. These guys should be in Sandhurst or West Point to be totally immerse in the profession. the fact they are not is very telling.

Agree with you. Our Instant generals use the service as finishing school before they go on to other things like politics or GLCs. Nobody ever worries our Armed Forces are not led by guys who are soldiers at heart.

escher

Thank you.
Even more malu for those PAP bastards blowing fucking trumpet over nothing.
But then we know those PAP bastards do that all the time.
TOTALLY WORTHLESS PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES
THEY SHOULD ALL BE DANGLED TO DANCE UNDER LAMP POSTS

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Thanks for the insightful write up....
Then this yaya papaya SAF chap is wearing a kopi badge?
US conducts a watered down course for ally countries?
Is this also how govt scholars goes to top US unis and get to pass with first class honours?

Agree with you. Our Instant generals use the service as finishing school before they go on to other things like politics or GLCs. Nobody ever worries our Armed Forces are not led by guys who are soldiers at heart.

In times of war, these assholes will get singapore men killed by their wayang and incompetence. One wonders why they need a $12 billion annual budget when everyone knows its a wayang show.

SAF sends people to Afghanistan to fly toy planes.