• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Grassroots movement has gotten worse in s’pore

[h=1]GRASSROOTS MOVEMENT HAS GOTTEN WORSE IN S’PORE[/h]
Post date:
28 Jul 2014 - 9:39am

I’ll be frank here! PAP Grassroots movement has devolved for the worse. Previously, grassroots volunteers were mainly bread-&-butter wage earners. Truth is those grassroots volunteers served because of certain fringe benefits. I’ll not go into these in detail as most people are aware of them. However, the grassroots volunteers then were closely aligned with the electorate because they themselves were HDB residents. But overtime, the key criteria for most grassroots volunteer service is having 2 bites of the HDB cherry. Once that has been exhausted, there is very little incentive to stay on.

To replace these wage earning HDB residents type of grassroots, the professional, managerial, executive class started to infiltrate the grassroots movement. I’ll illustrate with 2 analogy – the first was a Colombo Plan scholar – he failed in the private sector. But as he was very active in the typical CCMC/CCC movement activities – he managed to connect & get a job with a GLC. The GLC CEO there didn’t think highly of him, put him into non-operational role. He continues to work hard on his CCMC/CCC activities because he was insecure! Bloody fella had to put in the day & weekdays in normal job followed by after work grassroots activities plus occasional weekend walkabouts with MP. I don’t envy him as his wife & children hardly get to see him.

The second is a high powered professional working in the corporate sector. Both the professional & the spouse served in their constituency grassroots. When the spouse lost his job after the company closed, he was able to secure one with a GLC almost immediately. They are still active in grassroots activities. Both examples stay in landed property & owned cars. How can they understand the specific problems of the HDB heartlanders?

Around the turn of 2000s, the contractors & labour service providers started to get involve with grassroots movements. Why? The construction contracting business began to be able to secure more foreign workers quotas from the govt. There was an easing of immigration policy towards foreigners. Previously, PAP govt. adjusted foreign workers quota &/or increase worker’s levies to regulate foreign worker’s numbers. The easing was a godsend – some contractors who are wise to the game ‘cheong’ for public sector projects even if they lose money. The trick was to secure the foreign workers quota to do the project – that’s the money maker!

In a crony capitalist economy – there is an element of lobbying to secure economic privileges. That is the US model. In Singapore, the lobbying is done at the grassroots level cosying up to the MP. The grassroots have become a new frontier for Singapore crony capitalism. Previously grassroots volunteers were wage earners & HDB dwellers simply in for the 2 bites of the HDB cherry. These days, the grassroots game has risen as businessmen in their Mercedes Benz or Lexus participate in such activities. Isn’t the grassroots movement becoming a lobbyist environment?

grassroots-a-nest-of-cronies

From: <nobr>1st Class = Emeritus Foreign Thrashes (BabaEro11)</nobr>Jul-27 10:31 PM
To: <nobr>maimeechai</nobr> (4 of 9)

<tbody>
</tbody>
78640.4 in reply to 78640.1
Well said !
Look around al most of your Hooker Centres - look for those cleaners wearing GREEN T-Shirt with Yellow trimmings.
They are workers from Clean Solutions Pte Ltd, situated in Ayer Rajah Estates.
The Boss, a certain Mr Tan Hang Kian - is a typical crony who live in a landed property and is a running dog in Bedok Central.
He was the one who increased cleaning fees, introduced " Return your Tray" in hawker centres - wah ! he increased his income while Daft, Moronic, Cretins Sinkies WORK for him Free-of-charge by returning the trays.
Look around and see the Failures of Return your Trays.

<tbody>
</tbody>

escher

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

So grassroots are the congregation of losers.. Oh no.. But that is how sinkie behaves.. Luckily I stay away from them.

soIsee

As they say, the type of Masters create the kind of serfs they have.

You, Sinkie deserved to be screwed together! LoL

melzp

Well said n seen, Makapaa. Lets us list the MPs n their shadows; I will start with:
1. Teck Ghee.........Kua(kwa) Hong Pak....ComfortDelgro
2. Bishan...............Chua Thiam Poh.........Ho Bee Group

PAP is like the Borg they will assimilate everything :wink:

[video=youtube;WZEJ4OJTgg8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZEJ4OJTgg8[/video]

bigboss

Once upon a time, ordinary sinkies joined grassroots with desire to serve local communities. Today only highly educated sinkies and SPR like pinoys and ah nehs aiming for political office, business opportunities, personal benefits serve in grass roots run by papees. Why SPRs? These leeches can see the honey pot in the grass roots connection.

escher

pa-hq3_2.jpg

537665_436721053047882_1702477013_n.jpg

The PA certainly brings together a certain kind of people. :biggrin:

Lots of empty piano wires
HANG THEM ALL HIGH HIGH

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.