• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Go cashless at hawker centre

hokkien

By Rachael Boon
The Straits Times
Monday, Jul 21, 2014

SINGAPORE - Going cash-free at hawker centres will soon be a reality as Nets, the Network for Electronic Transfers Singapore, rolls out new initiatives to promote cashless payments.

The company is already testing out contactless FlashPay card systems at 10 stalls at the Beo Crescent Market and Food Centre near Havelock Road, and a hawker centre in Clementi Central is the next in line to use the system.

Contactless payments are transactions made by waving a card over a reader, instead of signing a charge slip or entering a PIN code.

Bedok's upcoming hawker centre at Block 208B in New Upper Changi Road, due to open in October, will be 100 per cent cashless, said Nets chief executive Jeffrey Goh.

To pay, consumers simply tap a FlashPay card on a small electronic terminal that hawkers can preload with item prices.

Mr Goh told The Straits Times: "For old hawker centres, we have to go stall to stall to encourage owners to sign up. We have to create awareness, generate acceptance and inspire action."

He noted that it costs about $10,000 to set up this system in a typical hawker centre of 30 stalls. Stall owners can rent the micropayments terminal for $28 each month.

Alison Koh, 52, co-owner of Uncle Lim's Beverages at the Beo Crescent centre, said the $28 fee is reasonable and she likes the convenience.

"You don't have to look for change... It saves a lot of time as it is cashless. It is also more hygienic because you don't use wet hands to handle the cash. Our hands tend to get wet especially since we're a drinks stall, and some customers don't like that," she said.

Jessy Nara, 42, an administrative executive, used the system at the Beo Crescent centreSaid Mr Goh: "Hawkers are the last frontier. You can use almost all your cards at all shops, except at hawker centres. We are also open to implementing this at wet markets."

He added that wet markets in Scandinavian countries are already cashless.

Nets is also going a step further by looking into developing a self-service electronic system for hawkers, which could boost productivity as it is difficult to hire stall assistants.

A prototype of a self-service machine will be out in three to four months, said Mr Goh.

It has also created a contactless payment tag - in the form of a waterproof wristband - for Resorts World Sentosa, slated to be launched within two months.

In 2011, there were 68,000 retail points accepting Nets payment, but not all accepted FlashPay.

Today, there are 85,000 retail points that accept payment by both Nets and FlashPay, and Mr Goh hopes to hit 100,000 retail points in the next few years.

He said: "For 29 years, since Nets was formed, we've been talking about going cashless, but we need to seriously focus (our efforts)." last week and found payment a breeze.

looneytan

how bout those uncle-aunty who pick 10 cent here 20 cent there? do they have means to own cash card?

Long ago, cash card payment in food court already failed.
Now they want to start looking at it again.

No fail la....crony lapdog George Quek still got it in his food fcourts.
Thailand food courts also have this system....ok la needs some getting used too....
Sinkies sure follow la....they are super obedient

The cronies who manage these cashless payment systems must be delighted at new income opportunities. :wink:

Ho Say liao! Hawkers' income will be scrutinized. Song boh?

That is why cash is king. Sometimes you do not want to leave behind an electronic trail of your transactions.

Not content with tracking you on your public transport trips, now they also want to spy on your eating habits. :rolleyes:

aurvandil

If I were a hawker, I would refuse to use it.

If I were forced to use it, I would discourage use by charging my customers 20 cents extra for use of the system.

The thing is many coffee stall assistants getba commission for drinks they sell. So how the boss going to pay the commission?