• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wife of trade & industry minister dies at 60

Famous quote from Lim Hng Kiang

"Save on one hairdo and use the money for breast screening." Lim Hng Kiang

Now wife died of cancer, what? she did not save the money on one hairdo to use for cancer screening?

rusty

How stupid can you be? How many hours a week do you think he actually spends working on his consituency affairs? He has an office full of people that does all that for him. I doubt if he even visits the constituency once a week. Fuckers like u have such low standards. Ooooh, the blocks are clean, ooooh the trash is taken out (which by the way you pay for in your conservancy fees), ooooh the blocks are painted, hence he must be doing a good job. Never mind he is helping his party steal $billions of citizens CPF money, never mind that he is allowing massive importation of FTs without even raising a whimper of protest, never mind the lot of sinkies are getting worse every year while he collects his $ million salary. U are a fucking retard.

Right, that fucking moron, taking care of painting and clearing rubbish is the job of the Bangla and ah neh.
Being paid by millions he should be taking care on the the citizens' welfare and removing their pains.

The failure of UNSW incident, it was on LIm Hng Kiang as it was under his watch. EDB gave this uni $32 million, they failed and closed up with in 1 year, and Lim Hng Kiang said it was not the govt.'s business to evaluate the university's business plan. WTF? Does he mean to say that the govt, just gives money away to foreign entities in joint venture deals without looking at their business plans? This fucker has been leeching of the taxpayer since he was 19 years old on a President scholarship. He knows nothing about business but some how runs MITI. And he is so cavalier about the loss of taxpayer money. When the PAP gives money to other people's business endeavour, they better be evaluating their business plans. This kind of fucking asshole also can get sympathy ah?

Govt breaks silence on UNSW money

$32m in loans and grants came to nought after university's U-turns on enrolment, campus building

Lee U-Wen

THE Government has revealed for the first time that it had dispensed over $32 million in public funds to the failed University of New South Wales (UNSW) Asia project.

This amount comprises $17.3 million in grants and $15 million in loans, Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang said in Parliament yesterday.

Until now, the Government had kept mum on the amount of money that it had dispensed to UNSW, which in May announced its sudden decision to pull out of Singapore due to poor enrolment numbers.

Giving the breakdown, Mr Lim explained that the $17.3 million was to help UNSW build its 20-ha campus in Changi.

The Economic Development Board (EDB) is now trying to recover this amount.

"As UNSW will not be able to meet the performance indicators it had committed to the EDB, it is required to return the disbursed grant and loans," he said. The $15-million loan, meanwhile, went towards constructing the campus as well, but this was backed by a bank guarantee.

Mr Lim's speech also painted a distinct picture of how UNSW's plans came undone from June last year, after current vice-chancellor Fred Hilmer replaced his predecessor, Professor Mark Wainwright.

The first support package was accepted by UNSW under the leadership of Prof Wainwright in February 2005, on the basis that UNSW would begin operations at an interim campus and eventually set up a full university here with a targeted student body of 15,000.

But once Prof Wainwright left, Mr Lim recounted how UNSW, with Prof Hilmer at the forefront, had approached EDB to "increase the support package".

Prof Hilmer called the original package "inadequate", which led to the EDB proposing a beefed-up package on three conditions: UNSW had to commit to a 10-year student enrolment of about 5,000 students; accelerate the building of the campus; and introduce more R&D activities.

Both parties agreed to this arrangement, with Prof Hilmer signing off on an undisclosed revised package last December. But when student numbers did not meet its projections, UNSW proposed a "significantly scaled-down" plan of achieving an enrolment of 2,000 students in 10 years, said Mr Lim.

"This was half of what UNSW had agreed to in the December 2006 revised package. Moreover, they could not provide assurance that there would be a permanent campus in Singapore, even on a reduced scale. This called into question UNSW's ability to deliver on its original intent of getting 10,000 to 15,000 students at a steady state," Mr Lim said.

After several counter offers, the Government was prepared to give UNSW a two-year period, until April 2009, to decide on its plans to develop its Changi campus.

"The EDB offered not to claw back the grants and loans that it had disbursed ... if UNSW agreed to carry on operations and meet a set of interim targets until it made its decision," said Mr Lim. "The EDB offered that if, and when, UNSW submitted its campus proposal, EDB would assess the proposal afresh for a support package."

Eventually, UNSW still chose to pull the plug three months into its first semester due to an "unacceptable level of financial and operational risk", he said.

Expressing regret on the failed project, Mr Lim said: "This is their business decision, and we have to respect it. While we, as the Government, can play a role by giving support to investors to set up in Singapore, we cannot issue a blank cheque."

Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Inderjit Singh asked if the EDB had been realistic in expecting a foreign university to achieve such lofty student enrolment targets. In response, Mr Lim said it was "not the Government's job" to evaluate the business plans of investors.

"Investors know their businesses better than the Government. In this case, UNSW is in the best position to assess the viability of its business plan. Our role is to facilitate and support these decisions, not to second-guess or guide them," he said.

youth123

How stupid can you be? How many hours a week do you think he actually spends working on his consituency affairs? He has an office full of people that does all that for him. I doubt if he even visits the constituency once a week. Fuckers like u have such low standards. Ooooh, the blocks are clean, ooooh the trash is taken out (which by the way you pay for in your conservancy fees), ooooh the blocks are painted, hence he must be doing a good job. Never mind he is helping his party steal $billions of citizens CPF money, never mind that he is allowing massive importation of FTs without even raising a whimper of protest, never mind the lot of sinkies are getting worse every year while he collects his $ million salary. U are a fucking retard.

Well said! To think there're simple minded people out there who believe in MIWs' crap!

The failure of UNSW LIm Hng Kiang was under his watch. EDB gave this uni $32 million, they failed and closed up with in 1 year, and Lim Hng Kiang said it was not the govt.'s business to evaluate the university's business plan. WTF? Does he mean to say that the govt, just gives money away to foreign entities in joint venture deals without looking at their business plans? This fucker has been leeching of the taxpayer since he was 19 years old on a President scholarship. He knows nothing about business but some how runs MITI. And he is so cavalier about the loss of taxpayer money. When the PAP gives money to other people's business endeavour, they better be evaluating their business plans. This kind of fucking asshole also can get sympathy ah?

He is a $68 million man. That's how much a scholar cost taxpayers. We reward people based on their exam scores, rather than on results on the job. This guy was in MINDEF. I wonder how much money did he waste in MINDEF with his hair rasing policies.

Actually i cant find fault with him for this point. I mean was the baby to far gone to be saved?humans should learn to let others go...but the 300k...how much goes back to the gahmen?

Quote:- "I regret making the decision because, in the end, the baby continued to be in intensive care, and KKH now runs up a total bill of more than $300,000"
- Lim Hng Kiang, regretting the decision to save a baby's life because KKH ran up a $300K.

Time for him to repent.

passing of another baby boomer (1946-1964), 999,999,999 left to go and counting down. She is a young baby boomer and born in 1962?

LHK very low profile recently. Wonder if he could be stepping down soon. Cant recall any significant contribution from him.

Famous quote from Lim Hng Kiang

"Save on one hairdo and use the money for breast screening." Lim Hng Kiang

Now wife died of cancer, what? she did not save the money on one hairdo to use for cancer screening?

What goes around, comes around.....

passing of another baby boomer (1946-1964), 999,999,999 left to go and counting down. She is a young baby boomer and born in 1962?

Those over 65 are 450,000 & those from 55 - 64 650,000 don't believe me ask " shiny " bald head Tar man...

Actually i cant find fault with him for this point. I mean was the baby to far gone to be saved?humans should learn to let others go...but the 300k...how much goes back to the gahmen?

U are such a fucking idiot. I dare Hairdo Lim and you to say that to Lee Con You's face. Not after he made the govt. spend millions of dollars to outfit a SQ 747 with a full medical ward, and than fly the plane to London with a medical team to pick up his wrinkled shrivelled geriatric wife who suffered a stroke and was in a coma. $300,000 to save one baby who has a whole life ahead, versus millions $ to save a lau cheebye who already has lived a rich and long life. Which is the better money spend? U moron.

As much as I hate his parliamentary persona, he has done a good job as MP in my Mom's constituency, Telok Blangah. Blocks are clean, painted regularly, trash is taken out, parking aunties pretty forgiving and even if kena fine, can appeal to waive fine.

And when a "civilian" like his wife dies, who has stayed away from the media gracefully, perhaps we can save the vitriol and let him grieve for her in dignity.

RIP.

You are a gong cheebye to pay millions for someone to fulfill basic needs of an estate.
An capable estate manager will be able to do a better job...and he won't cost you millions.

Back to LHK...he is a smart cookie to keep low profile....even during GE he hardly even campaign.
Perhaps he being in the inner circle no need to wayang at all.

Tuayapeh

U are such a fucking idiot. I dare Hairdo Lim and you to say that Lee Con You's face. Not after he made the govt. spend millions of dollars to outfit a SQ 747 with a full medical ward, and than fly the plane to London with a medical team to pick up his wrinkled shrivelled geriatric wife who suffered a stroke and was in a coma. $300,000 to save one baby who has a whole life ahead, versus millions $ to save a lau cheebye who already has lived a rich and long life. Which is the better money spend? U moron.

bet nobody dared to give that old fucker the bill lor.....let alone SIA because they were trying to save someone (who is not even officially appointed) a State Funeral ok!!!!

Actually, if I remember correctly, there was a whole lot of internet complains about that. Than he claim he reimbursed SQ. But to date, SQ has never showed an invoice, or even acknowledged it was paid, and Con You himself never showed the receipt. SO, I can conclude the asshole was lying.