• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$120 levy for 'license' to sell tissue paper?

bic_cherry

Re: Heartless PAP

..Perhaps u miss out..i mentioned some form of mean testing to prevent a deluge of applicants.
And also. I am upset with their money minded policies..
I am charged $3 processing fees for deduction from my medisave account whenever I use the account to pay for my chronic disease medication.
But they have since quietly remove it because it is uncivic, uncivilised and largely unethical..
But they find it perfectly legal to remove Estate duties and inheritance tax to benefit the rich.
Mrs Lee and and property billionaire Ng Teng fong are the biggest beneficiaries...
Do u find them heartless..?? Is this fair..???
Money is needed to buy the dignity of PAP ministers and MPs. According to the PAP, nothing is free (unless U are their good friend of course)...

E.g. "dignity"= an excuse to get more fingers into the national cookie $$$ jar...
"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity."
YqUYU.jpg
[IMG URL]

No cover charge and taxpayer sponsorship for the following individuals:

Intoparliamentjpg.jpg
[IMG source]
And:
liftupgrade.jpg
(Reference: http://geraldgiam.sg/2009/10/how-pap-uses-taxpayer-funded-grassroots-for-political-gain/ )

ZorrorroZ

There are various reasons why people can be frivolous and being handicapped in one way or another doesn't alter this fact.

The license is only $10 per month. It ensures that the applicant has a genuine desire to sell tissues.

$10 a month is too low. It would attract frivolous applicants to sell tissues.

It should be raised to $100 a month, this would weed out the frivolous sellers.

$10 a month is too low. It would attract frivolous applicants to sell tissues.

It should be raised to $100 a month, this would weed out the frivolous sellers.

Seriously, I am unemployed. I really desperate for a job now. Don't know where to get application form.

He said he could not as he cannot afford to pay the $120 license fee to NEA or some govt agency to allow him to sell tissue..

Now..why our govt is so business minded and collect money even from the very poor and handicap..?? Can"t they just collect $10 to do some basic registration fee charge or just issue these permit free of charge but under some stringent mean testing. Otherwise we may have a deluge of applicants.

- http://therealsingapore.com/content/do-you-know-pap-actually-charge-beggars-120-sell-tissue-streets

Who did the tissue sellers vote for?
Haha serves them right!
NEA again! Kudos to vile pappies for this wonderful idea....when it comes to new ways to leech money....pap never disappoint and always very creative. Huat ah!

Force 136

Poor and blind folks must Pay $120 to NEA for right to sell Tissue Paper.......

SINGAPORE: Mobile peddlers selling packets of tissue paper on the streets are unlicensed hawkers, said the National Environment Agency (NEA) in response to a letter posted on a website that these peddlers are charged a S$120 licence fee.

In a letter posted on the socio-political website The Real Singapore, the writer had questioned the need for street hawkers to pay S$120 to get a licence following his encounter with a visually-impaired man who sells tissue paper for extra income.

The NEA said that, at present, only 11 street hawkers under its Street Hawking Scheme are licensed to sell tissue paper in town council areas.

Under the scheme, which started in 2000, those who meet the eligibility criteria pay a nominal fee of S$120 a year, or S$10 a month, to peddle their wares at fixed locations without having to pay rent.

In all, 362 people have been issued licences to sell items such as ice-cream, nuts, crackers, canned drinks, costume jewellery, newspapers, phone cards and toiletries.

In response to TODAY's queries, the NEA said unlicensed peddlers selling tissue paper at coffee shops and hawker centres will be warned to stop selling their wares.

"If they ignore the warning, the NEA will take enforcement action against them, just as it does for other illegal hawkers," it added

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/tissue-paper-peddlers-are/1074322.html

Re: Poor and blind folks must Pay $120 to NEA for right to sell Tissue Paper.......

What's wrong with issuing free licenses to sell tissue paper?

If you know the answer to the above question, you'll also know why there is no free World Cup coverage on tv. :wink:

Licenses are issued for skilled workers and work involved liability and damage to property or unsafe work practice. Selling tissue papers cause no damage and liability to the users why need license.

Do you need licence to clean tables at hawker centres too?

Too many scholars only talk academic with no common sense.

The $120 is the means test. If you are willing to pay that amount, it means you are a genuine tissue vendor.

If it was cheaper it would attract frivolous applications.

You all sibeh ignorant leh. Chee Bye Kia Leongsam said Stinking land no poverty hor!

KNNBCCB! Only in stinking land have peasants and conmen sell tissue like this! Name me any country that have such trade or professional?

Stinking land really stinks!

kaipoh

This is how the cronies get their shameless salaries?

I just Fook PAP loud and clear...and I am going round spreading ..

Last week, I took 2 visually handicap gentlemen from the supermarket to the bus-stop, some 100 metres away.
They wanted to take a bus to Toa Payoh.

So as I guide them to the bus-stop and I strike a conversation with them.
One of them told me that he sells tissue to supplement his income as he cannot find a regular job.
I asked how about your friend..?
He said he could not as he cannot afford to pay the $120 license fee to NEA or some govt agency to allow him to sell tissue..

Now..why our govt is so business minded and collect money even from the very poor and handicap..??

Can"t they just collect $10 to do some basic registration fee charge or just issue these permit free of charge but under some
stringent mean testing. Otherwise we may have a deluge of applicants.

I just Fook the PAP for being so mean and heartless..

By the way, can their CEO in charge of the visual handicap do something and not just look the other way to safeguard his or her position..???

I am going round telling every of my friends and even strangers how heartless our million dollar ministers are on this case...???

kaipoh

Boss, they can't afford it, can you teach them how to set up porn sites to earn a living, charge them nominal fees and help them to claim from PIC Hor Mo?

If there was no license fee involved, the streets would be flooded with thousands of tissue sellers and this could cause all sorts of problems.

The government therefore has to charge a nominal fee to ensure that only those with a genuine need are allowed to sell tissues.

No_Collar

I don't know if this is true but I heard from my friend that a waiter told him that those mobile peddlers selling tissues around simpang bedok eateries make about $6k a month..... I ate there a couple of times and saw the same people going around selling tissues..... They used to sell 3 packets for $1 but nowadays they are selling wet tissues too but I don't know how much because I never buy from them... Maybe it's a lucrative business after all....

palden

Haha. These stinkees deserved to be charged a license fee. Only FTs in Geylang are exempt.

You all sibeh ignorant leh. Chee Bye Kia Leongsam said Stinking land no poverty hor!

KNNBCCB! Only in stinking land have peasants and conmen sell tissue like this! Name me any country that have such trade or professional?

Stinking land really stinks!

I volunteer to bring Leongsam for a tour of S'pore if he visits. Sure to change his sala perception of S'pore.

enter casino pay levy $100 to deter gambler.
sell tissue pay $120 to deter fake seller, who so free to fake selling tissue ??
Increase gst to help the poor
everything also $ can settle .
Conclusion is money face lor