• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Tourism Board Is a Liar to Say Singapore Is a Shopping Heaven

gingerlyn

Dear brothers and sisters,

Taken your dinner?

Singapore Tourism Board is a bastard liar to say Singapore is a Shopping Heaven.

If you don't believe, just look at this"

Clothing, in the category of luxury retail

If you are thinking of shopping in Singapore, be mindful that a Giorgio Armani men's suit starts from S$3,000 and can go up to S$4,000. On the other hand, in Italy, a men's suit from Giorgio Armani starts from €1,500 (S$2,619).

Food & wine

The signature dish of steak tartare at the famous L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon restaurant at Resorts World Sentosa costs S$52. A bottle of Moet & Chandon in Singapore costs at least S$83.

Similarly, a degustation menu at the L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon restaurant in Paris costs €38 (S$66). A bottle of Moet & Chandon in France usually costs only €32.90 (S$57).

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...e-may-be-the-most-expensive-city-in-the-world

uglyloser

STB has so many outstanding Ivy League & NUS/NTU/SMU graduates. U mean u r right & their collective brillance is wrong?:wink:

JHolmesJr

Only morons pay full retail.

I am surprised people still shop in brick and mortar stores on orchard road....all they do is pass the high rental onto dumbass customers.

There is nothing you cant buy online.....from high end stuff to the humble things like shoe polish...for much cheaper.

My friend recently bought a hi end stereo .....singapore shop price was super unreasonable since they are sole distributor....so he got it flown in fm dubai for S$4k cheaper.

Only morons pay full retail.

I am surprised people still shop in brick and mortar stores on orchard road....all they do is pass the high rental onto dumbass customers.

There is nothing you cant buy online.....from high end stuff to the humble things like shoe polish...for much cheaper.

My friend recently bought a hi end stereo .....singapore shop price was super unreasonable since they are sole distributor....so he got it flown in fm dubai for S$4k cheaper.

buy hifi from Dubai.................no warranty ah................local agent will not repair for you even if you willing to pay more..............outside technician may not be able to repair if hifi using SMD components.........

anyway, your friend buy from which website ? speakers and accessories can buy............not electronics

sg is a shopping haven for "fei loong" or "jimbo" boxer shorts. i often top up my inventory from the sundry shops located all over hdb/mrt malls. the other item of interest to me is bath mat or foot cloth. i need matching colors for my bathrooms, and they're selling for $5 a piece at kk mrt market. 1 of the stores carry almost every color from yellow urine to brown shit.

JHolmesJr

buy hifi from Dubai.................no warranty ah................local agent will not repair for you even if you willing to pay more..............outside technician may not be able to repair if hifi using SMD components.........

anyway, your friend buy from which website ? speakers and accessories can buy............not electronics

That's what you think....the goods were bought by calling up the shop, placing an order, paying by TT and having the goods shipped by a very reasonable company.

And two years on the system is performing brilliantly....this is a reputable shop in dubai not some backroom operation.

neddy

I know of one Singaporean who shopping in Australia for coffee machine, cameras and watches during the sales and they get FULL 100% refund on GST.

Went back $ingapore and found out that they saved a few hundreds.

But the point is that they enjoy consumer rights, bought the wrong SD card and the shop refund the item. No question asked.

ahhock24

Come on STP is telling the truth, price tag here is out of this world, welcome to the "out of this world" shopping experience.

That's what you think....the goods were bought by calling up the shop, placing an order, paying by TT and having the goods shipped by a very reasonable company.

And two years on the system is performing brilliantly....this is a reputable shop in dubai not some backroom operation.

oh yeah no brand of the speakers stated, no name of the sinkie shop that was called up and no name of the reputable shop in dubai.

Without the casinos, I had been wondering what is the reason for someone to come sg for tour.

The big boys prefer Macau. We will never rival them. Macau has more to offer. When you are into the casino business, it is just not possible for everything to be 'perfectly clean.' Expect activities in the grey area.

GoldenPeriod

Dear brothers and sisters,

If you are thinking of shopping in Singapore, be mindful that a Giorgio Armani men's suit starts from S$3,000 and can go up to S$4,000. On the other hand, in Italy, a men's suit from Giorgio Armani starts from €1,500 (S$2,619).

Siao boh. 4k can get from Saville Row in London. Why even shop at Armani Sinkapore?

Ash007

I find Hongkong to be a better place for shopping then Singapore. The only bad thing about HK is the hotel prices are way too high.

STBproudly point you to the long q outside LV n the atelier shops at MBS n ION as unrefutable proof that we r a shopping heaven. Just see for yourself how many Hermes shop r in town ?

uglyloser

STBproudly point you to the long q outside LV n the atelier shops at MBS n ION as unrefutable proof that we r a shopping heaven. Just see for yourself how many Hermes shop r in town ?
yeah bro.. Just try to get a custom made bag.. and see for yrself how long u need to watch. LV & Hermes products r godly! the rest r just bags.

oli9

STB could be right that Spore is indeed a shopping heaven. Wander into the streets of geylang & you can shop for PRC, Viets, Indon & Thai prossies wor. Prices varies with their nationalities & perceived skill sets.
What about OT? 4 floors of whores. Simply brilliant. STB should just mint this shopping mall into all travel brochures & directories.

I know of one Singaporean who shopping in Australia for coffee machine, cameras and watches during the sales and they get FULL 100% refund on GST.

Went back $ingapore and found out that they saved a few hundreds.

But the point is that they enjoy consumer rights, bought the wrong SD card and the shop refund the item. No question asked.

The funny thing is in the past we had the Aussies comming to Spore to buy things here because it was cheaper. There were even companies like Chews that specially catered to the angmos.
How things have changed. Nowadays you are more likely to read stories about tourists getting cheated than people getting bargains here:rolleyes:

Spore has the dubious title of being the most expensive city. Even before they got the top spot plenty of people already knew that Spore is an expensive place. I am actually surprised it took so long for Spore to win top spot:biggrin: